(2008/04) April 2008

Sputnik
Ard 4 wks old, per pump was ard 80 - 120ml. Now my per pump seems to stagnated bet 120 - 150ml. Yest was lucky, got 160ml in 20 ml, but once in a blue moon!!! Ya, agree, go do other things will let down easier. U left the milk alone with the funnel etc? Now my total supply is ard 1 litre a day, hopefully can increase to 1.2 l which is the max for most mummies that i read in another thread.

My girl seems to have alot of wind in her stomach. she will always fart alot during the day.. especially if she is poo poo-ing. is there anyting food that we should avoide to prevent baby from having too much gas in their stomach? if we drink gassy drinks will they also have gas in their stomach?

my ger too fart n poo alot....but i nv drink cold or gassy drink still like tis leh..

thk its normal lah...

these days my ger like appetite not so good...always drink abt EBM/FM 80ml onli but will wan feed abt 1.5hrs later....wonder wat's wrong last time she can drink 120ml 1 shot..haiz...

ask mummies who latch bb on....do ur bb latch halfway will unlatch herself n cry?? my bb seems to be doing it very freqently these days...wonder wat's wrong wif her also...haiz worried...

Luann - There were a few times that my girl unlatch halfway and cry then when I offer again she latch on again then okie liao. Mebe she is fighting with the nipple or mebe she is facing problems drinking the milk or could also be that her jaws are tired after drinking liao.. then cry.. dun think its anything serious.dun worry yah...

when i carry my boy, he always wana latch, other ppl carry him he will guai guai, so i seldom carry him, now i worry, later i alone take are of him, got prob..

stefylim
is she choking when she drinks? if during a feed she keeps unlatching and milk doesn't seem to go down smoothly, take a break - sit her upright, burp her. then latch again.

my CL is back for an extra week and it feels like i'm back on holiday LOL

things are so much better with the expert around. hv to stop myself from taking it too easy and try to learn more "skills" before she leaves.

my baby is getting into the bad habit of dozing off into a deep sleep after 10 minutes of latching, and i can't wake him after that despite wadever i do! then when i put him to bed he gets hungry, and when he drinks he snoozes, and the cycle continues...... -___-""

joelle..thanx...she doesnt seems to be choking leh, will be suckling very well then suddenly unlatch n cry very very loudly...these days she also like to keep the milk in her mouth n nv swallow....

piggy mummy...my ger also the same so when i carry her, i carry her upright so her face is not at the breast...ha ha ha...but sometimes she will try to wriggle down to the breast n sleep...very naughty...n a lot of pattern...hee hee hee..

Cath
thanks for the encouragement
Yah all, hang in there , we'll survive motherhood!

Luann Mummy, my gal will oso latch halfway and then unlatch herself and cry wor... i oso dunno wats wrong. But i dun think its anything serious as after that she continues to drink and cry and drink and then ok.

joelle - thanks. i was worried how come my baby keeps farting and when she fart.. some poo poo will come out too..

piggy mummy - i also face the same problem. baby will keep wanting to latch on whenever i carry her. think she can smell our milk scent that's why wld want to latch on. other pple carry no milk scent so they will be guai guai...

my girl's breathing seems to be very heavy and she makes a lot of noise when she sleeps at night. sometimes we thought that she woke up but actually its all the noises that she made when she is sleeping. Wonder if your babies also make noises at night when they are sleeping.

Jaspire - payment received, thanks.

Chewy/ Cath - please proceed with payment. Will like to place order by tmr since most mummies have paid up, don wish to delay. Thanks.

<table border=1><tr><td>Person</TD><TD>Model</TD><TD>Color</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD> Unit Price </TD><TD></TD><TD>Total</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>PB93: Padded Soft-Cup Nursing Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>36C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $36.30 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>size #200: 1-1/2 inch 2 hook wide @ $2.10 each</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>#200</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>size #250 2-hook 1-1/4" wide @ $2.10 each. </TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>#250</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>size #250 2-hook 1-1/4" wide @ $2.10 each</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>#250</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefy</TD><TD>MIM Basic Cami-Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Large</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $55.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefy</TD><TD>MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>36C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>PB93: Padded Soft-Cup Nursing Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>38B</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $105.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige </TD><TD>36B</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>MIM Basic Cami-Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Medium</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $40.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>Padded Tube Bra 30288 </TD><TD>Black </TD><TD>Free size</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $23.60 </TD><TD> $58.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Esther</TD><TD>Padded Tube Bra 30288 </TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Free size</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>MIM Padded 3-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige </TD><TD>36C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $55.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>MIM Basic Cami-Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Medium</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath</TD><TD>Padded Tube Bra 30288 </TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Free size</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Burbybabe - yes my bb also make a lot of noise when she sleep but these 2 days we move her to sleep with us on our bed, she din make much noise, duno why.

Stefy - my bb also cry very loud, she will cry half way thru while drinking milk, fuss around then wan drink again...funny. I don understand her rationale cos the nipple is in her mouth she still can fuss around for milk.

my bb caught a flu and cough =(....how? i ystrdae bring him to doc, he say nthing wrong..he say even has flu, he don wan give bb medication coz too young...my mom oso say let him recover himself......how? wld u all feed bb medication if sick?

Kea - i will see wat PD advise then follow....so doc say don give medicine? I tik in that case have to let bb recover himself.

koori

ya..the gp say bb less than 2mths , don give medication 1st...if not nxt time depend on medication to recover..haiz...but i c him so xin ku sniffing leh...

Koori, my baby also like that. Wondering is there a problem with the flow..maybe too fast or too slow.

Sometime when I thought she had enough as she refuse to open her mouth when I offer her again, she will come crying again after awhile asking for milk... haiz..

One more thing I'm worried about. These days my bb will seem like want to vomit with the vomiting sound but nothing comes out and when something really comes out, is alot lor.. merlioned the whole meal of milk. The problem is her appetite is not good already, drinking less than the average bb and somemore will vomit out now and then. Worried about her getting dehydrated and not growing well.

Looks like so many things to worry about since bb's birth.. =(

koori
maybe its the flow of milk? my boy also like tat a few weeks ago, so i changed the teat to a faster flow coz if the flow is slow, they will get frustrated &amp; cranky.

stefy,
my gal also, she will unlatch then cry then when she latch back herself she will 'complain' then suck furiously like very angry like that... She also like your gal, when i carry her she want to suckle and then lke woodpecker like that so i also have the habit of carrying her upright so her head is over my shoulders but she will still nug her way down and put her head around my breast and sleep...

Aiyo ladies,
My gal hates the btl lei... i tried so many ways and means to get her to drink that 1 btl of EBM everyday hor like tug of war like that lei... i tried the old type of pigeon teats, NUK teats and the new pigeon teats all fail lei... any other suggestion? Used to be my hb feed her EBM one but lately his work very busy so he has been missing the feeds then now i have to take over and feed her but hor, she like forget how to suck on btl liao lei... will push the btl around then cry then even gag... How like that? she will even look at me pitifully and cry... i try to put her down on the bouncer and feed her liao so that she dun smell me but hor yesterday even when her daddy carry her and feed her she also dun wan.... How???

amy, maybe u can try avent teats? will avent teats fit pigeon bottles? i seem to read somewhere that they do. if so then i can pass you one, i've an extra..

u mentioned that you're gal is using the bumwear one size diaper liao? i tried it the other day and it was still way too big for my gal, and with the insert it's thick and when lying down on the mattress it seems that my gal's buttocks is higher than her back, so a bit awkard. me thinking need to try again when she's much older maybe 2 or 3 months old? yours got no such problem?

Amy
I am also having problem with the bottle, thats why i find it easier to latch her on. I am not sure whether its the teats or the way i feed. anywya it is super stressed.

hi mummies normally wat time ur bb slp at nite? my gal slp ard 12-1am. at tat time im very tired and she refuse to slp no matter how i try to pacify her. she will slp on her own when the clock strike 12am+... she's a night owl bb...

Lynn,
Her bum looks much bigger than it was compared to the disposable diapers. I button all the way to the centre. If its the waist too big, you might want to overlap the flaps...

Starling,
I also prefer to latch her on but bo pian have to get her used to btl if not when my ML finish then she is going to suffer... I also super stress, latch her on then i dun have to worry about supply problem. Everytime i pump i also stress, stress that i cannot pump enough for her coz i dunno how much she is taking... stress that she latch on less my supply will dip... is it true that as long as i maintain a 3hrly pump schedule supply will improve via pump? I think my body dun react well to pump stimulation lei...

Lynn,
My gal does not look like her bum is higher than her back when she is wearing it. I guess after lying on it for a while it gets flatten bah...

My gal is so fussy today... Think i traumatise her liao by forcing her to finish 1 btl of 50ml EBM... she hardly slept today now sleeping on my lap as i type... so hard pain coz it seems like i caused her so much misery...

baby_chevelle, my girl sleeps past 1am, every night between 10pm to 1am she's fussy, dun wan to be put in her cot. need someone to carry or to sit near her..

amy, my gal is also fussy this morning. think got wond in her tummy. vomit a few times and refuse to sleep except when she's being carried. just now finally slept after 1pm, and then my stupid dog barked and woke her up! hiaz so super tired already..

cheesy
my boy usually sleeps between 9pm - 11pm. maybe u can try to bring her sleeping time earlier each day? sometimes my boy also refuse to sleep after nite feed, so i got to rock him till he becomes drowsy keke.... esp if the room is dark &amp; cosy, it helps them to sleep faster. thats wat i do lor.

blessed - i getting average 90ml now with my gal at 4 weeks old. Glad to hear that yours increased to 120-150ml, so maybe mine still got hope to increase ;-) yeap, i leave the bottle with the funnel and go and do other things, but usually only do other things for 10 mins or so, so still ok.

burpy_babe - read that your baby want to latch on whenever you carry her. I thik this is the usual for babies who latch on, cos they can smell the milk on you. I have some friends who switch to pumping instead of latching on due to this reason, cos whenever they carry baby, the baby wants to latch on.

Amy Quek
apparantly without baby latch, even if you consistantly pump, supply will gradually decrease. so best to have a combo of frequent latch + consistant pump, eg. latch followed by pump to totally empty breast.

if your baby is satisfied with supply by latching, i think u can be confident enuf that for the rest of the day or two, ur pumping quantity should be sufficient for her feeds... supply dip won't happen that quickly.

Btw for ladies having problems with emptying breasts with pump or find that pumping takes ages, here's what i use to speed things up. fill small milk bottle with warm water, as hot as your skin can tolerate. when pumping, use this bottle as a hot compress, press onto your milk ducts firmly, press all over the breasts (don't miss out the underside). you'll find the flow is faster and the pressure can really empty the ducts.

BTW, anyone has problems burping their baby? I thik me and hubby not much skill, find it very diff to burp baby. Sometimes can't burp. If can't burp, shld be ok as long as she does not throw up rite?

Sputnik
according to my CL, for breastfed babies, it's ok not to burp (of cos should try first ). but for bottle-fed babies, more impt that they should burp cos the bottle introduces more air.

can anyone advise, after I put EBM in the fridge for say 24 hrs, can i freeze it? Or if I want to freeze EBM, must put in the freezer straightaway after expressing?

my gal has been a very light sleeper these 2 days, does any of your bbs have the same problem?
she used to sleep long hours after bathing, but not for these 2 days, put her in the yaolan, she took very long to sleep &amp; wake up shortly after...

Starling : I din received your email leh. can sms me your address at 9652 9653? So you need two of it right? I will send to you when I received it.
I'll be making the order tomoro.
That will be $15 for two. you can transfer to my account posb savings 032-29853-2.

sherin

i hv transfer $10.72 to your a/c via ATM today, however it did not reflect any ref no. in my receipt. if u didnt receive, pls let me know. tks!

Hi Koori

Sorry for the delay... have been attending to my baby.

funds transferred already:

To Account POSB Savings
126-18411-5 Koori - Apr mtb
Amount S$11.80
Transaction Reference 1717824692

thanks for adding my order...

Koori: trf to u already.
ref: 1717868302

I sent u my bra size for the black multi way bra, but ur list online here din reflect it. it's 34C, black colour.

Thks babe!

Koori: oh I decided to change to beige for the multi bra. Sorry Koori. thanks!

Cath: thanks for the nice poem! Well done! My exact sentiments! Being a mother already not easy... gosh I am a SAHM ... *faint*
hopefully thgs get better...

Chewy/ Cath, payment received. Will place order soon. This is the updated list.

<table border=1><tr><td>Person</TD><TD>Model</TD><TD>Color</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD> Unit Price </TD><TD></TD><TD>Total</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>PB93: Padded Soft-Cup Nursing Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>36C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $36.30 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>size #200: 1-1/2 inch 2 hook wide @ $2.10 each</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>#200</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>size #250 2-hook 1-1/4" wide @ $2.10 each. </TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>#250</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>size #250 2-hook 1-1/4" wide @ $2.10 each</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>#250</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD> $2.10 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefy</TD><TD>MIM Basic Cami-Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Large</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $55.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefy</TD><TD>MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>36C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>PB93: Padded Soft-Cup Nursing Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>38B</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $30.00 </TD><TD> $105.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige </TD><TD>36B</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>MIM Basic Cami-Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Medium</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $40.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>Padded Tube Bra 30288 </TD><TD>Black </TD><TD>Free size</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $23.60 </TD><TD> $58.60 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>34C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Esther</TD><TD>Padded Tube Bra 30288 </TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Free size</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>MIM Padded 3-Way Bra with Removable Underwire</TD><TD>Beige </TD><TD>36C</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $55.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>MIM Basic Cami-Bra</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Medium</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath</TD><TD>Padded Tube Bra 30288 </TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>Free size</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD> $11.80 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

amy, i dun dare to let my gal use the bumwear yet cos she still poos alot wor and each poo so yellow that it stains the normal cloth diaper. That we at times have to bleach it. So thinking maybe the bumwear will wait till her 3rd mth then let her wear? At least when she doesnt poo dat much liao...