(2008/03) March 2008

reena: hehe, i am an archie fan too. i sold half of my collections as I was running out of space to store them... i'm left with the oldest & latest editions now.

Reena,
I don't like to buy things in advance. If DD1 has outgrown her clothes or shoes we'd go out and shop for new ones. It's the experience that I enjoy hehe. Good deal leh. Wish I have a boy!

Its finally a Friday! Yeah!

Reena: U can look for a few blogs with good english and more PG content so you can refer DD1 to.

BBpink: ok will keep u informed. LOL

Shopping:
I will usu buy some things in advance. But sometimes difficult to keep track leh. And will have accidents that leave me with 2 similar things. LOL.

Ladies!

I salute your Government and any country official related. Gosh! They are very fast, efficient and well-informed.

Jakarta Just "kena" bomb this morning, this afternoon, I saw many announcement letters posted around my apt from Spore Police - to take precaution and be a responsive citizen.

Not only that, They're also very prepared in welcoming the Swine Flu! Too prepared made me panic at that time...haaa..haaa!

But Good for you, girls!

Just to share my recent bake, cheese chiffon cake with fresh blueberries

2717009.jpg

Planning a family trip to bangkok next mth. First time bring bb take flight, I prob let her had rice cereal for that 3 days. Anyone here know of any child friendly shopping, restaurant & hotel to recommend? This is my 2nd time there. 1st time was like more than 5 yrs ago. Thanks arr…

Good Morning all!

Reena: Yummy. I love cakes!

FL: I stayed once in Pathuwan Princess and I love it. Quite clean and its joined to MBK shopping center. This hlt shld be self sufficient enuff w/o having to travel by train or cabs. But MBK stuff is slighty more exp than the other mkts. Another choice is Novotel. Tried and tested by relatives that these 2 htl are free of "sightings", but I also don't feel anything anywhere lah.

17 Mth Old
Are they particularly sticky now? I find mine is...

kell

yes lele is like a super glue to me. everyday will chant mama mama from low voice to high pitch when i am not responding fast enuff. haha i think its a phase they go through, think zac zac used to be like that but now can play independently and always chio meimei to go and play. haiz but lele very unfriendly always stick to me

Shirley
that's so cute! can imagine lele chanting mama mama :D....actually tommy boy likes any attention he can get from anyone, not just me...but he esp loves to play with Chelsea and wants to do everything she's doing which is a problem since she's at the age when she's colouring or cutting paper and not only doesn't he know how to do it yet, he also wants to only colour the drawing that chelsea is working on :p like dat sure fight lor *haiz*

Shirley:
Thanks. Ok then, its normal. LOL.

A tiny bit irritating when she just woke up, lazing on bed comfortably and keep chanting mama and getting louder. But I can't do much when I'm halfway through in toilet. :p

AdeL: Hm. Think at this stage they also like imitating. Maybe thats why Tommy only wants exactly what Chelsea has. Phoebe has no siblings yet, so she snatch from me. Eg use my comb to comb her hair. I dun like her to share my comb cos might have residue hair gel/cream. Haiz, but they don't understand yet...

FL, i went last oct to bkk.
stayed at eastin hotel. 5 mins taxi ride from MBK. we like this hotel
i find bkk not baby friendly at all. so far i never come across any restaurants with baby highchair, then i think i only came across one shopping ctr with changing facilities. i wonder how i overcame breastfeeding during my time there. lol.

if i can find my itinerary, i will email u.

Kell/Shirley,
my son is keep calling 'pa pa' from day to nite. Its irritating to me cos I m the one taking care of him all day long where his pa pa travels alot. You can say that I am jealous about it ( like wat my hubby says ). My bb plays independently without me now n not sticking to me tat much. His latest favourite is to climb windows! Shall take a photo on his act n post it next time.
When I told some of my colleagues about these, they told me " Yu Tong, its time you fan xin why your bb dun call you nor dun play with you." Darn!**

Tks for the kell & clover. Will keep Pathuwan Princess & Eastin in mind. I also have First Hotel & Grand Diamond in list.

Clover, receive your email. Did you bring Alex with you on this trip? Who look after him when you all do the massage? I heard Bobae sell a lot of baby stuff and Platinum is very worth going. I want to go Dream World and hb want Dusit Zoo but I feel go zoo for what, spore also have. I’m gg to buy a lot of cheap baby clothing for my brothers’ babies… There are 3 babies popping out this few mths and my mum will be very busy. So my gal will be attending childcare next mth.

17mths
My gal love to dance nowadays whenever there is music. She will blend her knees up & down with hands movement like abit doing qigong. Even at the supermarket, put her on the shopping cart, she will stand & dance and I have to stop pushing the cart incase she fall.

Good Morning!

FL: Haha. Can imagine how cute the dance/qigong movements are. At this stage they really oblivious to anything. Headache...

YT: Wah, anyway to stop the window climbing? ||-_-" Like tie anything JK is afraid of to the grills?

I just found out Phoebe is afraid of cooked prawns. HB show her the red prawns and her face changed into a terrified look. LOL. Its the first time we saw her terrified look.

Now she got a very bad habit - rubbing eyes. This morning her eyes are all red. Haiz. Tired cleaning her eyes w wet cotton but no use. I am thinking shld I bring her go clinic but worried abt other viruses in there. Sian

I found out, recently, Mikael loves to dance and jump whenever he heard any songs..but especially Barney's song. Some of the songs, he can even mumble to follow the lyrics.

I am just wonder, any place to bring him to encourage his new hobby? but not too fancy and expensive?

Hi Kresentia,
I am thinking putting in half day childcare (CC) for a year. She can play w the tods her age there. But I wonder if they let them dance. Hm...

I found an affordable CC (250 p mth aft 300 subsidy). Maybe I'll wait till she enjoys gng to sch, then I'll change her to "better" CC with focus on speech/language. I went to a few CC in Bt Batok like NTUC My First Skool and Just Kids, they are already full and I'm on waiting list.

kell: rubbing eyes. might be allergy. cause the haze is creating itchness. my sinus got worse since the haze. ryan also rub eyes. i'll use wet cloth to sooth his eyes sometimes.

FL: haha. i noe the image. ryan has been dancing like no tmr... esp to starhub channel 34 - playhouse disney

Kresentia: dun think there is any KTV tat has baby songs. hehe. erm, u can try growing up gifted playgroup. they have music classes - meaning singing & dancing with parent & child.
quite interesting.

Pet: Oh yah! Haze. No wonder this week my eyes feel a bit painful. Just now, I tried telling my mum its due to the haze, but she said "Nonsense! Her eyelash are growing lah..." WL... Faint. I got the eucaplytus from YT but my mum dun wanna use. At my wits end.

Pet: No, I think she is trying to be funny. :p

I also got sinius, I think its hereditary cos my mum complained she got runny nose. But no other flu symptons. I asked her if she got sensitive nose she also said "Nonsense, no such thing!" ALamakk.

oh.. joking lah. i tot she really believe eyelash growing affect phoebe's eye.

oh ya, YT - i bought a rather big sand claw frm toys r us. ryan is very afraid of the clicking sound it makes. we use our hands to control the open n close of the claws. i also shift my sofa away frm the windows.
now ryan like to climb over the play yard barriers. but he noes how to come down safely. so i not too scared.

Kell,
wat a waste! Your mum dun use you use la. Use at your own condo.

Climbing windows,
i tickle him when he does that but he stil climbs. Boys are boys!

Cartoon Movie Screening,
My company is having a cartoon movie screening "UP" coming Monday at Commonwealth Drive at 7.30pm. Any mummies wanna join me? Its open to all.
I m bringing my son, hubby n lotsa of titbits! Its the first time my son will be watching a movie in a cinema like enviroment. I guess its a good trial before I bring him to a real cinema. I dun haf to wori so much that he will disturb others cos most of the people there are friends n they will understand. Hope he can stay throughout the whole cartoon! :p

FL

ur gal is so cute , can dance =)

Grand Diamond is very near Platinum, i was told the things are cheaper than MBK , a lady's shopping haven ")
i will be heading there end of the yr too, but without kids, so that i can do some serious shopping :p

Kell
ur mum does have a good sense of humour !
which childare r u looking at, mine only 150 full day :p

Reena
made me drool ;)

FL, think the traffic near Grand Diamon is quite jiat lat during the weekend. I didn't go to Bobae. It was burnt down in 2007, so I didn't check whether it was rebuilt. we brought alex along in the trip. he was 7mths so still too young to enjoy dream world or zoo. maybe u can let me know how is it.

i go there like once or twice every year. will be going in dec for a wedding party.

Reena - Safari camp stay nice, will keep in view for the next trip if there is… ;)
Bbpink – Ya, I heard abt Platinum too, it’s a must go.
Clover – Oh, I didn’t know BoBae was once burnt down. Got time, I will go see see.

any1 go to kkh lately ? i was there yday, saw a doc who told me that as long as kids has fever, they will be assumed as h1n1 cases and given tamiflu ( one of the side effect is hallicination)

i was taken aback, now no more testing for h1n1 at kkh,they just give tamiflu according to this dr.

half an hr b4 tat , i was at mt A, but due to the quoted rate of $600 (cannot claim fr medisave) for ecg, blood test, swab etc and the need to ask a pd to come down according to the doc at 24 hrs clinic, we have no choice but to go kkh with the letter fr mt a

the 1st doc we saw at kkh din even examine, just dismiss it as h1n1 immediately. then we ask him mt a doc wrote so much test to do, how come u r so dif, somemore the gal's heartrate is 151 very high as normal kid according to mt a is 130 tats y need an ECG, blood test swab etc. Hb highlighted to him was wat if the fever is not due to h1n1 and she was treated for the wrong illness,

i was more emo, i asked the 1st doc does he want to add to the death statistic in kkh by not doing at least an examination cos he just look at her without doing anything and tell us it is h1n1, he still told me becos most children go there, tat's y the death rate for kids there is higher compared to other hosp

anyway, he called his senior down which is more concerned and did wat mt a wrote,except no test for h1n1 as they stop doing it

now i am at a dilemma to give tamiflu or not as she was not even tested..

PS: at the same time wana correct my error, i posted b4 tat sil told me mt a a&e 25 and no q, now i realise there r a lot of hidden costs..i paid 40 for consultation at mt a, stay in isolation room is an additional charge on top of the 25, oso got a segment call admin charges. If u do all the rest of wat is recommended, it was $600

Babypink: Oh my. Kelicia is not feeling well? How can any how feed Tamiflu... Sick. All the tests were clear for her? Maybe you should seek a second opinion. Those PD on duty are mostly junior docs.

I hope you can sort this out asap.

The last time I went KKH A&E was during Mother's Day period. The nurse said the Q will be 4 hours, then we left le.

YT: Yeah, the ecualyptus is my precious. LOL. Can also help to keep creepy crawlies at bay.

babypink
Kelicia is not feeling well? zac and lele is having the usual running nose and cough. i think KK is quite irresponsible to be so slip short in the examination. i think i will react the same way as you in your shoe. if you admit K into the hospital can you claim for insurance? this is wat i did for lele when she had stomach flu. he doctor ask my if i want to wait in the A&E while they insert the suppository and wait another hour to see if she can consume the milk. i told him i want to admit her, at least she can have proper bed to rest and i can claim everything via insurance.

adelineL
I think lele find zac a threat cos he loves to carry her and hug her real tight. he has caused her to fall a few times. lele very xiao jie will come and complain to my mum or myself. most of time she will play with korkor but when she is feeling unwell she will stick to me. now she is teething and not eating very well, mostly on milk consumption.

anyway, they make us get tamiflu for my parents who r approaching 60s & even Kyzac, to take 1st..i m also at a dilimma to feed kyzac ornot..he got nothing now
2726105.jpg

i m wondering also Tamiflu can anyhow take, it is not a vaccine med, but kkh said it is their protocol..and die die no more testing, just take, and like all children related to patient just take as well

my poor K yday, no q at kkh, not crowded, but due to the tests kindly done by senior doc , we left at 1 plus am
2726106.jpg
2726107.jpg

we sent her to hosp as her heart was beating too fast when we feel it , coupled with a high fever

but still glad we went Mt A 1st, at least the doc at kkh was pressured by tat memo and we used it to help our case. initially kkh doc still tell usu fever heart will beat faster, but we told him even when kelicia was having a higher temp early this yr, her heart din beat so rapidly

2726124.jpg

bbpink
poor kelicia! you guys must have such a rough time
here's wishing Kelicia a speedy recovery

i wouldn't know too if i were you whether to take the tamiflu anot *haiz*...i guess if the doctors think it's safe enough to take, it should be fine

http://www.tamiflu.com/treat.aspx

Babypink: Hope Kelicia is better now...
I think the KKH doc said that because children and elderly are more prone to complications if H1N1 virus is in the body. But Tamiflu will only work if its consumed within 48 hrs if you have the H1N1 virus.

But... The tamiflu webby claimed that it will fight off "flu" virus and not necessary just H1N1. Try get another PD to diagnose K.

Does NUH have a PD A&E dept? I'll try there if there's a need next time.

Reena: Ever tot of selling cakes to your friends as sideline? Its looks better than those I see at some cake shops! But don't openly advert as the AVA will send warning letter.

hi bbpink, i brought rayden to pd today too due to cough and slight fever at 37.7. he is as usual self except for the cough with little phelgm only. my pd oso suggest me to gv him tami flu due to he got sensitìve airway (total he used nebulizer 6 times since birth) so he worries. but he leaves the decision to me. bbpink, like u, i also very delimma. he told me may have some side effect like vommit and diarrehoa. also got to be on mc for 10 days if take the tamiflu medicine becos immune system will be weaker. in the end, i did not take. duno i make the right decision or not, but was thking he seldom go outdrs except school, so h1n1 risk shld be very low ba.

bbpink: hope kelicia gets well soon. very scary now that they label all flu patients as H1N1 case.
perhaps u shld try other hospitals instead of kkh. if i were u, i also wun use tamiflu b4 confirmation of case.

i am on mc today. yesterday headache + fever + abit sore throat. lucky my GP play safe by asking me take panadol & antihistamines instead of tamiflu.
cause i recovered today le. otherwise i'd had eaten the wrong medication.

the doc so weird. they already say tamiflu can't prevent H1N1. can only eat after confirm kenna. how can they ask kyzac eat it??

happygal: maybe u stay at home with rayden and observe his illness b4 deciding on tamiflu.

thanks =) i also hope kelicia will recover asap, now kyzac is at mum hse since yday, i miss him

happygal
i can understand how u feel..i also dun noe whether i m making the right decision by holding back..

her fever is much better this morning and now like 36.5 already, so i hope i am rite in making my decision, hope rayden also recovers fast ! i took urgent leave today again..

then for kyz, i also wonder abt the consequence if i gave him now and later will the med still works effectively if he really kenna in the future

it is unfortunate that our children r in the high risk gp. for healthy adults like us i was told tat even if kenna, we may not even noe and still recover eventually without taking Tamiflu

at both hosp, i saw some really sickly children who were blur blur in wheelchair and also in those lying down wheelchair, really break my heart

i went to kkh woman clinic 2 weeks ago... coz having fever and flu symptoms...

i was tested for H1N1, not given tamiflu, but given 7 days MC to rest.

Maybe i m preggie...

hope kelicia will recover soon... so wat is the underlying cause for high heartbeat?

Babypink,
poor Kelicia. Hope she is well soon. But I cannot believe it that you took the photos at that time. Use it as a proof for the nurses n doctor torturing Kelicia. Hmph!

Linda,
you pregant? Congrats!

mummies, can help me:

my ger is 16 mths, she suddenly refuses to drink milk.. try bottle, through cup, through spoon...she will like wanna to vomit when she tastes milk. I am worried... what shd i do? have been 3 days le..but she keeps pointing to her mouth..

she takes her porridge, drink water, as active as before.

this is the 2nd time that happened... the first time coz i change the FM so she rejected for few days... after that she starts drinking.

Hi Linda,
Congrats! Take gd care.

You chk if baby is teething?

Phoebe now dun wanna take porridge. She seems to be teething molar... But she takes milk. Eg when I brush her teeth, she will cry. Normally she loves to "brush" teeth ie chew on toothbrush.

linda,
i m not sure if ada is lactose intolerant. i m lactose intolerent, will feel like vomiting when drink milk or eat too much cheese. u can try giving her pediasure which contains no lactose. buy a small can (ready made) 190ml to try if she will drink.