(2008/04) April 2008

BBRoYcE: for MTA c-sect is 3D2N... i always thought c-sect is very scary esp cutting the flesh & recovery part...

simp: i will expect a 3~3.2kg bb accrd to my gynae. for my build its consider big bb liao.

A colleague of mine was sharing her c-section experience in Dec last year. As she is scared of pain, she opted for c-section with GA, so she can be totally knocked out. However, during the op, she was still awake and could hear the doctors talking and feel them cutting open the tummy (but no pain, just the sensation)!! She even heard them saying that the cut not big enuf, hv to be wider. Was quite shocked when she told us, cos I thot GA means totally knock out rite? She said that after the op, when the nurse ask her if she want to see her baby, she said to give her painkiller first cos she was in quite a lot of pain. She was quite traumatised by the experience and said she don't want to give birth again. Feel quite sorry for her.....

Not to scare any of you, but for those who are going to c-section with GA, no harm highlighting to your gynae to make sure u totally knock out.

seems like, there are quite a no. of us goin for c-sec.

cheesycake
my #1 was 3.34kg when i delivered her, also considered to be on the big side liao.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Sputnik,
wow what happen to ur colleague GA... that is terrible.... I had GA for my 1st one.... I totally unaware of wat happen.... haha my boy was even delivery by forcep instead of hand.... was inform by my gyn only the very next day... when he visited me, and tell me why he need to used a forcep instead... due to my bleeding is too fast and alot... so he need to delivery and stitch me back immediately.....</font>

cheesycake and BBRoYcE: on which week are you gals going for the c-section? I just came back from my gynae and toying with the idea too. My gf who had her c-section done at wk 37 went for GA coz she was too afraid of the side effects of epi but my gynae says epi is a better choice to get the father involved.

Jaspire,

on the 18th Mar when u visit him...ask him y he choose 17th Apr for u la...then ask him whether can change to 20th apr anot and see what he says...tell him u like to choose date and 20th is nice date...hee hee!

Last year i did my laproscopy with GA in kkh, i was knocked out totally so i think they may administer too late? I thought once they put GA, i knocked out almost instantaneouly

Geryl, ya... i got to remember to ask him wor. Last visit i wanted to ask but hor completely forgotten about it wor. Wanted to ask him to estimate baby's weight oso forgot. Haiz...

You gals are scaring me leh. Cos I can oni do C-section with GA. Hearing that story is half freaking me out wor... glup!

geryl, oh ya... Dr Lim chose 17th April cos my scan edd average is 27th April and he say usually is 10 days before the edd loh. Hence that date.

poshies, i did my laprocopy with GA too last yr in GlenE and i was knocked out within 2 mins! I think its really important that your gynae choose the right anesthesian.

BBRoyce: wow what if bb decides to come out before 38th week? Will u still go for c section?

Jaspire,
I prefer GA as i am concerned abt epi and heard stories abt it. U need a very experienced person to put epi else got many side effects. Next i think i want to rest first before seeing bb and i am scared of being awake during operation. But i think the plus point of epi is that HB will see the whole process and understand that we are very noble to go thr such length for the family. I thnk that is the greatest comfort to involve hubby to know our sacrifice as wives and mummies.

gervynne: yes... will stil go for c-sec. just go hospital immediately wif gynae's letter and inform gynae while on d way to hospital. my gynae will pass me the letter next mon.

jaspire: c-sec can be arranged 1-2wks earlier before EDD, probably u can let ur gynae knw ur preferred date.

BBRoyce: hope you dun mind but any reason why u prefer c-section than natural? I wonder if 37th week is ok to go for c section instead of 38th.

gervynne: no prob... is personal preference n few reasons are:
1) can choose auspicious date;
2) dun wish to go thru complications normal birth and ended up with emergency c-sec, suffer pains on both areas;
3) women's V-area already ugly enuf, stitches will make them look worst (personal thinking);
4) concern abt V-area muscle becomes loose aft multiple births etc.

For no.1, I considered all the pros and cons abt natural n c-sec and decided on c-sec. so no.2 will remains c-sec as well... hope tat answer your curiosity.

Is ok to deliver anytime from week 37 onwards.

been to the taka baby fair.. but kinda disappointing. Not much to buy.. But got promotion for Advent and Pigeon products, in case any mummies wanna check that out. I only went up to the third level to buy baby safe baby cot mattress. Thats it ..

For mummies who are interested in Parenting Workshop-

Topic : Breastfeeding and going back to work
Date: 8 March, Saturday
Time : 10am
Venue : #04-10C Tat Ann Bldg
Organised by : Joyful Parenting
To register, please call Ms Pamela Lim : 92713335

Hi Prawnie,

I also thinking of getting the babysafe mattress from Taka ... can I check with u how much discount for the babysafe mattress at Taka?

Tks!

chewy,
Will check with gynae this Sat. I am getting the menses-like cramp more and more frequently. Sometimes also get tummy pain - like diarrhoea that kind. Btw, you mean Eu Yan Seng bottled bird nest or raw type? Can take it during confinement?

After Mrs Wong's classes, I got a bit paranoid with CL too. Don't think most CL are that hygenic as to do the sars-style hand washing!

Yup, got strollers at taka. But i think mostly combi, aprica, graco. Dont have brands like peg perego.

Things not v cheap also le. Bought pigeon breastmilk bottles. The disposable pads also same price.
Think advent food/bottle warmer got discount.
Still comtemplating whether to get or not.

Koori, went Taka fair together with Prawnie, saw quite a no of strollers there.

Tsukushi, gosh. U take care. I also got tummy ache pain, yeah like u need to poo poo kind. Dunno if we hv same symptoms, but dun get the menses cramps. Tml seeing gynae, so I shall ask her. For Bird nest better to get raw type, but very ex. Can't remember which one is really gd for us, u can ask the counter. I had both, bottled one is orange packaging-hua yan. Raw ones my mum cooked for me, can't remember which type. Shall ask for u this weekend.

Sherin, u r right! In the end, taka fair is not tat fantastic... I din get anything. So shall juz finalise my shopping at Cheong Choon instead.

hi..went to the baby fair and bought the Ameda breast pump. Retail price is the same at $388 but came with Fridge-to-go cooler bag &amp; a feeding set. For those interested in Medela PIS, its at $674 comes with free thermometer. I bought some Medela accessories at Robinson's cardmembers sale at 20% +15% (cardmembers) discount.
Saw mostly baby clothes &amp; toys on sale at the baby fair...happy shopping!!

Puffish, Porkie: I bought the babysafe mattress (28inch X 52 inch X 3 Inch) at $146, b4 discount is $185, guess it's approx 20%? Didn't see anywhere stated how many percent discount for Babysafe pillows N mattress ( they are tagged special price items)but its accessories are 15%.

- Wanted to buy babysafe pillow, was told the one with a sunk in portion in e middle helps baby's head to grow rounder instead of flat-shaped, is it true?

- But thought I read one of you say Mrs Wong fr TMC commented new born need not sleep on pillow until which month?

- I was also comtemplating if a bottle warmer is necessary becos KKH trainer says just give milk in aircon room temperature. If from fridge then warm up with hot flask water. what did you all learn fr Mrs Wong, what shd be ideal temperature?

BTW taka card has no add discount le, dissapointing!

Yah taka fair not fantastic. However, dunno why I ended up spending $180 :p. Bought a Fisher-Price bouncer, small soft toy, baby shoes, 2 packs of baby dishwashing detergent refills, 1 pack cotton balls, Munchkin crib light.

Hi.

I'm from Jan MTB 2008 thread. Sorry to interupt but I have a pack of brand new Drypers XL 40 for sale. I wanted to sell as my mum bought the wrong size for my nephew. It is brand new &amp; not opened before. Willing to sell at $10. Meet up to collect at Eunos MRT. Interested party pls PM me.

Hi Mummies...

Sorry to intrude...i'm from the sept thread...

I have a brand new graco baby car seat for sale for $240.. Suitable for new born to 4yrs old...the colour is beige/brown...

If interested, contact me at 98774205..
Thanks!!!

<font color="0000ff">morning all.....

it seem that this year Taka Sales nothing much... so still toying the idea to go anot... since if i go i need to bring my boy... plus ... he is still sick... so might not go in the end... let him rest at home lah..... might be better choice... haiz....

still not sure whether can i go for natural.... haha had to wait till 18 mar...</font>

Here is the Update list!

Any mummies have not receive the emails...please let me know.

Any mummies have not update the list with their other info ... pls do so... thanks thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>No.</TD><TD>Nick/Username</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD>Sex</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Birth Date</TD><TD>Delivery Method</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>31st Mar</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>XiaoZhu</TD><TD>31st Mar</TD><TD>Jr Wee</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Baby_chevelle / Cheesycake</TD><TD>31st Mar - 4th Apr</TD><TD>Chevelle</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Jgal/ConnieMum</TD><TD>02nd Apr</TD><TD>Constance Zeng Juan Qi </TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Poshies</TD><TD>02nd Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Cutiebb/ Luvlybb</TD><TD>03rd Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Venus/ Venus_77</TD><TD>03rd Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Sherin/ Angel_oz</TD><TD>04th Apr</TD><TD>Summer</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Prawnie</TD><TD>05th Apr</TD><TD>Xavier Chua</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Rain/ Rainyheart</TD><TD>06th Apr</TD><TD>Caden</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>BBRoYcE</TD><TD>08th Apr</TD><TD>Lebelle Zhang Le Xuan</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Tratties</TD><TD>08th Apr</TD><TD>Adrynna</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Gervynne</TD><TD>09th Apr</TD><TD>Baby J</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Stefylim</TD><TD>09th Apr</TD><TD>Luann Wong</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Cloudme</TD><TD>11th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Kearea</TD><TD>12th Apr</TD><TD>Eden Liew</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Simp</TD><TD>12th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Chelchel</TD><TD>13th Apr</TD><TD>Nathalie</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>JuniorRain</TD><TD>13th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Cass/ Cass_078</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD>Zaiden</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD>KF</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Gail/ Mumbly</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD>Noah Lim</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Strawberries</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD>Gideon Yit</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Yo/ Joyfulstar</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD>Nicodemus Choo Hao Zhe</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Zishumo</TD><TD>15th Apr</TD><TD>Zishu</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Scubababe</TD><TD>16th Apr</TD><TD>Byron Lim</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Tsukushi/ Makino</TD><TD>16th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>16th Apr</TD><TD>Ethan</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Bubbles/ Baby_bubbles</TD><TD>18th Apr</TD><TD>Tessa Lee</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Cherish</TD><TD>18th Apr</TD><TD>Lim Ying Xuan</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Koori</TD><TD>18th Apr</TD><TD>Kaylen</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Princess J</TD><TD>20th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Puffish</TD><TD>20th Apr</TD><TD>Jayden Than</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Babybliss/ Wilest</TD><TD>21st Apr</TD><TD>Owen Ong</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Joellez</TD><TD>21st Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.E </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Mumood</TD><TD>22nd Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Amy Qcx</TD><TD>23rd Apr</TD><TD>Zhi Yan</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Geryl/ Nicben</TD><TD>23rd Apr</TD><TD>Chairese / Tian Xin</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Steph/ Superbunny</TD><TD>23rd Apr</TD><TD>Justin</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>JennyHoo</TD><TD>24th Apr</TD><TD>Lucas Mok</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Okiedockie</TD><TD>26th Apr</TD><TD>Chevonne Lee</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Kang</TD><TD>28th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Ynby 80</TD><TD>28th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>29th Apr</TD><TD>Kayla Ang</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>Littleprincesses</TD><TD>29th Apr</TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Vyn_Leen</TD><TD>29th Apr</TD><TD>Desiree Chia / Xie Xuan En</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Sputnik</TD><TD>30th Apr</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

good morning mummies...

yup its finally friday....my favourite day of the week ha ha ha...

taka fair not interesting ah...so sad was still thinking of going tis sunday...hmmm...may not go in the end lah see how

Yah no need to go lah. Cheong Choon is much cheaper even though Taka has a sale. e.g. Kotex maternity pads at Taka is $5.70, the shop outside Cheong Choon only $5. Pigeon disposable breast pads at Taka is $8, Cheong Choon only $7.50. Medela Advanced PIS costs $679 at Taka but if you have Robinsons card, then during Robinsons sale, its only $665.

And the Medela Advanced PIS during Robinsons sale comes with the gift pack like nipple cream, 3 bottles, cooler bag. The one at Taka I think only the pump.

joelle &amp; calamari: today newspaper got robinson sale wor... so can go check out. Even Takashimaya and Tangs oso got sale wor.

<font color="0000ff">step</font>.. I saw the brand of the car seat that you are looking for in the fair. maybe u can pop by to see.

Saw Xiaozhu and cutiebb yesterday..

I got the following items from the fair
1. Pigeon baby blanket
2. Pigeon Detergent Box @ 6.00
3. Pigeon Baby Wipes (Box)
4. Some baby clothes at 2 for $9.90 or 2 for $7.90

<font color="0000ff">Joelle</font>: The latest robinson sale has not started yet. If i am not wrong. But it will be soon as I had received the newsletter.

joelle: i just flipped the papers. Robinsons got some 150th anniversary thingie. There is up to 20% off selected Nursery, Kidswear &amp; Toys. Participating brands are Aprica, Graco, NUK, Gerber, Maclaren, Maxi Cosi, Fisher Price, Britax, Ameda, The First Years, Medela (!), etc etc ...Maybe can go there have a look

BTW, OG is having <font color="0000ff">Private Sale for OG CardMembers and Guest (up to 3 pax)</font>

Date: 12 Mar 08
Time: 9am - 11pm
Branch: Orchard Point Branch Only.

Avent, Pigeon and Babysafe products are entitled to 20% discount.

Combi equipment are entitled to 10% discount.
Maclaren, Capella = 10+5% discount

Thyme Maternity = 20+10% discount.

calamari , jaspire &amp; xiang
thanks for info! Was perplexed, don't remember receiving sale mailer. Woot Britax, mebe can check out the car seat .

My hubby so funny yesterday. My mom wanted to get a bouncer for my Baby K. Then at Taka fair, i wanted to get the yellow bouncer. Cos yellow unisex mah, can use for ger and boy. If next one i have boy, still can use, and can pass down to people. Then my hubby took the bouncer, we went to the cashier, all the way he face black black. Then I asked him "YOU WANT PINK IS IT?" Then he said YES, and went to change. Wah piang....my girl really going to be daddy's pampered girl :p

cheesycake: maybe because has been bugging me for 5 years to have bb...but i keep procrastinating. :p

U pack your bag already? Counting down now? Don't worry about c-sect. Should be ok one..I am also prepared to undergo c-sect liao if gynae does not manage to turn my bb.