(2008/04) April 2008

yea...!! i am 3more days to my confinement ends!!!! ......btw, wads the shape of Ang Gu Kueh for boy? pointed one rite?

thks babes for ur comments on Elliot.. kekeke

Calamari: ur ger is so cute!

Jenny, Sherin: it's true that BB too used to our warm temp in tum tum. Nurses told me to keep temp ard 28-30 at nite... hot for us man.

Babes, I am been driven nuts by my mum, mother-in-law & aunties. During visits at hospital or home, they gave so MANY comments.. I know they mean well. But they give the face & tone like ,'We know u youngsters think we kaypoh or traditional....but that's how we did it then..."

Their problem:
1. Baby cries alot: use jing feng san power
2. Breastfeed: Mum too tiring, not enuf rest. Maybe BB cries so much not enuf milk, so feed water BB with water & FM. ( BB only coming 2 wks, so tatz a spur in their intake.... which my ss is 120ml now..)
3. Not eating enuf ginger: Baby jaundice lah, luckily my CL knows cannot take so much at moment.
4. Sleep on bed all day long (how can??!! My gynae also says move ard abit, of course I try to take naps & slp more but how to with the calls to check on me & BB from parents??!!)
5. Heaty food: I had very bad heartburn recently, so hv to relax abit on heaty food ( I'm heaty based), it was worst then preggies. Thot after birth ok. MIL said must take alot of ginger & eat more food. But I aam already so full with the meals & soups, plus all the longan tea......

Sorry babes, rattling on the above. Trying to plan BB 1st mth too & also hv different views on kuehs & food for guests from ILs... We love sweetest moments but MIL d/n like the card w BB foto... Aarrrrgh!

Chewy,
I know wat u mean with all the MIL and aunties passing comments.. today is my 2nd day home with the baby and I felt so disheartening when my MIL already start feeding my baby with FM cos she keep saying I dun hv enough milk and baby is hungry. I know that I dun hv enuff milk cos my flow is not in yet but she keep rubbing it in...makes me want to give up BF. =( today only managed to pump out 10ml....

Calamari,
Wow ur baby can do that stunt at day 4, bravo!

Chewy,
Same here, mum has been speculating that i have not much milk ss for bb and cooked ginger, sesame oil, wine, tonic for me. Then i tell her like dat sure not much milk. U have 120ml milk, that is very good, I can only get 105ml max when i take black bean soup and papaya red date longan tea.

Okiedockie,
Our bb girls share the same name, Shevon. Hi-5 to u
. Many have commented that it is a nice name and have very meaningful connotation! Most importantly, dun think this is a difficult name to pronounce as well.

Kea - wow so good only 3 more days, i got 11 more days to go! hehee.
U mean ang ku kueh got diff shapes for boy & girl?

me too.. low milk supply at first... Now only 30ml per session. So, CL keep saying i Got no milk and gave bb FM. Now i am on exclusive pumping as cannot match bb appetite.

gemini, simp, okiedockie:
Dun be disheartened. Recently, my ss dipped suddenly after my heartburn, was getting worried. I still keep pumping by schedule & realised, nite time need to be very discipline to wake up to pump even tho am feeding BB bottle by nite. Then ard 3-4am, after drinking warm prune juices to ease constipation (oh, anyone has same prob?), milk flow boast up to 100-120 ml then. So babes, dun give up. I am trying my best to filter wat others comment. Lukily my CL pro BF & she's gd at cooking, so am less stressed.

<font color="0077aa">i recieved call from hospital, say bb still gotta stay fer 14 daes to monitor fer the bilirubin level.. so depressing..cuz the dr saes he had G6PD. . do ur have problem pumping breast milk?? me till now still onli have colostrum.. n somemore bb still in hospital.. dun noe wat to do..

Remember to drink lotsa longan water with red dates and eat plenty of fish. I manage 165ml pump today. I think its due to the food that CL prepare. Don't give up mummies.

hi chewy,

i got phobia of confinem. Cos my first CL i selected fr an agency went home after 4 days as her FIL pass away. Then replaced 2nd CL, give me hell and ask her go on 2nd day! then 3rd replacem as at now is not v gd too, she don't really know much abt confinem food, always want us to follow her time schedule.
I am v tired/stress n shacked during my 1st week with those nonsense.

All CLs i ve are not into BF. When they see me latching, they will comment, "Not enough milk arh?" , "BAby dun want arh?"
Then they will rush to prepare FM.

Guess all these contributed to my low supply and i been feeling depressed too sometimes. My tears can just run down.

Strawberries, dun be too stressed. Consult your lactation consultant and see what better solution they can give u or speak to ur PD. Some mums have milk much later, my fren had milk flow only after a week or so. Keep pumping every 3hrs for 15mins, even if there's little flow. This is to stimulate the breasts as they response to demand. Not easy, but stay positive. Your bb be fine k, babe. U take the time to rest well and focus on ur milk. Even if gynae advised to provide BB w FM, dun be heartened, BF is not everythg
Dun most of us grew up w FM
*hugs*

Gemini- am facing prob with my CL also, she don make bf comments but make my kitchen oily &amp; don clean up well, she takes nap and watch tv most of the time. sigh! i din ask to change cos mine fr agent and i scared will get a worst one.

gemini: I can understand that. Take it easy. Tell the CL u are trying to BF and 1st 2 wks r very shiong as BB also adapting to changes &amp; they know nuts abt wat they r doing. So they cry alot ... alamak! Once u figure out his mood &amp; personality, it be easier like my son loves to poo before, during and after feeding.

I am sick of hearing my mum, mil, aunties asking me abt my ss too. So sometimes get HB to shut them up.. hahaha. I hv to use 'Lactation consultant says...", or "prenatal classes' Mrs wong taught..." of such phrases to let them understand. I even mention Mrs wong said postnatal book more than 5 yrs ago are not updated. Babe, u be fine. We hv too be strong &amp; I believe many mums now celebrating 1st mth has so much to share when looking bk to their early weeks too. Dun cry k, babies can sense. *hugs*

koori:
Mine also from agent. Tats y i got worst CL(s) when the 1st one i selected since last yr went home cos of her family matters.
She too, like to watch TV, once we on TV, she will stick to it. She's quite lazy also.. ! alot to say la.. sigh!~
i hate when she closed her door at night (as early as 9pm) with baby inside. As parents, we wanna look and cuddle him as much. She will just close her door after 9pm.

I am really counting down to such unpleasant experiences i having.. wanna take care of baby myself so much.

Chewy:
i did attend Mrs Wong class b4 too. Lucky my hubby is willing to listen to me and my loads of complains.. though he sometimes just ignore me.

i do agree Bf is v v tough, just need alot of perseverance and patience.
All these CLs wo't understand how hard we trying to give BM. They just want an easy to handle baby. Feed finished fast and sleep longer throughout.

Hi All Mummies

I m Apr08 thread but seldom login. My baby cry alot. Sometimes he sleeps only half or one hr then cry. He will cry non-stop even pacifier doesn't help. Do any mum have the same problem as me, how to resolve?

Hi Geryl,

Pls update my delivery. Baby born on 27th Mar 08 Natural delivery with epidural. Baby weight 2.755kg, length 49cm. Deliverd in SGH. Is a baby boy name Matthias. EDD 12 Apr 08.
Thanks =)

Hello everyone
I have delivered my baby boy on 16 April 9:27 am through c-section after trying natural since 15 april 8 am after I realise there's show(doc try mild drug to induce me but only dilated to 4 cm till 16th's morning)

Now very tired and weak, trying to cope with breastfeeding too. Baby seems inpatient to latch on, have to pump out milk but I still trying to latch him on. Even put on nipple shield to see if it works, but seems like not much help.

Strawberries: wanted to contact you in hospital but didn't bring the contact list. hope yr baby will be home soon

Gemini - why she close her door? Some more bb inside with her, tell her don close the door...cos u never know wat she doing inside with bb. Mine so far takes care of bb quite ok, only cleaning part she's lazy and din really do much.

If u cant stand her, i suggest u change her. I counting down cos i got 11 days more to go....urs is longer somemore.

Hi Geryl

Pls update the following info. Baby gal born on 14 Apr 08, weigh 2.325kg, length 46cm, name her Tiffany Wong and born in Mt A. EDD is 28 Apr 08.

Got to do c-section w epidural due to lack of fluid in placenta.

Wow! C-section is really fast men! done in less than half an hour.Thought it would be very scary but it turn out fine.

Any rec for 1st mth celebration for bb???

Gemini,

I take care of my baby at night coz i want her to latch on so that i can establish my ss... You might 1 2 do the same for a few days. or you might 1 2 ask your CL to bring her to you for feeds at night instead of making FM for baby.

The other day i was very upset with my CL coz she feed baby with EBM without consulting me... I took a afternoon nap on Sun and slept through for 2 and a half hrs woke up coz i felt my breast are full like going to be engorged like that then when i wake up i saw that she fed baby EBM liao and i have to pump out so i was very upset...

So far my CL ok, except for this one off incident she has been very pro BF for the pass 2 wks coming 3 wks. Maybe coz she dun have to take care of baby at night =P

I just received these Mik bottles full month gifts today.
I intend to give it to children during the full mth celebration and my colleagues in the office.

1369602.jpg

Talking about Bfing...

I think my right breast is like no milk..

yesterday night, my bb wake up only 1 time..

Until 7am.. I feel engorged.. When i feel my breast, left side is so firm and right side is soft...

why like tat?

hi all mummies!! i've given birth on sat 19 april @ 4.32pm thru c-sect with spinal injection. Now at tmc, discharging tml, am recovering well from my wound, no more pain, just a bit sore. Baby Tristan is gd and healthy @ 3.32kg, 51cm, no jaundice. Hope he's healthy thru'out with no jaundice, may god bless him!!

Congrats Puffish!

Strawberries: rgds to pumping breastmilk, initially i also the same, the flow only came in around 3rd day after discharged. Try to massage ur breast b4 pumping out the milk... Is ur lactation consultant by the name of yanping?

<font color="0077aa">thanx fer the encouragement, chewy and jenny.. hmm.. tml onwards will wear nursing tops so tat i can try to latch him on when im doing breast feeding.. then tonite im going to pump to stimulate the flow to bring to hospital fer him..</font>
<font color="0077aa">zishumo, hi congrats
, i tried to sms u on the 15th .. but guess u din noe is me.. so tat why din reply ba..</font>
<font color="0077aa">back from hospital juz now and learn tat bb had been taken off the uv lite liaoz.. but he had G6PD so gotta stay fer another 10 more daes fer observation..</font>

<font color="0077aa">jenny, yup my lactation consultant is yanping.. </font>

<font color="0077aa">puffish, congrats

Simp,
^5 Ya..my husband initially wanted to spell the original spelling which is "Siobhan" but we find a lot of ppl always mis-pronouce the name so decide to spell the way most ppl will get it rite.

Rain,
I have the same problem as you.. my left breast is full and engorged very difficult to pump out somemore..whereas my right breast can pump out quite a fair bit of milk. Think we are suffering from block ducts... hv to massage the breast to unblock the ducts..will hv to check with the LC tomorrow when I bring my baby to hospital.

Strawberries: she is also my lactation consultant ... can eat more fish to increase milk flow too ... she also advised to drink more red dates + longan water ...

<font color="0000ff">CONGRATULATIONS GERYL, OKIE &amp; PUFF-FISH!</font> on the safe arrival of your bbs.

Rain, I PMed you. Thanks for sharing the milk bottle idea - so cute indeed! Where did you hold your full month celebration?

<font color="0077aa">oh jenny icic.. i been drinking red-dates plus longan water and also tking fish.. todae my ss is increased to 50 mls liaoz.. hopefully later when i pump further.. will be more.. </font>

hello... woah... strawberries your supply so much. my milk supply still quite low leh. everytime i pump both sides only 40ml... abit worried i m not producing enuff milk....

Burby_babe - how many days are u now? Don be too stress over SS, mine still siao siao, sometimes 100ml, sometimes 50ml.
Just drink more water and eat fish. SS should increase.