(2008/03) March 2008

Adeline, TMC's Fetal centre offers 3D/4D scan as well, I didn't check out the price. I remember that when Wong Li Lin was doing her reality show about her first pregnancy - she had that scan - but the baby doesn't look 'normal' at all... But the actual fact is her first born Sage is quite cute.

My personal opinion is it is not worth to make that 3d/4D scan.

cheryl, gd buy..

yesterday i bought a maternity pants alrdy $76 and a dress $59 from spring. still hesisting to buy more cos tummy not showing much. salesgirl ask who m i buying it for. But I know pants really cannot make it le.. cos alrdy unhooking now. Also bought bra extension. wonderful invention. no nid waste $$ buy new bras. my bras r getting too tight. Btw, I don thinking I am going to get nursing bras. juz nurse in privacy at home.. no nid bras.

when is the belly going to start ballooning? 20weeks?

<font color="aa00aa">cheryl,
quite worth the price.
do carrano selling bra extension? i thinking to get some. maybe also get one dress.

aly,
all my bottoms also cant zip up liao. waiting for my elastic bottoms reach me on next wk that i bought from online.</font>

anywhere oso got sell bra extension.. but duno carrano got sell anot...they really quite nice dress but my bust is too big for the dress... so if u all bust nt very big, can buy... their dress 20+ but their top sure can fit busty ppl... but it is nicer to wear with pant. but i din buy much becos i have to wear skirt on mon-thu, so abit hard.. maybe will ask my boss is can wear pant just for my pregnancy period.

aly. i went suntec too.. bought 1 top n short at cloud9 2 for 50...

den went to buy maternity bra at the perfect mum... all bra for 80+

babylush,
i get lots of heartburn attack even after following all those rules. So what helps is GELUSIL chewable tablets. I swear by it. Saves my life! Immediate relief. But I got a lot of gastric too. That one, reall gives me phobia. No cure.

petrina,
you don't feel pregnant b'cos your hubby took over mah. but since you're 10 weeks already, you have crossed over the danger zone. you're just ganjiong lor kekeke.

mummyboy,
yes yes i had that previously. i told my gynae about it and she was going to refer me to the gastric specialist but i say no lor. the whole pregnancy thing is already burning a hole in my pocket. so i just suffer the pain in silence lor.

niwa,
my gynae is going to offer 3D scan in future but the nurse said, the best picture to get is to do the scan after 30 weeks when baby has pile on more baby fat. else the picture is weird. but i think i will skip it b'cos after baby is born, the pictures kinda lose in novelty keke. besides it's very ex leh!

hey u all started maternity shopping ah?
I am still comfortable in my normal everyday workwear leh. think i'm smaller this time around.

yesterday i went for my NT Scan!
it took a while to take the measurement! first the baby was sleeping but was in the wrong position, so i was told to cough, which woke the baby up and he was playing active, doing summersault and sucking thumb and even turned upside down! lol. the sonographer was complaining this is going to be tough for her but i must say she's very efficient b'cos she managed to freeze frame some and got some measurements she required. i was so happy to know that his NT measurement is perfectly within normal range. in fact on average, his only like 0.8mm so very low risk of DS. think anything above 2.8mm is most risky. his heartbeat rate is 172bpm. his CRL is 5.9cm and my EDD becomes 12/3 but i will stick to 13/3. then i tortured her to scan his private area for me. it was quite tough b'cos she insist that it's too early to tell but i told her it's ok, i know chances are 50-50 and I won't quote her on that. so she scanned the private and said she saw something like chili api but she don't want to say. i told her it's ok, it could be the umbilical cord too. she agreed. at least i let her know that she's dealing with an experienced patient. wow so i think by now, i am suspected of having a BOY! woohooo! but cannot be too happy yet b'cos i could be wrong too haha. another GIRL i don't mind too! as long as HEALTHY! then i rush back to gynae's clinic and do blood test. the girl who took my blood was standing up as she does her work! i was expecting to be prodded countlessly but turns out she was super efficient! just one jab and it's all over in 5 minutes! wow salute her man!

this is my "suspected" hero. dunno how to scan a very black film. can you see "him" sucking his thumb? just like his elder sister.

949651.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">aly,
not from the links that u posted. is a taiwan online selling plus size clothings.
the prices are cheap so i decided to order from there instead of buying from local maternity shop.

melissa,
ur babe so cute leh....v active babe...heee...
i also will going to the oscar scan coz my hubby insist me to do it.</font>

mummyboy,
i'm sorry, i wish i have an answer for that but i don't. i tried everything but cannot find the cure so like i mentioned, i suffer in silence

yes we can drink yakult - got stamp of approval from gynae.

melissa - ur bb is so cute - suck thumb, quite an 'action-hero', so active! agree with you that 3D imagines lose novelty - esp if we have to wait until 30wk to get a good picture - then might as well wait another 10 wk to see the real thing!

I saw my bb yday - 10wk, doing some kicking and arms movements at the same time, we felt that the action is like he/she's doing breakdancing (imagination gone wild).

did anyone catch the runway mom on scv's travel & living yday? one of them deliver at home - dunno if i'm too conservative or wat - i tot it's so dangerous and obscene. Felt like it was my grandma's era that they deliver bb at home.

question for those second/third time moms -
my fren says that the ultrasound sound pics will fade, so it i want to save it as keepsake, i should scan it / photocopy it. Is that right? It doesn't feel like thermal paper - feels more like digital print.

niwa,
usually i scan all my ultrasound pictures and keep the originals in an envelope. i believe conversion to digital copies makes the best form of preservation. runway mom i only catch once. i am aware some ang moh choose to deliver at home, but like you i think it's dangerous. if they run into complication, there's no equipment or tools to aid them. so giving birth at home is totally out of question for me.

mummyboy,
yes yakult is good but a bit too sweet yeah. or alternatively can take yoghurt drink or vitagen less sugar. i have been taking yoghurt/yakult and so far so good. about those gastric problem, i had those during my 1st pregnancy, 2nd trimester onwards. my gynae gave me mylanta extra strength but after a while, it doesn't help anymore. so if it happens again, i dunno liao. guess i'll login to the forum and mope.. kekeke.

will yakult aids in burping? feel the whole stomach feel of wind but just cannot burp out.

i'm going for the next gynae visit next week. hope to see it dancing as well.

mummyboy i found this : http://www.yakult.com.au/faqs03.htm

Is Yakult suitable for pregnant and breast-feeding women?
Yes. Yakult is safe to drink during pregnancy. It contains one type of bacteria only - Lactobacillus casei Shirota strain, so there is no risk of listeriosis which is caused by the Listeria strain of bacteria. Constipation and indigestion (acid reflux) are common during pregnancy, and we have received a lot of positive feedback from people commenting on the relief that drinking Yakult has provided in maintaining a balanced intestinal microflora.

melissa the content in the link is cute.

Just wondering your first born's original scan are still vivid. too lazy to setup scanner to do scanning of those ultrasound scans unless really necessary.

yupz, <font color="0000ff">niwa</font>, it is 1 month earlier..as in baby comes out 1 month before due date..

tat is y my pal so worried for me

lucky bb dun have to stay inside icu !

<font color="0000ff">cheryl</font>

u r rite abt perfect mum bra..last year i bot 3 from them, panties too..without doing mkt research

cheaper at OG

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>

congrats !
ur hero looks very cute !

thanks for the link

<font color="0000ff">since i cannot rebond or colour, i just cut my hair short , think it was only in my sec days that I have such short hair!</font>

{hehe, to share my new hairdo, hope after wash it, it dun bec a big mess, cos i have natural curls inside}

Before
949958.jpg

After
949959.jpg

949960.jpg

babypink! y u do that to ur face!...............

anyway, i saw tis webby selling training chopsticks for children. http://cherrylemon.com.sg/promotion.aspx
those with young kids can consider buying them. Nowadays kids cannot hold chopsticks properly. haiz. My way of holding chopsticks not the traditional proper way. so next time oso dono how to teach my kid. dono when they r going to invent a "how to hold pencil correctly" kit.

melissa,
NT scan can see so many stuff, so excited, i will be doing mine next Sat. Think will ask to check private part area if possible too. Dunno whether can or not as I will only be in my 11th week at that time.

when u take the GELUSIL tablets, do u still have the pounding feeling? Whatever that I was prescribed only help to prevent the acid from going upwards. It didn't stop the aching. I cannot tahan the pain after more than 10 hrs and I took panadol to relieve the pain.

Cheryl,
ya...agree the carrano maternity clothes are cheap. I bought 2 pair of pants. I saw a tube top which is quite nice but didnt buy. First time buying maternity clothings and malu myself. Haha...came out of the fitting room and ask if the belly part suppose to be so loose. The salesgirl immediately show me the loop to tighten and adjust the belly part.

niwa,
yes all my firstborn scans are still very clear. no fading at all.

babylush,
11 weeks still a bit early. i've read of results in week 12, that's why i was quite confident of letting the technician try but just try your luck lah. anyway gelusil did not get rid of the pounding feeling. but once i took hot water, it works but when i tried again, it doesn't work. haizz.

babypink,
hehe nice hairstyle. you look like my sister. are you my sister? lol.

babylush, i did my NT scan at 13weeks 6days but still cannot detect if it is a female or male. They say must wait till week 16 or 20 den can confirm. But if it is a boy, like my fren's case, her gynae told her "70% a boy" at week 12. My hubby and I think mine will be a gal.

<font color="0000ff">aly</font>

well...i was drilled that i cannot expose my face in forums ;)

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>

haha, unless u wana a godsister

PS: u have the same hairdo or ur real sis have this hairdo ? ;)

anyway, i just wash it...when it dried in a few hrs ime and whether curl into dif direction. only then will i noe whether i have made a big mistake =p

aly,
my 2 pair of pants cost a total of ard $50. I bought mine at beauty world. The shop sells aunty aunty clothings, but most of their maternity clothings still passable. Wearing for 6-7 months. Saving $$ for baby stuff.

melissa and aly,
will try my luck in finding out the gender...hehe. 16 weeks ah....must wait again...

Melissa, why is it that.. my NT measurement is ard 0.658mm and doc put me on high risk?? or did i see the numbers wrongly?? hmm.. i remembered seeing 0.6+ whether is it mm or cm i dunno.. but again if it is cm wah.. it will be abt 0.5cm shld't be right.. anyway.. nevermind..hahaha.. as long as blood test overall say steady can liao..

so nice leh.. ur sonographer still so patient help u scan private parts.. i think my gynae like abit impatient liao..maybe got too much patients out there waiting for her...and my baby position is wrong.. hmm... sob sob

Melissa, why is it that.. my NT measurement is ard 0.658mm and doc put me on high risk?? or did i see the numbers wrongly?? hmm.. i remembered seeing 0.6+ whether is it mm or cm i dunno.. but again if it is cm wah.. it will be abt 0.5cm shld't be right.. anyway.. nevermind..hahaha.. as long as blood test overall say steady can liao..

so nice leh.. ur sonographer still so patient help u scan private parts.. i think my gynae like abit impatient liao..maybe got too much patients out there waiting for her...and my baby position is wrong.. hmm... sob sob

melissa, thanks for that info, i will take my time to scan those ultrasounds pics then.

where's carrano at amk hub, was there, but din see it.

i've been drinking yakult regularly, not only does it helps digestion - it helps prevent yeast infection.

babypink, ur short hair cut looks good.

i want to make a quick poll here -
do you ladies take MC / time off from work to go for gynae checkup?

Linda
i always go hock hua for bird's nest. Getting more and more ex already.

Niwa
i wont be going for that. but i just wondering whether the private sector at paragon if i go for NT scan provides that.

Recently i having cramps. i hope that is normal. I drink alot different types of drinks and eat oranges. Afraid that it might be all types of fruits which i am eating that is causing that.
Next sat is my scan hopefully everything is ok.

Mummyboy
same same i will try to go gynae at sat! can save my leave.

Now i planning to go on cruise in november. heheh i think shouldnt be a problem.

<font color="0000ff">niwa</font>

i used to do it on my day when i applied full day leave

now i dun care liao..just take time off
and also applied 1/2 day leave..then dun have to go back office at all

niwa,
i go in afternoon... after work. cannot take mc and time off, except for oscar which was a last min decision.

babypink,
use checks or black boxes better. ;)

ade,
I am planning to go on cruise in dec.

cos hubby says cannot take plane.

my co is american co. i have a few colleagues who will take mc/time off for anything. e.g. my american colleague will take time off to run peronal errands, and my jap/korean colleagues will take sick leave for medical checkup..

so i'm just wondering if i shd do the same too, although i appreciate this kinda flexibility, i kinda condone it too. haha

babedude,
alamak your NT measurement sounds fine. anything under 2.8mm is considered normal. actually it also depends on when u did the scan. the range is different for each week. if you do a scan at 11 weeks, u should be less than 2mm to be normal. if 12, less than 2.5mm. if 13, less than 2.8mm. it's something like that, though the range differs according to whose standard. anyway i've also read that some babies just produce excess fluid but not necessarily down syndrome. but just to be sure, blood test will help to eliminate the uncertainties. i had to go for blood test too b'cos the blood test will test me for HIV, hepatitis and so on. oh, my sonographer is patient with me b'cos i was the last customer kekeke. nobody after me so she's not pressured. i guess timing also pays a part. it's hard to get a stranger to cooperate but i know my gynae will.

cheryl,
you did your nt scan at how many weeks? if 13 weeks, yours is in normal range liao.

niwa,
you can find the shop directory in http://www.amkhub.com.sg. cool place. i like amkhub. for your poll, i did used to take mc/leave to see gynae on my previous job, but for now, since i am an uncomfirmed staff, i only take saturdays and if need be, i take half day leave.

Adeline,
this is the time where our baby is getting too big for our pelvis hence our uterus is expanding upwards to give baby more space to grow hence the cramping pain.

babypink,
haha no my real sister look like you from the way you smile. maybe you girls have the same kind of smile. unlike you, i choose to grow my hair long b'cos my massage lady say, longer hair easier to bun up. reason is, when you pull up your hair tight, wind can escape easily from the pores of your head. i just play along. anything to keep me back in shape after delivery!

aly,
alamak if don't have then maybe there's no carrano? btw, the directory also states old chang kee but it's actually OUTSIDE the building leh! so it can be kinda misleading?

cheryl,
maybe your baby is the kind who has excess fluid but is really normal. just wait for the blood test. really hope it's ok

I have 2 boxes of Brand New Palmer's Massage Cream for Stretch Marks to sell. Bought but not using already. Selling each box for $19. Anyone interested can PM me please? Trying really hard to sell it off. Thank you!