(2008/04) April 2008

luan.. mine also like to "play" with me. like yours she suck for 15 mins.. and 1 hr ask for milk again
sigh. but it quite normal.

xiang/calamari, milk bottles of the common brands (pigeon , nuk, medela,tollyjoy) and those glass ones from the hospital have "standard" opening size. You can get the sealing cap from most places that sell baby products... the bottles that come with medela pump is of standard opening too.. i can use my pigeon sealing cap on them.

Also to note, you pump directly into the glass bottle, even the fat ones, from the hospital using medela pump.
Avent bottles size is called "wide neck" which is wider.

koori- i tried that with my gynae.. his reply is drink more fluids, papaya fish soup. no medication.

went to lactation consultant, recommend the fenugeek from GNC. my friend took it and she see increase within 24 hours but for me.. no difference. her comments is drink more water to hv more milk.

jaspire: I suspect it has to do with my confinement food oso. Otherwise, now i am on a lot of fish and longan tea. Nothing else liao....Just latch baby more often - 8 to 12 times. Its a demand/supply thingie.

Xiang: Yes, those are the plastic caps

stefy, koori: my baby's feeding pattern is not consistent one.
- Sometimes its 15 mins only suckle 1 breast total.
- Sometimes its 45 mins suckle 1 breast total.
- Sometimes its 10 mins to half an hour each breast
Depending on baby's mood. But I tend not to unlatch baby but let her unlatch herself cos I find it quite disruptive to 'break' her suction.
That's why sometimes baby can suckle one of my breasts for 45 mins! Then neglect the other breast
Now my breast uneven production of milk. 1 side more than the other. My right side can pump 1.5 times more quantity than the left
Scared next time 1 big 1 small.

koori: Recalled Mrs Wong told us after 2 months, no need to wear mittens. Cos baby would want to stretch their fingers...

Calamari - ic, now my bb keep 'using' her hands so i tot wan remove the mittens from her. She is coming 6 weeks old now.

Will try to drink more water to get more ss.

Hi Koori
I seldom latch on bb. Mainly on express. Will only latch on once a day to bb to clear clogs for me. Now each time express ard 120 - 180ml. Total in 1 day is ard 700 - 800plus ml. Read fr a breastfding bk that to increase supply, ve to pump regularly, first every 2 hrly, followed by every 3 hr. When I first started, total was 200 ml with 10 pumps a day!

Sherin
Are u still taking in orders?
If so, I would like to order the torso wrap.
http://www.maidenform.com/catalog/p...81&categoryId=28&wtlCategory=Flexees
Size S, nude

Calamari,

Me too me too... My gal tend to suck for a long time on one breast usually each feeding is only emptying one side only then when i go pump its always uneven production... like you like that, can have 1 side produce so much more than the other side. But now i let her latch on the other side that has lesser production... Dunno is it my 'xin li zuo yong' i feel that my breast is one big one small lei...

Lately i find that i have become my gal's human pacifier... everytime she wakes up she needs to suckle on my breast then will fall back to sleep. Even after her dad bottle feed her she still needs to suckle then will fall asleep... Anyone facing the same problem? I am trying to hold off giving her the pacifer...

Amy - i gave bb pacificer she only sucks when she feels like it, most of the time she doesnt suck. So far i hardly latch her on so she doesnt take me as human pacifier hehe.

Xiang,

I want to order the milk bags. 2 boxes of 50pcs. Thanks. You have my email right? email me your account for payment. Thanks

I tried pumping out my milk for an hr and all I get is 40ml for both breast. When will milk supply start to increase? My baby is turning 2wks old.
Is it problem with my electric pump or my milkflow is too little?

mummyfel, not to worry! When my bb ard 2 wks, my supply was ard like tt. I was using mini electric pump... no good!!! pump till i wanna die. When i drank papaya soup, my supply increased and also i changed my pump to medela pump in style advanced which is my lifesaver. Ctd to pump and ur milk flow ll increase, have to be diligent, wake up every 2 - 3 h to pump.

Does any1 have the same exp as me? my confinement is coming to an end this Fri and sigh, many unhappy things happen during my confinement. My mum agreed 2 help me look after my bb for long term and alas my dad was sick but claimed he is ok liao, caused my bb to b hospitalized when he was 2 wks old, undergone v drastic treatment which i ve posted in the prev threads. Thus, when the medical report is out, I was angry with my parents and told them that sick cannot lie say ok and somemore still zzz with bb.

After which, when the medical report is out and doc told my mum personally tt they r the cause of bb's high fever, my mum went into self denial mode and tt time i was 1/2 way thru confinement. There is no way that she can ctd to look after bb for me cos doc say since my dad is chronically sick, v dangerous for bb as he mayb infected again. So no choice, hb and I quickly shifted bb to MIL's place for a few days. Bcos of this, my mum quite angry with us for shiftin bb to MIL's place as she deemed my MIL cant take gd care of bb which is not true. Subsequently, we shifted bck to our own place to ctd with my confinement. Alas, my mum was v spiteful and told me tt the min my confinement end, i m on my own and she quickly called her boss to take back her job. Hb and I asked her to extend for 2 more wks till my C sect wound totally healed, she refused and told me that we have to be on our own. C section would split anything, my prob. Then after which, confinement she would come late ard 10 am and then leave ard 5pm, throwing bb to us. As I m quite tired having to express milk every 3 h, my hb took the nite shift to look after bb and wanted me to rest as much as possible. However, he cannot tahan long term and when I asked my mum if she can fulfil her role as a confinement lady to overnite and help look after the bb which is in the original deal, she refused to and told us tt bb is ours and we have to take resp.

Finally
I told my hb i ll rest as much as i can in the day time, but when I m sleeping, my mum wld keep slamming the door, everyday in anger when she found out that we sought the advice of my MIL and got 1 nite, when my hb and i were physically exhausted, we got our MIL to help, she literally gave me black face everyday and then after which I have to take my lunch and dinner 3 - 4 h apart cos she wanna rush home to do hsewk.

Finally, hb suggested tt we move in to MIL's place to stay so that she can help me look after bb at night. The thing is tt my MIL tend to say neg things in front of my bb abt me such as" grandma loves u, mummy ll cane u when u grow up etc" and i have to endure that from 12/5 to 3/6/08. The tot of it really makes me wanna break down. I did tot of lookin after the bb myself, but given the pain in my c section would and it is impossible for hb 2 look after bb at nite and work, i m left with no choice. I felt super depressed at the tot of it and cant even rest well durin my confinement. Does any1 have any solution out for me b4 I move on to my MIL's place this Sat? Realli hope there is a solution, else think i ll kanna depression cos I m not supposed to leave the hse until 3/6/08. Imagine my confienemnt starts 7 April to 3 Jun without being able to go out at all! Sometimes i realli feel like committing suicide!

Blessed - i also using mini electric, duno isit the pump or my milk ss not good.

My confinement also sucks cos i got a bad CL, i was practically doing most things myself. Lucky my mom is here to help out. Now 1mth over and slowly everthing back to normal. I taking care of bb at night now since DH needs to work. For day time my mom will come over to cook.

How come ur confinement is so long? 2 mths? For now think the best plan is to shift in with ur MIL since u need someone to help in the night or get a good CL to help u out. Try getting ur DH to tell her not to mention those -ve remarks in front of bb, i tik thats ridiculous.

Sherin, sorry was bz with my fuss fuss bb Jay. He has been crying a lot recently. I missed ur bank details. can post it again? and also, my waist is a horrendous 34', should i be taking XL?

blessed... hang in there... tot of getting a confinement lady? I think many of us here can recommend. Mine is a bit bit lazy but she takes care of bb and me very well. She will not use nappies and that's abt it. I think that is small issue.

You needed someone to take care of you. your MIL seems like a good choice if CL is not possible. Ask ur hubby to speak to ur MIL slowly... abt the -ve words. My dad also like to say -ve words cos some older pple believes that have to say some -ve things so as not to over pamper the baby.

Dont be unhappy. Bb is our best gift in life, if you are upset, bb will feel it... milk flow will be affected too...

Koori,

Medela mini electric is lousy... If i just use the pump itself can only express very little milk. I always massage and squeeze my breast while pumping so that i can get more milk. I m going to buy the PIS advance since first few years got promo.

Blessed,

Why dun you try looking for a daytime confinement lady or part time maid? that way you dun have to move to your in laws' place...

actually, blessed, sometimes to make yourself feel a bit bit better, when you are feeling better, can walk ard (later stage of confinement), you may want to ask ur hubby to just bring you out for a while. I know it is not advised. But as long as u dont go out for very long, just a while, take a breather and enjoy time with ur hubby, it will make u feel better.

When i was in confinement, the tot of being 'locked up' for so long, i think i will go crazy. my hubby brought me out for a slow walk, and it makes me feel much better.

Amy - me too also massage my breast alot to get more ss. First few years promo at wat price? i wonder if shld i spend on the pump cos i duno if my flow will be that good.

if can afford, why not get confinement lady. even bad CL also not worst than -ve remarks.. take care.. don get too stress out.. my mom althr she comes 2x a week also v problematic. insist bb get wrap up in thick towel.. till bb hv to see doc. after 2 weeks stil not recovered.

if not ask for catering food to tie u over first.. want to try out part-time maid first.

hi blessed.. sorry to hear abt your horrible confinement. Me too have tots of suicide because motherhood is too overwhelming. I feel weak and at night , bb needs at least 3 feeds and she likes to play after the morning feed which is ard 6am.

We got a maid 3 wks into the confinement, and it really ease alot of our burden. She help us take care of the bb in the morning and keeps the house tidy. No regrets getting her. You may want to consider getting a maid to lighten your burden. She can help you take care of the bb at night but of course you need to make sure she is given enuff sleep.

Amy, i just got PIS just now.. the 2008 shoulderbag at $639.... amazing.. 1 hr after feed, i still managed to pump 60 ml within 10 mins. I dun find it very noisy also.

hey mummies...thanx for sharing ur experience abt bb feeding pattern...so my ger is normal...ha ha ha...

amy...my bb also the same wan to suckle on my breast b4 she will sleep at nite...tiring...i also gif her pacifier liow but like koori's ger she will onli suck when she feels like it if not she will just reject...

blessed...sorry to hear abt ur confinement.... like wat the other mummies say i thk might be a gd idea if you can get a CL to tide u over, then at least u can get plenty of rest so ur wounds can heal faster....hang in there......n njoy ur time wif bb..

blessed - sorry to hear about ur bad experience. Agree with the suggestions by the other mommies... you might want to consider getting some help.. otherwise, ask your hubby to talk to ur MIL not to make those negative remarks in front of bb.... but then sometimes my parents will also say negative things in front of baby about me.. say that i bad mummy.. dun want to feed her lah... etc.. haha.. think they meant it as a joke. mebe if its our own parents who make such a remark.. it is more acceptable coz we know that they are joking... try not to think so much.. look on the bright side.. your hubby's support now is also very impt....

thanks koori, bb has pooped just now.

blessed, i am using the mini electric too, i too find that pump is not very good, cannot pump out milk very well, dunno is every pump the same? i have to hand pump everytime. Medela PIS is similar to the mini electric pump? i dunno should i get PIS anot, I scared that the noise level is not suitable for me to use at my workplace.

dun get too upset over it. not good for u and ur bb.

Jgal, how is the noise level? suitable for office use?

Anyone knows if we can rent the PIS pump? Feel like trying before committing to buy.
Wats the diff btw PIS advanced/ PIS original & PIS traveller?

<table border=1><tr><td>Control Wear</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Design</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD>Colour</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>Price (US$)</TD><TD>Price (S$) Exchange Rate 1.4</TD><TD>Total (S$)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Cath</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Koori</TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Kea</TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>jo (princess_j) </TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>Pretty Sew-Free Hi-Waist Thigh Slimmer (clr) </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $24.99 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $67.20 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>goodbaby</TD><TD>Pretty Sew-Free Hi-Waist Thigh Slimmer (clr) </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $24.99 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD></TD><TD>Minimizing Waistnipper Thigh Slimmer (clr) </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $24.99 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD>One Fabulous Body® Thigh Slimmer </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $20.00 </TD><TD> $28.00 </TD><TD> $98.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Starling</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>chiffon (chiffon) </TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Scubababe</TD><TD>Pretty Sew-Free Hi-Waist Thigh Slimmer (clr) </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $24.99 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief </TD><TD>XL</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD></TD><TD>Weightless Power slimming boy short </TD><TD>XL</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $18.00 </TD><TD> $25.20 </TD><TD> $57.40 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Jacelyn</TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD></TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $70.00 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Amy Quek</TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD></TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief </TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $67.20 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Coconut_K</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD></TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $67.20 </TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Koh Kelly</TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper.</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>blessed</TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I also have an Apr bb. My girl was born on 20th April.... doing confinement now...so hot and boring...cant wait to go out.... can i join u in the chat?

Calamari,
Wow, u got so much milk...so envy!! I can only manage to pump out 150ml at most during the night sessions... feeling a bit demoralised cos i used to be able to pump >200ml easily when i had my prev kid.

Koori,
I am thinking of getting fr them for some close office collegues.

Cherish / Koori: i didnt try the mini before so cannot comments abt the different but i find the PIS advance 2008 that i am using is very good.. The sound level is acceptable. I dun think can hear if you close the door. Also to note, i take 15-20 mins to pump 60 ml using a advent manual pump. Using the PIS double pump, i can do it within 10 mins. You may want to go to first few years at KKH to try out before committing. BTW, the pis advance 2008 come with 4 bpa free bottles and it can pump directly into glass bottles used by the hospital.

PIS advance has a feature to imitate bb's way of sucking, i.e. fast and rapid at first and slowly afterwards. For 2008 model, you can "restart" the pattern to encourage let-down esp if you have low supply and requires to restart a few times before there is milk. For the "old" model, you need to switch it off and on again, which the salesgals say make the machine less durable. my take is that it's the same cos' anyway, both have 15 mth warranty on the motor.

I think now FFY have the lowest price and the latest models. think they running promo on it.

Medela 2008 Pump In Style Advanced
Backpack - $669.00
Shoulder Bag- $639.00 --> this is what i and xiang gotten. You can order online. Its free delivery. Same price as at the shop.
Metro Bag - $729.00
**Only different btw the 3 is the bag. You still can remove the pump from the bag if you want to.

MEDELA Pump In Style Advanced Breastpump
BackPack-$549.00
Shoulder BAg-$519.00

MEDELA NEW Pump In Style Original Breastpump
$419.00

MEDELA/SWING Breast Pump
$289.00

I think most of us have the same problem when baby latches on. Mine always falls asleep and only latches on 1 side, don't think she even empties out that 1 side, and then she will wake up 1 hour later and cry for more. Find that this is really tiring. She also refuses to latch on sometimes if she cries until she is agitated, so have to supplement with formula or with the expressed milk. I am considering pumping instead of latching on, maybe just latch on once in a while to bond with baby. Feeling quite upset when baby is not full despite latching on almost every hour, so maybe pumping is a better idea. Really envy those who do not have problem with milk ss. Sigh...

koori : pis pump is worth investing considering fm so expensive. i count liao.. if bb drink 1 small tin per wk ($16/wk), 10 mths breakeven liao :p also consider the fact that 2nd child can use again. It okay to spend on it since bm is so good for bb.

<font color="0077aa">me too.. so depressing when latching baby on... is basically almost an hr.. like wat some of u experience bb may juz be playing, latch awhile then unlatch.. then u put down cry..im going nuts wif this liaoz.. was thinking wat else can increase the milk ss beside taking more fish or papaya soup, my hubby n parents-in-law are emphazing perhaps give formula milk.. but im very stubborn.. by doing partial feeding i already feel so kind of sad liaoz..</font>

strawberries.. you want to invest on the pis advance.. it can encourage ss. Also hor..in room temp, ebm dun spoil as easily as fm. So you can give to the bb over 4 hrs.

Jgal, ask u ah, i am using pis advance too... when u use the pis advance, what is the level that u choose for the pump. i normally choose the highest level.. coz otherwise, like not able to pump out alot of milk like that leh...

calamari - hmm no leh.. dun find it painful. initially when first started abit painful but now not really liao leh....

strawberries - think nowadays my girl also like that... will latch on for a while then fall aslp liao.... and then half an hour later wld wake up and cry for milk again.... sigh... nw days she keep feeling very uncomfortable... worried that she might get colic.. keepings crossed that its not....

burpy: Good...means your nipple toughen up liao.
Mine can still be a bit sore. I try to find a level which is similar to my baby's suckling..and its level 3, hehe.

I'm almost losing track here.. Been so busy. Baby Xavier has been hospitalised. I found blood in his stools and I send him to hospital straight and was found out that his palettes count is super low. Normal range is 100-450 but his is only 10. As a result, this caused bleeding from within and pass out together with his stools and also he will bruise easily if accidentally knocked him or should he been cut accidentally, he will bleed non stop. If palettes count should go any lower, the danger of bleeding in the brain would be there. Today, he just went through a bone marrow test. Waiting for results to be out tomoro. Hopefully, the doctors would be able to find out what exactly is the cause of it.

prawnie.. let us know the result. let us know if you need palettes donation also. Take care of yourself also.

burp : i turn to 3 only. i only try 2 times, experience is really good.
worth every cents. i was pretty worry abt going back to work. i worry that i may have to stop bf because of the time req for bf and also ss. Maybe because you switch to the highest level, that's why you think it's noisy.