(2008/04) April 2008

Calamari - HUGZ, poor thing gotto do so many round of tests. Hope everyting is ok. This sat i better ask my gynae to check my bb's weight.

Amy: how did your move go? My house still in a mess after sat's move haha. 10 boxes still unpacked. Dunno can pack by CNY or not.

hi cloudme
my gynae also going on leave for CNY
so I have an early checkup next Monday

calamari
oh dear, sorry to hear about this. don't worry too much, with careful diet still can control GD

Calamari - 10 more boxes to unpack, don tire urself. If cannot unpack by CNY, put in storeroom no one will see....then after that slowly unpack.

Don drink milo and those can drinks, got high sugar content, hope everything be under control.

has anyone of u started seeing ur gynae often?

my gynae said she will only see me every wk when i reach 37wk...

just think by 37 wks maybe i pop already...then no need to see her...that's the bad point when taking package...hai...

cloudme: i started seeing gynae every fortnight already, beginning at 28 weeks. Then it will be weekly vist from Week 36 onwards. I'm on package too.

koori: any suggestions what i should drink ah, esp in the morn? no coffee, no tea, no milo, no milk (as ordered by gynae). Sigh...

cloudme
i'm at 28 week and checkups are still once every 4 weeks.
not sure when it's supposed to get more frequent. but most gynaes operate by package.

calamari
why no tea? cos of caffeine? tea kosong has no sugar.. looks like best is drink water. or home-made barley w/o sugar?

calamari,

perhaps u can brew ur own "ju hua cha".
i do that in the office...put a few piece of "ju hua" and "wolfberry" and add hot water...and u have very nice "ju hua cha". Can add water to it and drink until no taste from "ju hua".

u can have it with or w/o rock sugar...i drink w/o rock sugar loh...

***Note: wolfberry from "eu ren seng" is very heaty loh...so drink alternate day...

<table border=1><tr><td>S/n</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Baby weight</TD><TD>Mummy Wt Gain</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Cheesycake</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>approx 1.4kg @ 29 wks</TD><TD>15kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>juniorrain </TD><TD>27</TD><TD>863g @ 26 wks </TD><TD>6.5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>cloudme </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1156g @ 29 wks</TD><TD>6-7kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Cherish </TD><TD>26</TD><TD>910g @ 25 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Zishumo </TD><TD>27</TD><TD>870g @ 26 wks</TD><TD>6.5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jenny Hoo </TD><TD>25</TD><TD>750g @ 24 wks </TD><TD>7kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>sputnik </TD><TD>24</TD><TD>636g @ 24 wks </TD><TD>3.5kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.1kg @ 27 wks </TD><TD>7kg </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Simp </TD><TD>27</TD><TD>824g @ 25 wks</TD><TD>13.4kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Xiang </TD><TD>25</TD><TD>729 @ 24 wks</TD><TD>5-6kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>XiaoZhu </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1150g @ 28 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>jaspire</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>825g @ 24 wks</TD><TD>10kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Cath</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>700g @ 25 wks</TD><TD>15kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>koori</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>800g @ 25 wks</TD><TD>6.5kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Prawnie </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1247g @ 28 wks </TD><TD>14kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Tsukushi </TD><TD>26</TD><TD>680g @ 24 wks</TD><TD>5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>babybliss </TD><TD>25</TD><TD>809g @ 25wks </TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Stefylim</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>approx 1kg @ 27 wks</TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Mumbly </TD><TD>26</TD><TD>982g @ 26 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>BBRoYcE</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.2kg @ 28 wks </TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Sherin </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.63kg @ 29 wks</TD><TD>6-7kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>scubababe) </TD><TD>27</TD><TD>1.2kg @ 27 wks</TD><TD>13kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>cloudluv</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.22kg @ 28 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>1kg @ 26 wks</TD><TD>4-5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Starling</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>600g @ 26 wks</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Porkie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>990g @ 26 wks</TD><TD>7-8kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Kea</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1200g @ 28 wks</TD><TD>10kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>jo (princess_j) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1kg @ 26 wks</TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>celine</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1 kg @ 28 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>chewy </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1277g @ 28 wks</TD><TD>5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>calamari</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.4kg @ 28 wks</TD><TD>14kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Gynae visit: during my last visit 29wks, was told by my gynae to see him still in 4wks time. maybe after this appt then change to every 2 wks. when abt to due think every week see him ba.

calamari: dont worry, just remem to watch ur diet. it will be fine de...

thanks joelle and scubababe!
soyabean milk sounds ok too for a morning drink...

calamari: I spent the weekend unpacking at home lor, slowly slowly unpack... unpack a bit then rest a bit lor... U take it easy, although i go slow on sun by night time still got backache so i rested early this morning ok le... Then worse case senario is like what Koori said, stuff the stuff that you dun need back into the store room 1st lor for CNY... Did your Doc say to cut down anything in particular besides the drinks? i think cutting down on carbo might help also stuff like rice, noodles coz these r complex sugars... In morning u might 1 2 drink soyabean drink without the sugar syrup?

Koori: ya lor, but i will not do my housewarming now want to wait and do it together with baby's full mth if not witin such a short span invite ppl to come to my house for 2 events like want to earn people's ang bao like that...

Aiyo, me never buy CNY goodies before never knew that they were so expensive.... alamak....

calamari, so sorry to hear that.. I am worried I maybe same case as you wor. My next check up is this Wed. Last checkup my gynae oso said baby too big. She was 825g at 24wks, while most other babies at 24wks is only at 600g+ oni, can u imagine that? Haiz... so keeping my fingers crossed for this wed wor.

7 times a day pricking seems very painful wor... how long must you prick yourself till? Does avoiding sugar helps?

calamari: u can get the chrysanthemum from and chinese medical store...yap can get from EYS too...but dun know if cheaper...loh
wolfberry is call "gou chi zhi"

Amy: problem is hor, i got no storeroom!! *faint* hahahaha.. Anyway, doc say cut down the soft drinks and especially the Anmum (i was drinking everynight). He said Anmum too fattening wor. But true lah, ever since I started drinking Anmum, my weight has been sky rocketing.

jaspire: pray for the best! Hope your bb not too big...don't worry k? Mine is 400g overweight :p Now every night I tell her don't grow too fast and fast, hehe. Update us after your wed appt ok?
I asked my hubby to prick my fingers cos I don't dare to press. Only need to do it yesterday. Guess the doc wants to see my full day glucose breakdown rate. I ate normally yesterday. Guess avoiding sugar will help definitely.

Calamari: Hi babe, *hugs* sorry to hear that. Try wat other mums hv suggested. Amy is right to point out the carbo factor, potatoes as well. Actually, it is more imptly when u eat these food. Keep them in the day as the night, the food is retained &amp; harder for u to burn off since we r having much slower digestion at nite. The best is plain water &amp; take as much as u can, juz hv to visit loo more often. I have been drinking Anmum too but weight is not significantly increased. Think maybe u take at nite. Look into ur diet &amp; if u can calculate the calories. Those packet fruit juices may indicate 'NO sugar added" but u look into the label, anything with sucrose, or -rose is form of sugar. So be mindful with tat.

Calamari - hw abt some cereal by quaker but cannot add sugar, maybe can add some milk.

Avoid too much rice cos too much and cannot break down become fats &amp; sugar, adding on the sugar level.

Now better stop ur Annum, try Low fat milk to replace the calciums u need.

calamari
how come the doc advise no milk? is it cos it's too fattening? is he stopping the Anmum or all milk? what about low fat milk, can drink?

vyn_leen: Where do u stay? Maybe I can arrange, if getting from xiang is still more accessible to u then itz ok. Weekends or after work is ok with me as I am not working.

Xiang: it depends on vyn_leen now, the rest of westies mums r ok to get from me. So it's a matter of the west package to deliver to me or to u, then I pick the 3 from u. Of course I prefer to send to my hse.. heehee

a little birkie anecdote to share

I've never been a fan of Birkies. for the past few weeks my feet have been swelling quite badly, they swell upon waking.

bolstered by recommendations I got myself a birkie last Saturday. an Alpro to be precise, one of birkie's licensee companies.

wore the sandal to work today, &amp; am quite surprised at the result. feet actually went back to normal size! still can see the normal bones and veins on the top esp for left foot.

1223769.jpg

swollen feet on normal days

1223770.jpg

thinner feet with birkie

so conclusion -- birkie not bad lah hehehhh

Calamari: So sad to hear ur case. It must b painful to prick 7 times a day. Hope ur sugar content will reduce very fast. Ya like the MTBS has said hv 2 control ur diet &amp; reduce the sugar intake. Take care

calamari: FYI hope this helps

Avoid sugar and foods high in sugar. Most women with gestational diabetes, just like those without diabetes, have a desire for something sweet in their diet. In pregnant women, sugar is rapidly absorbed into the blood and requires a larger release of insulin to maintain normal blood sugar levels. Without the larger release of insulin, blood sugar levels will increase excessively when you eat sugar-containing foods.

There are many forms of sugar such as table sugar, honey, brown sugar, corn syrup, maple syrup, turbinado sugar, high fructose corn syrup, and molasses. Generally, food that ends in “ose” is a sugar (e.g., sucrose, dextrose, and glucose).

Foods that usually contain high amounts of sugar include pies, cakes, cookies, ice cream, candy, soft drinks, fruit drinks, fruit packed in syrup, commercially fruited yogurt, jams, jelly, doughnuts, and sweet rolls. Many of these foods are high in fat as well.

Be sure to check the list of ingredients on food products. Ingredients are listed in order of amount. If an ingredient is first on the list, it is present in the highest amount. If some type of sugar is listed first, second, or third on the list of ingredients, the product should be avoided. If sugar is further down, fourth, fifth, or sixth, it probably will not cause your blood sugar levels to go up excessively.

Fruit juices should only be taken with a meal and limited to 6 ounces. Tomato juice is a good choice because it is low in sugar. Six ounces of most other juice (apple, grapefruit, orange) with no sugar added still contain approximately 4 to 5 teaspoons of sugar. However, these do not contain much of the fiber of a piece of fruit which normally would act to slow the absorption of sugar into the blood. If you drink juice frequently to quench your thirst during the day, a high blood sugar level may result. Use only whole fruit for snacks.

To help with the occasional sweet tooth that we all have, artificial sweeteners may be used in foods. Aspartame has been extensively tested for safety. Use during pregnancy has been approved by the Food and Drug Administration and by the American Medical Association's Review Board. However, aspartame has not been tested for long term safety and has not been on the market very long. It may be best to avoid its use until more tests have been done.

Saccharin is not advised during pregnancy. Likewise, use of mannitol, xylitol, sorbitol, or other artificial sweeteners is not recommended until further research is done.

Fructose is a special type of sugar that is slowly absorbed into the system. A small amount of fructose can be used if your blood sugar levels are within normal range. However, fructose still has 4 calories per gram, as much as table sugar. High fructose corn syrup is part fructose and part corn syrup, making it very similar to table sugar in composition. It will raise blood sugar levels and should definitely be avoided.

Emphasize the use of complex carbohydrates. These include vegetables, cereal, grains, beans, peas, and other starchy foods. A well balanced diet with plenty of fiber provided by vegetables, dried beans, cereals, and other starchy foods decreases the amount of insulin your body needs to keep blood sugars within a normal range. Anything that decreases the need for insulin is beneficial The American Diabetes Association recommends that at least one-half of your calories come from complex carbohydrates. Starchy foods include pasta, rice, grains, cereals, crackers, bread, potatoes, dried beans, peas, and legumes. Also, contrary to popular belief, carbohydrates are not highly fattening when eaten in moderate amounts and without the rich sauces and toppings often added.

Emphasize foods high in dietary fiber. Fiber is the edible portion of foods of plant origin that is not digested (e.g., skins, membranes, seeds, bran). Foods with a high fiber content include whole grain cereals and breads, fruits, vegetables, and legumes (dried peas and beans). Fiber aids digestion and helps prevent constipation. The fiber found in fruits, vegetables, and legumes also helps keep your blood sugar level from becoming too high without requiring extra insulin.

Keep your diet low in fat. Some fat is needed to help with the absorption of certain vitamins and to provide the essential fatty acids necessary for fetal growth. A diet which is high in fat causes the insulin to react in a less efficient manner, necessitating more insulin to keep blood sugar levels within normal range. Foods high in saturated fats such as fatty meats, butter, bacon, cream (light, coffee, sour cream, etc.), and whole milk cheeses are likely to be high in total fat. Most foods with saturated fat are also high in cholesterol because they are fats from animal origin. However, foods such as crackers made with coconut, palm, or palm kernel oil can be high in saturated fats as well. Read labels carefully. Unsaturated fats are found in foods such as fish, margarine and vegetable oils. Keep your use of salad dressings to a minimum and whenever possible use those prepared with olive oil. To help keep the diet lower in fat, avoid adding extra fats such as rich sauces and creamy desserts, and bake or broil foods instead of frying them. Replacing fatty foods with those high in complex carbohydrates is also helpful.

Joelle, great news! Gd to see y at TMC, gosh so crowded that I din manage to see the baby demonstration! Mrs Wong should hv 3 groups instead of 2.... Can't wait to get my birks too!

chewy
oh that's too bad! yes group was too big. I was in the first group and left after. Mrs Wong's "performance" was quite impressive. she held the baby like a rugby ball. demonstrated all sorts of holds with ease. she resembled bruce lee swinging his nunchucks you know - swish-swosh-top-bottom-left-right LOL then when baby became agitated and cried, she just looked at her and spoke calmly to her, and in 3 seconds she settled down again. like "baby whisperer". v amazing. wonder what she said.

yesterday's class was good, better than the first. i keep forgetting to buy the books from her *smack forehead*

OK i'm off to lunch. c u later/around

Chewy &amp; Xiang: oh is left me oni ah....so paiseh *shy* lol..
ok then nt to make things complicated, i will go Yew Tee to pick up from Chewy la, so tat the one carton can send to her place directly.... ;)
Thanks so much for both of yr help

Calamari - u so poor thing have to prick yourself so many times... hope everything turns out find when u go and see the diabetes specialist.

Mrs Wong's class is usually so pack, so to get a good place, i will try and turn up early. Kiasu a bit.. hehe..

Hi Mummies/mummies-to-be,
sorry to intrude, i am fr the dec'07 thread.
As i hav given up bf, am selling away my Medela Mini Electric Plus breastpump for $220, FOC additional valves &amp; membranes worth $30.50.
Bot on 26th Dec 07. Complete set. Warranty still applicable. Good condition as used for less than 2 mths.

Also selling a Avent Isis Manual Pump at $50.
Complete Pump set but some accessories has been used. Very good condition as used less than 2 weeks.

Please PM for more details.

Ladies - any suggestions where is a good place to buy nice and good quality bedding sets? I saw at robinsons but seems quite expensive.

Calamari,
me fr may thread, may b u try to take brown rice or five grain rice, don take white rice, it helps to lower down the sugar level..can consider whole meal bread or multi grain bread, don take those bakery shop bread or white bread..

can u drink HL milk? yalo, heard Anmum very fattening..try to avoid Durian also..

Did milk affect...

my bb oso heavy... 910g @ ww 25...
i cut down my milk intake, my weight gain is little, but bb still gain so much weight...

Calamari....dun worry so long as u ctrl ur sugar intake shld be fine...u can buy ju hua n guo ji zi from normal medical hall a lot cheaper then EYS leh...n Guo Ji Zi suppose to be veli gd for ur eyes not tt heaty lah...ok to take daily

Koori u gonna see dr chin tis sat too? me also wat time is ur appt, mine's at 1.30pm the last 1...happy to be able to see bb 1 wk earlier hahaha

When will our feet start swelling? I will be 27 weeks this week, but my feet have not started swelling yet. Hope it will not be so soon...

sputnik...u toking abt bb bed sets? can try aussino...complete set is $69.90..go chk it out i bought 1 set for my bb liow

then for the bedsheet i get from bbmallonline spree

Thanks stephanie... aussino dun sell bedsheets? I looking for matching bedsheets, pillow/bolster cases, cot bumper. Do you know if all aussino outlets carry the bed sets, or only certain outlets?

Stephanie - my appt also 130pm! tik will see u. How come u so fast another appt, seem like u have 1 appt more than me.
Btw i tik we shld ask Lisa to measure our bb weight, she doesnt seem to measure.

Sputnik - Stephanie is right, if ur cot is standard 52 x 28 i tik, u can get cot mattress from Bbmallionline...its at US$3.90 only.

If u want a set, tats usually quite ex esp with the cot bumper. Wat i did is i bought matching bedsheets / pillow case, then my cot bumper is 1 color shade, can match with all my mattress.