(2008/03) March 2008

bbpink,

thanks! He was much better yesterday. At least din scream in the night time. But woke up early in the morning. abt 7 plus. Normally he's up abt 8 plus. But it's ok. At least last night was peaceful. (",)

boon,

Felicia is so chubby. Cute!

Kate,

Brendon is adorable. His eyes are big too. I think resembles yrs. If I don't remember wrongly, yr eyes are v round and big. V nice. So clever, can clap his hands now. =)

All the babies are so cute. More pics pls, mummies. They really brighten up my day. Too bad I can't upload mine on the forum.

abc,

thanks for yr recommendation on the Fischer Price high chair. I hv bought it and both of us love it v much. He's happy exploring the seat too. Somemore can sit till he's 50 lb. haha!

careless mommy! I fall while carrying kat home yday! I was wearing heels. My butt hurts and sprain my leg. Back pain. Haiz.. Then umbrella shifted one side n she got wet in rain!

So many babies can sit up bt kat can't yet! Her butt sharp one.

morning mummies...

so long never post le... how everyone and babies doing???

anyone going for the baby's day out at hort park... wanna to arrange to meet???

Venue: Lingyee's place
Date: 5 Oct 2008 (Sunday)
Time: 1.30pm
Agenda: Gathering + Potluck

1. Crystal & Cheryl - 1 Lrg chocolate cake
2. Kresentia (Erny) & Mikael - Indonesian Fruit rujak.
3. Liyun & Isaac - (err....thinking)

Boon,
Your BB is so cute...so nice to hv baby girl. You cn buy cutie dresses and many accessories to wear with...( I got two boys and no plan to add more)

Kate,
Brendan is so charmming. Very fast to be able to clap his hand. Very responsive.

<font size="+2">How much milk will my baby need if I pump breast milk for her?</font>
If you pump your breast milk for your baby, you can follow these guidelines to know how much she'll need:

Up until a month of age, most babies will take 2.5 to 3 ounces of breast milk in a bottle, feeding about eight times a day, for a total of 20 to 24 ounces in 24 hours. After that, the average amount of breast milk until 6 months of age is around 26 to 28 ounces per day, divided into six to eight feedings. If solids are started earlier than 6 months, the amount of breast milk a baby takes will decrease.

Keep in mind that these are just rough guidelines — by no means do you need to try to get your baby to eat 28 ounces each day if she doesn't want to. (If your baby is exclusively breastfed, she should take in at least 25 ounces a day, though.)

"Don't hold back if your baby still seems hungry," says lactation consultant Jan Barger, "but don't stuff your baby because you think there's a certain amount she should be getting."

<font color="0000ff">It's easy to overfeed a bottle-fed baby (with formula or breast milk), says Barger. </font>While a breastfed baby can comfort at the breast while getting just a minimal amount of milk, or drink just enough to quench her thirst, a bottle-fed baby doesn't easily have that option. <font color="0000ff">If your bottle-fed baby wants just a little milk, says Barger, she usually winds up getting much more because of how fast the bottle flows and the fact that it's hard for her to stop taking it.</font>

To help your baby get just the right amount of milk, feed her slowly and take little breaks to give her a chance to let you know when she's had enough. In fact, if your baby seems to be gulping the breast milk quickly, help her catch her breath by taking a break every ten sucks or so. This is especially important during the first couple of months, until she learns to pace herself.

<font color="0000ff">Most 7- to 11-month-old babies need a variety of solid foods two or three times a day, plus little snacks, along with four or five feedings of pumped breast milk a day. It's common for breastfed babies to decrease the amount of breast milk they take in as they increase their solid food intake.</font>

Once she reaches her first birthday, your baby can transition to whole cow's milk in a bottle or sippy cup. Keep in mind that <font color="0000ff">while cow's milk is good for her, you don't want to overdo it or you'll reduce her appetite for other healthy foods. In fact, too much cow's milk can lead to iron-deficiency anemia. Sixteen to 24 ounces a day should be just fine.</font>

And of course, you can continue to nurse past the first year if you and your child want to. Even though <font color="0000ff">your toddler will get most of her nutrition from solid food, breast milk still provides calories, valuable immunities, vitamins, and enzymes.</font>

Boon
yr bb so cute. Like little teddy bear. Remind me how is Alandria?

Kate
Brendon so clever. So cute! Andrae only jump when he hear music!

Andrae latest trick
Stand with support and walk few steps with support from one end to table to another end. But he hasnt start crawling. Only on fours. hahaha

Kate: Brendon so cool! noe how 2 clap hands when listening nursery songs! mayb he will b a great musician in future!

adeline:hope u r ok..

abc:wat's/who is Alandria huh? I m veri blur.. tot ur children Arielene &amp; Andrae?

Mummies thanks for the compliments

Felicia actually lost a little weight recently. now slightly below 10kg liao. dunno izzit bcoz my ss dropping in qty and quality :p coz nowadays sometimes lazy din drink that much milk/eat that much fish.. only rem to eat my DHA capsules.. Noted the bm not as thick as before.. plus she started her porridge so drink lesser milk. any mummies noted the bb weight drop after starting solids?

Bought Felicia to lower pierce reserviour for a morning walk today. the weather was very cooling so quite enjoyable

mikael:i really love dolling up Felicia.haha. buying dresses n small accessories very addictive leh.. though i din buy very expensive ones..

Yasmin:so gd u slim down to ur ideal weight so soon!

me still a little too fat.. bought a new digital weighing machine to better monitor myself. was thinking digital greater repeatability.. but my dear hb tells me i lack determination sure cannot control diet &amp; weight wan... *HURT* still tells me gonna go US buy those small small clothes which i cannot squeeze in to motivate me to go on diet.. very bad hor..

Boon,
Felicia is so cute n chubby, feel like pinching her thighs hahah. Mine also got fatty thighs and i luv to pinch her thighs occasionally.

Do any mummies purely give only organic fruits n vege to your bb? Where can I find organic shop in YCK/AMK area?

yt, u can try ntuc finest at thomson plaza. I think there's some organic shops along thomson rd... there's a stall at cheng san mkt (near my place)selling organic vege. wanna go to thomson to look look next wk?

I gave alex his first bb rice cereal today n he loves it! I think I must be the latest one in this thread to start bb on solid. haha..

yt, forgot to add tt I will go organic for bb.

simp

I like to "squeeze" her face. haha. Our bbs chubby face &amp; thighs quite "fun" to play with now hor.

but i do hope that when she grows up she will become slim slim.. else wait like her mummy got weight problem then no gd liao :p

I never go n buy organic food for Felicia wor. coz marketing all done by my in-law.. U all think critical to buy all organic stuffs? i think she got put normal carrots into Felicia porridge though Felicia rejects it. she dun like veggies.. its that seems she is more of a meat eater..

boon, its personal choice. I give organic coz I wanna give him food with the most nutrient. nothing beats natural food.

btw can't let bb eat too often carrot or orangey food. anything overdose also no good...

clover
i always use carrots though organic ones to cook cheryl's porridge as the stock. it is okay ? cuz you mention it's not wise to give them often. i know there might be an overdose of beta-carotene, but she is not taking the carrot physically. just the 'jing hua'.

thank's mummies for the compliments, i am 1st time mummy so when Brendon knows one trick i am too excited and quickly take picts...hehehehe really enjoy beeing a mummy, dun know why last time i keep saying dun want bb. hehehehe

Boon

I love to c Felicia pict, i showed it to my hub also, he also like...so cute

yt

i bought most of Brendon organic veg and fruits at thomson plaza ntuc. wait finish we can go together. some of the packing a bit too much, maybe we can share

hey mummies -
tristan has been phlegmy and coughing since 3 days ago and he's already been to see a PD. got rhinathiol, zyrtec, bricanyl and a nasal drop but it seems that his condition still sama sama though he still plays and feeds normally.

in adults, i guess we're more responsive to medication and get much better after 2-3 days. not sure if i should use the same gauge on a baby so wondering if anyone can share their experiences? i think a nebulizer would definitely make him feel better but not sure how to go about this....can we purchase nebulizers for babies? or do they need to go in to the PD for a nebulizing session regularly?

any advice?

bb heng

i advise u to go back to PD n revise again, Brendon also had same problem, first few days, the phelgm not so chialak but after taking medicine also cannot recover and the cough was worsen so i quicky brought him back to pd, detected bronchities and need nubelizer for 4 days. fully recovered after one week on 2nd review.

bbheng, bb's cough generally takes longer to get well. abt 1 wk or 2. mine took 2wks+ if i rem correctly.

u can try sucking out his mucus if he sound congested when he breathes. my bb hates it tho.

not sure why the pd didnt prescribe nebuliser (maybe dun need). my boy had bronchitis, so he had to use nebuliser. we rented the machine home for $10 a day. then gotta purchase a tube n a mask.

babyheng

my bb also took a long time to recover from cough/cold...could be up to 2 weeks before fully recover... if you think tristan did not show signs of improvement, u may want to bring him back to his pd.... someone taught me to give baby warm water if phlegmy...so now i always give my bb warm water and make her milk warmer even though she 's ok now.... she's been on nebuliser as well as rhinathiol, zyrtec and zenmolin before (in fact finished one whole bottle of zenmolin) but i still find that tui na is more effective for my bb...

hope tristan gets better soon!

ntuc finest at thomson plaza
any idea if they carry bellamy or healthy times bb cereals??

clover,yt

can. remind me again, i just went there with abc last two days. bought some organic stuff like one whole pumpkin at $3+, spinach $3+, small portion of brocolli $1+ and two big pear. i think brendon cannot finish so many, if u want i can let go one big pear and half pumpkin

yt
I oso try to gv bb organic food.same reason as clover.I did tat for arielene too until she's 2. will do likewise for andrae .however nt everything cones in organic form if really cannot find then gt from market.widest range of organic food is at supernature (park house) n brown rice paradise (tanglin mall). both @ orchard. have discount for both store. mayb can go there one day?

thomson plaza
depending on my marking maybe can join u all but things there nt very cheap. a shop @ marsiling is cheaper . if nt I mayb able to gt contact for organic farm n we order together ? let me check w my gf.

abc, supernature expensive? under club 21 leh.

twinklestar, u want to try bellamy rice cereal? a friend gave me some. can spare u some to try.

Organic food,
thanks for all the advice.
Kate,
Yar yar.. I wanna go and also share. I went to market today also got the same problem of buying the fruits n vege in too big portion.
Let me know when you going again i will follow you.

So wat should i do wif the fruits n vege i bot for my son today? Eat myself lor...

clover

no choice, all in big portion. wan him to eat more variety so can get more nutritions but ok lah so far, wat i do is cook lio frozen it, can last for a mth. now he is eating 2onz of fruits and 2 onz of vege everyday. the pumpkin still can keep. apples n carrot shares lio with yt.

clover
i will freeze too. But lucky for me i have Arielene to share some food with Andrae. heehee... The supplies i buy only able to last him 1-2 weeks. He takes 4 oz of puree for breakfast, another 4 oz for lunch and 2 oz for dinner, depending on what i gv him. heehee....

abc,
good hor. both kids can share. I guess i have to have a second bb then can share food. The big bb at home dun eat anything that is soft soft mashy mashy type. So no choice i gotta eat the leftovers. hahahahah!
You mean your son is taking so much solid now? or r you referring to your girl? I tot you wanna delay solid food for your son as late as possible. Thats very good apetite that he has got.
. My son only takes 3 spoonsful of cereal n an apple in the afternoon cos I was advised to take it slow n delay solid food as much as possible.

I dun freeze the food yet so I dunno how many oz he is taking. I only prepare everytime he wanna eat. Is it ok now to measure his food intake?

Clover,
if you keen to join us at Thomson NTUC will let you know again the timing. I would prefer a Sun or Sat so that I dun haf to bring my boy along for marketing.

YT
i think u are mistaken. I started solid only when my son is 6.5mth. Dun think tat is consider early right? I had not started any porridge yet. Only cereal and puree.

Yes my son is take 2 cubes of the 2oz cube thus one cube is 2oz total isnt it 4 oz?

Yr son is taking FM. Better to start him more on solids as he needs the nutritions from the food. Anyway i am adjustign him to proper food timing as in breakfast, lunch n dinner and to send the msg to him tat for those meal time he has to hv solid food. This helps when next time i wan to start him on porridge. It will then be a routine for him and easier for him to adjust and know that tat is breakfast time, lunch time or dinner time. In between the meals he will hv his feed of milk 6oz.

abc,
oh is it not early ah? I dunno leh. First time mummy.

Ya, my son was on partial BF from the start lor. But was advised mus also delay solid food as much as possible lor. I read it somewhere that BF bb can delay solid til 8-9mths lor cos BF is more 'nutritious'. So its not really true? Maybe I blur blur get the wrong idea.

I think you know your own child the best. Jus go with the flow.

Good to hear that your boy is adjusting well to the food schedule n intake. I think I better learn from you more as you are a more experienced mummy. Thanks for your advice.

Shaz17 : My gal aso has been coughing n having flu since last thurs. Went to see normal pd dwstairs where she has her jab. But cough still there, so after having the medicine for 3days, my mum changed to chinese medicine. Her cough worsen, she cough until wanna vomit. Then sunday nite bring her go Mt Alvernia cos she cant sleep well with her running nose n coughing. Doc prescribe her antibiotics. Cos he scared she cough until lungs infection. Is it ok for bb to take antibiotics? I took leave on mon n tues to help my mum look after her. My mum confirm she is teething. Until today she is still coughing. But luckily, she nv cough when she sleep. Her wgt dropped, mi see liao very heart pain.

Happymummy, u dun worry. Mine been coughing for abt 2 weeks. Aso not recovered yet. He aso does nt cough when he sleeps. It takes time for them to recover. If worsen, I wil bring him to see PD again.

Happygal29
i agree with boon..u must be tall ( my def of tall is anything above 160cm) to even out the wt

<font color="0000ff">blogging</font>
talking abt blogging and make nice nice, i cannot do it myself =)i remember using blogspot and if i want to attach pic, it seem to take a long time ? if i want to attach a lot, should take longer time ? maybe mummies who use blogspot can share wif me

Boon
Felicia is so cute &amp; chubby, my #1 only wear tat when she is 1 year old and it is so loose!

Kate
Brendon is very fast !
can clap hands so young

omg, abc, Andrae is very fast ! i remember #1 doing tat when she is coming to a year old

celia
hehe, i agree..love to hear babies "talk"

Poor Adeline, it must have hurt

PS: mummies with a elder kid, do u give the remainder of #2's milk to #1 if #2 cannot finish after 15 minutes :p

babypink
i dun cos arielene dun like bm. hahaha

ivy
we can discuss later on. :)

yt
no la everyone want he best for their child. i knw u r a great mom too. Yes bf bb can delay till 8-9mth. if i sahm maybe i would start slow but now i hv to express la. scare not enuff ebm for him oso. hahaha... But i will nt start porridge till mid nov. :)

abc mummy : My gal has already started on brown rice liao lei, make into porridge for her to eat. She loves it so much hahaa..

Hi abc

I m keen to share the Organic veg.

Ivy
Can I trouble you to collect on behalf my share whenever ABC pass u the vege, thereafter I will meet u at Sengkang MRT to collect from u in the evening?

my #1 also dun like bm ( direct fr source :p)
cos a lot of bad memories fr infant-time, suckling at milk-lackling breasts ..

once i ask her to suckle cos Kyzac refuses to suckle..she looks phobic