(2008/04) April 2008

Geryl
How picky was she in terms of having baby room in with you? If I'm not wrong, for double bedder, baby can't room in 24-7 right? Need to return to nursery after feeding? Did you make arrangements with her on this?

geryl

do we need to book our room now? or can do it upon admission? coz i didn't book.. my gynae passed me the admission letter already but didn't stated what room i want.. do i write it on my own??

serene: aiyoh, 2 person in TMC tell me 2 separate things. Another person just called me, but told me super deluxe not so high lah, won't reach 10k. Maybe 7 - 8k. Unless complications. I also blur. Think I will stick with super deluxe.

Geryl: so scary just anyhow carry ur bb without ur permission? my god!!! these people really too much. if im u i will just shout at them 'so rude how can carry away my bb like tat' wait drop the bb how? argh no brain one leh!!!

Joelle,

the nurse will bring baby to u after they clean and shower the baby...then u will start to feed baby and then when u finish seeing baby u can return anytime...but every feeding hours they will push baby to u to feed...in the middlw of the night they push to me too cos reason being my baby Hungry...but when he came over to me he rather sleep then feed...baby never really suck anything...they rather sleep during the first few days!

Puffish...are u at TMC? u can go the the counter to booked i think...cos the booking of the rooms are done my my gynae nurses...i dun have to worry abt the room booking!

Cheesycake,
cos i'm eager to go home liaos...just want to hear what the nurse say and then head home...but didn't know they just came over to carry my baby! both my hubby and i was so shocked at that time...luckily that nurse help us carry the baby back and say them!

Does anyone have a Britax Royale car seat? How easy is it to install? I just read through the manual online and it is cheeeem man *blur* Any idea if it'd fit into a Mazda 6? :p

Geryl
Oic... well asleep is better than awake and fretting. I'm torn between one or two bedder, the advantage being that the baby can room-in with me 24-7 in a one bedder room... but if he's going to be asleep most of the time I think the novelty will wear off soon enough hahaha

both of us gave birth to our baby boy on the same day...we both also using the same gynae!

she had C-sec and mine and natural. but she stayed a few more days cos her baby's jaundice still at high level so can't go home so fast. my baby also got jaundice but at a safe level so can go home!

crazy right...i dare not even go over to carry her son...she dare dare come over to carry my son!

Geryl: so wats their reaction when the nurse told them off? i guess u & ur hubby were too shocked to react tat time. just be careful when sharing room with others. esp ur belongings too..

My friend was staying in a 2bedder. One of the days, they had a birthday celebration for the mummy at the next bed. There were about 15 people in that little room. Yuck! My friend was so mad.

calamari: i tot of taking 2 bedder at MTA. but my DH said 1 bedder better. coz he dont like the idea of sharing room, scare too small & noisy if another person visitors all come at the same time. & he want to accompany me & bb too
ur super deluxe room the price is really 'wow'!!!

OMG, i am taking 2 bedder, keep my fingers crossed. I only scared when i bf, half way got guests from other patient flip open the curtains and saw my breasts!

joelle: yes he will... how abt u? i din know bb can stay with me 24/7. i tot after feeding nurse will push her back to nursery room. or unless got visitors then will push to my room.

cheesycake
I'm not in Mt A so don't know what your room-in policies are. Mt E they allow bb to room-in for single bedder. As for my husband, I guess he's staying - to make full use of the room :p

koori: me also taking 2 bedder leh at east shore...u made me scare leh...me just hope the opp mum will be nice, like u ppl...

Geryl: that china lady so bad huh...

i tik china pple culture diff from us they tot they can just carry out pple's bb. I better watch out when bb is in my room.

wah, hear liao me super glad I am taking single bedder wor. My hubby wants to accompany me and he say to have our own room, privacy, toilet is better. And also for pple to visit, we can be sure we wont disturb others or feel paiseh of disturbing others. Our family and frens can oso be more at ease wor.

cheesycake: yah, that was my concern too. Also, I can be quite 'ngiao'. Scared the next bed mummy very messy, dirty the toilet with her blood ...and never clear. Also, I am very fussy sort. Better to sleep alone with hubby, than to be angry throughout my stay. ;)

yup yup...mummies pls watch out these ppl...not to bad mouth all China lady lah but the one sharing with me is one kind!

Geryl: lol u did that? carried ur bag to sleep?

joelle: guess i better check with the hospital. it wld be nice to have baby with me throughout 24hrs hehe.

calamari: tats y. i can be very fussy too. cant imagine sharing loo with another person. dirty & take so long in the loo. lol...

Cheesycake,

yup yup i hold on to my bag...cos got MP3, Gameboy advance, camera and my wallet...so that is y i hold to sleep hee hee!

i very dilemma... 2 bed, 1 bed...2bed, 1 bed... next appt on 20th need to decide already, do pre-admission... X__X

Difference about S$500 + (2 x 77 hb's overnighter + meals fee).... this excess can buy one Medela PIS already... >.<

i not sure abt the toilet thingy cos that china lady is under c-sec so never go toilet...but TMC toilet v clean one...the cleaner will clean one...if u see dirty can ask the nurse to help get cleaner to clean...no worries for that.
hope this time round i will get a better room-mate or alone also can...or any mummies deliver on the same day as me can same with me...hee hee

Geryl: no locker? oh ya u reminded me to bring along my MP3...

joelle: take 1 bedder ur hubby can accompany u. im afraid if i take 2 bedder then left me alone in the ward i scare :/

gerly: poor u, must be too stunned for words that time.

puffish: room was booked thru gynae when i was ard 31-32wks. try to check with ur gynae on the room and which hospital and book fast.

cheesycake
if i take 1 bedder, as much as possible, I would like husband to accompany me and stay overnight.. however work being work, if weekday he has to go off, it can't be helped... I can't expect him to be by my side 24-7 also... :S
AND YES that is one consideration... I never been hospitalized before, not sure how I'll handle being alone in ward HAHAHA... guess it's lucky baby can room in with me, I shall disturb him and talk to him >.<

Cheesycake,

nope no locker...that is y they ask u not to bring expensive things...
better to bring MP3 cos at night what if u can't sleep...cos hospital bed not comfortable one...i will be bringing my own pillow...cos they pillow very flat one (no volume)

Geryl
My EDD 21 April, gynae say possibly earlier around mid april will pop. I'm in Mt E - the only one in Mt E in this April thread!

Joelle,

oic...i might be in mid apr too...gynae ask me get ready on the 11th apr onwards...might be early or later...so i might just go early maternity leave from 14th april onwards loh! but still will see how loh! asking my gynae to watch me closely...i dun want to give birth in the office, at home or in the public.

cheesycake
do ask Mt A re: baby rooming in. the rationale is that if u have a roommate(s), the priority wld be to get good undisturbed rest for all occupants, so babies can't room-in (due to crying, fussing etc). if single bedder, sh be no problem :D

geryl: wan throw stones ar, hehe. think my hubby will kick their butts. so inconsiderate!

TMC- one bedded hv TV rite? then still need MP3?

Geryl: oic no wonder i thought how come u hug ur bag to slp. im taking ML on 17 mar liao. next wk will be my last wk at work lol. so good~

joelle: oic... so when u have to decide 1 or 2 bedder? my gynae told me i can decide upon admission. but i KS abit ask nurse to chop for me 1st. coz scare reach no more liao.

anyone had any recommendation to improve bb's weight?

currently 32 weeks, bb is only 1.5kg and i only put on 2-3kg as i lost 6-7kg in 1st trimester.

worried to have a underweight bb.:-(

Geryl
Hahahah I share your sentiments

"i dun want to give birth in the office, at home or in the public."

I'll also go on ML before my EDD. If only just to nuah at home. Enjoy the last few days of true freedom!

Yvonne

Drink milk for pregnant ladies like Anmum twice a day
Rest plenty, sleep more
Reduce stress level at work / home (this does affect baby's progress!)
Healthier diet - more protein &amp; nutritious food
Durian - depends if u believe