(2008/04) April 2008

re: hospital bag

for my hospital bag i will be using hand held luggage. like got of things to pack as my hb will be staying with me also. my normal big tote bag not big enough.

re: harden of tummy

izzit contractions tat cause tummy to harden? sometimes so hard till i cant breathe, as my bb haven turn down & my tummy still quite high.

cloudeme: i also follow gynae EDD calculation. 31.03.08. i hope my bb dont come out 1st apr lol.

RE: hospital bag
i will be using the shopping bag that i bought at metro sale(at the cashier counter)...it's big with zip but no compartments...so i have all my stuff throw in and zip it up...

Re:hardening of tummy
i also have this nowadys...its usually concentrated at my belly button area...

Wa i just called pigeon, they say i managed to get in! hehee.

Xiang - do u mind bringing the nepia diapers to the hotel tomorrow so i can pick up from you? Mine is S size. I PM u my hp so that we can meet somewhere to collect.

Who else going? Lets hope the seminar is interesting.

Re: Destin Creamy

Ladies attending the seminar tomorrow, anyone wants destin creamy? I got 2 tubes extra, expiry date is 2009 Oct. Bought them at $8.60... If you want can either email me or post here
my email is [email protected]

Prawnie: I bring your destin creamy tomorrow? C you at the seminar

I'm not sure what causes the hardening of the stomach. Happens quite a few times throughout the day. Bb already turn down already. Sometimes when harden, it's v painful, cant move, then i'll tell my bb to be good then ok already. I'll ask dr what causes the harden the next time i see him the following week. I think now stomach also not much space for movements, sometimes her legs will be high up stuck in my ribs kind of feeling so cant really lend forward.
I hope she can stay in there for as long as possible.
Now also planning with hubby what to do in case of emergency (water bag burst, show, pain, etc). Would like to grab some food, a shower and then send my two dogs to my mum's place. Last night i just cried thinking about staying in e hospital and missing my two doggies. Dont know why, just cant control.

I tik we shld put some interconce sheet (those absorbent pad) in cars or on the bed nearer EDD so tat in case water bag burst the bed & seat will not get wet.

Amy - u bought them cheap, the last one i got include shipping & postage already cost me $10+.
I already have 2 tubes should be enough to last me a while rite.

I am now back in spore for good till confinement. I just asked my mum did the 3 of us pop out earlier than EDD? She told me all the 3 of us popped out like 2 weeks earlier, i was like huh, it means i may pop as early as mid mar via c-sec. Think i am not prepared yet, I hope to pop in april, think i better talk to my ger and hold on as long as i can.

Koori,

Are you sure? maybe its the exchange rate the spree organiser charges... My one i collected b4 CNY with shipping and everything only $8.60...

Xiang,

Yes, its destin creamy. Can you email me your Hp so that can contact you tomorrow via sms

Anyone else? I only left 1 destin creamy...

Amy: im interested to get the destin creamy from u. but am not attending the talk with u gals tmr. how can i collect from u? am staying bt batok & working in raffles place.

Amy Quek, was wondering if anymore mummies wanna join us for the photoshoot? I am eager to get it done before i pop hee....

cheesycake: why must bring pads along to the hospital?

Sherin: sometimes my stomach hardens too but I thought it was due to BB's cramped movement in my tummy. Could it be braxton hicks?

my bb has already engaged and yesterday when I was walking, i felt like he's nudging at my cervix! So scary! I hope he stays there for another few more weeks.

Is it safe to deliver bb by 37th week? I wonder if the lungs will be developed by then.

Cheesycake,

No prob, lucky you stay at Bukit batok coz i work there
I can meet you after work next week to pass you the destin creamy. What time do you usually reach bukit batok mrt?

Gervynne,

I also getting gan cheong liao... hee.. I want to close this BP by next wk or so coz hopefully can proceed to book the slots by end feb then do the shoot early mar if not too late for us liao
I will contact studio loft again and see how this thing can proceed lor, me dun dare to go post on all the mtbs thread... Later kanna ban...

Re: Bloom photography

Ladies, Anyone interested in the above? I called up Studio Loft photography earlier to enquire about their pricing for the above. Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For phots that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy
2. Yo
3. Gervynne
4. Wish Come True

Anyone else?? I am hoping to close this BP soon coz Apr mtbs need to book slots soon...

gervynne, how to know whether baby has engaged? whenever she kicks, I can feel this pulling sensation at my lower abdomen. From what i read, anytime from 36th to 40th week is ok, not considered pre-term.

i read that destin is not suitable for daily use, more like for treatment of nappy rash. I bought the medela barrier cream from drugstore spree also. And destin just in case.

gervynne...dun worry bb is considered ready for birth by 36wks...so anytime btw 37-40 wks is ok...

koori...last time i paid abt $9 per tube...so shld be due to exchange rate n postage...

cheesycake...i also got my intercon sheet from Guardian, u shld be able to find it there or if u go hospital for checkup can get fr their pharmacy....

gervynne: not bring along to hospital... if let says waterbag break we need a pad to hold the water if not will wet clothing. read some mtb put on maxi pads when closer to EDD to avoid waterbag leakage in public plcs/transport. i feel very paisey if water break in train...

Amy: i knock off at 6.30pm but usually hb will send me home. think will only reach 7pm+... where u stay?

Amy Quek, im interested in the desitin cream too.. but i guess no more le.. anyway is ok.. erm.. how u manage to ship in ?? my fren who is oso mum to be tried to order from oversea but cant lehz. .

Cheesycake,

I stay in sembawang. Which part of bukit batok do you stay at? I knock off later on Tuesday so if you 1 can wait around abit for you

Strawberries,

You can try Pretty mama's spree. Her exchange rate is quite reasonable
Think her drugstore spree #36 is going on...

Amy, haha wont kena banned la but I dropped an email to studioloft and they insisted it has to be 10 mummies to get the additional 3X5R free! possible to tell her that we got 4 and if we can proceed? i wanna get it done by next week actually heee thanks anyway for organising!

Sherin: I went for my gynae checkup yest and he said bb is in correct position, so there will be some pressure on my cervix or even the pulling sensation you mentioned sometimes which is normal, no need to be alarm.

Stephanie and Sherin: so 36wks is ok? Oh I heard 36wks still considered premie!

Actually I am thinking of epi Csecion because my recent scan shows that my bb is going to be rather big size and his head and body (stomach) belong to the 70th percentile while we were doing the growth chart, so it may be a difficult labour for me. Sigh I am now wondering if I should go for it and choose the date too but gynae says 38wks onwards is safer when bb's lungs have developed.

My Gynae has advised I am due sometime mid April (originally EDD 21 April), but it could happen anytime from early to mid. This is my first child, and I'm at 30 weeks now!

V exciting. Last night MIL discussed about preparing the hospital bag, and contingency and emergency plans in case labour pains come at mid-night. LOL

gervynne. which week are u at now and how heavy is bb?

anyone confirmed on full month celebration yet?

joelle, welcome. I just thought it's a v good buy and furthermore baby einstein series is really v good.

gervynne,

Let me call maryann later and get back to you, i posted on their thread also seems like got some Jun mtbs also interested c what i can do...

Got this from March thread....!!!

Pregnancy at 37 Weeks

Congratulations — your baby is full term! This means that if your baby arrives now, his lungs should be fully mature and ready to adjust to life outside the womb, even though your due date is still three weeks away.

Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel (like a stalk of Swiss chard). Many babies have a full head of hair at birth, with locks from 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inches long. But don't be surprised if your baby's hair isn't the same color as yours. Dark-haired couples are sometimes thrown for a loop when their children come out as blonds or redheads, and fair-haired couples have been surprised by Elvis look-alikes. And then, of course, some babies sport only peach fuzz.

Note: Every baby develops a little differently — even in the womb. Our information is designed to give you a general idea of your baby's development.

How your life's changing:
Braxton Hicks contractions may be coming more frequently now and may last longer and be more uncomfortable. You might also notice an increase in vaginal discharge. If you see some "bloody show" (mucus tinged with a tiny amount of blood) in the toilet or in your undies, labor is probably a few days away — or less. (If you have heavier spotting or bleeding, call your caregiver immediately.) Also be sure to ask your caregiver about the results of your Group B strep culture. That way, if the result isn't yet on your chart when you get to the hospital or birth center, you'll be able to give the staff there a timely heads-up if you need antibiotics.

It may be harder than ever to get comfortable enough to sleep well at night. If you can, take it easy through the day — this may be your last chance to do so for quite a while. Keep monitoring your baby's movements, too, and let your caregiver know immediately if you notice a decrease. Though her quarters are getting cozy, she should still be as active as before.

While you're sleeping, you're likely to have some intense dreams. Anxiety both about labor and about becoming a parent can fuel a lot of strange flights of unconscious fancy.

Home alone "I know some people are thrilled to show off their new baby. But all I wanted to do was curl up with her in my arms when I got home from the hospital. Next time I'll tell people ahead of time that we aren't seeing visitors for the first week." — Anonymous

Surprising Facts: Signs of labor
There's no way to predict when labor is going to start. Your body actually starts "preparing" for labor up to a month before you give birth. You may be blissfully unaware of what's going on or you may begin to notice new symptoms as your due date draws near.

Here are some things that may happen in the weeks or days before labor starts:

• Your baby drops. If this is your first pregnancy, you may feel what's known as "lightening" a few weeks before labor starts as your baby descends lower into your pelvis. You might detect a heaviness in your pelvis as this happens and notice less pressure just below your ribcage, making it easier to catch your breath.

• You note an uptick in Braxton Hicks contractions. More frequent and intense Braxton Hicks contractions can signal pre-labor, during which your cervix ripens and the stage is set for true labor. Some women experience a crampy, menstrual-like feeling during this time.

• You pass your mucus plug. The mucus plug is the small amount of thickened mucus that blocks the cervical canal leading to your uterus. The plug may come out all at once in a lump, or as increased vaginal discharge over the course of several days. The mucus may be tinged with blood (which may be brown, pink, or red), in which case it may be referred to as "bloody show."

• Your water breaks. Most women start having regular contractions sometime before their water breaks, but in some cases, the water breaks first. When this happens, labor usually follows soon. (If contractions don't start promptly on their own, you'll be induced.) Whether the amniotic fluid comes out in a large gush or a small trickle, call your doctor or midwife.

How can I tell if I'm in false labor or true labor?
Sometimes it's very hard to tell false labor from the early stages of true labor. Here are some things that might help you sort it out:
• False labor contractions are unpredictable. They come at irregular intervals and vary in length and intensity. Although true labor contractions may be irregular at first, over time they start coming at regular and shorter intervals, become increasingly more intense, and last longer.
• With false labor, the pain from the contractions is more likely to be centered in your lower abdomen. With true labor, you may feel the pain start in your lower back and wrap around to your abdomen.
• False labor contractions may subside on their own, or when you start or stop an activity or change position. True labor contractions will persist and progress regardless of what you do.

cloudme: thanks for the research! wow I didnt know we are all so near to delivery liao! How time has passed!

Amy: thanks! If we can get the photoshoot done asap that would great!

Sherin: I am at week 32 now and bb is 2.17kg.

I need to start preparing hosp bag now. have you all prepared liao?

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE: If there are more that 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For phots that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)

Anyone else?? I am hoping to close this BP soon coz Apr mtbs need to book slots soon...

Gerynne - i gt pulling feeling at my cervix last evening, its quite painful like something dropping out and pressure around the area, isit becos bb already turned?

wow, I peeked at the March 2008 MTB thread and so many have poppped! some even at 36-37weeks. wow! so fast leh I think we have to start preparing already!

koori: i get that kind of feeling once in a while. I dunno if baby has turned by gynae would be able to advise if bb is engaged. dun worry so much. I had this kind of feeling when I was already wk 28, and gynae says baby is in correct position liao.