(2008/03) March 2008

Thanks babypink and AdelineL.

James is about 13kg when he was weighed at the PD earlier this mth coz he had red eyes (turns out it was allergy) :D PD wanted to give him stronger medication until she found out he was only 10 mths. I didn't really keep track his weight (unless it's checked at the clinic) coz I'm a bit "pantang" about weighing him. When he fell sick in Dec with runny nose and coughing, I was so sad coz he lost weight so quickly. Can tell coz suddenly can carry him so easily. If he stands up, he comes up near to my hip bone. I'm 1.65m so I think his height is somewhere btw 70-80cm.

We only carry him for about 10-15 min each time otherwise it's too tiring. Generally can get good upper arms workout by carrying him. No need to lift weights in the gym

Brushing teeth
While he was taking his bath yesterday, my maid tried to clean his teeth with a piece of cotton gauze. Couldn't find small enough toothbrushes and I was afraid he might choke on toothpaste so we are just sticking to using cotton gauze for now....

Isabellali

Baby anger/ displeasure
James does that too. He will clench his hands, straighten his arms at the side of his body and then stare at you with his face all red and shout! I think my maid and all of us at home are going to go deaf soon :p

Ladies....where to have a nice CNY dinner? But not too crowded..cos i nd to bring Mikael along.

I don't really mind to go on the second day. If the first day will be so crowded.

Suggestion pls? Thx

YT
M back for cny celebration on 2nd day. If i can make it, surely join. It has been ages/mths that Shevon has seen her peers

babypink,
I m now staying at AMK swimming pool area. Weekend should be fine. Let's make it on 31st Jan, Sat @ 4pm -7pm.

Simp,
yar... me too haven meet alotsa mummies. Time really flies. Really we were all preggies for the last CNY. Now our bb are almost one yr old!

hmm..i email my office the pdf version of that and ask them to see the right

a colleague came to me and said it is good to see a nice body..

at 1st i din undertsand, then i realise he looks at the left instead!

men...

Babypink,
if no one can come then it wil be an family for me, bb n hubby.

Renew vows,
my hubby jus told me yesterday evening while bathing my bb. " Erm... this yr no celebration for our wedding anniversary hor." Tot I will have a surprise celebration on the 21st Jan this yr. We are married for only 4 yrs n bb is only about a yr old. Well... wat more can I expect about renewing vows?
Envy you, bbpink!

I can't keep up reading the posts. LOL.

Toothbrush:
I also use cotton gauze. Oral B sells a toothbrush for below 1 YO. I got the finger brush but find cotton gauze faster to use. Sometimes, unable to locate the finger brush.

CNY dinner:
We are joining in family outside dinners. Usu halfway through normal dinner, she will look/scream for Daddy or Mummy to put her to sleep. I dun really like to go for dinner because when we're home and start changing her, she will wake and wanna play when I look forward to my ZzZ. ||-_-" But no choice mah.

Baby Tantrums:
I just snatch whatever Phoebe is not supposed to hold from her hands. Don't care, let her cry. LOL Bad Mummy. She will kick wildly, scream, look at you and blabber - scold. Wahahaha

Homemade yoghurt
I used to make yoghurt for dd1 when she was younger but not anymore now. Bring 1 cup of milk (I use UHT/full cream milk from packet) to boil and let it cool to luke warm temp. Add 1 tsp of starter and mix it gently. Keep covered in a warm place for 8 - 10 hrs, depending on the weather. Once set , refrigerate it immediately so that the bacteria will stop multiplying, else your yoghurt will be too sour.

AdeL,
DD1 started playgroup at 18 months. She doesn't talk much to adults, only to a few selected people. Even with neighbour she sees almost everyday, she will shy away. If my memory doesn't fail me, I think she only became more socialable after her childcare days and that's around 4 - 5 yo. And also, I brought her out for gatherings with my peers of children the same age group. Over time, she gets more used to them. Try to expose Chelsea more to people (esp adults if she's wary of them), but not force her to take the first step. If she's not comfortable, let it be. Just sit beside her and assure her it's ok if she doesn't want to play/talk to them. Good luck!

BB walking
Heard some old wives tales that it's better if the bb walk at a later age. Can't rem what's the reason behind.

Yasmin,
Yes, can give Pauls' plain yoghurt. Or if you like, you can follow my instructions above to prepare homemade yoghurt. For cheese, I use to buy cottage cheese from cold storage to dd1. But with ds2, no time to go shopping so make do with cheddar cheese (easily available in most supermarkets). I find that the sodium content is not as high as those found in slice/cubes.

bbpink,
When I saw the first pic, I thought you made it! Wanted to compliment you for such nice layers! Hahahaha... So is the kueh still edible?

Melissa,
Same here, petite baby we've got.
Just brought 3 kids to see doc, all sick
Weighed dd3 and she's only 7.5kg, put on 100g over 1 month *eyes rolling*

Toby,
It's ok if you don't have a mixer, you can always use a balloon whisk and do it manually. However, don't try to manual whisk for recipes using full eggs as it'll take you ages to whip up the eggs. I tried once, think it took me 45 mins to whisk to ribbon stage!
You've got a GSD? Wow! I love GSDs! I always think that they are the most loyal dogs.

Brushing teeth
Did you buy the finger brush? I think I only started brushing my 2 elders teeth at 15 months.

Kell,
You are nt a bad mommy lah. You are protecting her for her own good. so don worry. however, children like to imitate. So she may think that it is alright to snatch from others in the future. Den it will be hard to kick the habit. Try this: You can tell her to stop and ask her to give u the item in a firm voice. if she does not give, gently but firmly, slowly pull it out of her hands. If she gives u the items, praise and claps your hands.

reena
i think some older ppl say tat bb who walk earlier will hv a hard life in future and bb who walk later will hv a more comfortable life.Tat's what i heard. Anyway i dun think we can control when bb will crawl or walk etc right? heehee

Reena:
I give Isaac those cheese for kids that i bought instant from supermarkets. Are those ok? For now, I've yet to have time to do things for Isaac on weekdays, BUT soon I might have the time//// And hope your kids get well soon.

Feb mummies:
Hahaha... My girlfriend was asking why Isaac born in February and I didnt go check out February thread. so I went kapo abit... will post my first thread there. don noe they friendly or not. =P So busy with work for the time being.. must go rush my report liao!

Old Wives' Tales:
I think ppl in the past are too free... To come up with no basis advice. Wahahaha.

Baking:
Wah, making me think of cake and coffee right after my lunch...

Aly:
Thanks! I think she is learning fast. She hold on to the thing for dear life. Have to use your tactic liao. LOL

reena/liyun, i think those cowhead cheese cubes v salty, right? even i find it salty when i take for myself. i intend to make alex an angmoh meal after his 10mth. maybe a mini shepherd pie! :D

Clover

Alex is xinful ! can eat home made shepherd pie

ur hb also lucky

too bad we r not neighbours, cos i really have a weakness for pies

YT,
Your bb so clever! I don't have a chance to teach mine as my sofa is very high so she cnt climb up and down yet. But from my bed, she knows she has to go down from one side of the bed only (I left a small mattress on the floor).

Toby,
No need to use toothpaste for now.

Pet,
9 layer kueh - you mean to make it soft again after storing in fridge? So I assume it's just a few seconds on high?

Baby walking
DD1 only started walking at 15 months, I call her plain lazy. Ds2 started walking around just after he crossed 1 yo.

BB talking
Anyone's bb here started talking already? ie no more bb talk? I rem dd1 was already speaking in sentences before she turned 1. Ds2 only started to speak in sentence at around 15 months. Dd3, no signs of words at all... still babbling.

clover

u r just making me hungrier..maybe they like chinese food ?

so far the food u brought to potluck i enjoy very much, so the impression of a good cook is there =)

and i oso remember adelinehb's pasta..even my hb find it yummy, and he is not chin chai abt food

abc

just went to admire the walking videos, i m really impressed !
very cute

Lingyee

love the shoots, hope mine r as good

Reena
now u r making me worried..my 1st kid still cannot talk very well, and she is turning 3 in sep

it will be nice to hear the child talk

abc,
Yes, you helped refresh my memory, something to that extend of better life next time. But then again, any truth in it? No one knows.

Liyun,
For me, I don't like those cheese for kids as I also find the sodium on the high side. Look out for shredded cheddar cheese, it should be side by side with the mozzies. Pple use this for cooking.

I also have a Feb bb but I've never joined the Feb forum :p

Clover,
Sheperd's pie is one of my favourite too. Hope to get a chance to try yours

bbpink,
Don't worry yet. Both my kids are exceptional cases as I know alot of kids don't talk until they are 2 or 3 yo. If by 4yo still not talking well, maybe have to seek professional help.

my mil is feeding my gal porridge with soy sauce added though i already told my hubby to tell her that salt is bad for the baby's kidneys. but she continues to give. feels very upset but can't do anything. she will ask my maid to go away when she feed my gal. cos my maid will tell her cannot.. she will say "can can" cos she says all her 5 children and 10 grandchildren all like that feed. i really don feel happy abt this. anyone facing the same problem as me?

sorry to intrude... I m a Jul08 mummy and looking to buy a Medela freestyle breast pump from US site addalittlelove.com. Need 2 more orders to go ahead w the spree. If you know of any1 who is looking to buy Medela freestyle or PIS, pls look into this link.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2081856.html?1231999787

My 1st pump is dying and I really want to get a new one from this spree!
... oh, and I am not related to the organiser of the spree, jst a really desparate mummy.

reena, hope to make it for u one day too!

bbpink, tks hor. i'm a so-so cook only. only picked up after i got married with recipes. i cant even deep fry stuff for example.

aly, bring yr mil to the doctor and ask the qn infront of the doctor. old ppl they will respect wat the doc say.

Reena,
i think my DS is more of witty n mischevious than smart. When he wanna get things he will think of ways to get it. Hahhahah!

Food,
wow! I think we are always discussing about food hor. Sheperd pie... heard but nvr eat before or eaten but dunno that is sheperd pie. kekekekeke!
I m terrible when it comes to food. I would usually only boil vege or meat for meals. My dad always say me ' its either that you are very extravagant about food or mus haf done alotsa misdeed in previous life thats y tis life all the food you eating are tasteless now!' hahhahahaha!

Baby's development,
my DS is neither talking or walking now n I m fine wif it i suppose. But I would panic if he is not talking or walking at 3 yrs old manz!

Bored baby,
I realised that my bb is very bored. Tats y he is sleeping alot when he is at home. He gets up at 9pm n sleeps at 11am. Wakes up at 1230 eat lunch. Sleep at 2pm. Wow liao! I really got a Siu Shen at home! Partly, I feel its also the genes he got from his daddy. An noisy elephant can walk pass him n he is stil sound asleep! Hahahhaha!

no chance to see doc wif her. we don't stay together. only send baby to her hse in the morning and pick up at night. so getting the doc to tell her is out. is it really bad for baby? cos at home, i don't let her eat salty food. hopefully, will offset the salt she takes on weekday afternoons.

aly, or get yr hb to tell her. find news or internet article, print out n show her. or bring up as a cny topic, n let other ppl tell her that taking salt is no good for bb. hopefully if u do enough, she will get it n back off.

Hi Aly,
I think sometimes, there is nothing much we can do since we "need others' help".

Its either we put the Grannies thru the Doc's advise or we hope and pray nothing will go wrong. Anyway, sometimes some stubborn old folks won't believe scientific explanations. If you can, bring granny along next time baby goes for check up.

I also fight w my mum over walker issues (which I still recall) etc (many others too which can't recall now)... Hahahah!

Sometimes, I feel like quitting job and staying home because of all these issues. But I can't cos now my hubby side quite bad and his company is like hinting at cutting manpower in Mar.

babypink
if u really worried jus ask PD. sometimes they may jus be on the quieter side. They may jus udnerstand u.. Like one of my gf her gal dun talk until the age of 4. But it is more due to her character.

reena: ya. tats wat i do for my bengawan solo 9-layer cake. sometimes i have time, i'll let it thaw by itself on the table. if i wanna eat immed, i'll use microwave. on high, i see the plate turn 1 round can le. still abit cold, but it's soft. if wanna eat it warm, i think it's still better to do the traditional steaming?

yutong: ryan also sleep king... thunder also he can carry on snoring away.. (yes, ryan snores.. at times)
he's prob a (kun sin) also... like me. when i was younger, i also can slp anytime, anywhere... damn jialat when it was schooling time.
my mum super stressed trying to wake me up for school. lol

aly: i had this prob previously, but my reaction is very extreme. i googled internet and printed in large fonts stating why babies under 1yr cannot take salt.
when my mil mentioned tat her children all brought up this way, then i retorted tat those are her children not mine.
end up i restrict her frm feeding anything to my son. be it approved snacks or foods i also dun allow her to feed. until she decided to keep her old method to herself and follow my method then i allow her to feed my boy.
i tried suggesting bring her to PD to listen to doc. my mil actually argued wif the doc.. and end up unhappy and tat created cold war. so i think diff people will have different reaction to various solutions.
my mil's soft spot is not being able to touch my son.. so anything i say is final.
up to now, i am very strict on any seasonings my boy gets. even meat soup, also only give once a wk. all my boy gets is veg and herbs soup.
i have frens asking me to grind ikan bilis into porridge for taste so my boy can eat. i wun. cause i'll be so paranoid tat i'll soak n wash and soak n wash.. by then the ikan bilis tasteless already.. hehs..

of course, i am abit more extreme than other mummies in this thread when it comes to feeding.. hehe

Talkg abt salty food... Yesterdy mum just discovered my maid adding q bit of salt to my bb porridge... Now Im v worried. Bcos I haf trusted her & didn taste the porridge she has been preparing for my boy... Sobbing... Maids really cannot b trusted. When we qn her, she bullshits tt she has accidently pour in salt... I qn until I give up. She refused to tell me the truth or admit it. Really at a loss. Dunno wat to do w her.

any mummies encountered rashes at baby's face? after brendon come back from hong kong, around one week...his face got rashes.due to weather? or food? i dun know. any cream to suggest? tried bb california cream but no use

I just know that salt is not good for baby. Gee...my elder son loves to eat salty food. Does it still apply for 4 years old boy?

Petrina,
i had the same experience with you, but it worsed in term of food. My MIL introduced candies to my first son when he was about 1 year.

I always complained to her and still she gave the candies in hoping her grandson will be fond of her. It's depressing indeed!

She said the candy is sugar free! For God sake! Candy is candy. It's sweet! and they can choke also.

Sometimes, don't understand what MIL is trying to prove. Why can't they be our support and be cooperative. Why have to be so difficult?

Kate,

It's happened to my Mikael oso. One day after came back from Jakarta. I just gv him the canus lil goat cream. It's disappeared eventually.

hmm my MIL is different and i am different too..
MY mil dun intro salt to them.. she always say 'plain good.' but hor.. i always add to have more taste =X but for kim. for kathlyn i use dry scallop and make sure soup is sweet.. hmmm...

aly,
My mil is like your mil. My nephew, who is 11 days younger than dd1, was taken care by mil. She'll add veg sauce (stir fried veg with salt/oyster sauce/salt) to his porridge. Although he's not my son, I still tell MIL off. But of course, useless lah....

Ds2 was taken care by MIL and of course, he's fed all these "junk". Gave up telling her so I just cook my bland food over the weekends. Sometimes really bopian, just have to close one eye.