(2008/04) April 2008

need some advice here. my baby dun sleep well in the day, and worse, dun sleep in the night. I have not been sleeping for about 5 days...going bonkers soon......tried alot of methods, but she still dun sleep at night. I wonder how long i can endure........and dun know if using a sarong yao lan will slove the problem?

wa..5 days is quite long. Maybe these few days weather very hot and humid, baby cant sleep well. Try wipe 2 cool off baby on/off or change her clothings. If she continue dun sleep, perhaps bring 2 see doctor, probably baby not feeling well.

celine

it could be due to hot weather these few days but i hv to agree, sarong really helps them to sleep better. i didnt use sarong for my #1 but for my #2, i finally agree to use lor in order to let him sleep longer, but only in the day. nite time i let him sleep in the cot.
maybe its just transition period, otherwise give your PD a call to check.

Hi Sherin

Got ur a/c ... thanks for organising. I have transferred the $$ over. Transaction Reference 1696438879. You may get it only 2 days later as my a/c is POSB.

I did check with the polyclinic doc and nurse when I take baby for injection, and both give me same answer.....to wait....they say baby will slowly sleep better......but I dun know how long i can wait....and I can hardly nap in the day as baby will only sleep 30mins and wake up....and each time i put her to sleep again, another 30mins she wake up......sigh.....

calamari : hmm that's what the salesperson told us. we didnt open the old pis to see the diff because they dun allow.

celini : you need to find out why he dun sleep. normally, if baby do not receive alot of sleep in the day, they will sleep at night. my gal dun sleep at night w/o the nightlight. she scare of dark. anotehr reason maybe he is not comfortable in his cot, try to change a sleeping place.

Celine,

How old is your baby? Do you swaddle your baby? I find that newborns when they are swaddled, they sleep better, dun get startled easily. I swaddle my baby and put bean bag across her chest when she sleeps. Hope this helps

Celine - maybe there's wind in bb's stomach...try applying Ru Yi oil on bb's stomach and feet...hopefully he can sleep better.

Jgal: i also put the nightlight, and change alot of sleeping place, from cot to a rocking chair to my own bed.......sometimes i have to carry her to sleep and she is ok...but sometimes not ok

amy: my gal is about 5weeks old.she dun like things on her chest and dun like to swaddle. she will cry and get angry.

koori: i have apply ru yi oil everyday on baby, but din have much effect.....

I'm really at a loss.......have tried all the things i can tried other than yao lan....by this friday if things dun improve, i will have to use yao lan......to keep myself sane...

celine

my bb same as yrs..until my mom put him in yao lan....he slp better....sometimes even if he not aslp, jus cranky, he will be quiet when put in yao lan......coz yao lan , they feel more surrounded and secure...

Celine - u have tried all methods, tik give yao lan a try to keep urself sane, if not no rest for u will fall sick easily.

calamari / sherin : how's your glenn doman's prg going? i am very tempted to buy the prg. but it's very expensive $380 for the maths.

is your baby receptive of it?

medela PIS is definitely a great help for mummies who are expressing... i use it at minimum level, it's quiet, my husband can sleep while i pump. does the job v quickly too, easy to set up & use. anyone who's still considering the purchase, i definitely recommend the investment.

do u all have yellow discharge? my lochia disappear for 2days completely...i so happy.. BUT.....jus, i have lots of yellow discharge with blood streaks!! =(

amy....

mine is with blood streaks leh...me tmr is 6th week le...u how long liao??? doc did PAP smear test for me say i have mild infection..haven go collect my antibotics =/

Celine, agreed with Jamie. Think it's transition period. I did same thing like u, change a few sleeping area, did wat other moms told me. Well, being a mom is great task. Jia you.

Maybe u can ask ur hubby to take over after dinner so tat u can rest till next feeding ard 12pm.

Kea,

Mine is watery like got blood mix with the water like that but is mainly yellowish lor... I haven't do pap smear yet. This is my fifth week...

do u all still feel some pressure and heavy at vagina area? i still feel some weight there, like when having menses. i already into my 6th week.

jgal, i've started with Summer. Now the using the english n math cards. For these few weeks,mainly, using cards with black pictures to train her to focus. And also using the math black dots. But if i have to choose between math n eng, i think the eng kit more worth it.

Kea, now having yellow discharge also. I think it's just clearing up.

scubababe, ok.

Xiang: No problem regarding more shipping costs for me if i add more things to order from Target. The car bottle warmer is lighter than the a 50-pk Lansinoh milk bags actually. I have put down my order's respective weight below.

Here's my orders:
Item #1
Item Name: Lansinoh Breast Milk Storage Bags - 50 pk
URL: http://www.target.com/Lansinoh-Breast-Milk-Storage-50-pk/dp/B000M16Y7U/sr=1-3/qid=1210078605/ref=sr_1_3/601-1604402-1068124?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Alansinoh&page=1
Qty: 2
Unit Price: USD 9.99 x 2 = US 19.98
Packaged Ship Weight: 0.51 pounds x 2 = 1.02 pounds

Item #2
Item Name: Munchkin Car Bottle Warmer
URL: http://www.target.com/Munchkin-Car-Bottle-Warmer/dp/B000GB3FZU/qid=1209824041/ref=br_1_3/601-1604402-1068124?ie=UTF8&node=13301591&frombrowse=1&rh=&page=1
Qty: 1
Unit Price: USD 9.99
Packaged Ship Weight: 0.47 pound

Item #3
Item Name: Playtex Single Fridge To Go
URL: http://www.target.com/Playtex-Single-Fridge-To-Go/dp/B000K4YSN6/ref=pd_ecc_rvi_3/601-1604402-1068124
Packaged Ship Weight: 0.30 pound

Total no. of items: 4
Total: USD 39.96
Total weight: 1.79 pounds

How should I transfer the money to you and how much? Let me know k?

Sherin: You bot the GD flash cards with the book for $200+ right? How is Summer responding to it? Me and hb thinking of doing our own flashcards coz GD's ones seem so expensive........ but think we will be too lazy to get it done ha

Yeah i am still having lochia too, its still like blood and sometimes brownish discharge. I am in my 5 week. My gynae never do pap smear for me, is it a requirement?

jgal: i have not started on the Glenn Doman program at all! Too preoccupied with baby's changing n feeding n bathing etc..hhahaha. Think I will only start after baby's first month which is after this week. Will start with the English and Chinese one, then later on will start on Maths.

Xiang - i like to order these 3 items.

Item #1
URL: http://www.target.com/Munchkin-Car-Bottle-Warmer/dp/B000GB3FZU/qid=1209824041/ref=br_1_3/601-1604402-1068124?ie=UTF8&node=13301591&frombrowse=1&rh=&page=1

Item #2
Item Name: Playtex Single Fridge To Go
URL: http://www.target.com/Playtex-Single-Fridge-To-Go/dp/B000K4YSN6/ref=pd_ecc_rvi_3/601-1604402-1068124

Item #3
Item Name : Reusable On-the-Go Bottle Warmer
URL : http://www.target.com/Reusable-On-the-Go-Bottle-Warmer/dp/B000C6OL84/ref=bxgy_cc_img_a_12994501/602-0557826-8147052
Qty : 1
Unit Price : US$12.99

Calamari - so far haven let bb wear but i let her wear short sleeve rompers, no more long sleeve tops and pants in the day, so hot!

koori: yah i let her wear short-sleeve rompers in the day, at night wear long sleeve rompers. My baby is practically in the aircon room 24 hours a day! Weather so hot, dunno how to place her in non-aircon room plus I am swaddling her.
Scared over-pamper her!

calamari, my bb wear short sleeve top and long pant.. i heard from a relative that must protect bb knee cap, cannot let it jin feng...

wow the whole set of the GD cards is so expensive! calamari where did you find your 2nd hand set?

I been letting baby Byron wear sleeveless since, erm, day 1. I got the sleeveless rompers as a gift and just wore them for him. But I tried to wrap a napkin ard him. But honestly weather have been so hot sometimes i dun do that anymore. Why cannot wear sleeveless?

Xiang: Will it be too heavy if I get the car warmer too? That looks good and seems very practical.

my bb also wearing short sleeve rompers/sleeveless top in the day...too hot for her liow...in the nite she also wearing short sleeve n shorts, she hates long pants, will scream if we put them on her...ha ha ha..

Xiang,

The car bottle warmer looks good...can I add that to my order as well?

Here's my orders:
Item #1
Item Name: Lansinoh Breast Milk Storage Bags - 50 pk
URL: http://www.target.com/Lansinoh-Breast-Milk-Storage-50-pk/dp/B000M16Y7U/sr=1-3/qid=1210078605/ref=sr_1_3/601-1604402-1068124?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Alansinoh&page=1
Qty: 2
Unit Price: USD 9.99 x 2 = US 19.98

Item #2

thanx

Koori,
paisei typo. Ya, website is correct, $75.

Those who undergone C section
Can I chk when u step out of the hse, i.e. gg shopping or outdoor places, do u still wear the binder gynae provide? Can u walk the same speed as b4 undergg c sect and also how long must we wait b4 we can wear high heels? I m in my 4th wk this wk and will b gg bck to church this sunday.

blessed

i only wear the binder for 1 day & i stopped liao coz find it uncomfortable & hot. can walk normal since then. if u still feel pain then u walk slowly. i normally dont wear heels but i guess its up to individual's comfort.

Blessed – oic. Maybe I will try the middle level. Hehe.. thanks. These few days my ss like drop… sigh.. worried leh. Sigh

Jamie – you using cloth diaper on baby.. My CL don’t want to use cloth diaper on bb. But we have the intention to switch back to using cloth diaper once the confinement nanny goes back after 1 month. How do you wash soiled nappies? Would need advice on this. Thanks

I am facing some problems with the way my MIL handles bb. Currently I have a CL to help out. But my MIL will be looking after bb when I go back to work. During my ML, I will be looking after bb myself. When my MIL came over to visit bb yesterday, bb cried when she was carrying her. But instead of coaxing the bb, she let the bb cry and cry so loudly and refused to do anything and keep saying that cannot keep carrying the bb or else the bb will be too pampered. When the CL came into the room to want to carry the bb, my MIL told the CL to go back to her cooking… and she let the bb cry for quite a while until my Hubby told her that cannot let bb cry for too long. The CL told me that cannot let bb cry for too long else wind will get into the stomach… Is it true that if bb cry for too long, wind will get into her stomach? After yesterday’s incident, after my MIL went home, bb seems to be in a bad mood and kept crying and it took the CL quite some time before being able to appease her. And this morning when I was feeding her, she does not seem to have much appetite and after she auto unlatch herself, before I could burp her, she merlioned all her milk out.. wetting the towel that was used to swaddle her, her top, my top and my pants. I am really worried that the way my MIL is handling the bb might not be the correct way. And my hubby also say that we should not go running to the baby the moment she cry. I am now at a lost. Dunno what to do. And after seeing bb crying until so cham I also ended up crying. And whenever I think of how my MIL just let bb cry until like that I will also end up tearing. The whole of yesterday I dunno I cry how many times liao. My hubby worried that I might get PND. Sigh…How do you all react when bb cries? Would need your advice. Sorry for the long post.

Blessed – I m currently in my 3rd week. I only wear the binder at home. Whenever I go out, I don’t wear the binder. But I still walk abit slow coz those few times that I went out, I have not removed stitches. Think should be able to walk at normal speed. If you feel any discomfort, then walk slowly, not so fast yet…

hi burpy_babe....

i'll usually let my bb cry a little while b4 going to her but not too long maybe 1-2mins, but if my dad is at home then will have to attend to bb immediately if not he will nag n nag....

old pple sometimes behave so differently haiz... thk u shld get ur hb to tok to ur MIL lor....

Re: Cleaning of Steriliser

Mummies...do you all find brown residue on the metal plate of your steriliser? how do you clean that anything that we can buy to clean?

Hi Luann, Thanks. I had wanted to attend to bb after a while but upon seeing bb's whole face turn red and she still refuse to carry baby.. but just let bb lie on the bed and try to tap baby to appease her. sigh. i hope what hubby tell her will sink in to her and she will practice what we tell her. Can see a change in bb's temper ever since the incident yesterday. She have been crying until very loud everytime she wake up. Think she is over stimulated last evening when the incident happened.

scubababe, xiang: The car bottle warmer is actually lighter in weight than the Lansinoh milk bags

scubababe: yah, but the bag is taking a long time leh. I sms and emailed organiser but no reply one
I also participated in the Kate Spade one hehe

Blessed: I am also going back to church this sunday! Then celebrating my baby's full month. Coincidentally its Mother's Day hehe. I wore the binder for 2 consecutive weeks. On the 3rd week, I took the binder out when I am sleeping. Now I am putting on the binder back again to wrap with the wrapping from the massage lady. When I go out, I don;t wear the binder. But after 2 hours of walking, I will feel a bit sore. Its getting better though. My stitches are the dissolved kind. According to my massage lady, my scar very nice wor, cannot see hehe.

Luann: You can clean the steriliser with vinegar or a few drops of lemon juice with water. Put to the metal plate and boil (sterilise). Then leave it to cool for 15 mins.