(2008/03) March 2008

Isabellali,
your boy looks like a grown up, he can sit so stil n well.

Active toddlers,
I should shake hands wif Liyun. My boy is equally active n rough. He is name as "road runner" by the teacher in his playgroup. "beep beep!"

Bbpink,
aiya... dun need to thank la. I ask him to call you cos I am an IT idiot. I always tell people thats y I marry him. Besides, haven't even help. Even though if he help dun even noe can retrieve or not. I m jus being kapo la.

Kell,
Phobe is sooo... cute! hmm... potential daughter-in-law.

Kresentia,
Regarding playing rough, its ok if Phoebe is aggressive like Issaac. But she's nv been to such playground so I scared she kenna kicked or shoved. Wahahaha. She's "dazed" and sit in ball pits and licks (faint) balls. Then those 2yo jumps around her. All the toddlers there are very young, they don't understand what is rough...

If your boys are active, then bring them to burn their energy. Have to watch to make sure they don't bully or kenna bullied can liao.

Melissa,
Your last sentence keep flashing in my mind... "cannot tahan the good deals!" Now suffering from "shopaholic withdrawal symptoms" at my desk...

IT shows,
I was in the lift yesterday evening n these two youngsters were carrying so many bags of items that block my way out of the lift. I glimpse on the items inside and I saw IT stuff. I casually said to them " wow, you guys went IT show is it?" They replied happily, "Yes!"
My hubby was there yesterday as their reseller is one of the exhibitors there. He told me early morning even before its open, people are there queuing. When the doors r opened, the people jus gushed in! Like grabbing for free things! He commented to me " Singapore got recession meh?!" Hahahaahha!

Kell,
you are so humourous! Wahhahah!

Melissa
Alot of good lobangs at the IT show?? Hubby going this weekend.. Is the prices 'much' better compared to outside?? The previous few IT shows I went, the prices OK only..

I dunno if I can classified as rough... But he is sure violent... Everytime I tell him not to do aomething in a reproaching manner, he will beat me.. And will always beat ppl when he's not happy about something.. Haiz~ Really a terror~

Isabella
kyzac will cry very sadly if u tell him not to do something since some months ago, we always call him a crybaby :p he cries a lot for a boy

kell
Pheobe is indeed very adorable
Fidgets i feel is good for older kids, even when i brot kelicia there last yr, feel it is a bit young

Erny
ur hb can speak chinese ? u too ?
wow..
nevermind, i see ur boy tmr or even in future , i will talk to him in chinese

Melissa
my memory card only have 3 march pics tat's all..sad
lucky i was lazy and used another memory card to insert in my camera after taking pics tat day on 3 mar, so at least still have 1 day undeleted

Yutong
ur hb is such a nice chap..he call my hp to help but i was telling him my home pc is at not with me ..u r very hepful urself
thanks for the playmats

Pet
thanks in advance for the playyard
will collect tmr morning ..with a playyard & playmat, hope all will have a good time tmr

IT Fair
the last time i went was 2004 ! cos tat time got my 1st digital camera..after tat, the timing of the fair came after i already bot items whether it is another camera or pc , so have yet to go again

talking abt hb, few days ago, he tells me he is worried tat my gal may be autistic

according to him, my 29 months gal does not converse and is sometimes like a parrot, she is very quiet in her school too..we dun really understand her converations..

make me worried..in fact i used to worry cos when she was very young, she dun smile at all

PS: for those who have met kelicia, wat say u ?

IT Fair
i go there like 4x a year.. cause hb is IT freak. he always say muz go as it's impt for him to find out the new stuffs n pricelists...
Last yr also went wif Ryan in tow. but this yr i'm missing it cause Ryan had his booster pneumo jab yest.

bbpink: can retrieve, provided it's not corrupted. when u delete frm thumbdrive, it's throwing into an invisible rubbish bin. it will not be in ur cpu rubbish bin.
alittle complicated to explain here. i noe cause last yr i made my hb retrieve ryan's photos when i made the same mistake as u. 2pcs were corrupted. i was so sad. so now i always backup to external harddisk in case i do stupid things again.

let me noe wat time u'll pop by. if u're borrowing all 8panels, u'll need many big bags to store + many hands to carry to ur car.
cause u'll need to carry the LG mat & the square mats as well.

melissa: yeah.. i also cannot tahan the gd deals. i'm tempted to sign contract wif M1 for the mobile broadband to get the mini LG lappy.

kell: my hb also will have war wif me if i delete his info.. so we have separate laptops at home. he can use mine but i cant touch his. cause i'm also rather destructive.

bad point on have an IT savvy hb... he always warn me not to over-surf the net or he'll ban certain websites.. if i dun surf net, i'll have worse than shopaholic withdrawal symptoms.. cause it's my only connection to the outside world.

bbpink
talking abt that, ive not see kelicia spoken before except for cries! heee but she understands!
when i speak to her, she understands.
dun worry i think each kid have their own developmenet. kim's language isnt good also. noone can understand only me.. heee.. her mandarin is like ang moh speaking mandarin like that. super slang.. i slowly teach her and let her learn.
did u get the teacher's feedback?
kim is not outgoing type i think. she makes alot noise even when go downstairs, she see neighbour, she will say 'hello uncle and bye bye..'
whoever she see she will say hello ***.. bye bye ***.. quite sociable.. try letting kelicia mix more with other kids?
kim can be her playmate hahaha..

bbpink, maybe she's a late bloomer? i tot she looks fine to me. she even let me hold her and take picture.

here's a list. if both your hb and you are so worried, can go for assessment.

Autism symptoms

Social skills
* Fails to respond to his or her name
* Has poor eye contact
* Appears not to hear you at times
* Resists cuddling and holding
* Appears unaware of others' feelings
* Seems to prefer playing alone — retreats into his or her "own world"

Language
* Starts talking later than other children
* Loses previously acquired ability to say words or sentences
* Does not make eye contact when making requests
* Speaks with an abnormal tone or rhythm — may use a singsong voice or robot-like speech
* Can't start a conversation or keep one going
* May repeat words or phrases verbatim, but doesn't understand how to use them

Behavior
* Performs repetitive movements, such as rocking, spinning or hand-flapping
* Develops specific routines or rituals
* Becomes disturbed at the slightest change in routines or rituals
* Moves constantly
* May be fascinated by parts of an object, such as the spinning wheels of a toy car
* May be unusually sensitive to light, sound and touch and yet oblivious to pain

bbpink: kelicia looks shy to me. not sure is it she's afraid of strangers or as u said, autistic.
perhaps u can bring her to the specialist for a check up to rest ur worries?

clover
tat's a good list..let me do a check

Social skills
* Fails to respond to his or her name - Sometimes
* Has poor eye contact - No
* Appears not to hear you at times - Yes
* Resists cuddling and holding - No
* Appears unaware of others' feelings - No
* Seems to prefer playing alone — retreats into his or her "own world" - No

Language
* Starts talking later than other children - YES
* Loses previously acquired ability to say words or sentences - poor vocab
* Does not make eye contact when making requests - No, she will stare at me right in the eyes esp when asking for biscuits
* Speaks with an abnormal tone or rhythm — may use a singsong voice or robot-like speech - No
* Can't start a conversation or keep one going - Yes..sigh*
* May repeat words or phrases verbatim, but doesn't understand how to use them - No

Behavior
* Performs repetitive movements, such as rocking, spinning or hand-flapping - No
* Develops specific routines or rituals - No
* Becomes disturbed at the slightest change in routines or rituals - Yes, sometimes, must walk teh same way back
* Moves constantly - No
* May be fascinated by parts of an object, such as the spinning wheels of a toy car - No
* May be unusually sensitive to light, sound and touch and yet oblivious to pain - No

ok, the unprofessional conclusion 1st, kelicia is 6/18 = 33 percent autistic

will let hb sees the list , i think his worry started when he sees how lively her classmates are while she looks gonggong

Adeline
her teacher said she is a typical shy gal and does not talk ..but this is oalso teh same teacher who asks me when i fetch her why kelicia gots cuts & scratches on her BUT when i send her in the morning, she dun have

Babypink
If according to the list, I think Ds #1 is autistic but not DS #2 & #3, cos he's like this when he was younger.. But is better now.. I think it's too early to determine if the baby is autistic at such early age...

bbpink, u rest yr heart lah. like I said, if really worry then go for assessment.

isabella, on the contrary, early diagnosis is better for autism.

Isabella
Not bb, it is my 29th months toddler..
so why u said tat of ur DS #1, so when did he start to talk well ?

i hope tat my gal will start to talk well

Regarding talking&walking
i was telling hb tat alto i started walking at 18th months (according to my mum) i still can walk well now..
guess wat he said, he said tat's y u r not walking well, keep falling down

clover
yupz, will be bringing her to a doc 1st who will recommend to kkh for assessment if really autistic

i hope not, i really fear my kids can't communicate

bbpink
i was recently reading babycentre about 3 yr olds and many of them didn't speak much at 3 but later turned out to be real chatterboxes

i met Kelicia bfor on a few occasions and i remember the time when I bumped into you at botanical gardens, she waved to me (can't remember hi or bye) and that to me was quite sociable
and i remember it clearly cos I was telling my Chelsea to wave but of cos she refused :p....sometimes I also wondered how come my kid is so shy (esp of grown ups) and so bad-tempered haha but i think/hope she'll grow out of it soon...so don;t be too concerned...from what i read, seems quite common for kids to develop language skills after 3

Babypink:
I don't think Kelicia is Autistic. But a visit to the doc is good to allay all fears. Don't worry.

My HB cousin has a son who used to be autistic. When he's 4, he still can't communicate, he will scream, shout and throw tantrum. He don't talk to nor look at strangers and will hide behind his uncle. He only warms to his uncle. Mummy cannot hold his hand nor carry him. That was really trying years. Now he's 6 and he's alright. He still can play with Phoebe and his bros.

Some children needs non-ordinary conditions to open up. Or they might just not be ready.

My friend's niece, 3 yo, also "can't fit in" with her peers. She only opens up, eg smile, ask for food, in quiet environment with very little people. If she in class or noisy places, she will keep very quiet and sort of "fade" into background.

BBpink
kids really change so fast...Chelsea at 2 will cry if a stranger suddenly comes face to face with her without much warning. now she won't cry but she'll still be quiet until she warms up. i remember not too long ago taking her to watch "Horton" can't remember exact name but it's the dr seuss movie and she was keen but unable to stay quiet and still enough to watch more than half an hour. Now I'm pretty sure she can still through a whole movie cos we always watch movies at home and she loves it.

I'm just amazed that in a few mths time she really changed so much, in so many aspects of her life...i'm sure Kelicia has changed tremendously too and will continue to change

adelineL
thanks for the kind words
hehe, i wish kelicia will bec a chatterbox who will communicate well, long to have a 2 way conversation with her

Kell
i tot autistic will never recover , so at 6 yrs old, he is no longer autistic, can communicate & is in mainstream sch ?

right now, our conversation goes like this

me : kelicia, how is sch today
kelicia : school..
me : did u have fun
kelicia : fun
me: do u have a lot of friends
kelicia: friends
me: did the teachers sayang u
kelicia : da4 ( demonstrates beating action)
me: huh, lao shi da ni ?
kelicia :....

Babypink
DS 1 only stars talkin well when he almost turn 4. Any little change will make him nervous... And we use to see aDr in KKH who said that he might be autistic... But we stop halfway cos I dun wan the Dr to treat him as Autistic child... I teach him my way and thank god it turn out better than I expected, though not as good as other children his age..

Babypink,
Yes, the boy went to school. Or it might be a mis-diagonsis. I remember last time my MIL said like they suspect lil boy is autistic. Now he's still shy but not as jia lat as last time. But he don't really run amok around the restaurant like some boys his age do.

Or it might be Kelicia is feeling suppressed or threaten? Lil Kids will withdraw in this situations... If she says da, means someone in school beat her? Strange? She's in which childcare?

babypink,
that's about the same as what my DD1 who's 25 months old responded!! But most of the time she'll just answer all my questions by singing any songs she learnt from school. In school, she's shy, quiet and not that responsive as well, well.. at least that's what I saw before she went in the class. Once I stayed longer after she went in, and I could hear her screaming excitedly. I think now that they're bigger and developing unique personalities, they're also in much control of their behavior. sometimes i think she has mood swings too. So if you ask me, based on your descriptions alone, I don't think Kelicia is autistic at all!

My friend's brother only speak when he's 4 years old and he's very smart! Before that, everyone thinks he's mute. He's just eccentric, unique probably an undiscovered genius you know.

isabellali,
the lobangs really depends on what u want to buy. if you just want to buy small computer accessories, then don't waste your time. it's always cheap in Sim Lim Square every day. but big ticket items like laptop, LCD TV, AIO printers, digital SLR cameras all have good bundles or priced very much reduced if you're like the first lucky 10 customers of the day or sometimes they have hourly promo. some are just bundled with more freebies while the price is almost the same. But one thing i find frustrating are the student promoters!! They don't know what they're selling!! They're like quoting from a script when explaining a product to me. They always have no idea what I'm talking about lor. By the way, yesterday I bought a JVC Video Camera, got External DVD writer free leh. hehehe... and pay your purchases using credit card! Either DBS/UOB/OCBC. got lucky draw and sure-win dips. I got me a Swatch watch and spa voucher some more!

catering
I always order 10% lesser and all the time, food is more than enough.

BB pics,
Love those bb pics. I miss having newborns!

Chee Kiong,
Hope Bryan is feeling better today.

BBpink,
If you are worried your girl is autistic, you can bring her to see specialist. If you can wait, bring her to polyclinic to get referral letter, cheaper that way.

I've nt seen Kelicia so I don't know but my gf's son is autistic. One look you can tell, yes, it's that serious. Her DH was posted to work in Japan and her son attended international school. Teacher thought he's different. Tell you more next time, dd3 crying for assistance.

bbpink
no worries.
It's perfectly normal if the repeat the last word.. they r learning.
Kim sometimes i ask her.
Me: Du zi er ma?
Kim: Du zi er.
Me: Yao chi porridge ma?
Kim: porridge
Me: Yao bu yao apple?
Kim: apple

heee.. it's normal. they r learning.
Give kelicia some time

Kim also same ..

bbpink,
don't think kelicia is austic
austic children cannot stand changes around them. they need routine. so if u bring them to different places and meet new people, they will react in a very strange way.
The drastic type will be running around screaming ( i hv seen one who ran around hitting things that he never see before), the shy type will hide their faces (i once taught a boy who liked to hide his face in the school bag) or else, they will be exhibiting their nervousness by bitting their nails or crying..
so far kelicia is just showing shyness, not nervousness. so don't worry too much.
let her have more time to grow and mix around confidently in the future. With kyzac around, i think she will soon be more confident and lead kyzac in learning new stuffs.

Happy Birthday Baby Kyzac, Baby Destiny and my Baby Bryan.

Wishing all a healthy and enjoyable celebration today.

Any babies born today 14 March I have missed out? Happy Birthday to you too!

Wow! Finally home... Today was a hectic day for me. Was in office at 10am, rushed some work and reached home by 12pm. Rushed from one party to another. I got 4 bday parties to attend. Tot my boy was tired but he seems to be energetic went I brought him home for nap. In the end, he fell asleep during his dinner, didn't finished it or bath. Hahahha!
Anyways, thanks for all invites. I enjoyed all the parties cos each other has its own unique part. Juz that its bit rush. Apology to the host if I was late or rush to go off. :p

Ling Yee,
such a small world that your long time friend is my hubby's colleague.

Bbpink,

Its one of parties tat I enjoyed cos it has VEGETABLES! Been eating so much the whole day that I need some fibre to wash my intestine. Hahhahah!
Btw, I dun think your daughter is autistic cos when she saw me at your house wif JK, she came over to me and to catch my attention. She is trying to say hi to me. I also saw her volunteer to play wif JK in the play yard when I put him inside n he was alone inside it. But sorry JK pushed her while playing. In this sense, I feel that she have good social skills. Autistic child usually dun like to mix with people rite?
Dun wori too much. Initially, I tot he was autistic as well cos at 1 month old he doesn't smile or have any reaction at all. But he is so chatty ( though he dunno how to talk yet ) n super hyperactive. He was playing with Ling Yee's friends at her daughter's party today, even though its the first time seeing them. I think every kid development is different n will change as time goes by.

hehe, Yutong, u can high 5 with kate
she said exactly the same thing !

actually i was very fickleminded of which veg to order so changed 3 times

wow, 4 parties !

PS: i m glad to announce tat the leftover food is only enough for a meal for a couple ..phew !
must thanks the guys pals who sportingly go for more than 2 rounds cos i said they will do me a big favour if they help me eat

thanks mummies for ur advice and sharing =) esp Melissa & Adeline who shared with me their own kids , so there are indeed children who are approching 3 but still can't talk..

my mum said i talk a lot even b4 i turn 2, quite clear also

Babypink:

So sorry to miss kyzac Birthday...
I already got present for him, i will mail them for you tomorrow. Hope he will get it by wed or thurs...

My francis is better today. He got one big ulcer in his lips. But now it's gradually closing.

He refused to eat, only drink...the flu and running nose is stopping..i'm so afraid the HFMD episodes will come back again.

Yeah...my hubby can speak chinese. I can understand and speak a little. We are Indonesian chinese. Both of our parents speak chinese. Just in indonesia during Soeharto era-new generation like me - were not encourage my govt to learn or expose to the chinese. But now, the New govt is really open to the chinese world and society. They realise mandarin culture or chinese community is the asset for global survival. They more support the people to speak and learn chinese. More and more chinese school are open in indonesia.

if according to my selfish ego..i hope time will stop at this moment! So i can hug kiss wiggle huggle and be with my boys everyday forever!!!! It's so fun! Kissing them are more enjoyable, passionate and happy rather than i ever kissed a boyfriend!!! or my Hubby??? haaaaa haaaa

I'm such a selfish mommy...!

2251861.jpg
mikael at 1mth
2251862.jpg
2251863.jpg
mikael at 1 year

Erny
i like the last pic, well taken & looking far ahead

Glad tat Francis is recovering well
hope not hfmd too, even for adults i read in the news very torturous

PS: u r so ke4 qi4 !

=============

can people share with me
how will u feel if ur child receive a toy clock set on the birthday ?
i noe the sender, not a mummy here and is in fact a very good friend, tat's y i hope to get some honest opinion.
is it tat i m too pantang for my generation

it is the 2nd time i receive a clock fr the same friend, the 1st time it was for xmas for my 1st kid, so i think nothing abt it

I need help.

I have not been blogging mulitply for a long time. However, the three recent posts of my blog were done by "ada chan" (my blog name) BUT the problem is: it is not written by me.

For eg, today post is on aidan party, which i did not attend. the previous one is one the lookalike meter of kareen and her family.

All the above are not done by me.

Is my a/c being abused? I want to put a stop to all these.

But how come the person knows your password? this is very strange and scary.
Can't imagine if my site was being abused too. Can that person please stop doing such childish thing?

I feel very disturbed. I feel more paiseh for ivy and kareen.

ppl must be thinking i am crazy to post someone lookalike meter on my blog...

really need help to stop it.

Linda
did u access ur blog on someone's pc and u didn't clear the cache there??? So that person actually post on the wrong blog and he/she mistaken that he/she have posted on her own blog?

Did she write anything bad about anyone using ur 'hand'???? If not, den I think there must be some misunderstanding somewhere.. If yes, then i think the reason is quite obvious...

And about aidan's birthday, looking at this lead here, that person should be someone from the forum.. Unless u and ivy know some mother's who is not from this forum...

linda, yeah. i saw the look-alike-meter on ur blog. but i did not think so much then..
so weird for tat person who "help" u blog.

worse, the latest blog - http://princessada.multiply.com/journal/item/81/Still_nobody_posting_Just_to_share_1_photo?replies_read=4

not linda rite?

bbpink: i personally wun think so much abt the clock thingy. but for me, i wun give.
maybe u shld casually ask ur fren. perhaps she finds the clock nice so she bot for kyzac. or it might be a passed down BN gift.

i dun think tat person is doing it accidentally or misunderstanding. cause the blog titles is so obvious it's a hacker accessing, not the original creator accessing.

linda, u shld try to change yr password now n report this case to multiply helpdesk. they shld be able to track the ip address of the person who did this. as a safe precaution, clear yr cache regularly, and after using on another person's pc.