(2008/03) March 2008

Kell
I did Atkins diet bfor which starts with no carbo and later v. v. little carbo, so everyday ate meat, meat and more meat...i thot it's perfect for someone like me (i.e. carnivorous haha) but whenever i'm deprived of something, will start to miss the rice, noodles, soft drinks, and then when eating outside, i realise that all the sauces contain sugar or carb...so diet not successful....so far the meal replacement not so restrictive, just take it instead of a regular meal and then it's back to all the unhealthy food haha....but hor so far also no effect but i still have hope ;)

gosh bb tommy finally fell asleep...been putting him to nap since 3pm but with so many interruptions...anyway glad he nap or else he would be too cranky for dinner

Hey all, I came across this blog and I was saddened by it. It's about a not quite 4yo girl's battle with stage 4 cancer. Her chance of survival is very low if she continue to seek treatment here in SG. Her chance will be higher if she receive a drug treatment from US, but the medical fee is very hefty.

Little Charmaine's blog is at--> http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com/
Her medical report--> http://www.ourfeistyprincess.com/campaign/docs/letter_from_Dr_Aung.pdf

I'm trying my best to help them. No, I am not related to them in anyway, but I am sure if you read her story, you will be as moved as I am.

Please pass on this message to your family/friends/colleagues and if you can, donate or raise funds for her.

clover
The gal happen to be my gf's fren's daughter. Very sad.. however we do wat we can to help...

pet
not tat i dun wan him to slp longer, he jus refuse...so bo pian

saw the blog, really feel very sad for the little gal & her family

hope the funds will be sufficient soon

6 June 4PM at Swan Lake (Tanglin Entrance with the Air Con food court)
1) Kell, HB, and Phoebe
2) Bbpink, Family and Kyzac
3) CK, Yvonne and Bryan
4) Summerdaze, HB and Giselle
5) Serene and Family
6) Shirley and Family (might make it)

Shall we work together to raise funds for the little girl charmaine?

Maybe we can try to sell cakes or muffins? Anyone with any ideas? Maybe we can go to the different threads to solicit support in our fund raising efforts?

Cool.

But would it be unlawful to solicit for something which is not approved? Something like you need a charity cert to solicit for donations.

I dunno the regulations. But I think just giving whatever $$ we could come up with is more "no strings attached".

I just dropped them an email. Dunno if they got help from Ronald Macdonalds Children's Fund or Children Society...

Feeling so depressing reading all these news. From the Air France disappearance, terrorist killing innocent ppl again, to our Soliders helping casualities in the Afghan war.

kell, do focus on the +ve. there are good and bad events happening everyday, just that newspaper will tend to report on the -ve more to sell more papers.

kais, i was thinking we can consolidate the fund together and donate to them. it's so heartwrenching for this to happened to anyone, letalone a 4yo cute girl.

Clover: Thanks. Will look to the other side. LOL.
Your food pic made me very hungry. I am eating those pancake/waffle and it suddenly turn not tasty after I seen the pic. I love this type of meal. Esp lightly grilled veges. So yummyyy...

Update again when I got a reply.

Kell,

Can I join you all for the outing this Sat?

1) Kell, HB, and Phoebe
2) Bbpink, Family and Kyzac
3) CK, Yvonne and Bryan
4) Summerdaze, HB and Giselle
5) Serene and Family
6) Shirley and Family (might make it)
7) blue_skies, HB and James

Is there anything else which we need? I can bring some pastries if no one is bringing that.

Oh dear, just read the link on little Charmaine. It's really sad to see the mother like that. I wonder if there are also other parents in similar situations but which we do not know of.

Let me know if anyone's collecting anything for fund-raising. (I don't trust my baking skills)

kell/clover

i dropped a mail to cyn before on charmaine donation. wanted to give them the donation but i totally forgot about it once i started travelling. felt so bad about it but i do want to give them a donation. its a good idea to consolidate the fund. i must go and dig out the mail to see the bank details.

Princess Charmaine
Yes, I got the bank details.
They are supp to go US in Jul (next month) for the treatment. I dunno how far are they to meeting US$350k.

Should we pool our $ togets and send? If you trust me enuff to make me the final payment? I can't come up with much myself, but its better than nothing.

Please email/PM me [email protected]. I will do up a list showing name and donation amount for those of us in Charmaine's Pool, if you are comfy appointing me. If not, I will forward u the bank details email. Let me know.

kell, tks so much for the volunteering. yay! I hv a suggestion. since the $ to be collected is going to be quite a sum, can we appoint someone as the "auditor" to verify the donations? not tt I dun trust u, but it's better to be careful with others' $ n reduce chances of allegations.

erm, then the auditor will know all my details leh like i alys have $0 left in my bank account! wahahahha. who wanna volunteer?

yeah, better have another person email in the to field to have more transparency...

Princess Charmaine (http://ourfeistyprincess.com/donors_to_note.php)

Points to note
1. I have limited access to email on Sat and Sun.
2. I will trf to Charmaine/Cynthia by 12 Jun 9pm
3. Cut off date/time 12 Jun 12pm.
4. Please email me details (so there's B&W evidence)
Name:
Amount Transferred:
Date/Time of transfer: Best to use the IB reference number easier to trace
5. I will collate details and send updates to all who had join this pool. Thus you should be comfy with letting this pool of us know the amount and your name/nick. I will send BCC to keep your email private.

I think thats abt it. its ok even if you can only afford like $5. its alys better than nothing.

let me know if there's anything you want me to note.

God Bless all of you for your kind heart and compassionate soul

Disclaimer: If this turns out to be a scam (which I don't think so), pls don't blame me cos I based my facts truly and solely upon the website/blog.

We have max 7 families attending.

Food List:
1. Bbpink - Fried Bee Hoon
2. Kell - Drinks (any pkt or canned drinks can do right)
3. CK - Paper plates, fork, Cup
4. Blueskies - Pastries

So we'll see all at swan lake k? I should be easy to spot with bag of drinks! LOL
CK - will u still be walking from Tanglin?

Hope Phoebe cooperate on her nap time tml. She dun like to nap on weekends. Faint.

Kell

Can u send me the bank details of Charmaine? =)
Will be raising funds in my office

i have sent in my contact via website but no news yet.

babypink: i'm cool with the suggestion

Singapore Pools
I tried my luck buying the scratch cards. Just learnt from my coll abt it. I'm so suaku. LOL Its like playing tic tac toe and the card is only $1. Then I blur blur scratch the prize corner and it showed $10k. I thought its I win 10k. but asked my coll and she said must have a roll of same pattern then can win the 10k. Lucky I nv go to the counter and ask the cashier to give me 10k. I think she will laugh until she fall off her high chair.

wow, if really 10k will be so nice ! =p

so far i have buy toto & 4D and has never win a single cent..never try scratch card b4

hehe, will try next week

a new weekend haunt to introduce =)

http://aerogreentech.com.sg/aero/home.htm

Click on Uncle Ringo has a Farm

Starting from the 6th June, Aerogreen Farm is teaming up with Uncle Ringo to bring you the first ever “farm fun fair” in Singapore.

Your family and school can enjoy many exciting fun fair rides and exploring the high-tech aeroponic farming in the relaxing and beautiful surrounding of our 5.7 hectare of fruit and vegetable garden.

btw, hav anyone bot the highly recommended Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

have yet to buy myself

we can have a book gathering this Sunday @ Borders ")

http://www.borders.com.sg/in-store.asp
Sunday 7th June 2009 4pm Kids Atrium The best-loved stories by Eric Carle come alive in our storytime and activity session on Sunday at 4pm.

I'm logging off net. Very happy that we are a kind bunch of mummies!

I will send email updates on Princess Charmaine on Mon.

Enjoy the weekends!

Kell,
I would like to do a little bit for little charmaine too.. The before and after chemo pic of her makes my heart ache. But I can't donate much as I've just started my new job. Pls send me ur bank details as I seldom check into the thread.. Thank you..

when is the latest that a 15th mth old boy muz walk? I'm getting worried cos he's taking a few steps oni. How to encourage him to walk, i'm not using a walker.