(2008/03) March 2008

hey girls,

i'm looking for books on pregnancy.. to educate myself on wat's happening to my body and my emotions and etc..basically a book about pregnancy..

Anybody is reading any book? can recommend to mi pls pls???

i didn do blood test at tmc leh.. but last visit to gynae.. he did draw a tube of my blood lol.. but i duno test wat de..hahaha

the doctor at first ask us to wait.. c if the result can deliver to my gynae by tue.. if not.. we will need to wait for the result n bring back ourself... then later she say they can deliver to him wo... so tell us to go back lol

result immedinately will know de ah??? i only c her took many many scan.. many measurement... but nvr say anythin abt result wo...

cladi,
alamak nt scan u can know the results immediately mah. doesn't matter who does it. at least must ask. but i think u can call your gynae's office tomorrow. i knew my result immediately. my test was taken at Gleneagles and the report they prepared in 15 minutes, so my gynae knew it by 15 mins too. super fast. NT scan test pass so though i have to draw blood on the same day, i don't care what the blood result is.

Isabel,
I am reading What To Expect When Expecting. heard many good reviews of this book so i got a second hand one from Amazon. its' still in great conditions and the seller even send me a letter to congratulate me on my pregnancy. so cute. then again, there's no info u can't get from the Net but a book gives out more and detail info.

aly,
why u so fast feel so big already? i am still not showing leh hehehe. i am 13 weeks already and this is my 2nd.

venus,
my bellybutton didn't pop out. it simply flatten out. i think pop out more embarassing leh. can show through your top hehee. maybe this time sama sama. btw, what's your notti boy's birth weight?

does ur gynae locate in Gleneagles oso??? i doubt they can deliver the report to my gynae by tml wo... if can.. they wont ask us to wait.. so tat she can check to c whether can the report reach my gynae by tue bo... my gynae is at sengkang ...

cladi, how long was your nt scan? i am going this sat.

realised we r under the same gynae. hehe...the blood test you took in your last visit is to probably to check the haemogloobin level or something like that , cos certain stuff in my blood count is low and I am suspected of being a thalassemia carrier. I did this screening when I was 10 years old. Ai yah...report also dunno throw where already. So today go back see gynae draw more blood for testing. blood test is ok if the clinic assistant didnt call u lor.

melissa, bloated tummy.

before pregnancy, waist length is alrdy 27-28inches. now 31-32 inches!!
but i lost 3kg (47kg to 44kg)within week 5 to week 14.. so weird. o_O
can't imagine wad happen. how come weight reduce but waistline increase?

the scan take abt 20 min ba.. u will get to c the baby for as long as 15 min lol... plus waiting time.. abt 30min lol... rmb not to go piss b4 the scan... the nurse told me not to...

the assistant nvr call me leh.. so i m safe la..hehe

cladi
hmm...we can take the scan result back ourselves and show it to the gynae issit?
u probably only have to wait for the clinic to tell u the NT scan result since the person who scanned didnt say anything.
my next gyane appt is 3 weeks later leh... i think i will be more kaypoh and try to probe. Haha....
The scan can hear the heartbeat? Dr Adrian scan machine always only see the heart blinking nia.

cladi

me went for the oscar test today too! i went for both the nt test and blood test.. i asked about the results but the lady doing the scan for me didn't want to commit an answer, but juz says the results look normal but it must be taken into consideration together with 2 other factors - age and blood test results.. So at the moment, it's not conclusive yet. My results will be sent to the clinic.

The nt test very interesting, it need the bb to be in a certain posture then can take some specific measurements.. so if bb not cooperative, can take very long. According to the lady, there's one of her colleagues who took 5 hours juz to take the measurements! For me, i needed 2 trys.. During the 1st trial, bb was back facing us, can see the spinal chord hehe...

During the 2nd trial, initially bb doing a headstand...then after much prodding from the lady, it finally shifted to where it's supp to be...very interesting! Coz can see baby moving, doing a wave, can see the little fingers (i was desperately trying to count how many fingers, but too bad the resolution not very good)

i'm going to see my gynae next week...hope to hear good news!

cladi,
my gynae is based in gleneagles too. but didn't do at hers b'cos her clinic is upgrading to 3D scan machine! so she's still learning how to use the machine.

cheryl,
the gleneagles scan was very good. previously i did it in TMC so they make me drink so many cups of water until my bladder going to burst liao but in glenE, i don't have to drink, in fact i had to do my #2 and went to the loo without drinking. and i scan on empty stomach, still can see the bb very clearly and can even hear the heartbeat. the scan in glenE cost me $117.

twinklestars,
actually they're right to remain silent about the result b'cos only your gynae will be the best person to interpret the result to you. for me, i ask a lot of questions b'cos experienced oredi mah and the sonographer realised she cannot dupe me haha so she tell me everything that she sees. so cool.

for those who went for NT scan, you guys don't remember the baby's heartbeat rate? there's a myth saying that a certain range could mean a girl and a boy. it really depends.

hi gals, finally got myself settle dwn n manage to post some posting in this forum.. hehe

Melissa, hehe in here eng eng mah.. so can post more.. haha in sgp yalor lots of meetups n ned to go gaigai grab some local fairs.. so hardly online.. =Pp hope u r doing well =))

kevjul, wowowow sorry for delaying.. CONGRATULATIONS ON YR TWINS.. hheehe ya Kais are so *lucky* to have triples.. i wanted so much even to have jus twins leh.. u both so good.. tk good care ok.. =))

babypink, haahaa but hor my *bolang* spell wrgly leh haha lucky u still can catch the ball haahaahaa.. yalor jus wait for the hair to grow lor.. haha

hope u gals r doing fine!! =))

rgds, eniale
http://www.japanlove.multiply.com

i oso wan twins but i dowan take all the injections. i think twins r very precious. first hard to get, second mummy go thru alot of pain and effort.

hi, please help me if you got a copy of young parent sep isuue. Could you pls kindly use the coupon attached in young parent Septemeber issue page 77 and vote my girl No 6 KYLLIS GOH. Thank you

Today is friday, mummies!

Last night i mouth itchy. Ate some spicy food, after that gastric pain again and now still pain. So uncomfortable.

mummyboy,
oh no don't take spicy food especially at night. it's a lot harder to digest. you can only take soupy or bland food and fruit at night. i already learnt my lesson liao. have u tried taking any antacid. dont worry usually gastric pain will go away in the morning. it's usually worst at night. think u better start to restrict your diet already. it might get worse when your tummy is bigger. haiz really feel sorry for you man. i hate gastric pain.

cheryl,
i think may TMC has upgraded their machine too. long gone are the days when we need to drink until our bladder is full so that we can see the uterus clearly. that's good progress isn't it.

eniale,
hey have you done your NT scan? i have ley and i probed the sonographer to do gender scan and we suspect boy boy. but i dowan to be 100% sure. your first is oso girl girl? how old is she already?

hi aly,

Me too! I have lost 3 kg in the last 3 months. Now everybody's asking what's happening to me as they can tell by my sharpening face yet tummy not very big. But I know will surely be putting on more weight in the next few months when ms gets better

babyDE,

I think there's no better place to do the NT scan as I think it's widely offered by the hospitals. Mine was offered by by gynae at KKH when I was in my 8th week so she can schedule me at the next appt (4 weeks later) when I'm at my 12th week. Have you done yours? It's really optional but gives a peace of mind lah...

Cheers for all the mummies here!

Melissa, i only eat 1 mouthful. i thought 1 mouth wouldn't cause any pain because so little only

What is antacid? Is it safe for pregnancy? Tomorrow i'm visiting my gynae, will tell her about my gastric pain.

will get worse when tummy gets bigger? i thought the gastric pain is more severe in first trimester. was hoping for it to get better.

mummyboy,

I found that eating honey neat, without diluting really helps in the gastric or tummy upset. Just put a spoonful in your mouth and swallow slowly.

Melissa,

when i went for the oscar test, TMC still told me to keep my bladder full...

my belly now 32 inch... shd have some fats also heheh .. from 25- 32 inch ...

i can feel the cramp on my leg at nite ... why so fast?

yest morning...i feel a pulling pain in my belly... very fast and twice... so i thot it is my bb moving... but when i ask ard ... reply is shd be the veins pulling ehheee

ladies...although u lose weight ,ur bb is growing so it accounts for the expanding waistline.

melissa..yup..my bellybutton sort of stretches to its limit...justin's birth weight is 2.77kg..deliver him on week 37th..the day i stop my med,ventolin

books..i am also reading on wat to expect series...I bot 3 books liao...

1)when u r expecting
2) bb's 1st yr
3) toddler yrs

mummyboy, it means eating the honey straight from the bottle... not diluting it. I took manuka and acacia honey coz they are sweeter and more pleasant

had a funny dream again last nite..dreamt that my family renovated the house and altered the place to something which I didn't like. I was hopping mad and upset at the same time..

the previous one was my MIL din like me anymore..and she was pampering another woman whom I've not met before, a total stranger. felt so upset also..

guess it's normal for pregnant women to get these wierd dreams but I get very affected by them

yes mummyboy, it worked for me. although i still get the funny taste in the mouth after eating it. but at least the tummypain is gone. I think honey works to line the stomach lining. can take both before and after food.

The normal ones from the supermarket should work as well. Give it a try lah. Hope you feel better after that

Thanks cjx. I will try tonight. Just hope that i can tahan until knock off time.

Sometimes i do have weird dreams too. I just know that it's weird but when i woke up, i can't remember the dream.

morn ladies!!
Finally it's Friday. I had a horrible day yesterday, so hoping that today's audit meeting will go smoothly and I'll be able to breathe a little better by 4pm. *sigh

isabel,
I'm also reading the "What to expect when you're expecting", finds it very informative. But it's one thick book though.

cjx,
Speaking of weird dreams, I had one last nite that I had really really hairy legs!!! Hahhahaa..it was pretty shocking to see myself with hairy knees... lol

mummyboy,
I had curry fish head the other nite and I was so sorry after that. Couldnt really sleep for the whole nite. I realised now I cant eat much at nite but I'm so used to eating big potions for dinner. I feel so bloated and uncomfortable after that. Told myself this morn that I'll make a conscious effort to just eat 1/2 potions for dinner..so I dun suffer later on in the nite..

Hi Melissa,

Read that you did the NT scan at GlenE. Which clinic did you do at? Needs referral from gynae? I'm very keen to go for NT scan since the accuracy is so much higher than the traditional triple test, plus it's tested earlier. But my gynae doesnt offer NT scan

I bought the manuka and acacia honey coz I also feed my 3 yo dd honey drink so I din want to scrimp on the quality of the honey. IMO, the texture should be better for the more "expensive" honey if you are eating it neat.

For me the dreams still appear quite vivid and I still feel the emotions after i wake up

BOOKS NOT TO READ!!!

DO NOT read these books bcos they don't teach the right things -
'On Becoming Babywise', 'What to Expect When you're expecting' and any sleep training books.

These was sent to me by a friend who works at La Leche League, an oganisation that promotes beastfeeding internationally.

liewb,

ha ha..That was real funny..

venus,
I work at Ubi area. Friday lah, no mood to work already

Linda,
sometimes duno whether to belive the old wives tales about not renovating/hacking the house while pregnant. One of my aunt was stamping the red "fu" (prosperity) word when she was pregnant and her daughter had this huge red birthmark on her thigh. And my MIL was sticking scotchtape for the lining in the drawer just a few days before I was due for my first child..end up I had to spend 18 hrs in the delivery suite coz my cevix refused to dilate.

hmm....

Cjx
i dream that my gynae retired and MC king is my new gynae!!!!!!!!!!!! Thats very ridiculous hahahaha..
I find it funny though...

kais,

I think whatever the books teach you can only serve as a form of reference..Even if it applies to one may not apply to another as not 2 pregnancies would be the same totally..

Adeline,

Oh my goodness!!! MC King your gynae!! That's a very ridiculous dream you have..ha ha..

Have you been watching the Channel 8 9pm show lately?

Morning girls,

thanks so much..going to hit the bookstores this weekend to see the books u have recommended..Got to start reading liao...

mummyboy,
i think those normal honey from supermarket is processed and added with lots of sugar. if you could get higher quality honey, it's murky and definitely higher in medicinal value.

raisintan,
it's actually in Gleneagles Annexe blk. X-Ray dept. I was referred by my gynae. Without referral, you have to call up yourself to make an appointment. I think they will still entertain you. How come your gynae don't offer NT scan? i thought it's a standard procedure? if he doesn't then ask for referral. most hospital does it.

kais,
alamak how come cannot read what to expect when expecting? i thought the information was relevent, since I am a 2nd time mother. i still refer to it whenever i need to. i got experience in breastfeeding to so i can validate it anytime. heehee.

the only thing the gynae and nurses could do was to insert medicine to induce labour. Lucky bb decided to come out after dat coz any longer I will have to go for C-section which I fear.

Hi Melissa,

My gynae only offers triple test (done in 2nd trimester). So, you did the NT scan in the x-ray dept. What about the blood test that comes with it - Parkway lab near lobby?

My gynae is using an advanced machine which is capable of measuring the neck's thickness but he doesnt like to use it. Reason is that he feels it's not accurate (based on neck thickness alone) and he doesnt want to worry his patients unncessarily.

week 37..took 1 jab of steriod every week on my bum to mature justin's lungs and take med,ventolin to reduce contractions..rest at home for 2 weeks,hospitalise for 4 days..

the day i stop med is my delivery day..