(2008/04) April 2008

Updates on <font color="0000ff">Koori</font>

Koori had been admitted to hospital yesterday due to high bp and high protein in urine. Doc advised to stay in hospital for observation and baby may be induced or by elective C-sect tomorrow.

Jia you Koori!!! We are behind you all the way!!!

congrats to those who popped! and jia you Koori!!!

me now express BM as much as possible..morning wake up, breasts super hard and pain....manage to express 80ml in 50mins...cant let bb latch on coz he v gan chiong sucker...and when he latch n latch , actualli he latch v long but he didnt get much milk...... can imagine me express for 50mins and get only 80 ml.....cant imagine he have to latch how long to be full...he tks in 40ml every 3hrs...

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following up for sale. All are letting go at discounted rate.

1) Herbal Bath - 10 pkts (2 sachets in each pack)
2) Maternity disposable panties - 2 pkts (5 pcs in each pack)
3) Batiste Dry Shampoo - 2 cans
4) Palmer's Nursing cream (used once) comes with 4 pcs breastpads
5) 10 pcs Pigeon Breastpads

Interested, pls email me at [email protected]

Sherin, i had to stay for 4D3N as the GlenE package! But luckily at the final day my fever subsided (also dunno why i had fever) so gynae willing to discharge bb and I. Its true about the jaundice thing. BBs are v prone to getting high jaundice level from the 5th-6th day onwards so rem to sun bb from 8-9am and 5-6pm when the sun is not strong. I had to do that because bb's jaundice was quite high at 4th day so brought him back on 5th day for blood test, lucky the level dropped a bit but still got to monitor. I was told to BF more and let bb drink some water to avoid dehydration and sun bb, that should be fine.

btw sherin, just PM u on the Swaddle Me.

im from mar thread, selling away unopen new GNC fenugreek pills for $20, expiry date 08/11. anyone keen sms or call me direct @ 98281868 thanks

hi mummies: thanks all... im back from hospital this afternoon... but my baby is down with slight jaundice. hopefully she can discharge tmr
she is small size baby. i BF her on the very day after delivery. i have flow but little for her. been letting her to latch on. she can suck very well haha. worried now, as her weight has dropped to 2090g yesterday
baby doc said my milk supply low thats y not enough for her. so have to mix with formula milk as supplement for the time being to increase her weight. i miss her now
so will be going to see her later. BF for me is alittle tough esp learning how to latch her on. but i will try my best to BF all the way.

will be back to update more and include my birth story... im recovering from my stitches very well... not so painful now.

lastly pic of my little chevelle...

u all can visit my multiply to view her pics under blog...
all the best to mummies who is going to pop/ alrd popped...

http://cheesycakeblessing.multiply.com

kea, whick pump you using? I cant pump continuously for 50 Mins ! Think i'll die! I'm using medela mini electric, seems to be taking forever.

Baby_chevelle, try supplementing with FM if really no choice, so that bb can gain some weight first. Happy for you that she can latch on well. I have a little difficulties latching on the right. The way i carry her is just not right. I cant match my girl's dd at all. On top of 20 mins of latching, she needs an additional of minimum 50ml for each feed.
Have added you on multiply!

Gervynne, I've replied on SwaddleMe. Left the ivory one now.
My package also 4D3N. But cannot tahan. How's ur bill at GlennE. Mine seems quite high coz of all e misc stuff before i did my C-sec. =(

sherin, how do u know how much ur baby needs for milk? I mean, my son fell asleep after 30-45 mins per feed and he could not wake up for the other side so i think that's sufficient coz he wakes up in the next 2-3 hours again for another feed. I have yet to pump so I am wondering if direct latching is a better option. I cant use the medela mini electric. no milk comes out! My bill is quite high, total for C section epi is like $9K odd! but after medisave cash is about $6k... how about urs?

Cheesycake, yeah latching on ain't easy for both you and the new baby because both of you are trying to learn as well but it gets better as the day passed. Now I love to let him latch on me on the sleeping position (both ways) but I will need hubby's help to carry him to the bed while I wait for him haha but sitting down on the cradle position hurts my back and wrist!

do you all burp baby after each feed? each time i do that, he wakes up and i have difficulty putting him to sleep again.

Cheesycake: Congrats on the arrival of BB Chevelle! Saw ur blog! So lovely!

Koori: Jiayou! Take care &amp; we look forward to Kaylen's arrival! *hugs*

geryvnne, in the hosp, they always ask me to latch on for 15 min each side. I went for parentcraft, she mentioned never to let babies fall asleep on the nipple. If he falls asleep, must remove him from nipple. If not will form a habit and next time u'll have a hard time. For my girl, after latching on, breast has soften (no more milk), she'll still keep opening her mouth. That's a sign that she wants more milk. So will usually standby FM for her. My hubby usually make 80 ml. So we'll let her drink until she stops. In the day, she'll drink about 50 ml to 60 ml. In the night she can finish the whole 80 ml on top of BM. Wonder if she's a giant.

With medela min electric, i could get milk. Initially was painful, more painful than latching. Then i used it to stimulate milk every 2 to 3 hours. Now the moment i start the pump, milk comes out already. Wondering if it's ok to pump say 15ml. Store in the fridge, then pump another 15ml in the next round and the mix together?

Your bill is v v high le! Remb i went through normal delivery but failed. I was charged for the use of delivery ward plus the operating theatre, plus alot alot of misc stuff like vomit bowl coz i vomitted after taking the epi. But my bill for myself after medisave is about $3k. My girl's bill after medisave is only about $150. was only charged for hearing test and the tags.

Ur baby has jaundice right? At the class they mentioned that babies who are early or has jaundice may feel more sleepy. So perhaps you can just wait and see how.

Yeah, have to burp. But i think if on total BF, dont have to.

Sherin: my bb was put under phototherapy on 3rd day in hosp and juandice went down to 8.4... I did sun my bb in the morning oso aft discharged fm hosp.

cheesycake: congrats on Chevelle's arrival! Rest well and u will get to see your bb soon.

Hi gals: thanks all
just came back from hospital after seeing my bb. she was drinking milk , half way fall asleep. so cute!!! she very guai, after feeding than slp alrd

blessed, Luann_Mummy: thanks. hopefully i can have her back tomorrow...

BBRoYcE&amp;LeBelle: my bb also got jaundice. this morning took bloodtest, her jaundice level ard 10.7... wats the standard rate, do u know?

Sherin: yup i will mix BF &amp; FM. at least let her gain some weight 1st. than later when more BF milk comes in i will total BF if enough. nurse told me if bb latch on 30mins will be enough alrd. izzit if lesser than 30mins means not enough than have to give FM? have accepted u in multiply...

gervynne: hehe thanks. she's only 2.35kg at birth. i dont understand y my ultrascan weight at gynae clinic and birth weight so HUGE difference. Last scan at clinic was abt 3kg+. i was so shocked when i delivered her. saw her so small i heartpain. but as long i BF &amp; FM her i know very soon she will gain weight
i have not tried the sleeping position, it seems easier than cradle position ya? at least easier for bb to latch on. i also enjoy BF my bb, its the bonding &amp; satisfaction seeing her latching on. i need help from hubby and nurse to bring bb to me too. coz the posture i cant just get it right. sometimes ok on my own but very scare when one side not enough then have to change to another side. i very stress of changing position. scare hurt her and when she cant latch on her, she will cry. . usually how long ur bb latch on each side? mine ard 10mins than i have to change. im using cradle position so far, my bb is very sleepy during each feeding, i have to sayang her face or talk to her to u?wake her up. i nv burp her coz i total BF.

Congrats to Cheesycake and Tsukushi!! So happy for both of you!

Cheesycake: Finally you have popped after a long wait...
Hope you are enjoying motherhood.

Tsukushi: wow u are fast! We were just talking about our next appointment, hehe.

Congrats to all muumies that have popped!

Jiayou, Koori

Tsukushi, you popped so fast! Your edd is only 2 days ahead of me.. Hope u have a speedy recover! btw, are u annie frenz?

Sherin,

Just 1 2 check with you. Does your bill include your gynae's fees or just strictly the hospitals fees only? Does your gynae visit you during ur stay at the hospital and does she charge you for her visits or is it a package already?

I might be delivering by c-sect. The estimated bill the clinc gave me was around 6-8k wondering why so ex...

cheesy: saw ur blog...bb so cute...Rest well...drink lots of fluids...i am sure ur BM supply will build up soon...

hmm when will be my turn? today still got appt with doc...

good morning mummies...hope you all had a wonderful weekend...

cloudme....jia you we are all counting down to the day...

I was having quite a few cramps in the middle of last nite and i tot Luann decides to come out but till now no sign yet.....

Congrats tsukushi, wow u popped oredi, me still waiting my edd is afew day b4 u......... so gan cheong nw.

cheesycake, ur gal look adorable
wow the scan weight &amp; the actual weight can diff so much make me worry oso. I think ur gal will increase her weight in no time with ur BM &amp; FM.

Cheesycake, 30 mins so long ah? e lactation consultants at TMC says 15 to 20 min le. Should empty the breast already. Actually more impt to empty breast frequently so as to stimulate the flow and prevent engorgement. So far, i dont have any painful engorgement. Once i feel it coming i'll either squeeze manually, pump or latch her on.
Have to remb not to let her sleep on ur breast, esp when she has jaundice, she tend to be more sleepy. If not next time difficult to kick the habit. Each time my girl falls asleep i'll just remove her. The nurses advised to tickle chin when bb falls asleep.
I cant use the cradle position for my right side le! i have to use e football position and use the side of the chair to support. After 10 mins, my whole arm feels like it's gonna break. My bb's weight on U/S on last checkup is almost similar to her actual weight.

Amy, my bill after medisave, including baby's at TMC is $3.1k. And yes, it includes gynae's fees and the epi's fee. He visits everyday. No additional charge for this le. You may want to ask ur gynae on this. And of coz this is considering, that i have to pay for all e misc stuffs for normal delivery, use of the labour ward and then the misc stuff for c-sec and the use of the operating theatre. So might be much lower if i've gone for a c-sec straight. btw, this is a bill for 1- bedder at tmc. So i think ur estimated bill seems to be on the high side le.

confinement's really boring for me! Perhaps because my girl sleeps quite long. 5 to 6 hours straight after each feed. Piggy like mummy. Cant wait for wed to come. Gonna bring her back to TMC for her first checkup.

sherin...u r lucky tt ur bb sleeps so long then u can get ample rest....

i hope my bb is like urs....sleep like a piggy hee hee hee..

luann, the prob is i think she sleeps too much in the day that she dont sleep at night !!!
In the day, she cant just sleep and sleep and sleep. She doesnt even wake up when my dogs bark, when my hubby doesnt the vacuuming. Seems like lullaby to her le. When i sleep and my dogs bark i'll get startled, but she doesnt le.

Now i'm thinking of how to let her sleep through e night. I dont know if she has too much sleep or she doesnt like aircon or it's too quiet, or she doesnt like long pants ...

Luann: I also had cramps last night, dunno whether is contractions anot! Anyway started my ML today and I m really anticipating my boi to come out today or soon! Btw, hw many wks r u into now? I m 38wk and 3 days liao!

cloudme: ur turn will be soon... actually on 27 mar i keep telling my bb to come out on 28 mar... who knows she pop on tat day. my waterbag burst ard 4am, mild contractions comes in 15mins interval. i tot its false alarm and i went back to slp. woke up and go for break1st, than water keep coming out again. i took shower, drink chicken essence. reached hospital at 9.30am.

sherin: my bb is not with me at the moment. as i cant latch her on. i need to pump milk manually. wat FM u giving to ur bb?

Juniorrain: thanks... i was so shocked to see her so small. all the while long my gynae nv mention she a small baby. i was told she a average bb. quite upset abt it seeing her small size.

congrats cheesycake!
i think u can FIRED ur gynae liao.. how can estimated wrong bb size one. take care of urself and ur bb. cheers! mommy happy then bb will be happy.

cheesycake: ur bb sure is very guai...i also shock to see such a huge difference in ur bb weight on weight list and the popped list. Maybe the doc's machine long time never calibrate already...

will be going to see the doc today and hopefully bb will pop this week...

blessed....i'm 38wks n 5days liow...counting down still hee hee hee...

i haven started my ML yet still slogging at work wif a big big tummy ha ha ha....

luann, jiayou! and i admire u, work till birth!
NOIF:
This is what Mt Alv brochure wrote for chklist, hope it helps!
Original IC of both parents
Original ROM cert
Dr's admission letter
Prev medicial health report i.e. xrays if any
List of medication u r currently taking and dosage
Pyjamas
Non slip slippers
Toiletries
Night dresses with front opening for breastfeed
Bra
Socks (used in del suite)
2 pair of mittens
Set of baby clothing
Sweater for father

hi ladies! congrats to those who just popped! I am starting my maternity tomorrow too coz just cannot lug my big stomach around anymore. So will rest and hopefully my baby will come out this week!

Just notice that my legs are quite swollen from yesterday. Could it be a sign?

redtea &amp; ant: nice to see u all here. redtea congrats tat u have popped. how ur prince?

cloudme: yup tats wat my DH said too. his machine too old liao. if he realize my bb small size earlier on at least we can find solution to increase her weight. always give me an idea my bb average size. was quite angry with it also. im a bad mother, didnt even know she not having enough BF milk. shld have mix FM with BM at hospital. coz after BF her, she fall aslp. so i tot she full alrd. she lost almost 300g in one day!!! can u imagine how heartpain when i know...
but knowing she doing well now, im ok now. all the best to u, hope to hear fm u soon.

sherin: i just called the nursery room. she still under photolight. maybe tmr can go home. orh i know abt friso. heard its close to BF ya? my gal having Similac FM. im going back to see her, need to check how she's doing.

Cheesycake: I dunno abt the standard rate but my PD is those kiasu type... my bb's juandice was 9.3 on 3rd day and was put under 24hrs phototherapy (except bf-ing time the nurse will bring her to me), discharged on 4th day her juandice went dwn to 8.4. During her 1st checkup on 6th day, PD says if juandice went up to 12 or more, need to admit her for phototherapy. Tmr gg for her 2nd checkup on juandice level... hope everything goes well coz heartpain to see her naked under phototherapy!

BBRoYcE&amp;LeBelle: oic... my gal still in hospital now. maybe tmr can discharge.

btw: wat breastpump u all bought? i need to buy one electric one.