(2008/03) March 2008

Renewing vows,
DH will say "where got time?" Oh well, he's not the romantic kind.

Shirley,
Practise makes perfect. I'm not perfect yet. Frankly speaking, I only stepped into the kitchen about 2 years ago. It's only when I became a sahm without maid, I have to cook/bake all by myself.

Reacting to strangers
Only dd1 is antisocial, both ds2 and dd3 can be carried by almost anyone, as long as they are not hungry or sleepy. Good and bad though...

Malacca
I wish I can go for a short trip to Malacca. Saw this baba hotel, looks nice. Only S$50+ with breakfast.
http://www.malacca.ws/babahouse/photos.htm

AdeL,
When there's a will, there's a way. That's my motto
Sometimes, when you are left with no choice, you just have to grit your teeth and cook/bake/wash/clean etc.... Baking is a good therapy for me, esp hand-kneading bread dough. But with time constraint, I'll have to depend on the machine. I very much prefer to bake my own bread as I don't add preservatives/artificial flavors. Oops... sorry, when I talk about baking, I can go on non-stop :p

Wow, Chelsea is really tall for her age. Think my coming 4yo ds is shorter than her hahahah!

Toby,
If time permits, I can try to whip up something before we meet up but no promise as my timing is very dependant on the kids.

lefty,
You're welcome. I didn't add too much colourings, colour very pastel except for the top layer, I added more red. Not so healthy to eat so much colourings right?

Actually I made some steamed sponge cake and cookies too but have no time to take pics as the kids like scavenger, eat so fast! Hahaha!!

toby: haha, weed.. yeah... i also wonder y my son's hair n fingernails grow so fast..

renew vows
my hb like reena's... tats y i think i may raise the subject only after 10yrs. at least we've been married for a decade b4 i can say it's meaningful..

reena: i also made lots cookies n cakes last wk.
i nv thot of taking any pics cause it's not too pretty. hehe
but it disappeared within a day. so i'm glad tat it's edible...
i dunno how to steam cake. i only noe how to bake cake.
any particular steaming recipe u wanna share wif me?

Reena
ah hah! looks like u'll be getting ur baking help soon at home

Adeline
the last I measured Zayed, he was 75 cm tall. I've noticed that he's taller than most 1 yr olds. hehe...Chelsea is tall. looks like u have a potential model in ur hands ;p

Shirley
Both Adeline's hubby and mine are very tall. So I guess that's how u get tall babies...hehe... But I think Adeline is taller than me though I'm not on the shorter side.

Jerejoy
Jervis slept at 7pm last night ? if wake up at 530am once then is quite good =)

Reena
even ur DD looks like a good cook in the making

hehe, feel like taking the cupcake fr her , cos she looks like she is offering it to me for bfast

CNY goodies
jialat, i finish all mine liao..we have egg rolls , peanut cookies, seaweed cookies and cheesy cookies..

i fear the greedy consequeces

next time really must buy cny goodies nearer the day..out of sight, out of mind

bbpink,
must control ur temptation of goodies.. you can buy lor.. jus share out with ur colleagues and eat abit abit.. or pl the goodies container at ur colleague desk. so that its out of ur sight.

tall baby:
wat height is consider tall? my DS stand at 72cm from the last chk. i consider him short. haha..

YT, msn added. i only online during office hr. seldom online at home. unless i on leave. hee..

i also dunno wat height is considered tall... ryan measured @ 73cm @ 7mths.. i tot it was normal..

reena: wah.. ur gal has a baker look too. so nxt time u can let her bake at home le.. prepare the dough for u. haha

bbpink: tats wat my hb told me. i wanted to buy the goodies last wk. he say wait 2days b4 CNY then buy. otherwise CNY nothing to eat le.

jerejoy,
7pm to 5.30am very good liao lor.. my DS can only sleep 9pm-7am. recently will wake up in the middle of the nite and cried out, but not for milk la.

scary toy:
yesterday when i was still awake at 12mn, my DS toy in the living room jus out of the sudden play music. me got a scared and quickly go to bed. think i'll throw the toy away liao. :p

Good Morning!
Hmm.. Food! Any suggestions where to get yummy pineapple tarts and CNY goodies? I tried Bengawans's pineapple pastry and quite like them.

Started off the day wrongly. Cause I bought not nice breakfast. My Chee Cheong Fan is tough...
Lucky I got instant cappucino as back up...

Reena: Wow, you're good in the kitchen! Your DD took up your baking streak. :D

Redtea: Maybe the toy haywire (zhou dian)? Sometimes there will be a surge of energy that can cause the object to play. Either batt surge or the toy connecting plates are old...

Apr birthday bash
I gotta opt out of it. will be going taiwan with hubby and friends.. soooooo ... my contribution will be the banner i guess

will try to get it done before my holiday. but if it's done, i will need to pass to someone to bring to the gathering.

good morning girls

Shirley,
that picture is very nicely taken! Lele look so pretty and adorable!!!

redtea,
so spooky ah? were you alone when that happened? it reminded me last time when we brought in a medicine man from indonesia, he told us there's a presence in our house, 2 spirits. one young and one old. he helped us to siam them out. we paid him and siam him. dunno if there's truth to it or not but i know for sure he wants money. my mom said if there's a presence lurking in a house, you don't feel good living in it. so far so good leh. my house is my heavenly sanctuary.

tall babies,
i will have naturally small babies b'cos small runs in the family hehehe.

Reena,
looks like your DD is going to be a renowned chef one day!

Yasmin,
me? SAHM? wait long long ah.

CNY goodies
i always buy frm my fav chinatown stall. very cheap (compared to taka goodies bazaar) n nice.

redtea: when i first bot the tickle me elmo, the box has a sample music. when we lift up the lid, it will have sound. i think the lid is loose so sometimes in the middle of the nite, there will be tickle sounds.. damn scary. i always wake up in fright. end up i threw away the box.

CNY goodies,
Petrina, which stall is it in Chinatown. Think of bring DS with DH to Chinatown to see the lights up n feel the atomsphere of CNY. Anyone saw the lightings this year? Nice?

Redtea,
like wat Kell says, maybe the toy went haywire? I got this experience before last time. So to prevent scaring myself, I threw it away or put it in the storeroom. Hahahhah!

Melissa,
your encountenance is really spooky manz! May I ask why do you bring a medicine man from Indonesia to your house? He is a medicine man who knows how to do rituals as well?
I kinda was able to sense something at my previous place. We asked a monk before, he said 'it' one of our lady ancestors.

yutong, my fav stall is opp maxwell market. beside those car sales booth.
there's only 1 stall selling goodies there.
all other food stalls r along the indian temple side.

lightings r very normal.. other than a few huge ox-es in the middle of the divider, other much le.

oh ya, try to go on weekday nites only. wkends r terrible...
super crowded n smelly (human odour) hehe

yt,
he can do massage for men and my father wanted one, so we brought him in b'cos my uncle also engaged his service. sometimes i don't know if they're for real or they're just BS.

petrina,
i love that tickle me elmo box haha. but yeah, in the middle of the night if it activates by itself, it is spooky. and it happens you know! i heard stories of that a lot!

bbpink, redtea,

forgot to mention the no of times he woke up in the middle of the night. So not v good. He's not sleeping thru yet and he's a terrible sleeper. Sigh! He slept at 7pm cos he did not take his 2nd nap in the afternoon.

Was trying to make him take his 1st nap just now. Fought almost 2 hrs to make him sleep. He doesn't like to nap nowadays and can play whole day. Don't know where he gets his energy from. haha!

Redtea
hehe, non-halal food i rarely bring to office, cos hav a number of malay colleagues :p
usu will buy pringles for office

ur post reminds me of a horror movie i watched tat caused me some doll phobia => Chucky
dun hav a single doll at home also and so far my pals & relatives did not buy a doll for kelicia..phew :p

adeline/bbpink, i hate dolls too. very eerie. but i love soft toys. teddies n such. i think it's very diff range. solid and soft..
i bot elmo for ryan. but it's sitting in my cupboard during nite times. and i make sure i off the switch to prevent accidental giggles..

jerejoy, my boy opp frm urs.. he can nap n nap and still slp at 7.30pm - 8am. of course he still wakes up every 3hrly for his nite feeds. but i dun note the timing as i'm sound aslp.
i juz unbuckle n he latches by himself.. then i zzz le..
he can still complain tired lor.. keep yawning n rubbing eyes.
though tired, he's not willing to slp. keep wanting us to play and entertain him. then he'll play n yawn at the same time.

Shirley,
thanks for the info. Probably will go take it one of these days.

Petrina,
nothing much for the lightings. Hmm... i rem last yr was Mickey Mouse.

Melissa,
sometime these kinda things better believe lor. Even if you dun, also hush hush. :p

Toys,
I also hate dolls since young. I even fear clowns n mascot.

CNY coming... the thing I fear most is LION DANCE! Ever fainted once when they came infront of me. But if like tat how to let my son know about the Chinese Culture properly. So I shall brace myself up this time, not to faint or fear n bring my son to see Lion Dance! Wish me luck! ;)

petrina,
yes i have that tickle-me-elmo. i think it's the cutest toy i ever bought haha. i wish i could keep the box but my terror two has already battered it to pieces so in the end, throw away. i love to see how shocked pple could get when they accidentally kick the box while wading through my messy house full of toys.. hahaha..

yt,
i believe they exist but i don't want to see them to believe haha. my brother always encountered them. maybe he has the third eye. i'm so glad i have my two eyes only!

dolls,
i hate dolls i don't have dolls in my house and yes i feel lucky too that friends and relatives did not get any dolls for my girls! i love soft toys though. i have a bunch of sesame street soft toys in my house.

Hey, I love dolls! hahahaha. Esp those Porcelian, lifelike ones due to their intricate designs. I used to keep my doll (Baby Face series still in box n all since Pri Sch) until my hubby keep urging me to throw away before we got married. o_O I still got 2 Porcelain ones in my mum's storage room. LOL

But I agree that the lifelike ones are very scary.

Another thing I love as much as doll is teddy bear.

Petrina,

envy envy.. at least yr boy still naps. I fought with him the 2nd time for his 2nd nap. took me one hr to get him to sleep. I wonder if I shld cut from 2 naps to one nap. He is too energetic... Help!

reena
how old is your dd1 now? is she still antisocial, i'm scared that chelsea might not grow out of it! :p

it's nice that you have such a passion for baking...one day can turn it into a successful business ;) and your kids can help you hehe

Yasmin
Zayed has always been such a big baby...so cute last time i met him

and actually I'm not that tall, 165cm, average lah and my hubby is also average to me at 178 but both his mum and sis are 180!!! but even more surprising, my brother, dunno where he gets it from, is 193cm :p far taller than any family members or relatives. so even if you are average in height, bb might turn out different! haha

bbpink, pet
good idea, buy CNY goodies near CNY haha or else sure finish bfor any relatives come visiting :p

redtea
wah scary story, esp in the middle of the night :p

tickle me elmo
used to have that toy...v. irritating leh, will make so much noise once you touch it by mistake...i'm v. sensitive to noise when bb is sleeping :p

also had an elmo couch/chair that will giggle if you sit or touch it...can't stand it hahaha

dolls
my chelsea is a sucker for commercials leh...see any dolls/toys on TV will keep telling us to buy for her *faintz* so she has those barbie and baby alive etc :p she doesn't play with them that much but i noticed that bb tommy loves the dolls hahaha...his face will light up if the dolls "talk" to him hehehe and he will want to "kiss/bite" them haha

yutong, haha, i also afraid of clowns.. eerie..
very hard to take pics in chinatown.. too crowded. i dun like to squeeze wif ppl. i feel the crowd is different frm orchard crowd.
i always hate gg to chinatown. so i'll go n get watever i come to buy then get out of there.

adelineL: i find TME quite amusing.. my boy will chase elmo while it's giggling.. then i sit there n laugh at him.. haha

jerejoy: get him the bumper mat + haenim play yard.
keep him in there. get at least 6 panels. then switch on some baby tv. then u'll get some time off for urself.
i leave ryan in the play yard while i sit on a chair beside him. when he make noise, then i'll join him in his play yard and latch him on. then when he regain his energy, i'll come out and let him play alone wif his toys and watch his tv.
so i have time to bake/cook/surf net.. hehe

Thanks for all the kind words.

Height of bb
I've not measured, don't know if dd3's tall or short. But based on genes, I think she'll be petite like dd1 and ds2. Both dd1 and ds2 are among the smallest in size among their classmates.

Weight of bb
A friend dropped by my place yday to pick up the infant car seat. Her bb is now 5 months old and weighs 9.5kg. I almost flip when I heard that as my coming 1yo is only 7.5kg!! How heavy is your bb now?

jerejoy,
I don't think 1 yo will sleep 7pm - 7am. Mine is sleeping like 8ish 9 to 7am. And 2 naps (max 1 hour each), which is a total of 12 hours sleep in 24 hours.

bbpink,
Not CNY yet but you are already indulging in the goodies. Better watch those calories :p

RedTea,
I think prob the toy malfunction? I do have toys like that too. I've got a dog at home and as long as he's not barking "funny", I think my house's clean

Pet,
Yes, the recipe uses 7-Up but you can always use any carbonated drink. I used coke.

Dolls
I've never like dolls, find them very spookie esp those with blinking eyes. And what's more, with advance technology, the dolls are looking more real (esp those collectors item fm Japan), they look so human. Eiks!

AdeL,
DD1 is 7 this year. When young, she's very wary of strangers and even for some family members (like my dad), she will not go near. She will keep staring at my dad, and if he says "Hi", she will cry. Then my dad has to go into "hiding" but she will crawl and look for him, then cry again if he looks at her. Faint!
I think Chelsea will outgrow this, just keep her exposed to all kinds of pple/environment.

Pet
we all thot TME was really cute too when we first got it but of cos like all toys, the novelty wore off pretty fast but still stuck with the toy :p haha...is there a flea mkt here to sell all the old toys away??

yasmin
hey we're the same height
your hubby v. tall...but i think the new generation ppl r taller anyway cos if you see those school kids, they seem taller than my generation..anyway my hubby's family always think i'm petite!! haha in singapore i feel so big sized leh and not in a good way :p

Reena
so how is your DD1 socially now? i'm sure she doesn't cry anymore at the sight of your dad haha but how is she when meeting new ppl? mine right now will go into silent mode which is a great improvement cos last time she would cry too if she suddenly meets someone unfamiliar :p

toby
here's a pic of chelsea
actually she looks v. chinese when she was younger but now she looks more mixed but i really can't tell much traces of my hubby in both my kids...guess my genes way stronger than his haha

2080787.jpg

petrina,
Is the haenim play yard sturdy? i.e. if the baby holds the play yard and starts jumping, does it wobble? And where did you get it from? Thanks!

Haenim play yard,
I ordered from Cheong Choon. $140 for 4 panels. $210 for 6 panels. Free delivery. Cash/Cheq on delivery. Kiddy Palace selling for $149.

haenim play yard yeah.. order frm cheong choon.. 6pcs juz nice. i bot 2 boxes. anyone wans 2 panels i can sell it @ $20.

blue skies, the play yard is very sturdy as in it wun collapse on ur baby. dunno whether is my boy too rough, he can push the panels as he cruises along. he shakes and jumps, no problem.

adelineL: flea market, my plc every sunday have.. but i find it's more like jumble sale type. haha.
try to sell it online. u'll get better price.
or u try tanglin mall saturday flea market.

my bumper mat is the smallest size. 1900*1400mm. i'm using 6pcs. juz nice. juz the corner abit jutting out.
my hse no space for 8panels, though i'll love to let him use all 8.

adeline
chelsea is very pretty and photogenic

dolls
i always found them spooky. have u seen this doll which urinates and farts when u press the tummy! my neighbour showed it to me the other day. so disgusting! LOL

hey ladies!
haven't been posting for awhile but i still read this thread now and then...hope y'all had a merry x'mas and a great new year. happy CNY in advance too!!

just wanted to find out if anyone has tried this caterer flavours n' spice? am trying to get a caterer for my DS' upcoming birthday, so now contemplating which caterer to use. i always use kriston but thought of changing this time round. any good caterers to recommend? i've looked at four seasons, lavish dine, purple sage, neo garden but all seems so-so only
if anyone has any good recommendations, please share!!

an x'mas pic of tristan to share:

2081743.jpg

ladies, does bb's blood take longer to clot? just now alex broke one of our display item n cut himself on the thumb. I was so stressed! his porridge cooking half way and I was preparing his bath. I shldnt leave him on his own for too long.
the wound was still bleeding aft a few mins n I applied some antiseptic cream n brought him out to see gp. half way there, I checked and his wound has closed up! so I brought him back home. really stressed man!

oh, haven't shown you ladies recent pics of the bb and the dog for awhile!

here's some to share!

2081835.jpg
2081836.jpg
2081837.jpg

I love the 2nd pic becos both of them have the "huh?" look on their faces hahah!!