(2008/04) April 2008

tsukushi

i've always been a back sleeper. but last few months, tried to condition myself to sleep on side as it's supposedly more comfy as we get bigger. last night i finally felt breathless when sleeping on back. so alternate between left & right.
i find it more comfy to sleep on right, probably cos im a right hander. when sleeping on left, shoulder and arm aches after awhile. u've just got to experiment with pillows, bolsters & positions i guess.
the worst thing abt this is that u go through so many pillows & bolsters! some i buy, try then reject - end up with so many unused ones! keep at it, it will get better with practice :D (funny la sleep also need practice)

hi mummies: do u all start monitoring your bb movements? as in per hr how times bb kicks? i read online ard our stages now, bb shld kick at least 10times per hr... sometimes when bb been quiet for quite sometime i will get panic...

stefy, ya lah... but too many pple... so dunno who is who oso. Hee...

cheesycake, me no monitor wor... cos my gal kicks alot... too much. My gynae say oni monitor if baby is less active. Then u got to make sure baby moves at least 10 times per day not per hour.

jaspire: oic... im trying to monitor her movements pattern/timing. so tat when she is less active i will be on alert loh. very scare she moves too little during day time. sometimes i will just talk to her ask her to kick when i notice she nv move for quite sometime. one thing, sure at night she super active only when im trying to slp~ lolz... she likes to disturb me dont let me slp... keke...

<font color="0000ff">regarding bb kick... actually i don really count... but i do take note when it kick and maybe after awhile the baby don kick will try talking to her see whether she kick anot...</font>

Chessycake

BB r normally more active at night coz we're not moving much and the womb is not shaking. In the day, we move i.e. womb rocks as well, then is like rocking bb to sleep. Thus, less kick in the day.

Btw 10times per hr like too much rite. 10 x 24 = 240. I heard is at least 10 a day.

cheesycake....

bb shld move 10x a day...but i also nv keep track of her movement...

my gerger usually will kick after i have my meals n when i lie down in bed to watch tv at nite...quite active

I've read in What To Expect when you're Expecting about the 10 x movements an hour topic. The book's advice is if that quota is not met, then monitor for another hour. If <10 x in 2 hours, inform gynae.

Obviously, there are different methods and quantifiers applied by different professionals. I also believe each bb has unique temperament, some more active than others, then there are active vs lull periods. When we're distracted e.g. at work, we don't pay attn &amp; will miss movements too.

As long as mine is consistently moving now and then, I'm think it's fine.

Cheesycake....I think you better check with your gynea with regards to this...I'll also check with mine this saturday when I see her so that we dun get worried for nothing...

hmmm ... abit confusing already ...

When attending the antenatal course, the instructor also told to note if less than 10x / day will have to let gynae know .. but never say tat is during which stage leh...

oh in case any mummies are still worried abt the 10 x an hour thing, the book also advises that u sh take into account bb's active periods.

so there is no need to monitor 10 x an hour EVERY HOUR, 24 hrs a day - bb needs sleep too!

instead it should be, during your bb's usual active period, monitor for 10x an hour.

i think this website also supports the same theory somewhat:

http://www.babycenter.com/0_fetal-movement-feeling-your-baby-kick_2872.bc#section2

I have the following for sale. not sure if any of you are interested or any of your friends. Help me ask around ya. Thanks!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/climbabe/

Things for sale:
1) GRaco Stroller
2) Bum wear
3) 'The First Years' milk bags (4 packs)
4) Sofa set
5) 2 bags of milk caps for those glass milk bottles obtained from hospitals.
6) "Lindam" safety gate
7) Nuk Nuk and Pigeon milk bottles

Please PM me or sms me at 9489 9008 for fast deal if interested.

i don really monitor bb's movements leh, as in counting how many times she move. When i was at gynae's place for checkup, the U/s show she is moving but i don feel it, sometimes cant feel her movements. Everyday so long as i can feel her movements i don panic. Got once she keep quiet for the whole day, only at night few kicks, make me scared man.

cheesycake

me oso worry like you...but i notice my bb more active at nite esp when i lie dw....so at wk , i tend to ask myself not to tink so much coz will make me turn crazy..coz when i at wk, sometimes i don feel bb kick at all!! not even once...!! i only spend time every nite aft dinner and lie on bed to make sure bb kick and wriggle..

Kea - i find bb very cute, like to wriggle when i lie on the side...like they trying to make us change position. hehe.

Kea: my bb tends to move more at nite... for u, maybe daytime u walk alot at work? for me, except going loo/pantry/lunch i seldom walk. coz mostly work on my pc. during the day she moves but lesser. as long she moves i think shld be ok bah.

koori

yah...haha..then sometimes i v tired liao, i wan slp liao, then bb start to wriggle or poke, i will scold him and say 'wad u wan'...lolx...but still, i love his movement!! his movement brightens up my tiring day!! hee....u can feel bb movement during day time? as in when we wk?

baby movements
for my case, bb is most active at nite. i guess due to not much movement so i feel its more obvious &amp; active lor.

cheesycake

i don walk alot...i walk during lunch / loo oso...hee.....dunno y since monday, my stomach feeling bloated like 1st trimester feeling ...=(....me now in 26wks plus, guess holiday period overing soon....stepping into the scary 3rd trim

Re: Baby's movement

just now after lunch, my baby keeps moving around and i cannot concentrate at work..when I cannot tahan anymore, I will take a walk around the office.

Kea: me same feeling lor .. bloated and backache .. pengz ... counting down left with approx 15 weeks to due date .. me getting abit scared and worried also .. time flies so fast!!

BB Movments:

Me sometimes feel tat it move more often in the morning, sometimes more at night is it normal this way?

Kea: i must agree i love my bb movements too... i dont mind when bb kicks &amp; moves alot... i just enjoy &amp; love tat kind of feeling. guess after i have delivered i will miss those kicks... i have been having contractions on &amp; off now... tummy harden awhile &amp; back to normal after few sec. btw, wat's ur bb size since the last gynae visit?

cheesycake

ya ..now i arady tell hubby say i gonna miss the pregnancy feeling and those wonder kicks......

hmm....if i am not wrong, my last check @24wks is ard 750gm.....yrs?

Kea - yes during office hours when i sitting down, can feel her moving. tats normally around 11am - 2pm. After 2pm don feel her moving, tik she go sleep, around evening time she start moving again.

Kea: my bb weigh ard 745g at 25wks
i love the kicks. i like to look &amp; touch bb movements on my tummy. at nite, while watching tv. nothing to do i will look at my tummy enjoying her kongfu kicks... lolz...

jenny - i feel most bloated during sleep, stomach like drum but when i woke up the bloatedness will be gone. Also am suffering from backache, suspecting gotto do with bra.

Cheesycake - my gynae don tell me the weight one leh! when i asked her last sat, she just say est 800gm, tik not accurate one.

jaspire: wow ur bb is big... u opt for c-sec? if not, it will be difficult to deliver thru natural birth. mine only 745g at 25wks. gynae said weight is good, not too big/small.

My baby weight 729g at 24th weeks.. Did not make any adjustments to my diet or increased my nutrition level.

Now, I am taking Frisomum milk - 1 to 2 cups per day as I read that baby tends to draw more calcium from mummy during the last trimester.

Used to drink 1 cup of milk / week. :p

babyweight
aiyo think i'm one of those bo chap mum leh, every gynae visit i didnt bother to ask. i'm only concern if i'm overweight keke....
anyway gynae will advise if bb is growing well or not so i dont worry tat much lor.

cheesycake, I will be going for c-section with GA as I have slipped disc so no epidural oso and oso due to baby big. My gynae oso said baby is big for her gestational age wor..

Geryl: Maintain your mood in a tip top, happy condition. Positive thinking do helps !! Rest well and no worries, your bb will be fine !!

Chewy: Thanks for the link !

Re: Baby weight.
Mine was like 800gm when I was in the 24th week. Was worried that bb might be over weight.. hee cos during the antenatal class, I was told that bb weighs about 720gm in the 6th month. I was like thinking, did I eat too much ?

prawnie, you are the closest to me wor... me now watch my diet liao. Hopefully can help baby to slow down her weight increase too. But hor, my MIL will brew tonics/birdnest etc for me... and everytime i guai guai drink, dunno if that will make baby big or not oso wor.

piggy mummy, eh... i not sure wor. My MIL brew i just drink loh... I know last nite got black chicken with gou qi zi and dunno wat. Sometimes its pao tseng (Not sure correct or not, but my MIL say its gd for blood circulation/alertness or dunno wat wor). I normally just say "orh" and drink up. LOL! I have low blood pressure but surprisingly since preggie, din really feel giddy etc. Think my MIL really take gd care of me. Hee..

Now if she is going to brew tonic, she will tell me dinner not to eat too much. Cos i told her me and baby put on too much weight liao. I am thankful i got a very very gd MIL loh.

jaspire,

Like u, am going for c-sec earlier maybe in late mar as advised by AL Lim. Would be taking GA too for my c-sec hee. Just hope bb can come out only in apr nearer my edd instead of mar. My bb weighs ard 824g in wk 25. Gynae warning me abt my wt gain liao, now gain like 13.4kg in all, faint. I thnk i gain one of the most here and mar 08 mummies. Now better watch diet liao since my growth also bigger with bb.