(2008/04) April 2008

calamari
hahaha shows how dedicated your husband is towards your daughter. it's cute. personally i think everything in pink only or blue only is overkill. *grin*

i received a baby clothes set that came in a hamper from a friend overseas. Turns out the clothes were yellow & pink - clothes for girl - we are having a boy. I asked hb what to do with them? He said "wear lah, at home wear pink nevermind wad." Waaah only that night then I realised how "progressive" my husband was LOL

calamari: my bag only left DH stuff not packed. gotta get it done this wkend. yup counting down to another 13days to my c-sect. after hearing so many positive points of c-sect from BBRoYcE im more optimistic towards it.

Any mummies know whether we can request a mirror to see the birth of our baby? so when we push the baby out we can see the whole thing! anyone knows?

joelle: yah...i also think so.. hahaa. But we are not so keen on yellows and greens also. So most attire are pink, white, red and even black hehe. Hubby scared wait my baby come out no hair, then wear blue colour, people will think she's a boy. *faint*

<font color="0000ff">wow.....
i think my DH is not bother at all... last night .... wow looking for his stuff... then he manage to pull the old bb clothes from my boy out from the store... today my mother in law which at home with my boy will start to wash them.... i think this mummy also very bad....

haha i also had just finish packing my bag last week end.... now just sit n wait ... .till 18 of mar for my gyn to confirm whether natural is possible for me... coz my bb seem to be big... she have only 0.4kg to grow till birth if not it is 100% c-section.... haiz... my DH complain i have not been exercising .... where got the strength to push the bb.... haiz.... very sian....</font>

<font color="0000ff">hi calamari,
tell ur hubby not too worry too much lah... my no1 boy... it super boy look... even i put him on pink shirt... he still look like a boy to me... but i still keena ask whether it is a girl by pple...</font>

so happy, see gynea.. bb turn.

for infor only for those chose TMC, i check with the hospital recept as them the package for deluxe room they say don hv. only standard room hv package anything abv will be a la carte.. so bill for natural birth is ard $5.5k... is this true?

i think the colour clothes is okie with me...just dun care what other thinks...as long as u like can liaos!

i also let my boy wear Pink, Blue, Yellow, Green, White etc...all colours. anyway it is just colours!

Cheong Choon call before u go.. went this morning around 1115am shop closed... so sway..want to get bb cot. (want to chose the colour ) but not open hv to make another trip.

Geryl
I heard Mrs Wong mention about this mirror thing but I think is up to individual hospital ward policy whether it is allowed or not. I imagine the biggest issue for them would be the use of 1 more nurse/manpower to hold the mirror LOL Unless your husband wants to do the honors. Check with your hospital?

Cheesycake up date for me:

Nick: Serene Ear
Week: 34
BB Weight: 2.3kg
Mom: 14kg (hee hee measure my waist 40inch and butts 39.5 inch last night is so huge) surprise my butts went up by 4 inch..
Bb gender: blue

package means standard list of items inclusive + 3D2N stay... (standard room $400)

a la carte means every thing u use ie milk, disposable, and room is base on use.. they will bill for everything but this one can use the first born card..

package no further discount

deluxe room daily is $518 (if i remember correctly) but cos is not a package easy to blow the hospital bill.

Cos the standard room $400 compared 50 deluxe room $518 not much diff but becos of ala carte the bill is ex...

i think for cost control.. i will chose the package if not pay $1+K more for nothing.. althrough i like the deluxe room..

Joelle,

i'll be at TMC...i always wanted to see myself give birth...will be so exciting. for my #1...did not get a chance to plan this cos all happen too fast...less than an hr i gave birth to my boy! this time i must get to see myself...since can't video it so must get to see it! it is a life time thingy!

serene: I just called TMC. They will get back to me cos the receptionist like so blur like that. 1 moment she say include, 1 moment she say no. I have opted for the super deluxe, and want to know the extras I will be paying for. Will update all.

Geryl
Why cannot video it? TMC doesn't allow? (I'm not sure of video/ photography policies)

I think TMC is quite accomodating. Worth to ask or put a note in when you pre-admit

I think it's quite interesting to watch, but not sure if I'm in the mood to appreciate it right then LOL I've seen birth videos, it's not a pretty sight.

calamari.. ok.. cos if hv package i also want to upgrade cos super deluxe daily room rates even more ex.. $580 or $600+.. cos i heard a la carte i sian half already.

serene: actually deluxe and super deluxe room, difference only $50, that's why i took the super deluxe hehe. But let me gather the facts first, then i let u know in detail.

calamari
I gave up caffeine when I started trying for a child. But I continue with decaf coffee, and teh si. My gynae say 1 cup of coffee a day is fine! :D no worries.

calamari, u r nt alone... I m still drinking coffee bt on alternate days. I like it thick somemore... however I try to go for cuppucino/latte coz got more milk in it as I dun drink milk (finding excuse for myself).

calamari...

me too still drink coffee.....my gynea say max 2 cups a day hee hee hee....same as what mrs wong says...

Joelle...tea is worst then coffee leh...coz higher caffine content...

xiang...thanx i've got my britax car seat from rob liow....in the end onli pay $320 for britax royale after all the disc...in BB Kingdom they quote me $499...ex hor...

I will be registering my BB birth at TMC coz ICA always long q... find parking lot oso a big prob... my no.1 tat x hubby q for almst 1+ hr to register his birth at ICA!!!

Bbroyce...thanx for the info...but i no choice leh..need to get shifu to enlighten us on BB chinese name so definitely must go ICA...task hb to do it liow

Hi.

I'm from Jan 2008 MTB thread.

I have a small tube of Medela PureLan 100 nipple cream for sale. Still have more than 80% left. Bought at $9.10. Now selling at $6 plus 6 pcs of Avent breast pads FREE! Payment by bank transfer &amp; postage will be at $0.80.

Interested party pls PM me.

stefylim
oops, then it's fortunate i enjoyed every drop of those teh si's I had LOL

No mood to work on friday ...so siaann

Geryl,
Can i check if gynae's nurse book the single bed for me that time, does it mean it is under package or ala carte? Do u have idea if dr lim gove us a list of things to bring to hospital during delivery?

cant sleep last night! Still thinking if i should delay my induction and wait for natural labour to kick in. Or i should at least hold for one more week. Supposed to be admitted for induction on 13th March, which is this coming thurs. WIll be exactly 37weeks. I was wondering if i should wait until 38 weeks. Is induction more painful? Is baby's lungs fully developed at 37 weeks? What are the chances of jaundice?
I'm also comtemplating C-sec, coz i scared later induce already, cervix not opened still have to go through c-sec, double pain.

joelle, because i've been having contractions for e past few weeks, gynae recommends that i go for induction on the 13th. Reduce all the unnecessary pain lo. He didnt even mention c-section to me. I guess most gynaes are pro-natural.

Simp,
u can check with Lilian (Dr Lim's Senior Staff) she will advise u on the booking of the bed/ room! as for the list of items to bring...dun think he will give u...it is up to u to bring...u can go to the TMC counter downstairs to ask for the list or some guides from the nurse of TMC.

Sherin, ask ur gynae whether u can wait for natural labour anot...see what gynae say...cos they will know...it is actually very diff to say one too...cos baby might wants to come at their own timing!

serene and all mummies delivering in TMC: re TMC rates, this is what i found out

For single-bedded room:
- room rates = $400 daily
- package for normal delivery 3D2N = $1388 (includes room rates, delivery ward fees, room rates and procedures, does not include dr fees and tests)
- doctor's fees average = $3,000
TOTAL: approx $4,388 w/o gst

For deluxe room:
- room rates = $518 daily
- no package
- labour ward usage = $120 for 4 hours, $250 for subsequent 4 hour blocks
- medication, procedures, dr fees and tests separately charged
- upon admission, you can inform the nurse that you have brought with you diapers, sanitary pads, etc, so hospital does not charge you
- avg cost, natural with epidural = $3,250 (no doctor's fees)
- avg cost, c-sect with epidural = $4,250 (no doctor's fees)
TOTAL: approx $9,438 w/o gst (c-sect with epi)

For super deluxe room:
- room rates = $568 daily
- no package
- labour ward usage = $120 for 4 hours, $250 for subsequent 4 hour blocks
- medication, procedures, dr fees and tests separately charged
- upon admission, you can inform the nurse that you have brought with you diapers, sanitary pads, etc, so hospital does not charge you
- avg cost, natural with epidural = $3,250 (no doctor's fees)
- avg cost, c-sect with epidural = $4,250 (no doctor's fees)
TOTAL: approx $9,588 w/o gst (c-sect with epi)

Sherin
V tough decision to make. I'd be so lost in your shoes, I'd probably go along with my doc just to hv less headache LOL I guess it depends what is your priority, minimal pain, baby's health, or natural delivery,etc? Then go with the choice that supports it the best?

Jaspire...i've booked my room too...i take the double room will be sharing with others...which i dun mind. just dun come over to carry my baby away can liaos...the other time i shared room with this China Lady...on the day of my discharge while the nurse came to explaine some baby things and discharge matter to us...she and her friends came over to my side without asking they just carried my baby away...we all are in the shocked y she never ask one. the nurse help us tell them off!

Joelle,
yup...i dare not even go carry her baby. they just dare dare carry without our permission...so rude i think! what happen if they drop my baby...dare not think of it man!

so for my second baby i think i will just be more careful liaos!

so mummies please be careful if u r sharing room with this kind of person!

wow.. really the price really big... so which one u going?

Cos i read from march thread that one mommies paid $7k for superdeluxe for natural birth? she must be supper quick.. i check out how she is billed tongiht.