(2008/03) March 2008

cjx & Melissa
I agree with cjx. Books are merely for referencing. Most if not all the books are written with Caucasian women in context. I'm still looking out for a book written for Asian women.

I'm reading this book on guidelines to multpile pregnancy and worried myself for a while when they said for mtbs carrying triplets need to put on 26kg... lol... When i talked to my gynae abt it, she said don't stress myself.

Guess it's good to read a few books to cross reference
. Since they are all like textbooks, can just choose chapters.

I find it more economical to borrow the books from NLB.
save $$

Has anyone felt any baby movement yet? I was told that by abt 13-14 wks, I shld be able to feel the baby move. And trust me, I've been focusing very hard.. but apart from the norm tummy growl, I cant feel anything.

linda,
LOL..that's really funny. Weird how these dreams are vivid.

cjx,
I'm not a very superstitious person usually. But the house renov/moving furniture around thingy is a no-no to me. I dunno if it's a coincidence or what but I do know someone who gave birth to a girl who after a few months was found to have eye cancer. And when she was carrying the baby, her husband did a big renov on the hse. I guess maybe I know them so I'm so affected by it.

liewb,
is this your first baby or 2nd baby? if 1st baby, you can only feel movement at around 17, 18 weeks. but experienced mommy might feel it early. i am just telling you now so that you don't have to wait in vain. once you have start feeling the movement, enjoy the hard kicks that baby will give once in a while.. hehehe.. it could hurt and make u jump! i haven't feel baby's movements yet but i am taking my time lor.

kais,
i agree with your gynae leh. don't stress yourself. the body is a very intelligent system. if it knows that your babies are not getting enough nutrients, it will send signals to make you eat more like increase appetite or introduce more cravings.. etc. trust your body better. the books are only a guide. if u borrow from library, make sure get the latest edition. i agree with u most books are for ang mohs only. if asian books, sure got last chapter about confinements and pantangs. hahaha. maybe we could start writing a book about that? first in singapore (and jb and some say batam). hahahahaha..

venus,
wah didn't know you had to take steroid to prevent premature birth. must be very stressful for you. my girl was induced just to prevent her from growing too big for natural delivery. i gave birth to her at 38 weeks and she's already 3.2kg. but i'm glad your boy boy is fine. what's most important is health.

they say 2nd preg den can feel movement early... i m oso trying to focus if i can feel, but too bad no leh... but if i put my hand below tummy den feel, i can feel some kind of movement on my tummy. so i duno is it the bb movement. haha

melissa..stress and worried cos umbilical cord is also round justin's neck that time..hopefully i dun suffer from early contractions this time ..

and with my past records,my hb dun let me carry any heavy stuff now..he thinks that in my 1st pregnancy, i carry a heavy notebook and going off to site that results in early contractions..

Girls,

suppose to be a good morning and friday for mi...but my hubby can call and quarrel wif mi... ever since i preggy , mi & hubby do have fights and they are really terrible... wonder if any of u experiencing the same as mi or u girls are lucky to meet patient man..my hubby is one short tempered guy... wonder why i love him in the first place...

eversince i preg, me n hb seldom quarrel liao, i think almost zero.. maybe he knw i kind of mood swing or emotional ever since i preg, so he oso nvr throw his temper easily ba.... btw my hb is also quite bad temper 1.... maybe he is too bz at wrk to quarrel with me

liewbb
Haha i dun think i wan feel bb tat early. Remember when i hv my #1 her kick is so obvious tat can even see the shape formed on my tummy. And wat.. she is a really kicker even after she's born.

Reading
I prefer to read magazines. Book bored me at times...

Sorry to intrude

Hi Venus77

I gave birth to my No.1 at 36 wks and 4 days.
Was given ventolin at week 33 for 1 week. My son weighed 2.66kg at birth (considered a big bb for a 36 weeker)

My gynae says I have a high chance of delivering my No.2 at the same time which I am afraid of cos it will be near CNY next yr.

So any advice from your gynae to prevent early delivery this time?

My gynae told me not to squat and carry my No.1 too much.

hi venus and ginger,

Did your gynae tell you what causes the delivery of the bb before the due date? Was it due to family history or mummy's health?

hi ginger

i changed gynae this time..haven't tell dr adrian abt my early contractions symptons yet..but i have a fren also similar symptons as me for 1st pregnancy..

she is due this oct and so far no early contractions yet...

thanks for the info on neurogain. anyway quite curious on the different timelines that we do our blood tests and nt scan. I'll be gg for my triple test and blood test at 16 weeks and NT scan at 20 weeks. is it dependent on the gynae? i suppose there is no correct or incorrect time to do it right?

??
preggie
NT scan can only be done from week 11 to week 14... tat is wat my gynae told me.. btw, i done my NT scan n oscar at week 12..i think ur gynae means detail scan at week 20

Is there a maternity bottom that I can wear thru out my whole pregnancy? I remember my frd told me she has this pants that can be adjusted on the waistline so that she can wear thru her trimesters. Has anyone bought it before? Can I buy it online?

Wanted to buy maternity wear but they seems to be too big for me now.

mel,
This will be my 1st. I guess it'll be another few weeks before I can feel movement. It's ok, it's just that if I can feel the movement, it would be so much more reassuring.

isabel,
My hb is the most short tempered person ever! But he's really patient with me coz he said I've got an even worst temper.

Sometimes we're too caught up with ourselves and men esp, they cant seems to place themselves in anyone's shoe except their own. Why not take some time to unwind.. go for a quiet dinner for 2 and a nice walk afterwards?

Sometimes I worry abt my bb's temper..with both myself and him so short tempered, bb is bound to be the same too.

Hi Jerejoy

I jus bought a denim skirt and a denim 3/4 pants which can adjust at the waistline. The lady at the shop told me can wear till end of yr preganancy period. I dun dare to buy it online cos i always prefer to try it on b4 buying >.<

Hi Bubble,

Me too but as I'm currently in States, I can't find a maternity wear suitable for me. They are too big and I'm quite petite. I'm only 1.5m tall. Hehe! So hv no choice but to resort to buying online. Yes, u are right. It's gd to try on b4 buying. Esp bottoms.

Hi Jerejoy

Oh so u staying there till u give birth? Ya their size there r quite huge. Mayb if u have friends who stayed in Sin, u can asked them to help u buy some then courier them over for you.

see a few new names... i haven't been v active on the forum - cos always watching tv when i'm home. at work, i'm like super-tied down and busy, i dun have time to come and chit chat on the forum.. haha.. do u gals get cube in the office that are strategically blocked, so u can happily write in forum / msn? actually i am, but no time.

today on leave, just want to take a break from work - everyday dunno what to wear to work. haha, cos most of the clothes are getting too tight.

i see a few large tops/baby dresses from bugis/neighbourhood malls, they are all quite nice.

babypink,
u feeling ok? i'd bad cramp the other night - so pain i had to take two panandols. i had cramps nightly around 4-5 wks, dunno why it came back that night. quite scary

backpain
i'm suffering from backpain from lying down. :|

yes, will only be back mid or end of nx yr. So hard to buy bottoms due to my height. 3/4 pants may seems look like a long pants on me. Haha!

ya, most maternity pants will have adjustable waistbands. but somehow i prefer the expandable/ elastic ones to those coz the adjustable strap at the waist always bunch up and makes me look at a fat penguin. haha..

niwa,
Unfortunately no..mine is a very open office and I'm seated right smack in the middle of it. This helps me relax and not get too work-up at work. Kinda helps me to remind myself that now I have to think of bb too. Good stress relief.

jerejoy,
Same prob for me and now that I cant wear my heels, I seems even shorter. I'm still wearing my norm stuff but now I'm only picking those loose ones to wear coz anything else is just uncomfortable.

liewb: after i hear ur story, i so scared... I juz finished bedroom renovation yesterday leh. I managed to stay away frm the room during the drilling/hammering. I tot it's sufficient le...
I hope my bb is healthy...

liewb,

Ya, hv to keep all my heels away now. Most of my shoes are high heels. Now hv to buy more flat sole shoes to wear.

Talking abt 'pantang', my mum forbides me to apply mask on my face. She says same theory as painting house.

I'm foolish enough to listen to her. Hv not been applying masks for weeks liao. Haha!

petrina,
I'm so sorry, didnt mean to scare anyone. Me and my big mouth.

jerejoy,
Some of my colls commented that I'm seems much shorter these days. My skin keeps breaking out these days..I've been really lazy with my skin care nowadays. It's like I'm so tired by the end of the day, I really dun feel like sitting there and slowing apply things on my face.

Just read about feeling baby movements.

Recently, when i lying on bed i keep feeling small movements in my stomach but i think it's impossible for me to feel baby's movement at this point? And it's very wavey.. somethings just keep turning inside..
Am going to ask my gynae about this tomorrow.

Abc
my girl also kicker!! hahah.. one side of my tummy have stretch marks and one side no. The side with marks is cause she keep kicking that side. Now hor.. horrible!!!

Maybe u can try using Centaphil for combination/oily skin type. I use it and find it better than the one for the dry skin. It doesn't leave a slippery feeling on yr skin. Cleanse pretty well. Sometimes, it might be due to hormone changes. Don't be sad, it will get better.

for pantang hor.
Yesterday i just did mask at home hehehe..
Just let nature takes it course. Even if ur child has birth mark on face or something, s/he is still ur child. unavoidable.
I did move my furniture when i was with #1. FIL still renovate the toilet but my #1 was perfectly alright!

Eh btw the mask i do not those apply cream over it. My mom massage my face and just put something over it. i dunno what is that but not those green color cement like thingy. hehehe.. Hope u guys understand!

Hi cjx

My gynae said I didn't rest enough and was too active (all the daily squatting, drinking of raspberry tea, household chores and etc) to prompt the early delivery.

Therefore, I need to take good care of myself now.
No squatting - difficult cos i always squat to pick my son up.
No carrying - also difficult cos he's only 9 months and demand my attention quite a bit.

Hi Venus

I think it's too early to tell yr gynae now.
So your friend is quite lucky.

ginger...i c..

quite difficult for u not to carry ur son as he is still young..mine is 22mths and wants me play with him..

hence i hope i am lucky too..

ginger,
wow your 1st bb is only 9 months? so fast ley. mine is 11 months and still i think it's too early for me to get pregnant again. yeah 9 months still very demanding of your time ley. did u feel guilty when u got pregnant again? i know i did.

venus,
are you hoping that your next is a girl or another boi boi?

squatting,
my gynae told me to do plenty of this nearing my induction dates. i think it helps indeed. when i check into the hospital, i was already 3cm dilated.

facial skin change,
i switched products instead of using masks. i used the Face Shop cleanser for combination skin and it seems to be a match made in heaven lor. i really like it, works very well for my skin. no break out, my skin is glowing hehehe. my fingernails grow very fast too. err boy signs? i hope so! kekekee..

When i was preggy my girl 9 mths.. now she 10 mths.. i know how u all feel!!! Esp if now we preggy they get more sticky to mommies and only want mommies. They say cause baby can sense it!
She always only want me to play or sayang her.. Carry her also.. Very tough on me..

<font color="0000ff">jerejoy</font>

thanks for asking

I asked my doc, but he cannot explain explain why...but he said not normal...sigh*

<font color="0000ff">MIA yesterday</font>

hubby celebrated my bday in advance ..he prepared lunch (of cos he cannot cook, but dabao my fav stuff fr suntec) looks quite appetizing to a vomitty human

then we see gynae and 'sad' to said cannot see the big P..hehe

then went to harbourfront cos SGH so near there and I need to get something from Abbott main office, and I saw this atrium sale with some dresses for preggies , not too bad at very low price

finally end up at orchard cos went to listen to a talk , in exchange has a Ritz Carton Stay ;) and was looking for princessy party frock for a princess theme paty for my 1st gal

Btw, there is this Jap place that is pretty good at Far East Plaza level 5 #05-70 ( Wasabi Tei ) i think cosy, nice food..a lot of people order sashimi..but i dun have the appetite for it..so i ordered the cooked stuff which are nice too

the going back home from Orchard is the worst

i think yesterday was a mean feat :
bukit batok => Outram (SGH) => harbourfront => somerset=>orchard=> bukit batok

PS: where to ge nice pretty party dresses for 1 year old..sigh* cannot find anything in OG & taka

talking about masks, I went facial yesterday. Got put on mask.
too lazy to take care of my face nowadays....everyday so tired. anyway, the beautician says got to take care of face also if not after pregnancy will look older! This one really scares me! The beautician is 37 weeks pregnant and her face got quite a few breakouts and she is expecting a girl.

Melissa,
People says when expecting boys usually skin will look better.

babydude, pasta & mashed potato from kenny roger =p not bad leh, can still tahan..at least din puke out

ginger & venues
me also delivered too early last year, hope to prevent that..if noe the tips, do share with me

Hmmm... babypink, I think it was Niwa who asked abt u. Sorry, din really follow the thread and don't know wht is wrong with u... Hopefully it is nothing serious and u are feeling better now.

Happy Birthday to u! So nice of yr hubby to prepare lunch for u. Hope u will hv wonderful time.

<font color="0000ff">strawberry</font>

hehe, today is the day but celebrated yesterday cos hubby predicted i prob will have no appetite today after all the travelling..to share some pics

958114.jpg

958115.jpg

and yesterday's travelling made me very unwell today..sigh*

The best part of yesterday is

958116.jpg

hi ginger,

Where do you buy the raspberry tea from? heard that drinking the tea in the last trimester can help in smooth delivery?