(2008/04) April 2008

sherin i have combi 360 but i haven go out wif my boy. it does look a bit small compared to perego. going out is another challenge i face. will bring him to my parent's and n law's place after confinement. hopefully can manage his screams by then

mushloom, how much did you get it for? can post a pic of it when it's folded? I love my peg perego but can only bring out when going out with hubby le. If not i cant lift it into the car.
My girl has been going out quite frequently. Sometimes we'll go out on baby pouch and sometimes on stroller.

sherin

i give him goodwood gripe water.....but still ...haiz...he cant slp stable too..keep startled and cry......even if i put beansprout pillow he oso like tt....the yao lan, i don wan those screw on ceiling de..i wan those can move ard..coz now i stayin at my grandma hse, not my own hse, i don wan screw on to the ceiling....

i reali cant imagine bringing my bb out....i cant even handle him at home arady...haiz..... y am i so useless......i am gg to breakdw...

kea, perhaps you may want to try to find out why he gets startled so easily.
I'm not sure where to find le. But if i see i'll let you know. Oh is it those metal stand type one? then hang the yao lan one?
So far, everytime i go out, will be with hubby. But i ask him to let me handle her alone. I'll carry her myself, and carry my own bag,etc. I want to learn to be independent so that i can bring her out on my own.

congrats to all who popped! Welcome to motherhood

Calamari: your baby is soooo cute!

koori: I am using Pampers S size for baby as he has outgrown the Newborn one already but i find its a little too big for his butt! I tried huggies S size but the cutting is smaller than Pampers. I still prefer Pampers but pampers is very very ex. Will try Mammy Poko soon once Pampers is done.

sherin, yeah babies smile alot in their sleep! my baby first smiled at his daddy today while he was carrying him! So sweet for that moment!

Re strollers, I got the Aprica one but have yet to put baby in it because i was told can only put him when he is 2 mths old. Now i dun even dare to bring baby out! scared he cries nonstop and becomes centre of attraction haha

btw for those mummies who have brought baby for the first month checkup, how much did your baby grows for his weight? My PD told me to feed baby 100ml every 3hourly via bottle feeding EBM and 80ml every 2hourly. I wonder is that alot for a month old baby? How much do you all feed your baby?

Re Milk supply, how do you all increase it? I find my milk ss down these days with lack of sleep. Sigh. Besides drinking lots of papaya fish soup (i really agree it helps to increase ss - I could pump 200ml total every 3-4 hours!), does massaging the breasts help?

kea: you are not alone! I am facing the same problem and my boy refused to sleep! sometimes i get so frustrated when he cries and I wanna cry too! and sometimes he refused to sleep after the next feed and it went on to the 2nd feed. I thought newborns are supposed to sleep alot?

kea, cheeer uP! *Hugz*
Take each step slowly. Think i'm lucky that i got two dogs at home to keep my sanity as well !

gervynne, i wanted an aprica stroller when i first bought mine. Coz i spotted one Pink one! But at that time, robinson was having 20% and i was only like 3 or 4 mths preggy. So my hubby says betta settle for something big and unisex colour.
I havent brought my girl for her checkup yet. But her weight gain was about 200gm for the first week, drinking a mixture of BM and FM.
Now she's fully on FM. She drinks about 100ml of water mixed with 3 scoops of FM. That should have about 120ml of milk altogether. She is fed every 3 hourly. However sometimes she doesnt wake up for her feeds, so i'll just let her sleep. Max. sleep is about 5 hours.

On full mth, my resolution is to wake up and feed my baby and let my hubby rest. So far he has been waking up at night for her feeds then morning he has to work. Like so poor thing.

gervynne

my bb oso sometimes don wan slp!! i dunno wad to do....=(.....and i feel reali reali bad when i have flu and i scream at him today when he was so cranky......my mom saw me like tt, she faster come carry....haiz...i reali feel useless as i throw temper on my little bb when he cant tok yet , only knw hw to cry, and i still scream at him..haiz....

Kea - don feel bad, tik u are nt feeling well tats why feeling down. Try to cool urself down, let ur mom taje over for time being, take good rest then start over again.

Kea,

i have a brand new yao lan for sale (not electronic). i got it from kiddy palace. meant for my #1 but did not use it on her. i m selling it as $50. but its pink in color.

pick up point: eunos mrt station

email me at: s.ho14(at)yahoo.com.sg if u r keen

kea - yah agree with koori, dun feel bad... its because you are not feeling well.. try to have a good rest and let your mom take over for the time being.. only when you have sufficient rest can you be more tolerant towards bb. Remember? you need to rest is to go a longer distance.....

<font color="0077aa">burpy_babe, i was admitted at 1.50am on 17th april for induction.. my dilation din really speed up tat fast.. from 1 cm to 3 cm after the start of iv oxytocin at 0845 hrs onli at 1115hrs.. start epidural at 1145 hrs.. and fully dilated onli at 1745hrs.. then dr tham review and reduce the dose fer epidural.. and the labour contractions starts coming in at 1830hrs.. so after all the pushings etc.. bb was delivered at 2102 hrs.. Dr tham really very gentle and patient, tat is one i muz sae.. I was staying at 8222
guess we are in the same ward ahz.. ehehhee..</font>

strawberries, yah we are.. admitted at 1.50am for induction? so late at night? so your bb's born on 17th? me bb's born on 18th. hehe

were u discharged on 19th? did you attend the parentcraft session on the day before you discharge?

Re : Vaccinations

Wan check did u all go for 5 in 1 or 6 in 1?
Where did u all bring bb for vaccinations. I am scheduled for 1 jab Hep B on 2 May by my PD, tot that the Hep B jab is included in the 6in 1, he din mention to me abt 5 in 1 or 6 in 1, so confused!

gervynne: how do u cook the papaya soup?

i went into depression sometime back. my mil cant help me as she needs to takecare of my sil bb during day time. so everyday since confinement started, i takecare of my bb myself from 8-6pm. as for food im not eating well too. she cook almost the same food. lunch - beehoon with fish &amp; meat (everyday the same) dinner - one fish with veg &amp; rice. if i know i wld have hire a puiyue lady
i cried &amp; cried many times, told hubby i wanna commit suicide (seriously thought before). told him im so stress having to change diaper, feed my bb and hoax her to slp. i was quite upset abt it. thinking y in the 1st place she commit herself to do confinement for me &amp; now say she cant cope!!! she even tell my DH to send my bb to let baomu takecare.

during confinement period i keep going out. buy babycot, bring bb c doc as she's down with flu &amp; skin allergy. i myself is sick too, took medicine. i dont even dare to let her have my BM after i express out. i was so sad seeing myself pouring away my BM
i really pity my bb as i cant BF her. everytime i feed her with FM i feel very guilty in my heart.

btw: can we consult lactation consultant at hospital where we delivered? i wanna consult them after my confinement as i dont wish to give up on BF.

i m back after delivey...

cheesycake.. still not too late to get cl. late better than never. need contact.. i ask my cl she might hv friends.

Jenny: I think ward 82 is mainly the A1 and the B1 ward... my hubby went to recce the place and found that on the opposite side, same row as the nursery is the B1 ward...

cheesycake - how many days into confinement now?Din know u have prob...don get too upset, slowly one step @ a time. U seriously need some help esp during 1st 2 weeks when we are weaker and recovering.
I have a Cl but i also does most things myself worst thing is i have to wipe my kitchen at night when she sleep cos its still oily.
A good CL is useful but a bad CL is wasting $ &amp; time.

cheesycake: yeah i know how frustrating it is to take care of the bb alone! my mom did the confinement for me too and she was overwhelmed by some many things to do! we did not expect that taking care of a bb can be so tough and i was getting sick of the same food that she cooks everyday! Moreoever each time bb cries, my parents/hubby would push him to me to nurse him all the time so it seems like i'm doing it myself all alone. I think when i have my second bb, i'll get a confinement lady to help out otherwise it will be very tiring affair too. hang in there, your baby should be onemonth old already right?? it should gets better as she grows older.

re lactation consulting, u can try calling the hospital for help. At gleneagles, the lactation lady came every day to advise us and she gave us the number to call too. I threw the namecard away when my milk ss was better. first few days i was so desperate coz my pump was not working, i had bad engorgement and baby refused to latch on but thank goodness all went well after that.

kea: i screamed at bb once too when i got so frustrated with him not wanting to sleep after nursing and worse, kept crying although diapers changed, not hungry etc. i feel so bad after that.

Cheesycake,

How many more days do you still have in your confinement? Maybe can ask some of the mummies here whose confinement is finishing if their confinement ladies want to continue working at your side for a few more days or weeks...

Kea, gervynne,

Don't stress yourselves up... Baby can sense our insecurities n fustrations. So the more fustrated you are the more baby will not calm down. Believe in yourself! You definately can handle baby just that you need to learn some techniques and gain some experience... *hugs* dun be too hard on yourselves k...

Strawberries: sorry but I don't think I rec'd any sms from you leh. I was discharged on 19 Apr, didn't attend the briefing, my HB went instead. Had quite bad pain and cramp at the wound one nite and was shivering for 10 mins or so on second night, didn't have more than 4 hrs sleep every night during the stay at kk. THink my body was in quite bad shape...well anyway now feeling much better.
How is your baby now?

chessy, my mum did my confinement for me too.. but i take care of my bb myself as she cannot cope.. I have been eating a dish with rice only for 18 days as she only know how to cook that, very sick of the food, but no choice.. she has no experience too.. still glad that she help me out.

BF, i have very low supply. only 50ml from both side, i din pump every 3hr, i pump only twice a day, i will let bb latch on before drinking FM.. think i din drink enough and the drink has dang gui, i heard that dang gui reduce milk flow too??

Kea &amp; gervynne, dun stress up.. bb crying is normal. my bb will cry whenever she want to poop, it can drag for an hr.. so now, we will make the poop poop sound for her to poop more easily. no more crying from her..

i m going back for lactation class too.

want baby to latch on again.. now he used to bottle feed easy and fast so now he struggle with me when i breast feed and to go on pump.. pump more painfull and stressful cos the quantity of supply v obvious.

don know how to use the pump well too, always leak out. any one know how to position the pump to minimise leakage?

cherish.. i only get 30ml fr both side.. i m trying to go for 40ml today...

so stressful and painful, yesterday pump half way, start to bleed and hv to throw away.

<font color="0077aa">burpy_babe, my hubby and i attended the parentcraft on cord care and how to bath baby.. cuz hubby wanna learn.. so we go.. is on the 19th april..
juz out of curosity.. whether ur bb gal born on 18 april 0008hrs?? cuz i heard 1 couple saying tat

<font color="0077aa">zishumo, me oso discharge on the 19th april ahz.. but extend to 5pm cuz wanna accompany bb more.. my bb is confirm G6PD.. so gotta stay fer 14 daes for monitoring of bilirubin level. on 20th april.. his level is so high tat he was started on phototerapy haiz.... he still in ward 82 nursery.. so everydae i will go down to c him.. ,ur contact no. i follow from the contact list where Geryl put wor.. hmm..</font>

<font color="0077aa"> ur have problems latching the baby on when cradelling.. me have lehz.. dun noe whether my technique rite or not. .i juz simply cant latch my bb on fully.. he will cry and cry and cry.. dun noe wat to do.. sometimes dun noe whether is he uncomfortable..</font>

<font color="0077aa">cheesycake, dun be upset.. anything u can share wif us.. like serene saes is not too late to get a CL..
Re: BF u can still contact ur lactation consultant ahz. . </font>

hi baby_chevelle,
I dun think u need to pour away ur BM. Im currently down with flu, cough and fever now and gynae told me I can take medication and BF. I express out the BM to feed my bb. Only 2 types of antibotics cannot take - cant rem the names, the rest of the medicine all ok cos they r present in v small amt in the mother's BM. I have to avoid my bb for a while because I m sick, felt so sad and the only thing I can do for my bb is to give him BM so boost his immune system. Everytime I express, I will cry when I tot of not being able to c my bb until I recover.

For me, now is a v trying period. My dad is v sick and he insisted in staying in the hse that I do confinement. As a result, my poor bb is hospitalized which i mentioned in the prev post. Now, I also kanna the cough, flu and down with fever. When my mum told him to move out for a while, he said v troublesome and dun 1. So, now my bb will stay with my MIL till I recover b4 moving back to our own place. Felt super pissed off by my dad and then my mum who did confinement for me, told me that once bb reached full mth, she will not help me out anymore and she will go back to her job. Just had a C section and wonder if I can bath bb when he is 1 mth old. Realli hope that the wound is ok now. Now is the 2 wk after my C section and the wound still hurts, esp when I cough. Just need to rant here.

hi mummies, seems that many of us are sick during our confinement period. I am also down with flu and slight sore throat. I am still BF my baby as I cannot bear to leave him. The PD clinic ask me to put on surgical mask when I am feeding him.

We are all strong women ya! Those that are feeling really down just rant here, we have each other for support!

Cheesycake,
It's very tough to do everything yourself. Take a step at a time. U an call hospital for advice whether u deliver there anot. Have a list of qns on hand and phone them. I did phone my hospital regarding ebm matters

Gervynne, Kea
I also like also go crazy one of the nights last week when bb refused to sleep from 10pm to 2am. The moment i put her down, her eyes big big and cry for security suckling. Actually it is becoz i dun have ilk for her, she is feeling hungry and din want to sleep, or she was over stimulated during daytime and too tired to fall alseep. So i was like dun know wat to do. Cried a little, then abt 2am, my mum came to my room and carried bb and helped her to sleep for an hour b4 coing to me to nurse again. The next day, parents bought stuff for me to eat and dun dare to cook ginger, wine stuff for me liao since it stopped my milk so much.

Last nite, same thing, i ate the wrong stuff and no milk, bb crying for milk and nurse her for 1n hour but still no milk. Then finally gave in to fm for the 1st tie last nite. The 1st fm was diluted fed at 11.15p then at 12pm, she cried again, so mum fed her with the original strength of fm. I was so upset that i couldnt bf her last nite and struggled within. Cried to sleep and bb was w mum the whole night. I kept drinking red date longan tea. Then at 4pm, i woke up feeling so full that i pumpedd. Managed to pump 120ml, broke all my record. Must be bb's suckling for an hour that stimulate breasts to supply. Then bb also woke up at 4.35am for feed and i gave her my ebm. she only drank 70ml and threw away 50ml, so sayang. BF is really a mental battle. Think i lost it last nite.

true, many of us are sick and is it that as long as i put on surgical mask, i ll not spread the germs to my bb? if so, i wld realli wanna c my bb asap!

Hi strawberries... hehe.. yupz we are that couple...hehe......

zishumo, you also with KKH? hehe.. woah.. quite a number of mummies here with KKH... and discharged on the same day. haha.. so coincidental.

Strawberries, how is your milk supply so far? am still worried that i m not producing enough milk for baby... sigh...

Hi Cheesycake

U're not alone, I'm also stressed out but taking it better now after my parents and hubby encourage me. BTW even when we're sick, out breastmilk can also be fed to baby. I was also down with flu last week, called my gynea and he said is okie but dun pump straight after medication.

Anyway lets look on the bright sight...

Hi Cherish

I started bathing bb on my own since last sunday.

mummies, my hb found this on the web and manage to get a bit of discount if we can reach 10 pieces. I have never done a spree or BP before so I thought just open to April Mummies to see the response.

Baby Art Magic Box - DIY Baby imprint
Price: $19 if we hit 10 pieces
Collection: By postage or collection in Pasir Ris St 11

A simple casting kit in a self-contained tin, this material is 100% safe for baby's skin.

No mess or fuss.

Features
· Suitable for babies aged 0-12mths.
. Size: Diameter 16 cm.
· Instructions included.
1375701.jpg

thx all mummies for the support......feel better now.....i can tel my mom quite worry to let me look aft...keep telling me to tk gd care of her grandson and she tok to Eden and ask Eden come look for her....heez...the reason i insist to bring back bb tmr is becoz i wan let my mom rest..i can tell she super tired coz of all the confinment etc and have to look aft Eden......oso becoz i wan to learn to be independent to look aft Eden..i knw is gonna be tough fr tmr onwards as i will be full time mummy and have to wake up to look aft bb fully at nite.....reali tink tt all Mummies is great......."thanks mom"...."love you".......