(2008/04) April 2008

tratties: hehe, you are like me, hope for a boy and hubby wants a girl. Yah, as long as baby is healthy, we are very grateful already
If I am not mistaken, detailed scanning not as expensive as Oscar. Its about $100 or so. Yah, I also very sian, 27 days more to go before my next gynae visit. Another thing I am like you is I have been smoking for years too...the day I discovered I am pregnant, I threw away all my cigarettes and in fact am repulsive to smoke now. So must be strong

calamari: same here... im hoping for a boy and DH girl/boy he ok... so think bb healthy and cute im ok with either gender
everyone have to go for detailed scan ya? wat izzit for? to check bb heart, toes, fingers and features development?

tratties & calamari

sama sama, i also hope for a boy as i already hv a gal. keke .... but hubby hopes for another gal though, even think of the name liao!!
my hubby & myself also a smoker before i conceive my #1, for the sake of our bb, we quit! so u gals jia you!!

Cheesy: I think its to check that internal organs are formed properly. I have a friend's friend, very poor thing. At detailed scan, they discovered baby does not have a crucial organ, so have to abort.

jamie: Yup! The wonders of maternal instinct! Can't believe I can just not smoke after discovering I am pregnant. But my husband very poor thing, still trying hard to quit. He does not smoke in front of me though, but he will feel bad. I hope after giving birth, I will not go back to smoking again!

calamari: me also stopped already but the urge to steal a few puffs always comes back on weekends especially when meetup with friends as our friends are all smokers.. so i must really be strong and give it all up.. btw, how old are u?

Cheesycake: think most of us, april mtbs are still quite early to do detailed scan as u/stnad that we can only do it during 18-20th week of our pregnancy..

cheesycake

i hv my detailed scan in my 5th mth for my #1. yes, its to check our bb overall development, & the most accurate to know bb gender. mine shd be schedule for next mth i tik.

come to think of it, the bb is really expensive so far i hv clock $1.3k + $1.6k (package)+ $2k (CL)+ $1k (CL food)+ hospital bills $3+k (delivery)..$10k. not including the bb suff we going to buy.. my god. the bb bonus gov give $3k? is barely enough.

aiyo.. i think flu bug back to visit me again.. been having runny nose since this morning.. was down for 3 days last week due to flu & fever..

tratties

i can understand as my friends are all smokers too. but they will not smoke infront of me since i'm preggie, some hv infact also trying to quit! so u must not give up.

tratties: yah my friends also all smokers, but so far they very considerate. They will hide one corner to smoke. Hehe. Because I will scold them.

calamari: me turning 26 nxt month.. hahahaha.. not to young and not to old to be mtb la.. hahahaha.. my hubby also trying hard not to smoke in front of me nowadays and i told him that i'm going to fine him $12 for every stick he smokes in front of me... hahahahhaa..

serene

how do we apply for the gov bb bonus? or they will jus give us??

btw, do u all keep the consultantion receipts etc?? coz actualli can apply for medisave oso..jus pass all the recepits during the day when u discharge aft delivery...

serene: yah I counted too... terrible right? So expensive! Govt should give us $10k. Plus my company so 'kiam siap', cannot claim. My previous company (bank) can claim, this one cannot.

serene

i agree, its really expensive. the day starts when our gynae visits begin, all the way till they are born & up to education. not to mention the jabs for newborn are not cheap either.

frankly, my own friends are more considerate then hb's friends as they will stand quite a distance away from me but hb's friends just smoke as and when they like.. sometimes i'm so disgusted

Cheesycake : The receipts are for medisave claim under maternity pkg. We can claim up to $1350+450 (for normal delivery). We will be getting baby bonus for 1st timers ($3000) in cash. For 2nd child onwards, parents will get cda top-ups.

So in the hospital we will need to 1) register our child 2) pay/claim the maternity pkg under medisave 3) claim baby bonus.

BTW , if you are giving birth at MT A and using the 0% int installment plan, there is no change to the way to claim.
You get the full medisave claim even if you are still paying the bill in installment.

cheesycake

we hv the same EDD so our detail scan shd be ard the same time. think the scan is ard $100+ to $200 the most. forgot liao keke.. will check on my next gynae visit next week.

Jgal: receipts are the consultation and scanning we paid in clinic ya? tat means, we can claim from medisave together with hospital charges not exceeding $1350+$450?

morning gals,

woah the thread have been moving so fast. I am on MC today. was down with flu and fever... my boss see my nose running non-stop in office yest and ordered me to stay away. haha...

Jgal, my EDD has been shifted to 13 April. Thanks for updating. = )

jamie: oic... btw, u into 15wks liao same as me. r u excided to know ur bb gender? i am~ am hoping to know in 2wks time. when is ur next appt? mine 22 oct, by then 17wks liao keke~

calamari

for me i gave birth to my #1 2 days earlier but after full term.

burpy babe

i also just recovered fr flu & sorethroat. take care & rest well ya

cheesycake

yup, i'm into 15 wks liao. very excited to know bb gender, was hoping to see it thru u/scan on my next gynae visit which is on 15 oct, but it depends on bb position leh.

frankly, my own friends are more considerate then hb's friends as they will stand quite a distance away from me but hb's friends just smoke as and when they like.. sometimes i'm so disgusted

hi Jgal: is the above message for me instead of burpy? hehe thanks... me delivering at MTA so in this case my DH no need to run abt can company me... i haven think of names for baby yet. u have?

Cheesycake.. sorry.. :p i blur liao :p yeah .. it's for you

Yeah.. i got baby gal's chinese & english name all thought out liao.
heehee

aren't u all going to consult a fengshui master in regards of the bb's name?

me & my hubby is thinking of doing tat .. as well as choosing a date for c-section ...

jamie.. dr say most probably.
my hubby like gal lah .. ask him to think of english name.. he only come out with gal ones :p

jenny : maybe not consulting a fs master cos' somethings are destined.
my gynea gave me a price-list c-section on at a given timing has to pay extra .. ha ahha :p
One of my Taiwanese friend given me a auspicious timing for 2nd Apr. ha ha ha .. not sure if i want to stick to it.. suppose to be give alot of wealth to the family. :p

jamie: me 80% going for c-section .. dun like to keep in suspense when bb due .. hahaha

Jgal: wah 2nd Apr .. too early .. bb not due yet ... heheh

kea- hee hee just submit my medical bills 2 weeks back to HR to process. so waiting for my reimbursement.. next month onwards cannot claim anymore cos change coy. so is out of pocket.

v informative thread today. at least we know what cost we hv to bear.

for fs.. what i know is hv to take parents DOB and name into considersation. all not the same. but what i heard is Year of Rat is good to give birth at night.. cos mouse most active.

hello mtbs...thred moving so fast this morning.

Just got back fm my gynea check up. my wounds recovered pretty well, only left a few small marks. Gynea didn't really scan much of my fetus, today's check up more for myself.

BTW anyone did blood test for bb? Is this considered oscar test? I'll be doing it in 2 weeks time.

i hv chose names for my bb gal .. yi ting or yi xuan. than from here we ask fs to chose the stoke or the extact word.. based on her DOB. don want those factory type of fs.. give u one list of names to chose.

for bb boy, maybe get my father to name cos my dh hv no idea.

cutiebb .. there's a routine blood test which i will be doing end of the mth and there is the triple test which is part of the "oscar" test. which one are you refering to.

serene.. i am considering to get my father-in-law to name the child cos' after all he's consider the "eldest" in the family.

BTW how do u gers choose names for bbs? any bks or website to recommend? hubby and myself can't think of smthing we really like for english name.

For mandarin name, we will leave it to my inlaw, since our cl2 are half pass six and to give them the honour to name their 1st grandchild in mandarin.

jgal, i also dunno leh...shd be oscar test i think since is a 1 off thing. my gynea dun using medical terms to talk to me, he normally just say blood test or measurements...keke very layman terms