(2008/04) April 2008

Jgal - how is maintenance of the PIS? Isit easy to clean? Do u just need to clean the breastshield or other parts? sorry i have not seen the actual PIS so dunno wat features and parts it has.

<font color="0077aa">is really so depressing and i tot im a super tough person.. but i juz shad my tears after toking to my hubby.. and is really pissing me when they ask me to give bb fm..
, when told hubby wanna get the PIS .. not positive look from him.. arghh!!</font>

Strawberries - i am sure my DH will give me a look if i tell him i wan get the PIS. Tik i will buy it on my own, hehee then tell him its good. But i only scared i use liao still got low ss then jialatz heee..

the PIS consists of
1. motor w adaptor/ battery packs
2. tubes (link frm motor to funnel) - wash with water. No need to sterlize.
3. Funnel (Wash with brush and sterlize)
4. valve (2 parts) (wash and sterlize)
5. Normal bottle (wash and sterlize)
cleaning process quite the same as my avent manual.

... inside the pkg still got other things like breastpad, milkbag , bottles etc

thanks, jgal.. will try out pis..

agreed, fm is very ex! esp, 1 week 1 tin, very xiong...but my ss very low, less than 200ml per day.. hopefully by drinking more water and with a good pump, ss will improve. i too have to give bb fm after she latch on.. but she only latch on for 10-20min and refuse to latch on further..but i find that latching help to clear the duct, and i have more milk after that..

prawnie, take care.. xavier will be fine..

strawberries, i using pigeon sterliser for all bottles and my pump too.. my dh and parent oso ask me to give fm when my ss is low, they scared bb is hungry though they know bm is the best milk.. nv, i give her fm, now bb hard to poop poop, they supported me more to bf..

koori, at first i scared that i have low ss, dun dare to invest, now wanted to buy, so i wasted the money on a mini electric pump and avent manual pump.. my dh sure will nag, but he want bb to drink more bm, so he still will support..

think i will buy more b free plus bottles..

Hi Ladies!!
Jus sharing.. Initially i had same thought that BM is easier to digest and baby gets hungry easily but my girl prove me wrong. Recently she slept from 10 or 11pm till 4am.. and IF i feed FM, she wake up every 2 hr!!! I had to give FM during my 3rd week of confinement cause she had bad jaundice.

My aunty keep asking me to sup with FM but i refuse to.. i enjoy latching her n even if now i go back work, i feel sad to stop latching her.. The bonding is there!

And another time. if ur bf baby wanna latch every hour, it might be growth spurt which will occur from 7-10 days, 2-3 weeks, 4-6 weeks, 3 months, 4 months, 6 months and 9 months.

Refer to this link
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/growth-spurt.html

Hope it helps!!!

Hi Sherin

Thanks for including me in the spree. I have just trf $35 to ur a/c via POSB internet banking. Trans no is 1695807172. Do inform me once u receive it.

Thanks for ur advice. I have more or less decided to move in with muy MIL and hb said that we will come home over the wkends with bb which is mucg better. I called some CL agencies and its v exp! $1000+ for 2 wks, without cooking for mum. Guess las min is like tt, at the mercy of the agencies. Anyway i m feelin much better now. Btw, for those who 12 rent the PIS pump, I rented mine fr toyrental club, they have a website at $35/mth. Find its quite worth it and I decided to rent till i bf my bb for a few mths cos dun intend to have another bb so no pt buyin a new PIS.

strawberries : can use any sterlizer, no problem. i am using philips sterlizer. the pump parts are smaller than advent manual.

All the components shld be placed in the upper level except for the bottles.

cherish : the pkg come with 4 bfa bottles.

burpy babe
for PIS, i used to think choose the highest level, but i was wrong. when i tried using the middle level, more milk r expressed cos after which ll switch to expression mode right? Then expression mode will be harder and more milk ll squirt out then, so i can just relax n put the pump for 10 mins to express max amt of milk.

Does First Few Years provide rental of breast pumps? like to rent the PIS to try.. I'm currently using the Medela mini electric plus.. but find the pump not strong enuff.. have to pump 40-60mins to get 90ml. I pump every 4-5hourly quite tiring also to take so long to pump and have to adjust the pump to get the milk flow..

hihi..

anyone using ameda pump before? how is it compared with Medala PIS? Me using Ameda but realise that my supply is not building up. Only manage to pump abt 40-60 ml after feed. My bb gal is into her 3rd week and I think the ss is really not enough.

Re: Bfree Plus bottles
Mummies using BFree Plus bottles, how do you fix the bottle parts after sterilising them? Cos if we use our bare hands, all the parts in contact with the milk will be in contact with our hands. I am now using sterilising gloves to fix the bottle parts, esp the tube and the round disc. But I find it very expensive to be buying sterilising gloves as I use about 2 gloves everyday. Appreciate your advice!

cherish: i tried using tongs but hands not steady hahaha...keep getting stuck. I read the tube can be skipped after baby is 4 months as they will not be so prone to being colicky by then. U skip so early ah? so tempted to remove the tube as well...

hi mummies, I am using the PIS too and i think its very good. Its abit noisy but am used to it now. I used the maximum strength too, just to squeeze all my milk out!

calamari: that's alot of milk! you say you pump 2x, when in the day? I am trying to pump before i latch bb but only in the morning i can get like 100 ml (one side will be more then the other), the rest of the day i can only pump abt 60-80 ml both sides. That's why i tot of combining the whole day's collection into 1 bottle and freeze it for future use, can i do it?

How long do you all pump on your PIS to get more than 100 ml? I usually just pump for 10 mins, if you pump longer will get alot more? I see no milk coming out i will stop.

Xiang: I am keen to get the bags too. Let me go look at target site. The plastic caps that you are talking about? It can fit all the glass bottles that the hospital gave us rite? I need to go buy them then.

scubababe: I pump when i wake up at 7+ and before i sleep at 1+. Today manage to hit 300ml in the morn pump hehe. I realised after u take a hot bath, the milk is more too! Another way is to wipe/massage your breast (not nipples) with a warm towel.

Cannot combine whole day collection into 1 bottle, not same freshness leh. When u thaw the milk and feed baby, you can combine the milk of different time/day. I also not v sure, this is what friends told me, so i just follow...Mummies, any advice?

I pump for about 10 to 15 mins. My milk will stop coming out at about 8th min but all of a sudden after 1 min, it will come out again. So don't stop pumping just because you don't see milk coming out k? Other milk ducts are still opening up!~

The plastic caps can fit the glass bottles which hospital give us.

Xiang: I am keen to get the Lansinoh bags as well. Let me know when u ordering k?

scubababe: the medela caps fits the glass bottles.
starling :never tried the amede, so cannot comments.

btw the 2008 adv and adv, the different is that there is a switch on the 2008 model for you to reset the pump, instead of switch off then switch on again. the start of the pumping will be fast , just like a hungry baby.

jgal: how can u tell the diff between 2008 model and the older model? I bought mine in Dec 2007 but it also has the let-down switch, don't have to switch off then switch on again also. Can straight away reset.

Anyway for those with leaky breasts, eg. u bf baby one breast, and the other breast is leaking milk, you can buy the Medela milk collection shells. They are quite handy. Can also wear them under your bra in place of breast pads when visitors come to your place. You won't look funny like wonder woman. Looks quite natural under a t-shirt hehe.

Anyone has any recommendation for PD at KKH? Hubby prefers to go KKH for baby's vaccination and mthly check up so now looking for PD at KKH.

mushloom

my mom do put powder on bb back and body sometimes ..when weather is more humid...so bb wont be sticky....i don c y not.......jus don put on gential area to prevent infection

Mushloom - i heard powder gets into the lungs or vagina area can lead to cancer in futre so i never put powder on bb.

Blessed - Which pump u rented at $35, the PIS advanced is at $75. How do they ensure the 'cleanliness' of the pump after use?

<font color="0000ff">scubababe, calamari</font>

i am consolidating the milkbags order. how many boxes do u want?

<font color="0000ff">calamari</font>: can u provide the link for the portable car warmer? will try to order. but you may have to pay higher shipping cost as it's not light if u dun mind.

Mushloom - Parentcraft nurse at TMC said if put baby's powder, the powder may get into their lungs. (Not so good for newborn) If you worried abt it, you may use liquid powder which will also dry up like powder.

Is talcum powder safe for babies?
by Robert Steele, MD (

<font color="ff0000">Q: I love the smell of baby powder and have been using it on my newborn when I change her diaper. A friend told me this is unsafe. Is this really true? </font>

A: The use of baby powders is rather common although many parents have switched to using ointments. Reasons most parents give for preference to powder is the feeling that the powder absorbs moisture better and prevents friction between the baby's bottom and the diaper. However, after decades of use, powders have fallen out of favor by the medical community for a few reasons:

Talcum powder is usually made up of various combinations of zinc stearate, magnesium silicates, as well as other silicates which are finely ground. The size of particles is so small that they are both easily carried in the air like dust and can reach even the smallest areas of the lung.
There have been numerous reports of babies having life-threatening episodes from inhaling the powder. And in fact, there have been many deaths reported from aspiration of the powder. A good number of these cases occurred during a diaper change when adult supervision is usually very high. But as every parent knows (including myself), infants and toddlers can be awfully quick sometimes, so reaching for and spilling the powder bottle is not such a hard thing to do for the little ones.
The feeling from many dermatologists is that there isn't much advantage of powders as compared to ointments when it comes to preventing and treating diaper rash.
So, clearly talc can cause pneumonia, inflammation (or swelling) of the airways of babies, and even death. But what about cancer? When the link to asbestos and cancer came to light, it was noticed that a lot of the exposure to asbestos was accompanied by other inhalable fibers and dust including talc. However, a specific link to talc exposure and lung cancer has not been established. On the other hand, there has been some interesting research into a possible link of talc to ovarian cancer.

For a number of years now, epidemiologists (scientists who try to establish cause and effect relationships in diseases) have been interested in trying to find some link to the environment and ovarian cancer. Some of their focus has been on talc powder because it is a product that is commonly used in the groin area by women. Several of these studies have shown a possible link between talc powder use and ovarian cancer while other studies have not. One interesting study published last year (1996) was done by examining the ovaries of women who had had them removed for reasons other than ovarian cancer. In that study, talc powder was found in all the ovaries including the ones from women did not use talc powder on themselves. This suggests that talc powder could reach the ovaries of women who use talc powder on their babies.

The relationship between talc and cancer is by no means certain. It may turn out there is no relationship, on the other hand, it could be an important contributing factor in the development of ovarian cancer. More studies need to be done. Currently, there is absolutely no hard evidence to suggest talc powder use causes cancer in babies. However, the immediate danger of inhaling baby powder is clear. Therefore, I would discourage the use of baby powder.

Extracted from : 3q5k%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/baby/bsafety/0,,3q5k,00.html

out of topic for a while

do u all know where can i get those travel kit containers for shampoo etc de?? like travelling kit...

hi mummies....any1 attending the TMC Parentcraft BB massage class this sunday? i'll be going wondering if will be meeting any1 of you....

any1 of you feel that your nipple/aeorla is sore aft BF....mine seems to be quite sore after every feed....been putting on the purlan cream like xiao...ha ha ha...hope my breasts gets use to bb suckling...

Kea - watsons can get those small containers. If u put in ur checkin luggage don need to use small containers.

Stefy - mine sometimes feel like sudden pain...like kana electrocuted pain. I also apply alot of nipple cream.

Hi Xiang,

I'm interested in the milk bags. Can help me to get 2 boxes please ? Let me know your acct details and I wil remit payment to you.

Thank you very much !