(2008/03) March 2008

Liyun
Sry to KPO, ur mum so young.. That makes me wonder how old are u???

Mum's age: My mum is only 45 this yr. My MIL & my grandma almost same age.. Difference by a year or 2 only~

Wow. Haha! I really envy Isabella... Even if I knew my hubby 10 years ago, he won't marry me at the time lor.

Liyun:
Your mum is very young. Good to help you chase Issac around.
I also didnt know to claim parent relief, parent must be above 55. You can claim grandparent/caregiver relief - $3000.
This yr you can claim child relief liao. For babies borned in 2008 - Maximum Child Relief is $50k for each child, with 2 parts $4000 (QCR) and 15% of annual income (WMCR only for mums). Eg, HB can take $4000, you take the 15% of your income, capped at $46000.

Do I sound messy? Anyway, I found SG tax issues confusing lah. I spent almost 5 yrs studying this and it keep changing lor.
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=220

For the majority of us. This yr cfm no need to pay tax. Thats why I'm thinking of holiday~ :D

For my family, my mum is the youngest at 50, my FIL is 71.

oh ya. the deadline for income tax reporting is nearing soon. Think this year I will have a hard time.. Still got child relief etc..

Hmm, I don't understand the 15% of income thing leh. So it's deduct $4000 from hubby 1st? The amount is a fixed amount?? 15% of annual income seems a lot..

Does that means I don't have to pay income tax this year? :p

Mummy Boy,
There are few types of Child Relief:
We are eligible for Qualifying CR (QCR) and Working Mum CR (WMCR).
For 1 child family, we call first child X, mummy and daddy can claim a maximum amt of relief of $50k for X.

Daddy can only claim QCR on X, so he take QCR of $4k. If mummy is a high flier, you can take QCR from HB. But have to make sure HB don't claim at all. If not will be commiting offence for dbl claiming.

Then mummy claim WMCR on X = 15% of mummy's income.
Because each child is limited to a max relief of $50k, after - $4k (daddy) = $46k left for mummy. If u claim $46k means your are earning like $300k a year.

And I missed out a one time Parenthood Tax Rebate (PTR) of $5000, which can be shared btw mummy and daddy. Deductable on your tak payable and balance not utilised in this year can be carried forward to next yr until fully utilised.

Thereafter deducting all reliefs from your income, and if this amount is less than $20,000, you don't have to pay tax liao.

However, you have to remember to submit the BC for claiming child relief lah. Link posted before and here: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=220

You can calculate (estimation) your tax payable here:
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/uploadedFiles/Quick_Links/e-Tax_Guides/Individuals_and_employees/How-to-calculate-your-tax.xls

To add on:
QCR $4k for first child is fixed.
PTR $5k for first child is fixed.
Child relief limit for each child is also fixed at maximum $50k.

The tax issue is making me headache~

Kell,
no need to envy me.. And I think you will not even wanna envy me if u know I married under what kind of circumstances~ =)

Isabella,
Ok, I envy you and you envy me lah. Every hse got a problematic recital book. Lol.

For you, confirm no need to pay tax with 3 in tow. LOL.

wow kell. thanks for your explanation.

kell
tat's sounds nice & chim ! the english translation is perfect :p
i will use tat phrase if i need with my non-chinese friends..hehe, bet they will be impressed too

Kell, ur FIL & my FIL are both in their 70s, my pals tot my hb's parents r his grandparents during our wedding..

talking abt tax
last yr got summon for not submitting mine, BUT i did post it out..yeah, i am still using snail mail ..

hb din noe i hav been posting all along and was commenting the aunties in his office post out their income tax forms during lunchtime, and that they are so behind times
then i was like.."me too"

Babypink: Aiyoh. I think its safer for you to go set up your singpass and use it to e-file. Safer and reliable. I believe it was lost in mail or misplaced, too many papers bah.

ahahaha talking abt mom's age?
quite a number of us mom quite young.
My mom is 43 this year..

But isabelli more power. mom 45 and have 3 grandchild.

my mom 43 and 2 only.. hahaa..

My boy can only walk when we hold his hand. He can only stand when we steady him n let go without him knowing.. He's just too lazy to learn walking n too comfy crawling around~

yasmin, congrats too.. i'm trying to get Ryan to walk. he can walk but he's darn lazy. so i always make him stand then i'll walk away so he can come after me. but i only try it in the play yard. cause i scared he fall flat on his face.
so far, he only walks max 5 steps b4 he falls on my lap. but i'm glad he's cruising like an expert now.

hehe..thanks ladies. my boy was not conscious of his walking at first. when he would realise it, he would crawl the rest of the distance. but yesterday, he was full of concentration. trying to balance and take steps. was really cute to watch

FOr those kids who hv yet to walk, I guess they would do it when they think they are ready. CHia yo!

Yasmin:
I don really find it a very fun thing when they starts to walk... I am 1 of the first few mummies who have to chase a drunken baby all over the place at parties....

liyun
thinking of issac yday so funny.. suddenly like drunken run and turn round and round then fall down. lol!...

Yasmin
congratz.. mine is still happily crawling as well..
and she only manage to learn standing unassisted hee...

Liyun
As some of u know, I am one those mummies who is very proud of my baby crossing milestones. I dun force him but when he does get to them, I am overjoyed..Kekeke...

BEing a first time mum and a SAHM at that, I learn from my baby. I learnt that our babies have different phases and each phase comes with its set of joys and challenges. The respite being when one new set comes, the old set fades off. I remember I used to place pillows all over my baby when he was learning to sit. but when he started to crawl, I didn't have that issue anymore. I didn't have to carry him as much but of cos my table tops had to be cleared, ornaments had to be put away, etc, etc....

Its so nice to see him grow and even nicer to share these wonderful experiences with fellow ladies like yourselves
hehehe..pardon me for being emotional.

Yasmin B
I can understand how u feel.. Even after 3 kids. I still feel the way u do~ I'm proud of my kids crossing milestones, but i dun force them.. I enjoy teaching them though~

din post for a while. I have very busy with my work n home thats y has been posting only reading it. I finally fallen sick. I think I was too tired.
Clover n Bubble, sorry din turn up in your babies' parties. Hope you had wonderful time.
Thanks Clover, Babypink, Celest for the gifts for my boy's bday. Sorry was not there to receive it personally. Shouldn't have taken the trouble to get him gifts as his bday is already over n he only haf a celebration with his family members.
But this lazy mummy, jus managed to get JK to pick up things ceremony only today. Hahhahaha! He picked up ruler, orange then $100 note. Anyone care to tell me what it means?
I was kinda free today but I dun think I wanna turn up a party full of babies with my mucus flowing like a tap. I might spread the virus to the babies. I m quite conscious in this sense. Sorry but I cannot stand those people who is sick n still ran about in the public esp with babies around. I slept the whole day today but my hubby drag me to NTUC in the evening. So I was masked like a surgeon in operating theatre. Alotsa people was staring at me but I dun care. I know I was jus doing my small little part to stop the virus from spreading esp to my son. Or maybe they are thinking... 'hey, since you are sick, stay home!' Hahhahaha!

Yasmin,
totally agree n understand how you feel as I was a SAHM for a while as well.

Liyun,
I m like you chasing after a drunken cat as well. Oh, your mum is certainly a young granny.
My mum got married at 17 as she is pregnant with my eldest sis. She is not 58 yrs old. My dad is 69 yrs old. Yar... and a cradle snatcher! Hahhaha!

Kell,
You are one funny but chim lady. hahahhaha!

Yasmin B:
ya... I enjoy looking at him taking his first step and making NEW monkey things to me everyday as currently I am a SAHM (temp) while I search for a job. If possible I would like a part-time job instead so to spent time with him but up to date, I've yet to come across anything that I can go for.

YT: Hope you get well soon, me too... my coughing comes on anytime too since I caught the vires from Isaac. No lah, they're amaze and maybe wondering are you a Singaporean cos there's so much encounters I had at being "shock" by the uncle near me who sneese so LOUD & HARD I think can scare a heart-attack patient to death....

Kell,
Thanks for the info on the offer on dining at Shangri-La. Interesting offer! Will wait for my dad's 61st birthday :D But it says "Prior reservations required" and "Subject to availability" so wonder how long it will last.

After seeing all the posts on income tax, realised that I haven't filed mine yet :p

Btw for working mothers, you can also claim Foreign Maid Levy Relief.

Good morning Mommies,

Can I share my grievances here? Am feeling lousy since yesterday....

Yesterday morning went to IMM with hubby, then we go Daiso. As I was looking thru some stationary, I overheard a man scolding "Bodohlah kau ni...tak tahu jalan ke?" ( Stupid you.. don't know how to walk ah?) and I look with the corner of my eye and I saw a scruffy man semi-dragging a kid probably 2-3yrs old with him. Then he make the kid stand near a pillar and he shove some things into the kid's backpack! And then "drag" him away... the fella was shoplifting and making the kid his mule!!!!!

I felt disgusted, utterly sad for the boy but the worst thing was I did nothing! I look for hubby and then told him let's go and when we're out of Daiso then I told hubby what I saw.
I can't stop feeling guilty for not doing anything. I told hubby all this while I thought I am brave and righteous but I realize I am actually a coward. Hubby consoled me by saying "it's ok to feel fear at the moment cos you do not know what's gonna happen to you for...and should something happen to you who's gonna take care of your 3 kids?" I told him the least I could do was say "Hey what're you doing?!!" but nope I just walk away. I pity the boy; I really hope the man would die early somehow before the kid learn that shoplifting is way of life.

I hate being unprepared for situations like these.... I mean I have all these thoughts that "this is what I'll do if"s but when it happen I am too stunned to react what I should have reacted. Argh!!!

Yasmin,

Wow Zayed walking already - well done! Like some mommies I am one of those who wouldn't mind if the babies take their time to learn to walk cos it means I get to play catch later! Hehe... and I guess my babies get the vibes I'm sending!

YT,

Well done! Health Promotion Board would be proud of you- at least someone is practising what they preach! It's difficult for the public to accept the practice; cos when you are sick with stuffy or runny nose or itchy throat the last thing you want is to wear a mask! The only compliance you see is at the A&E in hospitals and during SARS period.

If it were me I'd rather stay home then to have people staring at me.

lefty: hugz... dun be upset. there r moments where we r caught unaware. if i were u, i may also be stunned. dare not say anything too.

Lefty: Its the moment like this that makes me very compelled to learn Muay Thai... If case anything goes wrong, I still can defend myself.
Wahahaha.

I think there's nothing much you can do to help also. If you shout at that man, the result will also be he's walking away... Nvm, we'll take a look out from now.

Lefty:
I can understand how u feel so lost. We wana do something yet cant respond. Although if we could report the man, I feel it is better for the kid to be able to learn what the man do is NOT a correct thing. worry the kid will grow up thinking stealing is ok.... But then again, if we report, will the poor kid kana when he gets home? hard to think of how we should help these poor kids...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies - I am from the Sept 08 thread. Want to check if anyone is keen on a Fisher Price 3-in-1 rocker swing cos I got it for my son and he doesn't quite use it (cannot sit still, too hyperactive!) and it is taking up space in his room. Its hardly used and almost brand new. Original price is >$200, but am okie to let go for $90.

Details at:
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Fisher-Price-Smart-Stages-3-in-1-Rocker-Swing_W0QQitemZ330316153657QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_216?hash=item330316153657&amp;_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&amp;_trkparms=72%3A1240%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

Pls PM me if keen

Lefty
My heart goes out to the kid..

But if I were u, I would also act the way u do.. Too stunned... To know that this kind of thing still happen in singapore.. Somethings are out of our control.. We just have to accept that~ Dun think too much, my dear~

Buddhist believe in Karma, maybe this is what the little boy get for doing wrong things in the past..

Yutong &amp; Liyun
hope u two are recovering well

Yutong
hehe, still need ur hb's help to solve my retrieve pics issues..
i think my 7 march 2009 folder is totally gone and there are a lot of nice pics there, very sad, i thought I copy &amp; paste from my PC to a memory card, then delete the folder from memory card after choosing 2 pieces for developing. But i din noe I hav cut &amp; copy from my PC

Lefty
Can understand y u din approach the man directly, we never noe whether he is armed and u have 3 young babies with u .
I feel sorry for the kid who is being forced to carry wat the man has shoplifted.

lately my sis brought back this stray dog to my parents' place ..and today my mum was saying to me
even the dog is more well-behaved than kyzac who is always very noisy
sigh*

babypink, my boi aso v grouchy &amp; keeps makg noise whole day. Oni smile when we bring him out. Im oni performing my duty as weekends mother aso cant tahan. I wonder y they r so naughty... Sigh... Dun mean to b bad. I find working less stressful compared to handling him.

Lefty
Ya, i thin i wd also be at a loss if i witnessed that scene. Hmm e kid is really a victim of e old man' manipulation. I hope e kid will grow up fine. Really sad to c incidents as such

When is e bd bash again? m coming back this thurs n leave on next sun.

Hmm going to take shevon for e pneumococcal jab after her 1st bd. Once i let her take e 1st jab, can she start lesson? I have enrolled her for class n wd be skipping this sun' class. When i come back to kl then let her take jab.

Any concern i need to take note esp those bb that have taken the jabs?