(2008/04) April 2008

Re: Bumwear

Prawnie: yup, bumwear is a type of cloth diapers. Its in a pocket form that you put in an absorbent insert to soak up the urine/liquid from poo... Its more convnient than tradditional cloth diapers coz dun have to fold and supposed to last a few wettings b4 u need to change it just like disposable only thing is that its reusable therefore need to wash.

Sook: Oic, coz for every completed package E can get freebies like nappy liners and free inserts so i thought if can make up another package E you and the other mummy can share the freebies mah... But of course the discount still applies
Can you email me the details of your orders ie which designs u 1 2 get to [email protected]?

GOOD MORNING mummies....

weekend is over so soon, felt like I've not rested enuff..ha ha ha...

sputnik...sometimes i also have the same problem as u, then i'll toss n turn in bed just cannot get into sleep but sorry i dun haf any remedy either haiz...but bear with it, will be over in abt 3mths time

Kea: yah lor .. the JOhn little sales till Sat only !!! me went down MS John little yesterday and so sad .. the girl told me sales over liao ... cos normally the sales if start from thurs will last till sunday one!! argh!!!

No choice still got to buy bigger bras .. current bras really cannot fit already!!! each cost me abt $30+ ar ... Heartache!!! Arghhhh!!

My feet also getting bigger by 1 size le ... anyone same same ar?? Cannot fit into pre-pregnancy shoes??

good morning everyone

stephanie lim -
i'm so tired today too! been out all day yesterday and neglected to get enuf rest.

jenny hoo
my feet have expanded by a size. i find expansion is most drastic in the evenings - the feet really swell. i wear mostly sandles so shoe size is not a big problem .

chewy
friday outing sounds good! i'm fine with prima.

Chewy / Stephanie:

If you are looking for something that's not too filling, can try the basement 2 of Centrepoint - New Wing. They have Fishball noodle, laksa, a Yakitori fastfood cum restaurant.

RE: attire for prenatal class
i rememver reading about attire in the form /receipt given to us at payment... maybe can go take a look at it? *blur*

Hi, the table shows the prenatal class attendees.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Prenatal Class</TD><TD>Time Slot </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Jenny Hoo</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">KKH</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">17/11/2007 from 1145hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Burby_babe</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">KKH</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">17/11/2007 from 1145hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff0000">Jaspire</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">22/11/2007 1900-2100hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff0000">Ant1712</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">22/11/2007 1900-2100hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Stephanie Lim</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">24/11/2007 1900-2100hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">sputnik</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">24/11/2007</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff0000">Xiang</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">19/01/2008 1400-1600hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff0000">Cherish</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">19/01/2008 1400-1600hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff0000">cutiebb</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">19/01/2008 1400-1600hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Calamari</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">19/01/2008 1630-1830hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff0000">muzicgal</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">19/01/2008 1900-2100hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Tsukushi</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">20/01/2008 1230-1430hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">chewymartian</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">20/01/2008 1230-1430hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Joelle</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">TMC-Mrs Wong</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">20/01/2008 1230-1430hrs</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

RE: ATTIRE
As for attire, the first 3 lessons have exercise. Need to wear something comfortable like a singlet / Dri-fit top and exercise/yoga pants for bottom. No shoes are needed for the exercises.

It's also highlighted in your class schedule as mentioned by Joelle.

Hi MTB: so long nv post here...

koori: i also very KS... got my girl's english name liao... We calling her Chevelle...

any MTB planning where to have ur bb 1st mth celebration? me thinking merchant court buffet lunch spread. like the food there... any other nice buffet plcs to share?

Cheesycake/Koori: I also got my baby girl's name liao... ;)

Cheesycake: Initially I wanted to have the bb 1st month celebration at my condo function room but realised the venue is too small. So we decided to have it at a hotel function room instead. For now, its either Hilton or Pan Pac. Difference is $5 per pax which can add up to quite a bit hehe. I attended a BB full month celebration at Merchant Court Ellenborough Cafe. A bit messy I feel, cos the area not cordoned off for the event.

RE: TMC Antenatal Class

dresscode is casual lah...usually I'll wear t-shirt n bermudas or 3qtr pants....something comfy as 1st 3 class need to seat on the floor mat for the whole 2hrs

can wear slippers coz u r suppose to take off your shoes before going into the class...

Ohayoo mummies !!

Koori, Stephanie Lim, Chewy: I think I will still get one latex mattress for baby. Its sold mainly at departmental or baby stores right?

Stephanie Lim: Good to know that its fun. probably will give a try at Birth and Beyond since the fitball session can be used together with the Yoga Sessions.

Chewy: Will sms you again to confirm the time to meet you tomorrow for the morning class. Do they have rooms to wash up after the class? Or any other items to bring? No preference for dinner on friday

Sputnik: try sleeping on your sides. Do not lie on your back as it will cause breathing problems as what u have mentioned. Ths was what I learnt from in the class. But I tend to toss here and there in the middle of the night too. In the end, I slept sideways with a folded towel just right to support the tummy.

RE: 1st month celebration

calamari - any idea what is the price like for a first month celebration event at Hilton and Pan Pac?

joelle: The below are some prices I found. Hope can be useful for you.

High-tea Buffet in Function Room:
Hilton - $45++ pp
Pan Pac - $50++ pp
Orchard Parade - $42++ pp
Four Seasons - $60++ pp (!!)
Regent - $50++ pp
Grand Copthorne - $40++
Raffles Town Club - $30++ pp

Other Restaurant Buffet Venues:
Min Jiang at Goodwood Park - $21.80 ++ pp
Checkers Brasserie at Hilton - $37 ++ pp
Club Chinois at Orchard Parade
etc etc

Cheesycake: is it the nonya buffet at Goodwood Park? That one very nice!! But dunno whether they can close off one area for the event. Otherwise dim sum high-tea at Min Jiang, Goodwood also yum yum

calamari: i just called up goodwood park... they said they dont cater buffet lunch anymore. not sure abt the nonya buffet leh. for pan pac i have asked also, the operator told me only jan/chinese restaurant, i hear liao also blur...

Cheesycake: A lady called Sandy emailed me about Min Jiang and Coffee Lounge at Goodwood Park. She can me reached at 6730 1756 (DID). Maybe you want to try her?

Cheesycake: Did you call for Catering Sales dept? Think they are better to advise you perhaps instead of talking to the front desk.

Cheesycake: She emailed me just the choices for Min Jiang ($21.80 ++ pp) and Coffee Lounge ($32++ pp) and told me its buffet lunch.

Kea: Thks for letting me know abt the Sale.... sobz

Sputnik: Not sure if it's the same problem. I am having sleeping problems too. 2 cases:
1) The positioning of our little one is too high, causing difficulty to breathe ( aka like wat ur doc says). Prop some pillows behind u at an angle u find most comfortable, sleeping in a slightly sit up position. Or like Prawnie said, slp on ur side preferable left as to help digesting better. If u like, drink some warm milk, warm &amp; not cold pls. It works for me.

2) Eating too late/too much fried food/having my ice-cream before I slp, hence causing the heartburn &amp; discomfort. Try to burp. (Get my HB to help or u may hv some ginger tea-wks really well for me!) Once, so bad tat I thot I am suffocated or having asthma. So I made myself throw up the excess food 2 clear the windpipe. Was fine after tat.

Hope the above helps. Trying taking deep breathes and exhale longer breaths to help u relax.
* hugs*

Check with u all who have started anetenal class. Can u check with mrs wong how to stop breastfeeding naturally without taking medication from gynae/gp. I have just started my class in kl last sat and the 1st topic was on bf.

Another thing to check with u all: Do u have very itchy abodomen on and off. I have been scatching myself consciously and sub consciously and realised got rashes or circle like rash. HB says maybe it is fungus. I wanna to faint when i hear that. I only apply stretch mark cream after shower on the abdomen and felt better. Other than that i dun dare to apply anyhing else such as tea tree oil etc. Is there any other cream we can use safely. Can help me check with mrs wong also.

Ice-cream party this Friday!! All are welcome to join!
Venue: Prima restaurant, Centrepoint (dinner)
time: 7pm

Confirmed Hot mamas:
1. Amy
2. StephanieLim
3. Steph(supperbunny),
4. Prawnie
5. Joelle

ok babes, cya then, so far only gotten Amy's email. Wld like to hv ur contact no. pls sms at 97465732. thx!

calamari
thanks for the rates, that list is v comprehensive

Min Jiang buffet lunch is affordable! I hear the dim sum is good too.

Kea/jenny: I hv problems fitting in my maternity bras too... so using extensions on them too. As for shoes, i already started buying 1 size bigger, sometimes they swell so I got insoles ready.

Prawnie: Gd morning! How's weekend? Shall meet u tml for Yoga at 10.30. It'z on 5th level, take the escalator &amp; turn left after u see Excel learning sch for kids (sthg like tat). Can change in washrm, juz need to wear either yoga attire or any attire for exercising. Juz wear slippers as we go bare-footed. U may wanna brg a small water bottle &amp; towel. Wat's provided there: mats, blanket &amp; bolster.

hi everyone!

Wow.. the thread is hot hot!! Can't keep up liao

Thanks for all the recommendations for holding bb's first month celebrations. Looks like quite a lot of hotels are doing it now? calamari - does their package include invite cards, cakes etc? or is it just the standard buffet? I know the one at marriot has some kind of deco right? Am still undecided on where i want to hold it - one hand, at home is quite easy for me but i think the crowd i will have, cannot fit into my place. But hotel is quite ex hor.

On the subject of the bbsafe mattress - i bought one at the mothers@works sale last year.. but u know, the dimension that i got (28 by 48 by 3) wah, the cot sheet cannot be found anywhere!! Most places are selling the 58 inches one. Sigh, giving me a headache lor. Has anyone seen it sold anywhere?

Cheesycake, Koori, calamari: Hahaha babes, HB &amp; I hv thot of names for our little boy too. Shall hv a few to stand by to hv the Geomancer to choose according to his birth timing. Gosh... not sure abt Chinese name as we need to find out wat's the middle character according to the ancestry records. Anyone knows online can find? My FIL is not sure &amp; Grand FIL already passed away.

hahaha oh yes! forgot myself... alamak.

Ice-cream party this Friday!! All are welcome to join!
Venue: Prima restaurant, Centrepoint (dinner)
time: 7pm

Confirmed Hot mamas:
1. Amy
2. StephanieLim
3. Steph(supperbunny),
4. Prawnie
5. Joelle
6. Chewy

Hi chewy

Same same.. my son's middle name also have to go according to ancesteral book one. Told my FIL to write back to China and he got it. Then we also plan to get geomancer to choose the name. Any thoughts on which geomancer to use?

calamari: thks for the buffet contact!

Tsukushi/Joelle: C u at TMC prenatal class!

Jenny_hoo, muzicgal: Joining us for ice-cream this fri?

Steph: Gd to hear u got urs, we dun even hv contact in China anymore. We used You Long Zi for our wedding before, but find him too arrogant &amp; dismissive... be getting contact fr my ex-colleague, tatz one in international bldg, she's be using him for years. Once I get a list i be letting u gals know

Thanks chewy - about You Long Zi, a lot of my friends gave feedback that the names he gave like very common..i.e. a lot of babies that year have very similar combination. For last year, it seems to be the word "Xuan". Yes, i would like to have the contact.

aiyo, the writing to china was so difficult..cos didn't know where to start at first and PIL were quite insisted that we have it. Luckily one of the granduncles still write to them.

Chewy: for me current bra + extension is not enough .. the new bra which i bought the cup is just nice .. but the length i have to clip on the last clip .. so its a matter of time i would have to get extension for tat also .. pengz ...

Chewy: seems fun this friday leh !!! me confirm with u again on thursday ... still keeping fingers cross tat our shift work won't start till after CNY!!!

Hi MTB's,

I just want to ask if it is normal to pay professional fee deposit? My gynae is asking me to pay SGD1,000 on my next visit (I'm around 27 weeks by then) I just find it weird coz normally only hospital asked for deposits right?

Hope you can share your experience.

Hi Simp

From what I know, the common cause of itching is due to your skin on belly stetching out. Moisturise more frequently and liberally, avoid too-hot showers/baths (dries out the skin).

The other cause of itching could be PUPPP. This is itching with hives and red bumps. You'll need your gynae to prescribe you a treatment for this. You mentioned you have rashes so may be good to consult the doc.

Read more abt PUPPP here http://www.babycenter.com/0_itchy-skin-during-pregnancy_9450.bc

Sorry, can't help much!

StephanieLim : no problem.. ask another time lor

Chewy: will let you know if i can make it for the outing.

Hi Rose
I paid $900 deposit at my 22nd week. i think it's the norm for gynaes to ask for a deposit. it marks the start of the contract that he will be your gynae from then till delivery, at his stated rates (usually a package deal that covers stuff like all consult fee, delivery fee, etc from date of signing till delivery). The details will differ from doc to doc.

For those delivering in gleneagles, i checked with the nurses at my clinic, she say at 8mth will give me a letter to register at hospital for admission.