(2008/03) March 2008

ryan also reject FM. my MIL dilutes the ready packed pediasure with abit of hot water. he drink - only vanilla flavour.

perhaps u wanna try various brand samples.
i heard from friends that sometimes babies have intuition - their mummy having another baby.. they may try to be funny. attract attention.

Linda
congrats !

beats us, no reason found yet ...

YT
it helps to distract kelicia =) otherwise she was wriggling away. i said mama going to take photos to show ah ma how brave u r today..

JTS
I was in NUH Children Emergency late last night, yeah, this time for Kyzac who developed a high fever of 38.5 since 6am yday, just when we r so happy kelicia is fine already since fri afternoon.

we fed him panadol, bufen, see doc in morn ..all no use..so at 10pm, we headed to NUH emergency

Fever children can only have one parent to accompany inside.ruling under NUH

we waited for 3 hrs without medical help. another mother who was waiting with me outside while our hbies were inside with the children inside were also quite shocked y only 1 parent allow in. her daughter whose fever was higher than kyz also no one attended to them while inside isolation room. That is after the 1st stage of nurses taking temp & heartbeat. She was worried tat her gal will go into fits, like her younger gal. Never let the child go into fits, she told me, cos it will come again and again whenever the child has fever

20 patients to 1 doc the nurses told me, and the doc must clear every patient b4 seeing the next. I think yday was a bad day cos my acquaintence who went in 3 days ago told me otherwise, not much q, no anyhow presribe tamiflu and got tests to find underlying cause of fever

i asked teh nurses 3 times b4 finaly getting some panadol for kyz whose timing for med was due

we left at 1 plus without seeing the doc, cos after so many hrs inside the cold room coupled wiith panadol, kyzc's fever came down miraculously. and there were still many many more patients to go

my experience is if the child has no fever, good to go NUH cos they separate those with fever and not. and 2 parents can go in for no fever caseas on sat nite . In KKH, no one is separated, no masks given to wear as on thur nite

now kyz fever went down liao, below 37. Pray no more trips to docs due to sudden onset again

omg! lucky kyzac is ok now. scary leh for u.
one after another.
so nv find out cause of fever?

congrats Linda!

yesterday i went for the fertility talk cum harry potter movie @ cathay cineleisure. wa lao, i left the place regretting i did not wan a #2... now a cow is not possible. so i can only plan for a dragon. sigh... hope my eggs ain't too old by then.
dr suresh nair was the speaker. very interesting talk plus very interactive Q&A session...
though i found it weird how come they allow students & eldery to attend this event.

lol - underage + menopause attending fertility talk... i guess, they r only here for the movie & food & goodie bag.

babypink: you must be v worried... pls take care and wishing ur whole family best of health and whatever virus get out.

Pet: LOL. maybe the elderly go there on behalf of their kids? they might be yearning for grandkids mah. why wait till a dragon and not try rabbit leh?

Did u see Sun New Paper? 15yo student and tutor having trysts, parents sent PI to chk... What is happening in this world. Faint.

kell: eh.. maybe hor.. on behalf of their kids.
rabbit not extremely suitable with rooster. so i dun wan take risk. dragon safer bet.
tiger can't cause cannot have 2 big animals in the same household...

Clover: Try askin YT?

Tea Tree oil I saw body shop selling. Chk them out. Any friends gng oz? Ask them to buy those small bottle of eucalyptus oil back. Its so much cheaper there.

kell, tks. I sms her then.

I bot mine at bkk. About $5 a small bottle. Quite cheap too. But i dun think my stash can tahan until dec. I used them in laundry. How abt u?

The bookshop teatree oil is a blend n not 100Per cen teatree, so i didn't get.

Babypink,
gosh! Hope your kids are both fine. I can imagine how tired and worried you will be. Do take care of yourself hor.

Kell,
yup, replied Clover liao. tnx.

Diffusion essential oil,
glad many of you are using it. I am using it 24 hours at home and will bring it out to crowded area.
H1N1 will peak in this 2 weeks. For those who have such diffusing essential be in Avita or any brand, do use it as its able to eliminate bacteria. ( Avita have test report on bacteria elimination ). For those who is keen to try n use it, let me know. I will lend you one of mine for one week F.O.C. to March mummies. Hope it helps.

Clover: I am using the eucalyptus oil w the avita lamp thing at home. soothes our family's sinius and I found if I'm using that, I see less creepy crawlies.

YT: How do you bring it out? Will topple or not? Or is it another type? blur.. lol

Actually, I used lampberger before. But prefer avita as the eucalyptus smell come out different. ie lampberger I can smell like something burning / chao tar smell.

I think I am falling sick.. now started coughing and slight tight chest feeling. my ofc got quite a few 2 days mc since last week. my *expletive* HR commented our dept are quite "inefficient" with so many MC. So pissed, she thinks we're Wall-E...

thanks to all , kyzac is fine again since yday ") phew, fever r scary, esp with healthy people in ICU due to H1N1, the latest case was a healthy woman of my age

and guess wat

got a circular from kelicia's childcare yday evening

2 Confirmed cases of HFMD ! *faint*

since i have enrolled my kid into childcare, all these r expected, tat k will fall sick more often ( and i have used up my medical claims for this yr, hb also left not much)

just worried tat my boss cannot take it much longer

i have used up 9 days of childcare leave and 17 days of annual leave..am i the only FTWM here who used up so much ?

Kell
gosh, do take care, no joke with cough & tight chest, hope all is fine

bringing out quite easy reg the thing tat u carried ard to purify the air..hehe, cos i carried YT's b4, she left it behind in a gathering and i have a 1st hand experience with it :p smell is quite ok, even in an enclosed area ie car

BBpink: Alright! Take care too.

The air purifier is the Avita lamp right? Or is there a smaller version?

Talking abt smell. This morning, I think someone dunno fart or brought something like belachan into MRT. Wah, like kenna sulphur attack. Yucks.

babypink,
so sorry you had to go through such a night at kkh! your story keeps repelling me away from kkh! i hope your darling won't catch HFMD too!! so scary hor..

wah you really used up lots of childcare leave and annual leave! but really no choice! your child's health and life comes first! you can always find another job! just pray that your boss continues to understand. i have used up all my allocated 6 days child care leave too. but thank goodness, my kids tend to fall sick in the weekends. Tricia just recovered from fever. It takes her 3 days to be well again. Just fever, no flu, maybe she's teething again. My DD1 also recovered from a cold, which she surprisingly got over in just 2 days. No meds. I just made her blow whenever she has a runny nose.

Kell,
It's flu season all-year around!! And with heartless employers, of course we all tend to get sick more often!! Not easy to juggle career and family man! We're already better than our moms ok!

Clover,
i think you could get those oil from pharmacy?

petrina,
sorry i kaypoh, how old are you huh? i'm also worried about aging eggs. since i'm prone to miscarriage, i'm thinking my eggs are faulty!! so considering Clomid if i ever wanna try again. else i give up liao.

Something interesting to share, especially to mommies of girls only.. kekekeke... something that the Flying Dutchman of Class 95FM mentioned in the morning in a study he read from University of Helsinki.

<font face="Times New Roman">FOR the female half of the population, it may bring a satisfied smile. Scientists have found that evolution is driving women to become ever more beautiful, while men remain as aesthetically unappealing as their caveman ancestors.

The researchers have found beautiful women have more children than their plainer counterparts and that a higher proportion of those children are female. Those daughters, once adult, also tend to be attractive and so repeat the pattern.

Over generations, the scientists argue, this has led to women becoming steadily more aesthetically pleasing, a “beauty race” that is still on. The findings have emerged from a series of studies of physical attractiveness and its links to reproductive success in humans.

In a study released last week, Markus Jokela, a researcher at the University of Helsinki, found beautiful women had up to 16% more children than their plainer counterparts. He used data gathered in America, in which 1,244 women and 997 men were followed through four decades of life. Their attractiveness was assessed from photographs taken during the study, which also collected data on the number of children they had.

This builds on previous work by Satoshi Kanazawa, an evolutionary psychologist at the London School of Economics, who found that good-looking parents were far more likely to conceive daughters. He suggested this was an evolutionary strategy subtly programmed into human DNA.

More here: http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/science/article6727710.ece</font>

Melissa
thanks =)glad that ur kids r fine too

childcare leave is 10 day i tot for those with 2 kids, 3 kids is 15 days

hehe, i always wish tat there are more people with young children in my office, then they will understand and i wun be the "most leave" out

one of my colleagues used to be vey un-understanding until his 2nd child came along this year. His 1st is much older and men tend to have shorter memory

The other female colleagues in my office are all single, wish they will settle down soon and have kids ")

Melissa: Yes, I heard that on radio this morning too. Haha. It seem biased to me. Although I enjoyed listening to the study. LOL.

Babypink: I tot childcare leave is max 6 days per year irregardless of # of children. Any more days is employer's discretion.
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Childcare_Leave.html

Don't bother abt ur colls. They think its very funny we take CC leave. Think whatever they like, if they have kids, don't come running asking for advice lor.

babypink,
me private sector lei, so 2 days childcare leave and 4 days enhanced childcare leave paid by the govt. must fill up govt form some more! b'cos of the extra 4 days, the HR decided to scrap child MC away. wah lao.. talk about heartless employers.

but seriously, if you become an employer yourself, you're likely to practise double standard and be very unforgiving to employee with young family.

so in the end i think singapore has a SERIOUS issue about grace and understanding. tsk tsk.

petrina,
hey you're still in your 20s ah.. *smack forehead* my eggs are the one that's aging more liao.

happygal,
my girls tend to pass virus from one to another, unfortunately it's very common among siblings.

Kell,
I like FD!! He's like a conservative family man who hates prostitutes.. lol. So unlike a typical ang moh! I like the part when he always "hantam" Glen Ong!! Always make my morning drive very enjoyable.

Melissa: Me same age as Pet. 28. Its nothing to do w age lah - more to do with our stressful lifestyle. U see all the asian celebrities have bb after 35 and they take like a year off work.

Haven't even start counting on those filthy rich ang mos celebs.

I like FD too, rather than sharp shooting Glenn. LOL. He's sort of born and grew up in SG thus values are different from other countries mah.

bbpink, u r rite.. 28 this yr. 2yrs more to the big 30!

melissa: i dun mean to be sarcastic hor. the gynae at the talk was mentioning -
20-25yrs BEST EGGS
26-30yrs Degrading...
30-35yrs Half gone...
35-40yrs Most gone...
40yrs < Gone/Damaged...

scary... shld have finish my production by age 30? lol...

i am glad my co &amp; hb's co is pro-family. we always bring ryan to the ofc after hours.

talking abt sinus, i find my prob more serious since the haze. perhaps i may dabble with the essential oil idea soon. hmm...

Melissa
personally can't stand Glenn Ong, never hear him on radio, only read in 8 days &amp; magazines but he always said he is so much in love whenever he is with a new lady and this is the 3rd gal liao..

Childcare Leave
hmm..jialat, no wonder my boss asked me whether i have exceed childcare leave quota..i think i need to give HR a call

i really tot it is
6 days for 1 kid
10 days for 2 kid
15 days for 3 kids

Happygal
hope all will be fine soon and Rayne recovers fast..how is her temp now
btw, how much bufen u gave ..no panadol at all ?
we gave 4 ml for 11 kg kyzac,
then another doc said 2 ml

Initially, we were told at kkh that it should be panadol every 4 hrs ( if temp remains high ) and followed by 4 mlBufen (above 38.5) if after 2 hrs no results

cck poly doc said panadol every 6 hrs and bufen 2 ml in between
wat Melissa said is true..kelicia only start falling sick when she enters childcare, and kyzac started falling sick more often after tat
anyway, ur Netball thingy did ring a bell =p have smsed u ;)

petrina,
no hard feelings at all. should thank you for sharing that facts you gained from the talk. it's true, i have a fellow TTC-er last time who went through repeated miscarriages like me. We were aggressively supporting each other but in the end, I had to settle on the fact that her own eggs are doing this to her. i was luckier, after 5 m/c, conceived DD1, while she keeps m/c-ing a few more times. In the end, she adopted a girl called Julia.

babypink,
pple like Glen Ong is sadly becoming more common in sg. seems to me that lesser singaporeans are settling down and having children. glenn can't even keep a marriage. i remember the time when he endlessly spoke of the world for Jamie when he courted her, now it's all history. marriages requires a lot of work but some pple give up too easily.

Melissa: I recalled abt the TCM I said. Argh. Keep forgetting to ask my mum. :p

hm i dun really agree to your last para. but i agree to the last sentence. eh, getting married and having babies require a lot of work, worse than any job in the world... and then there's the money problem. but of cos the reward is non-measurable lah. lol.

Kell,
Yeah let me know when you remember hor. It's ok liao Kell, everyone's subjected to their own opinions. I just think that life is not all about material possession or money. But we seem to overlook the finer things in life. I haven't seen any mommy complain about a worse life after having children, else there'll be an increase in infanticide. It makes u a better person generally lor..

melissa: i agree. becoming a mom is the best thing that ever happened to me. but of course, like wat kell said. $ is also impt in this society.
eg, i was a workaholic b4 ryan. once i became a mom, i became a sahm. after 2yrs of no income, i realised that it's difficult to survive. single income is tough.
now i have a difficulty adjusting to worklife again. sigh. i dun hope for much. juz hope to make juz enough for my fixed compulsory expenses. not counting luxuries.

kudos to all moms! Yay!

Melissa,
I agree with you. When you are an employee, you complain your employer is so cheapskate but if you are an employer yourself, then it's a different story :p But then again, I know of stat boards giving really good benefits. Oh well... worst benefit is sahm, no off days, no annual leaves, no MC, argh!!!

I like FD too but no comments about Glenn as there's basically nothing interesting to talk about him.

I always think that you are a very strong woman, to "survive" so many miscarriages and still determine. Though I do not know you in person, I think you are awesome!

When I had DD1, I told myself I want to give her the best, or whatever I can afford. We were reluctant to have #2 as $ will become an issue. But I have a friend working in F&amp;B industry, wife not working, 1 kid. Take home salary is less than $2K. When she found out she's preg with #2, she's very happy because she loves kids. I was worried for them and asked how are they going to cope. The wife told me, just need to cut down on unnecessary expenses eg eating out at foodcourts, buying "luxurious" items. Her #2 is now 5 yo and they are surviving well. From this, I get a different perspective in parenthood. We don't need to give them the best ie monetary/branded clothings/enrichment class. And because of them, I've changed my mindset and here I am, with 3 wonderful kids

Linda
congratz!

Reena
i agree with u

I only give the kids whatever i can afford and spend time with them whenever i can. when i had #2 i was very veyr worried abt finance and till now, i still am.. cause financially quite dried up.
Just hope things will get better and of cause the 2 kids is a joy..
but at times just feel like killing them!!!!!!
Esp now kat is in her terrible 2s

she throw tantrum very badly and #1 follow. Just feel that sooner or later i will go crazy but i have learnt to be more patience with them. And hope their tantrum will be better as they grows since i have seen changes in #1..

Life is never easy since i have 2.. really dunno how Reena handle the 3.

Adeline

I was still thinking kyzac is not two yet , no terrible two yet, so can enjoy a bit longer the non-tantrums state :p

he keeps telling me he is a baby, and i said no no, u r a little boy, no longer a baby

and now u r talking abt terrible 2..

isn't it after they turn 2 ? =)

I find its very unfair for families with SAHM in SG. Our society encourages women to go to work. haiz. And thus nothing offered for HB of SAHM. Life is more lil more comfy if mothers work, but how can we measure the quality of family life? After encouraging mothers to work, we find all sorts of funny news ie teenage pregancies, teenager having affairs with married teachers, more children have brushes with the law and getting younger by the year.

Maybe I should write to the NMP or whoever to list this out... I do not think its good to be economically competitive but having a chaotic society.

Actually, instead of dangling baby bonus, they should increase the wife relief and offer the maid levy relief to the HB. Maybe this will create more babies. LOL

AdeK: We could say the "terrible" 2 starts around this stage?

Maybe you should stop seeing it as terrible and rename this stage "establishing independence". Its a bit unfair to the kids when they are learning to control themselves and starting to act more like grown ups. LOL.

They are alys more than 1 side to anything. So we should just look at the positive side and life will be easier.

To cure tantrum, make sure your response are not alys the same. The kids will stop and wonder whats gng to happen next. Because if you have the same response and submit to them, then they will alys throw tantrum to get what they want. - Learnt from Supernanny.

This is true cos Phoebe over at mum will alys do something to "blackmail" my mum to do her bidding. When she is w me and HB, surprising, quite good behaviour. But my mum doesn't believe me. lol. Life's like that lah, if not it will be too boring. :p

Adeline

i think lele is a bit like kat and she is really a chilli padi, can scream the house down. not very use to the screaming as zac doesnt scream in the past. i think they will get past this stage, i vaguely remember zac was quite naughty when he was turning 18months, sometime bring him out, he will sit on the floor and refuse to walk. i will just turn my back and walk away. for zac he will follow, i did the same to lele, she scream at the top of her lung and no matter how thick skin i am, i also cannot tahan but to carry her away from the crowd. very different character the two of them.

kell
i agree on the point of establishing independence" zac going 3 wants to choose his own clothes every morning, climb up the car seat himself when he is struggling to do so. i think the children knows how to bully grandparents, my parents also pointed that out to me. i totally agree cos i always give zac my killer stare and he will stop his nonsense. haha but my killer stare still doesnt work on lele must increase my power liao haha

Oh ya, what I said on tantrum earlier on is done at home. Sometimes, difficult and not good on children's pride to discipline (like chinese saying hard on hard) in public.

Let them learn, wait till u get home then u know. LOL

kell, our govt want us to have kids AND still work. so all the tax benefits go to working moms lor.

shirley, i give alex my killer stare n he will cry. i look darn fierce or wat! ;p

petrina,
nice example as well. i agree that to remain competitive, u need to have the momentum. so i deduce that whatever u make of life depends on your priorities and values that you're nurtured with.

reena,
ok here's the funny part, i envy you haha. you kinda resemble my mom. and i look up highly to my mom. my dad loves my mom to death and i think she has raised us with sweat and tears and does a good job with it too. she is a full-time sahm and she's not that highly educated. i don't think she can survive the job market if she ever goes out to work. so with that in mind, i idolized my mom. i pamper her with attention and love, with bags and shoes, the kind she could never get when we were all in school. i bring her along to our vacations and basically pay her back everything that i could ever afford. it's this kind of payback that i want. of course, by being a sahm, you cannot afford luxury and you probably have little social life, you can't go out for high tea with friends and probably can't even talk in the same lingo and be trendy anymore. however, people get lost in their own lives and responsibilities and in the end, what matters is to feel comfortable in the care and undivided concern of your own family.

maybe i'm a simplistic person or maybe i'm jaded after working for more than 10 years.. lol.

sure there's no benefits but at least you're spared of office politics! hahaa...

AdelineK,
i'm sure you can handle two because it's meant to be. u just probably need more confidence in yourself and more time to develop even more patience.

i actually love the terrible two stage. while they begin to show signs of independence, they also begin to demonstrate more adult behavior. not forgetting their first sentence and their ability to run and hug you whenever they feel like it. newborn days, u have to do everything yourself! lesser interaction bah! heheee

Kell,
I bought the Supernanny book. quite useful! practised it on my DD1. now she cannot stand it if i give her the look. she'll cry and stop! my hubby is always telling me never scold children in public. it's humiliating for them and they might rebel. i think it's quite true. nobody likes to be scolded in public.

Shirley,
hehehe talking about screaming.. my two girls are always screaming everytime i needed to watch TV!! annoying? no. those irritating sounds always reminded me that i have living children. they're my livewire!

clover,
i'm thinking our problem is unique to singaporeans only.. haizz..

kell, show my pic to phoebe. hahaha... i'm reading a book on positive discipline. the best thing is to ignore their tantrum, coz kids relish any kind of attention, or u can try the naughty corner at home.

adeline, i tot u wan no.3? hahahah. i also want 3 if possible, but i'm old. i am hoping to have twins next (1b1g), but vvvvv low chance. hahaha. must pray!

melissa, u really love kids so much that you can take the terrible 2 stage. i'm thinking of trying soon, which means i cant work.

Melissa
so romantic
i love the part where u mention ur dad loves ur mum so much

always find it so sweet when elderly couple r so much in love, ur dad must be quite vocal &amp; demonstrative for u to comment like tat

looking at Kell &amp; Melissa comments made me wana get a book on supernanny myself !

regarding children throwing tantrums, i do practice the ignoring method meaning no attention will be given , cos basically quite a lazy mummy here, ignoring tantrums is the easiest for me :p

oh yes, the child sitting on floor and refusing to budge also happens with kelicia, tat is even after we walked away and observe her from a hidden place,

kyzac no chance yet cos we still haven let him walk ard in public area :p

babypink,
i never see my father say it straight to my mom's face but there were those late nights while i was watching tv and he'll start talking about my mom (all the good things of course) and how we should all be very nice to her cos she has done so much without complaining. it made me realise too, that what makes a man happy is really the basic things in life like to serve him home cooked food when he's hungry, to raise his kids, keep the house in order and be there for him whenever he needs her.

so that's what influenced my perspective of marriage and family. life is simple and we should all master the basics before we can truly advance and succeed later in life.

Melissa: Wow, that's a simple but powerful message! I read those Today's counsellor column and once there's this article on positive parenting. In it there something like what your dad does. The father should alys show the mother this type of respect in front of the kids.

Babypink: I only watched Supernanny. Lazy to read up.

There's one episode on Supernanny where the father call the mother names / treat the mum like a maid. And their, I think 5 yo, boy followed the father's behaviour. Father told Supernanny he did that for fun (young father lah). In the end asked father to stop this type of behaviour in front of boy and treat mum with respect, say thank you, sorry, please. Then slowly adjust the boy back.

Supernanny is the only educational and helpful reality TV involving humans. LOL. Amazing race is nice too, but its more entertainment.

kell, i think its important for the parents and caregivers to react and deal with our kids' tantrums the same way. i know its easy to say lah. alex's grandparents will let him have his way when he cries, however i dun. i dun immediately walk away from him which will frustrate him even more. i ignore him only after i communicated to him that i'm going to do so if he continues to be naughty. (at this age at most 1 min.) however alex will immediately want me to carry him. then i stoop down to his eye level and talk to him in a calm way, "i know u r frustrated, but you can't do this bcoz XYZ. mummy already told you not to ABC". amazingly, he listens to me. :D

v cheong hey ;p

Any good educational dvd to recommend to entertain the kids?

right now i am showing both kids Baby Can Read, but right now we are all so bored already

Melissa/Kell
i think tat is important ! Melissa is a real life example of learning fr the father =)
I also read the Today Article abt fathers treating the wife with respect, hehe, how come they never said vice versa as well..
i once read tat we will see ourselves in our kids..so i think as parents we really influence them the most..
ashamed to say tat both my kids are rather lazy and love to laze ard on bed..

Manners
rite now making Kyzac said all his please and thank you after we helped him in any way. But his please is sssss, he can only pronoun the last syllabus

Clover
i quite scared now although i dun mind having another (5 years later) now cannot afford cause too many things going on but i guess 5 years down the road, i would change my mind and just 2 is enough leh.. now quite scary!

Shirley
Aiyoyoyoyoy....!!!
Yes girls are different! and my 2 kids also different character. Kim is so independent and kat relies on us alot. Everytime after poo kim is so happy!! she just shouts.. 'KIMBERLY 很棒!‘ bth.. hahaha.. Kat is learning everything from her and kat has worse tantrum also. Think cause my aunty gave in alot to her..

bbpink
terrible 2s can start as early as now and i am quite strict to them now at the same time trying to have more patience.

sometimes when i grow crazy, i would just take the cane and whack them.. it's bad.

Manners
This is one thing i am glad that kim has..
whenever she ask u to help her with sometime she will say 'thank you'. u say thank you, she say welcome.
when she wants to cross she will say excuse me. If she knocks onto something she say sorry.
And i am proud of that!! cause we taught her that very strictly ..
But hor.. she always scold kathlyn for nnot saying thankyou, sry etc.. hahahaha poor baby..

Adeline
Kim is very well brought up , if i m in ur shoes, i will be very proud of her too =)
kelicia haven master the welcome, cos i think both hb &amp; me din say tat after the thank you..oops

she is so cute ! regarding the Kimberly heng pang !

PS: i wonder how to insert chinese into posting