Mummy Boy,
There are few types of Child Relief:
We are eligible for Qualifying CR (QCR) and Working Mum CR (WMCR).
For 1 child family, we call first child X, mummy and daddy can claim a maximum amt of relief of $50k for X.
Daddy can only claim QCR on X, so he take QCR of $4k. If mummy is a high flier, you can take QCR from HB. But have to make sure HB don't claim at all. If not will be commiting offence for dbl claiming.
Then mummy claim WMCR on X = 15% of mummy's income.
Because each child is limited to a max relief of $50k, after - $4k (daddy) = $46k left for mummy. If u claim $46k means your are earning like $300k a year.
And I missed out a one time Parenthood Tax Rebate (PTR) of $5000, which can be shared btw mummy and daddy. Deductable on your tak payable and balance not utilised in this year can be carried forward to next yr until fully utilised.
Thereafter deducting all reliefs from your income, and if this amount is less than $20,000, you don't have to pay tax liao.
However, you have to remember to submit the BC for claiming child relief lah. Link posted before and here:
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=220
You can calculate (estimation) your tax payable here:
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/uploadedFiles/Quick_Links/e-Tax_Guides/Individuals_and_employees/How-to-calculate-your-tax.xls