(2008/03) March 2008

hi RAR!

ur boy also called ryan? hehe
i can be considered SAHM too cause i work from home mostly.
i have my mil to care for my boy full time. so i juz take care of chores and be a 'cow' at home while working.

my boy is currently walking around malls. i'm not letting him on the streets yet as he refuses to hold hands.

talking wise, he's still on the standard mama/papa mode. but he does have his ways of communicating with us.

i'm staying in holland ave. i seldom meet up for gatherings as weekends r usually not avail for me.
my hb work almost 15hrs daily. therefore family time is very impt during the wkends.

i'm a catholic, but i m not into religion frenzy.. more of a born catholic thing. haha

hi RAR

I am a FTWM, 2kids 1 boy Isaac aka zac zac 33months and the other girl Isabelle aka lele born in March 08. Handling the first kid is the toughest, i am very lucky to have my mum to take care of the kiddos and a good helper to help out.

When isaac was first born, the task of being mum really overwhelm me. my weekends are mostly alone with him as my hubby needs to work over the weekend. i think going out to meet up with friends can help to keep my sanity. sometimes i just lug my 2 kids out to go shopping, a bit troublesome but sometimes we can make some fun out of it.

as for not talking much, i think all babies has their own internal milestones to meet. my boy started to speak properly only after he turns 2 and he is talking non stop now. lele can only manage a few words only but i think she will slowly pick up. She already has taken her MMR jab.

hope to meet up with you too. weekend is best for me but hopefully somewhere central as to lug 2 kids to take bus is quite a challenge.

Hi Shirley,

I cud spare some time over wkends too if plan well in advance... we all share in common with preschoolers kids to tend for. Mothers though "wei-da" indeed but afterall still need to get emotional support among friends of same ... it will be nice to catch up with all keen mummies like on a monthly basis or so but i am sorry to admit that i am bad at coordinating such events... So, is there anyone out there willling & good at planning for our coming gathering...?? HELP !!! Hear from u, yah. thxs - RAR

For me as a mother? These few days makes me go nuts. I felt suffocating from being what I am. I never dream that I will be a housewife!

I love my children and cheerish all the moment i have with them. And I understand perfectly they are more important than anything else. My presence with them at home - cannot be exchange with anything. But some part inside of me - tryin to break free - and currently under shut down deep inside my little tiny corner in my heart.

Now, the chorus and fate being a full time housewife makes me -extraordinary cancer-ill in my soul. Now, i keep thinking how to cure this.

Everytime, i am thinking to move forward, the miraculous adorable faces make me step back again. How can i left my babies for permanent job? or a career I used to have?

But being at home, make me feel so small everyday.

I am so happy, most of you are finding the right place at home. It's so lucky to be able to do what's you like. Really!

I'm talking too much. Sorry to bored all of you.

Hi ABC Mummy & Kelly,

so, i got yr meanings for the initals... Well my username stands for my hubby,goodself and son's first alphabet names in order... but what kelly had suggested sounds ideal for me too... i do like it as "Rest & Relax" - which is a theme that i wish to aim for myself now.

Abc Mummy,
I do agree that it takes time to get the child adjusted to stollers but i think maybe we had pampered him too much to be cuddled most than left alone. So, if i cud ever have a second one(which is not poss, i know) ... i wud have learnt a priceless lesson..heehee. If we could all get to meet tog with the keen mummies so far like Shirley, Clover, Abc Mummy, Yt, Kathy,myself and so on.... it would be a nice gathering to catch up with all to share more, yah?? Is there any mummies free or able to take up the coordinating role to plan for one ....??? thanks - RAR

Hi Mikael,

Dont feel bad for thinking and feeling as such. The reason you could be so torn between and thus feeling such is all becos you so love your child that makes you so contradicting. Likewise, i am in same boat as have shared with some mummies. I feel small and "useless" at times too for not being able to play the dual-role that i had wished between career and son. Is indeed that i love him so much that i wish to give and provide him more than i ever cud... thus i wish to balance my life with both. sometimes... I wish that my time is a "quality" time spend with him all times but not just being with him whole day yet compromising on the quality as i tend to feel so physically drained only at half of the day... ??? - RAR

Hi petrina,

So, we share same names for our son... btw, how old yr boy begins to walk cos ryan still cant even stand up firmly on his own except holding on sth. He cud only take 3 wobly unaided steps... he is turning 15mths in 1 wk... so inevitably i tend to get a little paranoid now abt his walking ability... how to help him walk better and faster ?? any suggestions ? thks - RAR

Hi Kathy,

I dont think i can be on par with u cos taking care of 2dogs and a child is not easy ... well that i can understand your busy and "stressful" life too. Btw, are you a Sahm full time too ? - RAR

Hi YT & Clover,

So you will be nearer to Clover who stays at AMK too...? So do your meet often...? Yes, it would be nice to meet over a gathering...but i am not good at planning for one.. cud anyone able to organise for one then ?? Heehee. thanks & rdgs - RAR

Freebies notice: http://web.kao.com/sg/f/ Sample for Laurier

Btw, is the gathering at YT plc still on? I'll cfm again cos might be gng to ICA to collect passport.

4 Jul Gathering
1. YT
2. Babypink

I had switched Phoebe to Friso 3. Found this had a v strong vanilla smell. And she alys leave 50ml at the end. Shld I change milk powder?

Hi rar,
I'm a sahm w 3 kids (7, 4 and 1) and a dog (9) 1.5yrs ago without helper. For me, I've learnt to strike a balance between family and ME time. I cook and bake (not very well though) for my family and started a blog for myself (ME time). Also, I try to meetup with some friends where possible to maintain my sanity.

And to requote, between a supermom and a happy mom, I choose the latter

RAR & Clover,

unfortunately im not a SAHM, tink it will drive me crazy..i wk 5 days week..my boi will stay at my ILS from Mon to Fri and from fri nite to sun nite will be wif me..i'm considering whether to bring home every nite except for nites where hubi works nite.Its difficult for me to manage him alone if hubi wks nite as his shift is not fixed.

I dun have much time left for myself every nite, reach home 10+, bathe, do hsework etc..by the time i sleep its around 12-1am, then next day wake up at 6+ to prepare to go work.

Once a mth I will take 1.5 day leave to go shopping with sis or hubi, I always feel guilty for not letting my mil know but I need to have some time to do my own thing as well..try to minimise any misunderstanding la..she's a v understanding mil tho.

RAR, why u not tinking of a 2nd one?My options are open but tink hubi scared liao, I told him its better to start planning 2nd one nw cos in 5 years time we will be too old to run after them, furthermore if my ils is willing to help me, y not?

My boi coming to 16mths tis week but he is still managing a few steps on his own, i aso worried but bopian, cun force him rite?

Jeangal,

but i notice my boi everytime wan to come down n walk and we will hold him lor, at least he tried..i suspect maybe he is not confident enuf to walk by himself, let's hope one day i go home n c him walk by himself, tink it will be a big surprise for me.

mummies- cun join on the 4th jul cos have to bring him to the gym. Enjoy...

Anna
mine is born on 14 March 2008 =) his name is Kyzac

Reena
hehe, i noe u will be happy to have 4th =) me too..haha, even when my #3 has not even appear yet

let's hope my 3rd & 4th can appear tog :p

the next round will be my last birth..so def dun mind twins
looking at sep 2010 to add the 4th virgo into the family (currently, both hb&me and my 1st gal r sep virgos:p) ..wish me good luck hehe

Gathering on Friday 3 July anyone on ? =)

Kell
both 3 July and 4th July I am fine ") let's see whether more mummies prefer weekday or weekend bah
regarding frisco3, kyzac been having for the past 5 months leh, so far ok..

maybe u would like to try GainIQ?

Kathy
hehe, i like to sneak out with my gfs or hb on my leave day without telling my mum i m not working =p have some working mum pals doing the same..

kathy/jeangal, dun be worried. Taking assisted steps means they are learning how to walk. Just give them time. My boy took a few assisted steps today when he tot i'm not looking. Haha. Otherwise he wants to hold my hand or me carrying him. Enjoy this period. He's 15mths tomolo n my mom said i didn't walk until 16mths, so i just wait.

rar, i prefer week day coz weekend is family time.

Reena,
wow! you r really champion leh. Thinking of no. 4? I m thinking of stopping at 1 liao.

Walking bb,
Y I say stopping at 1 child. When u all see my boy you will see how active my son is.
For those whose bb is not walking yet, do treasure it! Its really a headache when my son starts to walk. My son is soooooo.... active that he would run after he learn how to walk. Wat is best is that he was not steady n walk like a drunkard cat. Always fall down on the back of his head. Knock here and there. He is like a bulldozer that will knock anyone or anything that comes in his way! Gosh! Now he is not only walking, running and also climbing the window grilles. I really wonder if he is born in the year of Rat or Monkey. Hahhahahha!
But I mus admit he really got my genes cos I was like that in the past! Hahahahhaha!

Gathering,
3rd July is a better day for me. I jus discovered that I haf a workshop in office on 4th July from 2-4.30pm. Unless you all dun mind to come around 5pm or 6pm.
3rd July around noon time is it ok for you?
Ashley, you mus come hor.. you are so near me.

i kpo again, it is noon =)

Transformers
we caught this yday and there are many many primary sch children catching the show..
honestly, i wun bring my kids to watch this show, not very cartoony at all and quite a lot of intensive kissing
dun noe it is becos i m behind times :p

Hello!!!!
Long time never login been very very bz!

Wow talking about #1 2 and 3 huh!
I would love to have #3 but not now. probably another 3 to 5 years

Last 6 weeks was very very terrible for me. i have lessons 4 days a week and my weekends are all burnt!
Glad that this weekend onwards no more weekend classes!

in fact there is no ME time at all for this 6 weeks! i reach home about 10pm to 12am bathe and sleep. next day wake up 6am to prepare kim for CC.. thankfully i have my hubby to help me! if not i fainted long long time ago.. hehee..

Transformers
i am bringing kim to go watch leh hahaha..

Good day everyone! from yday onwards, my weekends are sooooo precious! cause it's finally time spent with the kiddos!

i saw transformers on friday. i liked it. many kids in the cinema cause i went in the late afternoon.

hb n i had some US time on thursday & friday. monday we're bringing ryan to the zoo.
after tat he's off to slog for the company again.. till the next approved leave

Hi mummies, have not been logging in as I'm busy wif work~

Transformer
Watched yesterday with my bro & some friends~ Total 8 of us. Saw a group of youngsters occupying 2 rows of the seat.. Can see how 'attractive' Transformer is~

I agree that there's quite a few scene with intensive kissing that is not very suitable for the kids... And I find tat it's quite violent too...

Will be bringing the 2 elder monkeys to watch Ice Age 3 next Sunday & will watch 'Up' after that when it launch... Hopefully the boys will like it~

Clover, Kell n Mummies,
sorry to disappoint you guys... there is some issues in my family tat i need to settle so wun be able to entertain guests for the next two weeks. Will inform you guys the dates again. So sorry. Wanted to arrange play dates a few times liao but always not successful. Pai say....

hi there, i'm planning to go to Yio Chu Kang Swimming Complex on 6th July. Heard that it has slides and water features. Anyone keen to join my platoon? hehehe

Venue: Yio Chu Kang Swimming Complex
Time: AM around 9.30am or PM around 4pm
Date/Day: 6th July / Monday

1. kais & platoon

Good Morning all!

YT: Its ok. We can alys re-schedule.

Kais: Sorry, can't make it to join u. I didnt know abt the YCK one but I know Yew Tee/CCK and Jurong East (JE is more for older kids) has these water play features. Bring sun block and have fun! You can chk out the webby here:
http://www.ssc.gov.sg/publish/Corporate/en/participation/hotspot/sports_facility/swimming_complex.html?CFC_cK=1216348731617&CFC_scrollTop=0

I am so eagerly waiting to catch Transformers. Hopefully can watch tdy or tml night.

Regarding 3 July 2009 Friday Gathering

how many ladies are ok to join that day ? =)

venue we can always think of a place later.

BBpink: sorry, unable to make it on weekdays. :p We try another weekend for botanic gardens k.

I think I am soo lucky. I was just thinking of catching transfomers tonite, then my mgr just told us to attend dinner w customer tonite. Hahaha

Updates on Charmaine:
Learnt from Class 95 that they got abt SGD360k after a Tampines Event. Their target is SGD500k. Happy for them that the donation and awareness level went high up.

Hi Friendz,

I hv yet to meet up with any mummies... I cud try to allocate some time mtg on 3rd July... Wud prefer town area whereby we cud lunch out tog...if your are comfortable with it ?? - RAR

Adeline/RAR

place i am still thinking =) time we can either have brunch or lunch, u gals ok ?

venue wise i will go with the majority ") next to mrt would be good cos i m bringing kyzac along

I might me able to join in on 3RD July
. If u want, can come my place for tea
i have a full fledged play centre now. Entire living room belongs to my GEM now. threw away my sofa. can also set up a mini swimming pool outside the house along the corridor

hi it just dawn on me. how about we go to bishan park? there is a children playground there suitable for our kiddos with the bucket swing seat. Can picnic there

Gathering: Bishan Park Picnic
Date: 3 July
time: 5pm

1. Kais with GEM

Good Morning all.

Phoebe got a cold while swimming on Sun. She got runny nose on Mon and it became slight fever now. ~oops~ Its been a bit windy these few days.

Hope she gets well soon. I think I'm a bad mummy.

Hi Kais, adeline, babypink, ...

I m unable to join at 5pm Bishan Pk... cos hv to be home for sth...by 6pm thus is rush. could only meet for lunch for brunch. u gals hv a fun-day then. meet again next time. rdgs - RAR

I m stuck on the varities of food that i cud whip for my 15mths old's meals... currently putting him on 2 solids & a breakfast cereal & milk feeds a day. But due to my laziness, i had only prepare porridge with all "throw-ins" in slow-pot with two(2) servings for early noon and mid noon. My boy is getting bored with his porridge now and i need mega time and efforts to coax him to eat nowadays... guess he is tired of the same food everyday ?? What food do your prepare for yr kid of same and the varities that you can recommend... can anyone advise me more on that ?? Btw, is soya milk selling in stores like jollibe fine for him now too ? And also the Marigold fresh milk good for his age now ...? Pls advise. Heaps thanks !! - RAR

Hi RAR,
If you were to ask me, I give anything :p My kids started table food before they turn 1. You may introduce fresh milk/UHT milk when they turn 1 yo. Except DD1, my kids are introduced to fresh/UHT milk when they are 1yo, never on formula milk.

Hi RAR,
I also feed table food at this age. But for rice, I will mix with soup and mash a bit before feeding. Try to cut out msg and salt for home-cooked stuff, then its ok to feed.

I dunno abt soya milk. Hehe. But thought soy will cause wind in tummy. I still give full cream milk, eg formula or fresh milk. I give fresh milk if I forget to bring formula out. Importantly is NO low fat milk/yogurt/cheese. Children needs the fats to develop their brains.

I think most foods are ok except crustaceans? Most of them will give allergy before 2yo/3yo. I get mild attack aft taking crabs (esp local types) so I will not intro her before 3.

HB let Phoebe taste tobasco sauce cos she keep snatching at his steak. Aft one lick, and a scream, she guai guai sit there and nv bother him or his steak again. LOL