(2008/04) April 2008

Burby_Babe: okie .. think will have to call and check with them again .... thanks ya ..

Btw: If Dr Tham promoted .. than our consultation fees will be higher ya?

Hi everyone..

Have been missing from the forum cos have been crazy at work. Just did a scan and it is confirmed that baby is a boy.

Sorry, i can't make it for the outing as i have something esle on that day.. perhaps another time?

jenny: yah lorh. when i went for appt on sat, i paid for the senior consultant rate liaoz... my total bill came up to about $100 plus last sat coz dr tham wanted me to do some bacteria test for my discharge.

Joelle: Yes the Pigeon Steriliser is a 3-in-1 with food warmer and bottle warmer

Btw, I went for my check-up today and my baby did not open his/her legs! Hahahaha! Doctor said baby is 'hiding'! But doc said usually if the legs are closed, he will tell his patients its a girl.
He asked me to wait for 3 more weeks till detailed test to confirm the gender, hhehe.

calamari,
Tempted to buy the stuff too. I wonder whether there's going to be a 20+20% discount at year-end, or whether to wait for the Taka bb fair in Mar. My bro advised us to wait until Mar then buy everything.

Guess your bb is shy. :p My detailed scan will be with Dr Chang again. Is yours at the Fetal Assessment Unit upstairs?

I kept feeling something swimming in my tummy over the weekends, but today everything is back to normal. bb is having monday blues like mommy..haha

tsukushi: yup can ask your hubby to buy the stuff at Taka fair in March cos I heard the fair can be really crowded for us clumsy ones (by that time) to go hehe..

By the way, is Dr TC Chang a lady or a man? My Oscar test was signed off by Dr TC Chang but always thought this doc is a man, but the person who scanned me then was a lady.

My detailed scan is on 26 Nov at 3pm at the FAU as well, but dunno with which doc leh...

Yah, I have been feeling the kicks since last Wed, hehe...but very short moments only and it felt like soft knocks.
Looking forward to more!

Oh today I saw this lady about to give birth. She was with her husband at the A&E. She looks very much in pain, so scary!!!

calamari,
That's one of my worries too, cos hard to squeeze with the crowd by that time. Unless, take leave and shop during office hrs! hehe

Dr Chang is a guy. His room is next to the cashier right at the corner of the whole clnic. Did they explain the scan to you for the Oscars?

I think different people have different threshold for pain. I have seen my colleague still walking slowly around office, chit-chatting and packing her stuff, when her water bag has already burst. Don't worry so much!

Tsukushi: The lady doc who did my Oscars for me did explain the scan to me. Now I am counting down to 26 Nov for detailed test, hope baby is fine
When is your next appointment and detailed test?

<font color="0000ff">morning...
yup wait for sales then buy is better....... for the past few year i went to taka fair some of the stuff is really a bargain...... but mar might be too late for some of us... for some of the 1-3month bb toys or stuff can also wait till july - i think - motherhood fair... there are some bargain too...</font>

Hi Ladies: good morning ...

Burby_Babe: how come need to do test on discharge ar? Wah meaning next monday go c him needs to pay senior consultation fees liao .. hahah me later check with my colleague ... have u signed up the package yet? Me still thinking if wanna sign the package anot .. btw me called KKH regards to the class next sat ... the lady say had just sent out the course details etc to us .. keep a look out for it ...

congrats steph on your little prince!

calamari, tsukushi

of coz if looking for good bargain, some of the items are worth waiting for. but by that time our tummy will be quite big & will be tiring to move ard too. alternatively can shop on weekdays when its not so crowded.

i agree with tsukushi. everyone hv different threshold of pain so dont worry too much. even after the water bag burst, u can still do everything as per normal. the most impt is to hv a nice shower before heading to hospital kekeke...

morning jenny, thanks...

oh coz i had a very bad stomachache/cramp last wed nite. Went to the KKH 24 hr clinic on Thurs. So when Dr Tham saw me on sat, he also examined my V area and saw some white discharge, so he say better do a test on the discharge lorh.

Have not signed up the package yet. One of my friend, also with KKH, was advised by her gynae not to sign up. say not worth it. The price of the package is $650 for 10 consultations. and usually we will not be able to utilise fully the 10 consultations. Usually by the 7th or the 8th, its time for us to pop liao. very little pple will get to utilise till the 10th appt. So still thinking if we want to sign up for the package leh. but then i m thinking if i m not taking the package, hw to let them know whether i want the premier or the classic package for delivery. hmm....

Jenny hoo

i tink the discharge test is to test for Strip B Yeast infection.. i oso do it before...by rite shld all shld do the test in 34wks.....some maybe need to do more than once ...as for me, is becoz i have infection..so doc test for me then 34wks ltr test again...

calamari, are u going TMC for detailed scan? I'm going on the 26th as well.

Yesterday dr confirmed i'm carrying a baby girl. Was so excited that i spent the whole night online surfing for bb's stuff. Anyone interested in buying Dr Brown's bottles? THey are much cheaper online than frm local stores.

Sherin: Yes, I am going on the 26th at TMC at 3pm
what time is your appointment? So envious you manage to know your gender!
Mine still unconfirmed, so my baby is keeping me in suspense still, but I have called her by her name since yesterday as I believe its a girl if the legs are closed hehe.

Yes, I am thinking of using the Dr Brown's bottles too. They are the B-Free bottles right?

calamari: im going detail scan at TMC on 12 nov. excided to know gender. but deep in my heart, i think its a galgal for me
my bb leg position not good so cant see~

I guess they are. I know of ppl who use Dr Brown's and they dont even need to burp, really no colic and they swear by the bottles. If u want i can count u in when i buy. I'm getting from wal-mart, approx half price.
My gynae's nurse will call me to confirm timing but i've requested for early morning. 3pm, the carpark will be damn packed and have to wait longer. But she says no promise that she can give me morning.
Two weeks ago, he already told me most likely girl, yesterday just confirmed. Last night ordered some clothes frm oldnavy and baby gap.

cheesycake: yah me too feel its most likely girl since leg closed haha.. good luck for your detailed scan
let us know whether its really a ger ger

sherin: usually when we go TMC, my hubby will valet, so no carpark problem hehe. Ok count me in for Dr Brown's bottles! Thanks. How many bottles is enuff?

calamari, i think in e afternoons it's difficult to even get into the carpark. Usually valet park also. Not much choice there.
I'm getting 2 sets of bottles. Can keep mah. Each set consists of 3 tall ones and 2 shorter ones. If i'm not wrong, it's USD$17.95 before shipping. Furthermore,now US Currency has dropped. With Shipping prob abt S$38 for 5 bottles. Paragon's First few years is selling Two tall bottles with one short one for S$50.25. Single tall ones for abt $17.00

calamari: keke i just hope bb guai let me see gender. nvm gal/boy... so that i can start buying things more effectively... btw, whats Dr Brown's bottles? izzit ex?

Just on the topic of b-free bottles, pigeon also has a b-free series. So far i have seen it only at Bugis. It is quite expensive, pricing similar to the Dr Brown bottles. They also have glass bottles if you are interested.

Is Dr Brown bottles so good? hehe, Burp free means don have to burp the bb after feed?
Btw, how abt the teat? use dr Brown also?

Dr Brown has one of the best anti-colic bottles in the market. Yup, no need to burp baby after feed, no wind in the stomach ma. REduces any chance of vomitting also. They have some tubes thingy in the bottle to regulate the milk flow. I heard pigeon's not too good still got quite a big of wind.
If i'm not wrong b-free is the material of the bottle, not so much of anti-colic. Teats, you can choose to use Dr-brown's but of coz more costly or you can just buy from outside.
You may do a google and see the comments on the bottle by mummies all over e world.
Those interested can let me know since i'm ordering.

B-free means Bisphenol-A -free. Bisphenol-A is a hormone-disrupting chemical considered to be potentially harmful to human health and the environment. It has been known that scratched and worn polycarbonate feeding bottles will leach this chemical into liquids.

Dr Brown's bottles are b-free.

Sherin: your price is very cheap. I saw the BornFree B-free bottles at Baby Hypermart, (yellow-coloured ones), selling for $65 for 4 bottles. Let me know when you ordering. Thanks.

Sherin - let me know when u are ordering? When shld we confirm our order with u? Means we will tell u we need how many sets right since each set is 3big & 2small bottles?

Maybe getting the drying rack also. haha. cant stop shopping.
Most prob ordering end of this month.
They have the fat ones like advent tyoe and those normal ones. Which one u prefer? I'll be getting the normal ones, looks easier for baby to hold in future.

Burby_Babe: oic .. me check out on monday when i meet up with dr tham .. u going for the premier delivery package or wat ar?

Kea: Oic ... thanks for the info ..

Calamari, yup, easier to wash. Oh i'll also check and let u guys know if the bottles come with the brush for washing the tiny tube.

sherin, calamari

if u gals are buying the dr brown's bottles, make sure it fits the brand of steriliser u are using. & also check if its easy to get teats,as later on, older babies need different teats for different milk flow.
just my 2cents worth opinion

Jamie - good remarks to note! Must check out.

Sherin - please wait for my confirmation, will confirm with u before mth end.

jamie : i just read at one of the breastfeeding thread that KKH advise mothers not to use hot water to warm the milk.. cos' it will "destroy" the goodness in milk. You heard of that ? can anyone confirm this?

jamie: yup, can fit into the Pigeon steriliser I bought...have checked with the salesgirl before I bought the steriliser

hey its so interesting, now really starting to buy stuff for bb liao. Thanks to all for sharing all the information, its so useful to all the MTB, esp for first time MTBs.

Sherin: I want 2 sets of the normal ones. Let me know how you want payment to be transferred to you when you want to order. Thanks!

Jenny: I shld be taking the premier. Would prefer Dr Tham to be with me throughout the delivery and not with other doctors whom I m not familiar with.

Now thinking if I want to consider taking a 1 bedder or a 4 bedder. KKH no 2 bedder. sigh...

Jgal, Yah lorh. I wld want my hubbs to be with me.. me will be scared at nite if i stay alone in hospital. hehe.. then more privacy too...

Calamari - i saw in Robinsons & OG those convertible type, can convert into toddler bed or study table. Cost abt $250 to $300, comes in wood color, seems quite hardy.

BabyDust, Robinson have meh? I went robinson, the convertible cots are like $950 le. I saw one white convertible cot at mothercare, centrepoint, original $360. now got 20% discount. But hubby say too early to get cot coz the box is sure to be giantic. no storage space. Leave the huge box in the room, my dogs sure to attack it.

I moving house in Feb 08. So will get them after I move. I don't recall seeing so cheap ones at Robinsons also. All very ex leh.

I also tik cot takes up alot of space esp if we buy so early.
Wah my house no space, must housekeep my storeroom to make room for more items.

Hi Calamari,

I got one at the Kaki Bukit place.. convertitable type that can be changed into a toddler bed. Around $300 i think.

yo ladies
been quite sometimes since i last log on
how r all of u ?? this thread is running super fast.. cant catch up..hehe..Wow so many mummies got to noe their baby gender le.. ,

Things had not been fine fer me.. lately juz had a fall at my workplace, happens on last fri.. the chair gave way, but so far no crampings or spotting.. thus hope cm going fer gynae follow-up, bb will be fine..