(2008/04) April 2008

koori: Gynea din say anything about monitoring my weight. Just told me to try nd eat more and gain weight.. hahaha .... maybe will try to take more milk.

chewy,
Glad that the cramps and pains are normal for you! How often do you take bird nest? I have stopped taking it cos the hockhua person told me to stop after the 7th mth.

Do we have to pay additional $ to register the bb's birth cert at the hospital? Heard that ICA is cheaper.

geryl,
What was the problem with ur roommate? Why did they want to carry away your baby just like that?

good morning mummies!!

Prawnie: i read that it is common for us to lose some weight or have the weight stagnant towards the latter part of the pregnancy. didn't know that it is an issue with some gynaes?

BBRoyce: Oic.. in tat case i need to check with my gynae wat time i have to start fasting b4 the c-sec time ...

Tsukushi: think i read somewhere may cost abit more think becos its the admin charges for registering bb's cert ba ...

gervynne: yup, I read from some mags that its normal to lose weight at the last stage. Maybe shall confirm again and ask him in details on the next visit..

Cheesycake,
Hmm think for me no choice to have natural delivery, as i have a >7cm growth blocking the birth canal. So now with breech bb, worse, confirm c-sec maybe even earlier. Can u imagine if i was borned in the older days in china, sure gone case, no c-sec, got additional growth and bb wrong position. I really feel sorry for the olden days women.

Tsukushi,
Why cannt take bird nest after 7 month. I still take during my 7 and 8 mth. Any concern.

Geryl,
Ask u, are the parts of medela hardy? Need to change the parts frequently? Think ameda parts need to be changed within a year fromthe way i see some mothers posted on the forum to buy the valve etc. Do u have the same case with your medela PIS pump?

All,
I havnt take coconut drink yet, mum din buy. Think will drink from next week onwards liao.

Think throughtout my whole pregnancy, i have been gaining weight, think gained the most during my 1st trimester. Faintz. Now i keep gaining more but bb gaining slower than me. Haiz.

Simp: me also still taking birds nest .. heheh MIL also say can start taking coconut drink already .. so later going to buy .. hubby wan to go for the IT fair at Suntec .. so have to accompany him go ...

Re: durians

Any mummies know if there is any difference in eating durians straight from the shell itself or is it advisable to fridge it then eat. cos i the past I normally fridge as it tastes better. But not sure if it has a certain effect in the sugar level in our body.

Seems like durian really helps in baby's weight coz my baby weighs 1.9kg @ 32wks and boost up to 2.6kg @ 35wks but my weight remains unchanged... all goes to baby.

Birdnest: I am taking it weekly from 2nd trimester.

Coconut drink: Started taking once a wk fm 34wks... will take 2x a wk fm 37wks onwards.

jus back from my gynae appt...me 35wk, bb only 2.3kg...est...gynae nv give me exact..but he say my bb small =(....

hello everyone,

anyone went to Robinson sale already? Is NUK product on sale? any good buy?

Chewy: I totally forgotten tt my cousin is holding her wedding (buffet lunch)in town on 15 March until my uncle called to remind me. Really hope to meet you all...unless the gathering last longer past 3 pm, if not I would miss the opportunity liao. Can I call you to find out on that day if I am able to leave the wedding earlier to join you all?

Kea,
Like u, my bb also a bit small but gynae said ok. Now i will be resting on my side ways more often during the day time.Maybe i take 1/2hr afternoon nap. I dun understand that now even though i dun work, staying at home, sitting, surfing net, eating and sleeping, bb only managed to develop properly and well. I cannot imagine how the rest of u who are working fulltime, some with young children at home to have such healthy development of bb and still do well. Really saluate all of u! Guess it is really up to individual's physique. Really need to take care of our body more after birth.

Zishumo,
It is ok, dun tire yourself on 15 mar.

simp

ya...my doc oso say though is small but there no rite or wrong...he est my bb weight will not hit 3kg when deliver..maybe ard 2.5 to 2.7kg nia....he say becoz maybe i small built...me 1.56cm, weighs 51.8kg now....

i feel so guilty.....since i hit 3rd trimester, i don feel like eating ...v v tired and no appeitie...maybe tts the cause of y my bb small size...=(....don feel lyk wking oso...tink my mood affecting too....doc say will give me 3wks HL during my nxt appt...but thats another prob too, dunno wad to say to my HR.

kea...wow u so small size ah....me abt same height as u but weight abt 68kg already...sob sob sob....wonder how to loose all this weight...

hubby kept telling me, think of all the fats as milk for BB can liow ha ha ha...

kea,

wearing tight fittting top will not affect the ize of e bb. i wore like that for my 1st and 2nd preg.

So....
Ladies, we are mtg next Sat, 15/3 right?

yo

i abit too worry liao...coz everytime i wear tight, those elderly will say 'wear so tight, bb no space to grow' then today gynae say my bb small, i tinking is it me who cause it =(

Puffish

I just came back from Taka and i bought the babysafe mattress (dimension 24x 48x3).. They have run out of stock but they order for me... what's more, they will deliver to doorstep for free! Not sure about customising though, but u can always check with the salesgirl there.. quite helpful and friendly.

Yo,
Yes we are still meeting.

Kea,
My mum also says the same thing but i tell her if i am not comfortable wearing shorts/bermudas i would have change to something mor comfortable. I think they feel that it is uncomfortable wearing tight bermuda etc. I bought some comfty bermudas for this pregnancy and not feel too tight. Anyway now i try to take a nap in the afternoon on side ways to give bb more oxygen and more food can go to her according to gynae. Gynae says whenever we rest on bed be it sleeping or doing nothing, it is always better for bb as they get more oxygen and food so now i think i will do that more often. Maybe u can try that. I think u din take much food for yourself since ur appetite not too good, maybe drink more anmum, sure gain wt for yourself and bb de.

Today my girl keep moving and turning and causing pressure on my v, very uncomfortable, think she may be shifting her head to top or dun know where.

I had my checkup today and bb's head gone down liao, hope it stays that way. Duno if it helps cos i keep talking to her to move down...hehe.
Btw went to taka sale for strollers, same price as dept store, no special deal so never get one. I tik i gg TaiSing to look for more combi strollers.

Stephanie - u also had checkup today? My next one supposed be 22 mar but lisa on leave so i changed to 20 Mar.

My husband and I FINALLY finished decorating Baby K's room!!! So excited. Waiting for baby to arrive to put on the bedsheet. Here's a pic!
1287936.jpg

Puffish: Lights are from Ikea, very cheap one! Less than $10 per light I think. But I scared baby will pull/play with the wires, so I think I will buy some brown felt cloth and cut them like flower pots at the portion near to the cot so wires will be out of reach from baby.

hi Cheesycake, my latest update after checkup yesterday:

Week 34
Mummy weight gain: 19kg
BB weight: 2.6kg

So scary, gynae had to take a double take after measuring bb's head coz it grew so much! He said he is going to be a big baby, at least 3.5 - 4kg. Hopefully i still can go for natural coz i am very big size.

Calamari: your bb's room very nice! which really remind me that I shld be doing something about my bb room this and next weekend!

hello again,

just went to my doc yesterday and everything seems to be fine -- baby's weight is normal (about 2kg at 33 wks) and she's already moved into position. hopefully, she stays that way til i deliver.

just wanted to ask if anybody here has used avent niplettes?

also need advice on what type of breast pump to buy and baby cot/crib.

calamari: oh the babyroom looks so cozy!! too bad bb's sleeping the same room as my hubby and I so we did not decorate his room. sigh

Kea...

dun worry abt the tight clothings that u wear. as long as u dun feel breathless or any discomfort. if not, bb is Absolutely fine. Remember... they are in the womb. Very well protected.

calamari,
wow... ur nursery is very cozy. ur bb will not touch em till they are ard 3 mths onwards. but good to think of a way to cover them for the long run.... when the kid gets older, they can be very cheeky...

I remembered my gal #1 jumped of her cot juz bcoz she didnt want to slp then at 19mths....

scubabae,
dun worry too much. the size of ur bb and ur wt gain is just like what i had when i was preg for the 1st time. I remembered back then at 33wks my gal was 2.5kg and i gained abt 15kg. But, this time round, my #2 is smaller...

big bb is much easier to handle and take care of...

aurie, pump can buy later.. u can try out the pump @ hospital when u delivered...i heard that avent manual pump and amenda electric pump are good..

simp, i may not be going to the outing, my mum moving hse that day..

calamari, ur baby room is so nice! i have not do anything for my baby...

calamari: your baby's room looks so sweet !!! Nice !!! Baby sharing room with me and hubby so can't deco much. I only drew some animals and painted them like wall murals to paste on wall.

Thanks! Frankly I think she will only sleep in her room during the first month (when CL is with us), and from 2nd month onwards, only in the day. Cos at night if she sleep in the room with us, makes breastfeeding more convenient and easier. Just excited to decorate her room cos 1st child hehe.

Tomorrow will be going to see Mr Gynae. Hope baby has turned head down *keeping fingers and toes crossed!*

aurie: yah pump can buy later. You can try out the pumps in the hospital before deciding which suits you best. As for cot, I bought from Cheong Choon (seen at pic above), cost $320 with mattress that comes with holes. So far cheapest I can find.

koori...no lah dun have appt with Dr Chin, tested positive for Strep B went dwn to collect antibiotics lor..tt's why i left so fast...

she on leave on 22nd ah...i got appt at8.45am leh...nurse nv tell me need to change...haiz...must chk wif them next sat liow coz my appt is weekly already

calamari...wow ur bb room is so nice n cozy....too bad bb sleeping wif me n hubby, no room to decorate

Calamari - wat brand & model is ur cot? isit the 28 x 52 cm internal mattress size type?

Btw ur bb room looks so nice, mine is very plain haaa. Room is still in blue color, the original color we had painted, never change becos she is girl.

Stephanie - wats Strep B? Better ask nurse to change ur appt cos lisa told me she wont be coming to clinic, sigh. Have to choose a weekday.

Just found out that my Pigeon steriliser does not come with tongs to take out the sterilised stuff. Anyone know where to buy these tongs and what type should we buy?

Calamari - tik can be bought at normal dept stores, i have seen the tongs selling at most dept store.
I tik 28 x 52 is quite international standard size, US website crib sheet also this size.