(2008/03) March 2008

Since we're talking abt maids, do you prefer a Philli or Indon maid? Any citeria? Eg physical appearance, plump or petite and their age like btw 20 to 30 etc? Then how does the agent charge you? How much is the maid's cost (salary and FWL) per mth?

I find some agents like to bluff either the maid/employer. Some agent say basic eng understood, but the maid only know how to say "Yes". Don't understand also say Yes...

Kell,
good question. i realised that i'm very blur when it comes to maid! but i think filipino maids better? indon maids are mostly lazy and dumb. my mil had one and she proved me right in every sense. i didn't mean to put them down but seriously, they came from poor countries, didn't know what technology is and everything will be overwhelming once they reached singapore! i prefer one who's married with children though. i seen some good indon maids but they're so hard to come by!

AdeL
Invest in a hair trimmer. I got one for my ds2 and had ben cutting his hair since. But on special occassion, he doesn't want me to cut, I'll bring him to the Malay barber shop.

Halo mummies,
I have not posted in this thread for few mths liao. seems that there is good news. haahaa..
Congrats !!! By the way, do u use moisturiers for bbs? What brand to recommend? Thanks in advance!

Hm..
Philli maids are independent and "clever". But I'm afraid they're too assertive and will counter me. I dunno how to strongly put across my points tactfully. LOL. I think also depends on luck again. :p

Happy mummy,
My gal has ezcema. Using the "Aqeous Cream". If baby has sensitive skin, please only buy creams w the word "Hypoallergic" on them. I wasted much money buying the creams listed all over SMH forum. Hahahah

Kell : So it ok to put moisturisers on bb skins?Cos i was thinking their skin still like v "thin", dunno can use moisturisers a not.

Happymummy, i also apply moisturizer for my son after his bath. i use Aveeno baby moisturiser cream, recommended by his PD, since he was 3 mths. it works great for his face and whatever rashes he might get on his neck due to the heat.

abcmummy, i bought the aveeno cream in Canada. i thought that aveeno is avail in Singapore. it is called aveeno baby soothing relief moisture cream, cost about C$7..so maybe about S$10.

happymummy, I use littl canus moisturiser. its light for daily use n smell nice. its available here in sg but cheaper to get buy online fr us site.

another baby brand to consider Mustela. when i was onboard cathay pacific, the flight attendant gave me this Mustela bebe cream, said that it is a popular baby cream in HK.

Maid
thanks for all advice.. But I'm already in the mist of doing all the paper work. Just dunno hw should i break the news to her..

Mustela cream
Not bad, tried once before on my boy who have eczema..

Reena
i've used hair trimmer on my hubby long long time ago and ended up with such uneven hair that he had to go to the hair salon to get it fixed and he said the ppl there laughed at him :p ...he never let me forget this haha so we'll all be v. afraid if I have to cut bb's hair but then, bb's hair is easier right? not so much....i might try my skills again hehe, tks for the tip

Maid
My eldest sis has had several maids, all Fili. They are fast workers and language (Eng) is no problem. However, I find them very shrewd.

My 2nd sis has had 2 maids, both from Indo. She's fortunate that both are "gong gong" kind. They will do what is told, no initiatives but at least they won't talk back. Good and bad though...

However, I've seen a few Indo maids at my house's void deck, looking after elderly. OMG, you should see them yakking away with their peers and some Indian men. The old folk just sit on the wheelchair looking around. It seems to me that the maids are more like the owner!

AdeL,
I think it's more difficult to do it on bb since they move about. I only started trimming DS2's hair when he was about 2 yo. DH wanted me to cut his hair too but I've no confidence. Think I have to practise on ds2 more to move on to adults. Kids hair ugly nevermind :p

Lefty,
This is specially for you ;-) I managed to get 9 layers but I think my knife is not sharp enough to cut it nicely.

2072110.jpg

Reena,

Yr 9 layer kuehs looks so yummy. no kuehs to eat so ate 2 breads to substitute it. haha!

Yr D1 & D2 look quite alike & D3 is so chubby! It's a nice pic taken..

reena: wah.. i am eating bengawan solo 9-layer cake as i'm reading ur post...

adelineL: i use baby scissors to cut ryan's hair while he's aslp. cut finish 1 side then turn his head the other side to cut. then make sure it balances.

Good morning ladies

Went to studio loft for their CNY Walk in, first time brought lele out without her bro tagging along. Enjoyed myself with her walking around chinatown and yum cha. The wait for the shoot was quite long but turn out to have a few nice pictures.
2072875.jpg

shirley,
nice photo. can used as CNY postcard.

bb pink,
u r rite. turn out my DS is not used to teat size3. still need to used no2 for nite feed only.. daytime teat 3. piangz*

Adeline/Pet/jerejoy/bbpink,
Thanks for your kind words. This is a very simple recipe. If anyone is interested to make, let me know. But beware as it yields quite a big kueh. You must ensure you have enough pple to consume it then you make.

Jerejoy,
This pic was taken 3 months ago. MIL says dd3 slim down leow

Pet,
I find the Bengawan solo 9 layer kueh has an artificial taste. I still prefer the normal type from coffeeshops :p

If you cut when he's sleeping, won't the bed be full of hair?

bbpink,
Hopefully can join in gathering, then I can prepare some food for the mummies too ;)

Shirley,
Nice pic! Lele is still so chubby and smiley

redtea
glad the problem is solved

Renewing vows with Fann Wong & Christopher Lee @ IMM on 17 Jan

anyone else going for this. i just got my confirmation call..hehe, sound very exciting

going to bring the kids along..1st time renew vows with the kids :p

shirley: lele very kuai.. sit there and let u take her pic. ryan like to launch forward. max sit alone for 10secs only..

reena: i let him slp face flat on a towel. then i cut.. after tat i'll lift his face up to remove the towel. bed no hair. easy job.
artificial taste - yeah.. but easiest to buy and fastest to find.

bbpink: renew vows, so exciting.. i'll prob try tat when i m married for 10yrs.

shirley
what a beautiful foto. lele looks like an angel.

petrina
guess ryan and zayed the same. cannot sit still. they seem tot think they can lunge forward from heights and crawl nicely on the ground w/o getting hurt? hehe....

babypink
wooo...so interesting. you're really into stuff that's popular huh? Advertisement food, now renewing vows with celebrities..heheh

melissa
become SAHM la. then we can meet often *wink*

Yasmine b
hehe, just have a weakness for good advertisement and good commercials..not forgeting good salesgal (who convinces me to buy a preggies dress not too long ago when both of us noe i not pregnant;)

Pet
dun hav to wait 10 yrs lah
i had my vows 3 yrs ago

bbpink, abit too close. hehe. hb wun be interested.

spring maternity @ PS is having some sales. i bot nursing top frm there (on pretext of CNY again!)

Thanks everyone for your compliments on lele photo

petrina/yasmin

i tot lele wont be able to sit still but surprising with the help of her favourite biscuits, she can sit there for awhile. wanted to see how she react to studio shoot so take this chance as only 25 bucks.

babypink
renewing vows, hee think my hubby not into this! tell me if fann wong complexion is really that good close up! As for 14 march, can i confirm with you when its closer? logistics is my problem.

reena
you can conduct cooking lessons for us! i am totally clueless on how to cook/bake, always envious of people who can. i guess i may lack of practice

AdelineL
Lele reacts the same way as tommy which i find it very amusing too. She will want to look at stranger and when stranger starts to stretch out their hands to carry her, her eyes will turn red and mouth curve downwards. i am amaze at how fast she can turn on her tap. haha but now she is better, she will just turn and hide her face in my shoulder. her number 1 preference is still me which i very happy

oh ya, bbpink.. sorry i can't go to kyzac's bday party..
My hb's company is organizing a malacca trip on that weekend. My hb just called to inform me..

shirley and adeline
same for my zayed. he would atually call out to strangers next to me and smile and babble. but cannot carry. he would actually cry at the next sec. not just strangers but relatives or friends also. only ppl from my house and MIL's place can carry him. hehee..i always say he's a play dun carry baby.

adeline
how tall is tommy now? just curious as i now we have the tallest babies in the thread.

shirley

ok..i always tot her complexion is flawless..will observe tis sat :p
alrite, u can sms me directly closer the date

Pet

ok, noted with thanks

Reena
tks for your compliment on my boy. love the pic of your kids too, so cute that they pose together
can see similarities with the older kids only

as always your food looks v. yummy
i dunno how you get time to cook?? my #1 is always asking me to play with her so i feel guilty if i leave her alone too long and of cos there's the bb *haiz*...must brush up on my time management skills!

Shirley
the photo of lele is soooo nice
she's so cute, love her outfit! did you buy that or provided by studio??

bbpink
wow so exciting to renew vows with fann wong and christopher lee! but i'm not the type haha so only admire ppl who do that

and fann wong's complexion
it's really that good!! i've been up close leh...my old classmate used to be mediacorp director and at her wedding, many celebrities turned up, including fann wong and i find it heartening leh that our celebrities really look good up close hahaha

Shirley, yasmin
haha our babies are samah samah...yes i'm sure there will be one day where they will grow up and don't want their mummies to tag along *boo hoo* but for now, we're #1!!! yay!!!

yasmin
haven't measured tommy recently so no idea what his height is...how tall is zayed now?? Chelsea just turned 3 last mth and she's 102cm and i think that's pretty tall so i think my kids won't be short haha

pet
thanks for the tip on the haircut
i don't know if i can get enough nerve to do it haha

adelineL
the outfit bought by me from one of the BP. Wow chelsea is tall for her age! envy envy cos zac is pretty short like me * boo hoo* i am pulling his legs everyday to make him taller haha

yup. fann's complexion is the really gd type.. no need thick foundation. btw, i noticed tat she has a mole on her eyebrow. Phyllis Quek has a mole on her forehead. Joanne Peh has a mole on her lower lip. So it seems tat all mei nu have a mole somewhere on their faces leh.. ;)

reena, wow your dish looks very yummy! i really wish i know how to make a cake or that yummy dessert you made. instead of a meet up for coffee, maybe you can start a cooking class! hee!

petrina, i cut my baby's hair when he sleeps too, like you, i made sure that there is something covering the bed. i really do not know what i am doing, just snip using scissors and a comb to push up his hair up. and 1 week later, his hair grows fast like weed.

shirley, that is a nice picture of your daughter! she can sit still and pose, eh? do you mind if i ask how much did the portrait cost? i want to get one done for my son too. do you have to provide her outfit?

redtea, glad to hear that your baby is alright. so it was the teat, ok, now i will bear that in mind just incase my baby have a similar incident.

jerejoy, since you are staying at bedok, maybe you might know this, there is a shuttle bus from bedok mrt to parkway, right? do you know where is the pickup location?

adelineL, i have not seen your daughter's pic,but if tommy is looking so cute, i bet that she is a pretty little girl. dun know how true this is but i have heard that the first child takes after the dad and second one takes after the mummy.

toby,

I think it is at the Bedok mrt station. There is 2 exits from the Bedok MRT station. It's the one on the left hand side near the taxi stand. I think it shld be still the same waiting spot cos i hv not been in Spore for 3 yrs.

Reena,
you are indeed a good cook.

Shirley,
Tats really nice picture! I also wan! How much?? Where to take?!

Renewing vows,
I think its kinda 'lomantic' but not at the moment that I think I will do it. Shy leh....

Redtea,
My son always choked n cough when bottle feeding. Could it be also the teat flowing too fast? If he use one size lower, he will scream n cry but most of the time, he will not finish the milk.

Reena!!!!

Thank you very much.
It looked moist and original - not too colourful and artificial. I bet 'twas delicious! Like Petrina I also feel like hunting for 1 now...hehe!

Shirley,
That is a very nice picture of Lele! I like!

bbpink and toby,
thanks ;)

yt,
try poked a few more holes with the 1 size lower teats, thats wat i do with my teat size2. hee.. abit faster but not too fast..