(2008/03) March 2008

<font color="0000ff">redtea</font>

happy belated birthday !

Hi all MTBs here,

Im a mummy from July07 thread, sorry to intrude. I would like to let go my amenda lactaline dual breast pump which I bought for $350.00 from Baby Kingdom on 25/07/07 cos Ive stopped breastfeeding.

Condition as good as a new set cos I pumped only once a day or two for less than 3 weeks and sterilise after every usage. The 2 baby cups, 2 teats & 1 extra valve are unused. Proof of purchase, original packing and instructions manual are still available.

Selling at $250.00 & Collection at Sembawang.

Interested parties, please email me at [email protected] or sms 90938255.

Min: My bday also on 26th sept... Yay! I also libra, so i very nice also rite?? hehe

Babypink: My wedding anni is on 22nd Sept...

So coincident...

Food is according to hubby's liking... We went to Lerky Thai for dinner, yucky food. BB din like it, though i forced it to stay in my tummy. Took 2hrs to settle the ms feeling. Watched Rat.. So so funny... Highly recommended for great laughs...

Hi Babypink,

I forgot to tell the gynae abt my headache yesterday. Oops!

I'm also a virgo. My bd is on 1st Sep.

Hi aly,

Think it shld be ok to eat crabs and seafood. I'm gg to eat them too for my bd. Yummy!

Is it alright not to do the oscar test? I called my gynae just now to ask if I need to do the test but the nurse told me I will only do a blood test on my week 16. No oscar test is required.

My husband and I are also Virgoes too! My bd is on 22nd Sept. So many mummies having birthdays in Sep. Anyway, I have read before somewhere that Septemeber is the month where the most number of people in the world have their birthdays as compared to other months. Hmm....I always thought that it is because couples are in the mood for love during the festive season in December! Hehe...

jerejoy,

i think it means u jst need to do the triple test. i asked the radiographer doing the NT scan why my previous gynae never advise me to do OSCAR, cos i was wondering is it because he does not have the equipment. Then she says usually some gynae will see the patient's age and decide for them if OSCAR is necessary. Usually if you are younger than 30. The risk of having a DS child is 1 in 1200. Therefore, not necessary to take oscar.

oscar and triple has the same purpose..which is to screen for risk of fetal anomalies in particular of Down Syndrome. You only choose between these two tests. Oscar is just a newer test they have come up with. In the past only have triple test option.

To compare: (according to gynae)
OSCAR has to be taken between 11 to 14 week with 90% accuracy. About $398
Triple test is taken at 16th week with 70% accuracy. About $100++

like to ask you mummies out there..is it becos of the iron pills tht i took, my stools become extremely black??? i know iron pills can cause constipation...

Oh my girl is libra.
Means that she gonna be nice also! hehehe.

Happyface
yea iron is relatively heaty depending on individual constituents. It's always good to drink lots of water and eat lots of fruits if you are taking iron. If not u might suffer.

Hi Aly,

Thank you sooooooo much for the detailed information. So grateful to u. Really appreciate it very much. U are sooooooo nice. Feel so much at ease now. (",)

Thank you, Redtea. He's not the creative type. Haha! but we will be gg out to celebrate my bd. Feel so special this yr with my baby in my stomach celebrating with me. Feel extremely happy. This is the best bd present i hv gotten for myself. (",)

happy birthday, jerejoy!

happyface, me too. I was so shocked when i see how black my stools was. my frd warned me that the multivitamin pills that i am taking contains iron which may give very bad constipationa dn even piles. so she advised that I can sometimes skip it or half the dosage. drink more water, eat more fruits and vegetables.

happy birthday jerejoy

crab n seafood feast. lol

my hb say oso to bring me eat crab for my bday. lol... my bday wish is "bb to stay healthy"
long way to go.

<font color="aa00aa">babypink,
i like that too. hee....wah u really last min eating the mooncake b4 deliver damn gd u leh. hehehehe........

happy bday or belated bday to the mummies.

enjoy urself.

so the oscar charge is $398? i tot $184 only?</font>

i'm suffer from constipation at times too... very terrible... spend a long time in the toilet...sigh

but found that eating those japanese sweet potatoes help ( the purple skin type)...colleagues say very healthy and lots of fibre... sometimes i take that for breakfast... and it really helps in bowel movements...

maybe only for those who can stomach sweet potatoes..

Hi Aly/Cheryl,

Hi twinklestars,

Thanks for the tips. I like to eat steam sweet potatoes. Will buy some to try.

suddenly got craving for sweet potatoes. hehe~
btw, which is sweetr?
the purple or orange skin de?
orange skin make sweet potato soup is sweeter and nicer.. but i m not sure about steamed de. nvr eat b4.

my facial aunty recommends the purple skin type, she says carina lau eats that every morning.. haha ....dunno how true...

so i eat those... but maybe need to eat a few times before you feel the benefits...

babylush: correct mah, dec is mood for love, so 9mths later is sept babies lor... i realised that many ppl born on 22nd sept... 3 already... hehe

aly: they say preggy cannot eat crabs, otherwise ur bb will have itchy fingers... diff to take care of. Dunno how true, but i craving for crab, trying to curb my craving...

ya, petrina.. i even heard of myths saying eat crabs will make baby heng xing ba dao.
haiz.. anyway, i just told my hubby that alot of pregnant women eat them too... so means i can eat oso. haha~~

<font color="0000ff">jerejoy</font>

Happy Birthday
with many happy returns of the day !

<font color="0000ff">Petrina, adeline</font>

hehe, yupz, libras are nice ladies, me "biased" cos my best pal is a libra ;)

my best pal's pak tor anniversary falls on 22 sep which is same day as my gal's birthday, she said she will never forget her birthday :p

<font color="0000ff">aly</font>

steamed use the japanese kind, purple skin, but yellow inside..very nice

and u made me crave hairy crab now
i will eat after i stop having my all day sickness

thanks for the link too

<font color="0000ff">jerejoy</font>

twinklestars is abosolutely rite =) i m a fan of jap sweet potato

<font color="0000ff">babylush</font>

hehe, dec the mood for love ?
din noe that when i got married but we chose that day cos after that cos xmas eve and xmas

<font color="0000ff">DerNEmi</font>

hehe, last year first time do conefinement, so dread the tot of a lot of thing cannot eat,

since baby so slow to come out, i have a day to eat all the forbidden stuff like icecream, bryani in SGH

<font color="0000ff">ladies,when we all dun have nausea, shall we go and have a seafood feast ?

i went to hairy carb link and realise that the description suit preggies taste buds..got vinegar, got ginger =p

"The star item on the menu is, of course, the steamed hairy crab, which is served the traditional way - whole, accompanied by a vinegar dip and a cup of hot ginger tea"

babypink,
yay! how is your MS nw? I found that mine comes and go.. build up an appetite alrdy den.. realise can't eat much. sad

<font color="aa00aa">babypink,
im ok. i like seafood combo. hehehehe.....
but i duno when my MS n ES gone leh????

i also heard eat crab during preggie babe next time 'many hands n legs'. hehe...</font>

for mussel lovers,

i went to eat at The Mussel Guys Restaurant at vivo city.. nice mussels. :D~~~~ must try oni the steamed ones. i din like the cheesy ones. For your info, if don like mussels, can skip the restaurant le.. nuthin much on menu.

dono y today keep thinking about food.
also thinking about sungei rd laksa.
cham.. all seafood..
anyway hubby says later go eat bak kut teh.
shd be ok, rt?

sama as u, comes and go lor..but still very fussy abt my meals..

if it is something i really want, wun puke..and i keep refering to my Life!Eat & Makan places Lost & Found food guides to find recommended stuff..

if nearby, i will ask hb to dabao

just had some claypot rice at lunchtime and is really yummy, my colleagues recommend one at coffeeshop next to Blk 286, near 24 hrs shop & save

Bak Kut Teh I have craving since 3 weeks ago, but just too unwell to travel to jurong east which they hav a famous one

Tmr need to go there to trim my hair, so will get my fix

hehe, hopefully mine is gone end of the month lor.hopefully those with ms & es can be well enough soon !

i believe that the 1st birth but i realise even without carbs, my gal like that already..think babies r like tat lah :p

<font color="0000ff">Jennifur, Isabel, sour plum icecream</font>

FOUND ! Bukit Batok East Avenue 4 Blk 265 Yok Choon provision Shop

selling at 40 cents

i was asking where is the 20 cents sour plum stick, they said this era where got 20 cents icecream

<font color="0000ff">Clarins Huile Tonic</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,</font>

<font color="0000ff">I hv 2 brand new (unopened) Clarins Huile Tonic bought at DFS to let go at S$55 each incld normal postage. PM me if you are interested</font>

948834.jpg

just see my bb today thru the ultrasound scan, so funny, quite actively moving his/her arms and feet. as i'm quite lucky - i didn't puke at all, i've gained 1.5kg now in 10wks. Gynae asks me try not to gain more than 1kg in the next 3 wks.

aly, the FA scan is to check bb's length, any cleft lip etc.. that's what the ACJ's nurse told me.

my gynae just tells me i will nid to go oscar test in wk 13, did not say nid to do FA scan.
anyway, i've been asking her abt oscar test the first 2 times of visit.

found cocoa palm stretch mark cream at John Little is cheaper than in unity pharmacy. $4 big difference.

Dernemi - did I say my evening MS is better? I take it back, i'm feeling queasy again, but never puke (maybe I should do that to maintain weight.. hohoho).

babypink, your mooncake photo shot is funny
- your belly looks tiny for pregnancy end stage!! So envy! I wish only my belly grows, and not my butt. :p

petrina, my hubby picks what we eat too. I think he has more cravings them me. LOL... he's very 'sympathy expectant dad' i must say

gg for dinner..

948993.png

<font color="aa00aa">niwa,
i also hope can maintain my weigh so far gained 2.5kg for 11wks. think that's quite alot.

babypink,
i also hope my MS n ES can end at another weeks. seafood combo...im coming.....
i miss the sour plum ice cream leh...v long time nv eat liao. but bukit batok seems far to me.</font>

So good to see that some of us have our appetite coming back.
A word of caution though, got to eat in moderation. I had a bad case of heart burn last week because I went to lie down after a heavy meal. This results in the gastric acid flowing back up to near the breastbone area. It has a burning and aching sensation.
Apparently, heartburn is common among pregnant women during the first and last trimester.

The following tips are what I found from Babycenter.com
- Avoid food and beverages that cause you gastrointestinal distress. The usual suspects are carbonated drinks; alcohol (which you should avoid anyway during pregnancy); caffeine; chocolate; acidic foods like citrus fruits and juices, tomatoes, mustard, and vinegar; processed meats; mint products; and spicy, highly seasoned, fried, or fatty foods.

Don't eat big meals. Instead, eat several small meals throughout the day. Take your time eating and chew thoroughly.

Avoid drinking large quantities of fluids during meals you don't want to distend your stomach. (It's important to drink eight to ten glasses of water daily during pregnancy, but sip it between meals.)

Try chewing gum after eating. Chewing gum stimulates your salivary glands, and saliva can help neutralize acid.

Don't eat close to bedtime. Give yourself two to three hours to digest before you lie down.

Sleep propped up with several pillows or a wedge. Elevating your upper body will help keep your stomach acids where they belong and will aid your digestion.

Gain a sensible amount of weight, and stay within the guidelines your healthcare provider suggests.

Wear loose, comfortable clothing. Avoid any tightness around your waist and tummy.

Bend at the knees instead of at the waist.

Don't smoke in addition to contributing to a host of serious health problems, smoking boosts stomach acidity. (Ideally, smoking is a habit you should break before getting pregnant. If you're still smoking and are having trouble quitting, ask your caregiver for a referral to a smoking-cessation program.)

An over-the-counter antacid that contains magnesium or calcium may ease discomfort, but check with your prenatal caregiver before taking one.

<font color="aa00aa">babylush,
thanks for the info. v useful.

no wonder yesterday i felt bloated after lunch till nite. i ate loh mee with VINEGAR n many chilli sauce.
aiyo...next time i will take note liao.</font>

<font color="0000ff">niwa</font>

u r one lucky lady

congrats on a successful scan =)

hehe, actually my tummy is big cos everyone tot I am expecting twins
but as i delivered almost a month earlier..so it din go to its full potential :p

i believe those shops that sell King icecream will have
can take a look at provision shops..

anyway, the lime one is nice too
I can't believe I had both :p

<font color="0000ff">babylush</font>

thanks for the useful tips

hehe, dec is a good month to clear leave..the min number of leave for maximum rest..

can start clearing from 23 dec all the way till the next year ;)

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font>

decide on ur cake liao ?
i m too no energy to go to source for deco for Pine Garden , will just take the prima deli one which is near my hse

<font color="0000ff">just had fish & chips for dinner..totally Yucky! i think my evening ms is the worst in a day</font>

babypink
time like quite tight hor. hehehe.
My aunty getting a carebear cake for her cause she knows where to get yummy one! So i no need headache for that.
Her birthday plans so far settle le.. only left with banner. I wanted to do carebear banner but now i thinking maybe not doing any banner already. Like so kua zhang hor. haha. Cause her 1st birthday i wanna make it more grand abit. subsequently no more already.

I just went to chow house for the japanese buffet. Eat alot ebi tempura. HB ate alot salmon sashimi but i phobia against eating raw food now though i know it is alright in moderation. Their sashimi also quite fresh one.

Think our next outing = crab outing? hahaha..

<font color="0000ff">Happy Birthday jerejoy!!!!!</font>

My Gynae told me the oscar done at private sector Paragon. It's $330. i wonder if it includes any 4D tests which they helps u safe in DVD?
I subscribe 3 years Motherhood mag. during the august one i saw they intro scans done at paragon have 4D one which u can actually see ur baby move and what they doing inside..

Alternatively, my gynae will get me to go NUH which is $220. But so far away from my place.. now i considering where to go.. maybe i ask my gynae during my next visit last sat.

All of a sudden i dun feel pregnant at all and my #1 keep pressing on my stomach i quite worried will injured. However, my nausea is still there but not bad one.

adeline: I also dun feel preggy except for the usual MS feeling. I had the non-preggy feeling since week 8. So I went for emergency appt to scan n c if bb still there. *Though no bleeding, pain was felt throughout the week*

Gynae say heartbeat is stil seen n say tat maybe i too gan jiong... but he'll c me again next sat juz to assure me. I so scared... Everywhere i go, i walk slowly n make sure i dun trip n fall. I having a bad feeling for 2wks already.

I'm in my 10th week now...

Btw, I juz ate chili crab dip wif mantou at Hardrock Cafe... Very nice. They got crab meat in the dip. Dun need to dirty my hands. Satisfied my crab craving for awhile...

Petrina, wa! nice.. chilli crab with mantou..

yesterday i wen to the founder bak kut teh at balestier. 2nd in queue before shop reopen at 6pm. haha~
asked the waitress if it is alright for pregnant women to have the soup, whether got dang gui, etc. She said no dang gui and she has seen many pregnant women come to drink it. I drank too bowls.. BUT too peppery.. after drinking body very warm. haha~
btw, don drink the malaysian version of bak kut teh during pregnancy. got dang gui inside.

oh ya, i heard that sashimi ok but muz be from reputable sources and eat in moderation. Anyway I usually oni eat 5 pcs at most. too expensive to eat more.

carrano sell cheap n nice maternity wear...
i bought 2 top, 1 skirt and 1 dress, all for $95... they have branch at TPY (near to library), amk hub, beauty world centre, bendemeer shopping mall, bencoolen mall..

hi good morning ladies,

my new part time maid is here, i can't believe she's still ironing clothes after 1.5 hrs.. but it's very straight though - exceed my standard.

the prev part time maid spent about 1hr 15 mins to complete all ironing - but all like still quite crampled.. :S i made the new part time maid reiron one of the shirts the previous maid had supposedly iron!!

Maybe next week will tell this one to chop chop abit - sigh, am i too fussy .. haha.

babypink 1 mth earlier? but your tummy look quite tiny i supposed.

The other day, I rem someone said cannot eat crab? Can't rem the reason...

I don't know if I'm having heartburn just by walking - felt abit of pain - v slight pain on my chest bone last night - while having my strolling exercise.

hi cheryl, i never seen this shop in amk hub before.

Btw, anyone has feelings of the gastric area pumping like the heart pumping? i have such feelings. sometimes pump quite hard, sometimes less severe. Don't know what's wrong but very uncomfortable. Even though i don't eat a lot sometimes, it still pumps.