(2008/03) March 2008

I'm down with runny nose and sore throat. wondering if i got it from my boy..

mummyboy

one week, she like to nag in everything, walau...super bossy type.

just now Brendon vomited all the milk he latched while feed him the medicine...must re feed again..sigh, but i gave half of the dosage only

Now my boy knows that we are giving him medicine. When he taste 1 time, he will shout and cry. My mum will spoonfeed him the medicine. Lucky still manage to finish.

Sick babies,
hope all babies will be well and healthy!

SAHM,
I m stil trying to learn to be a good SAHM. Shouldn't say very good yet but m enjoying all the household chores and waiting for bb to wake up already.

Reena,
I rem you bake bread yourself. Care to share the receipe? My friend's maid wanna bake.

Maid,
anyone watch the 2030 show on the case of the maid murdering the employer? So scary rite? Must maids properly wor... I din watch the last part as I was hanging the laundry. Anyone can to share the ending?

i am selling my car seat, anyone interested in Combi Zeus Turn EG?

1710720.jpg

its brand new. i bought it at $799 but willing to sell at cheaper price. can email me ur best offer at [email protected] or text me at 91779901.. i think its too small for my boy.. but i think it's a good car seat. =)

dear all mummies and babies,
me and keira are at Terminal 3 waiting for boarding. Take care and c u all in 1 week's time! tataz and nitez nitz

Clover,
You're asking how I washed the cloth nappies? I assume you mean when it's soiled with poo? I always line the nappies with liners. Discard soiled liners and use the shower hose to spray onto the nappy to remove anymore poo. Scrub with detergent and soak in water for a few hours/overnight. Then I throw into the washing machine to wash as per normal.

bbpink,
Percentile - you are so funny!

YT,
You can get lots of recipes here.
http://www.kitchencapers.net/phpbb/index.php

I've tried these and they are good (using breadmaker machine)
Cream cheese bread
Orange bread
Hokkaido Milk Bread
Brioche with yoghurt

If the maid has time, there are alot more bread to bake, using the oven. I've tried the following and they're nice too:
Basic Sweet Bread Dough
Sweet Bread
Animal Bread Rolls
Cranberry bread

**All recipes from Kitchen Capers**

I just made this 2 nights ago, very simple and nice. It's unlike some quick bread recipes that's heavy and dense.
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Banana-Bread---Quick-Bread-for-Machines/Detail.aspx

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup white sugar - <font color="ff0000">I used 1/2 cup only</font>
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 eggs
2 bananas, peeled and halved lengthwise

DIRECTIONS
Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine.

Select the Dough setting, and press Start. Mix the bread for 3 to 5 minutes until the bananas are mashed and all ingredients are thoroughly combined. If necessary, use a rubber spatula to push the dough from the sides of the bread pan. When 3 to 5 minutes have passed on the clock display, press Stop. Do not continue mixing. Smooth out the top of the loaf with the rubber spatula.

Select the Bake setting, and press Start. The Bake cycle time may vary with machines, but should be about 50 minutes. To test the bread for doneness, insert a toothpick into the center top. Remove the toothpick. If the bread is done, the toothpick will come out clean. If there is dough on the toothpick, reset the machine on Bake and continue to bake an additional 10 to 15 minutes. Test again with the toothpick to assure the bread is completely baked. Remove the pan from the machine, but allow the bread to remain in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove the bread to cool completely on a wire rack.

Mamas
U gals are so engross in the recipe and sick babies topics that no one took notice of my Qs. ~So sad~ Just ask again to see if anyone will reply me now: What are all those Sanbucols and stuffs??? Cos me nv gave my kids all these before.. Since my DS #1, I only gave them cod liver oil. And I find that it's quite good... Now then I know that there are actually quite alot of things that we can give to babies...

Reached home around 10pm after work... And find out that the 2nd last toe nails on my left foot is dangling there, near dropping point. So I just might as well pull the whole thing out.. Now am afraid that it will not grow back again... Any mamas experience the same thing before??

Isabellali,

It will grow back. My hubby always has his big toe nail falling off cos he often injures his toe when he's playing soccer. It will grow back after sometime. Don't worry but it will take a while.

gd morning mummies

i have a sleepness nite...bb Brendon's cough getting worst, plus now he's having mild flu. vr worry....

Isabellali,

sanbucols is a supplement to boost bb immune system. u can read on tat link given by abc.

mummyboy
according to 100% of my colleague who hv at least one boy and one gal, boys tend to fall sick more easily than gals. I must agree this toally now! comparing my boy is bf and my gal is fm.

kate
sometimes jus learn how to close 2 eyes and close 2 ears when dealing with in laws.

Reena
rice cereal spree is happybellies. Stock not here yet. They will inform me when stock is here.

isabella
Info on sambucol: http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?c=1&amp;pid=-2125112713100456631&amp;at=0 However it is LOWLY available!

YT
WOW u becoming SAHM liao. very gd. Keep it up. I goign to be sahm for 2 kids in nov. Maid going home for hols.

kate -
do take care of urself and brendon....i think DIL and MIL problems will always exist....but as abc mummy puts it, just close 2 eyes, 2 ears (or 1 eye 1 ear if you're a more patient person hahah!).....i just try to remind myself that MOST of what they say are out of good intentions....not always easy, but better than getting upset! we'll be someone's MIL next time too!! kekekeke...

isabellali -
i always kena the dropped toe-nail thingie esp when i let my nails grow too long and go running after that....will grow one, don't worry!

Hello every1, I'm expecting my 2nd child now. Previously from Nov'05 thread. Elder one coming to 3 yrs old
Delivering at TMC, gynae is Dr KC Yeo.

wrong thread? hehe

ryan has recovered... left my hb now.. so sianz, being their "maid/nurse" for 3days running now...

kate, i train myself when i watch the channel 8 program @ 9pm daily... thank god my mil is not like tat... so i become more patient wif my own mil.. haha
works for me.

isabellali, i also nv give my son supplements..

babyheng, the whole nail come off? my nail always so hard.. so long until the nail can bend. but never break.. i always have to cut when they reach a certain unbearable length..

petrina -
glad to hear ryan's doing well! now left your big bb to "ci hou" hahah! god speed! hope ur hb gets well soon too.

yah whole nail like kena blue black....hahaha then slowly can see the nail necrotic and "dying" so i pluck off!!! usually it's after running when the toe nails are too long....hehe! sometimes i'm just lazy then never cut for very long and never visit pedicurist!

i used to like doing manicures but now with bb, no time and also i dunwant the nail polish to chip off then bb consume it or what!

maybe one day can gather a few mummies go for pamper session do pedicure :p

simp -
ONZ!
i used to go to dashing diva at suntec but i know it's damn expensive and they prob rip their customers off hahaa...but i like that place cos the staff friendly, it's spacious...and can watch mtv channel while i get my nails done heh!

where do you go for ur sessions? i just discovered there're alot of those nail salons @ holland village shopping centre and nobody one!! maybe i'll go try one of these days.

babyheng, then i muz intro u my nail salon... *shangrila nail spa* at holland road shopping centre @ 3rd floor... a corner off the organic shop.

babyheng, think dashing diva at suntec closed down lor. have they moved somewhere? i used to go good earth nail spa @ plaza sing... now for convenience's sake, AMK hub. haha.

simp, i find mani a waste leh, coz the colours always chipped off after a few days.

ya..i will REN!!!!!!!! one week only mah..hehehhe. She is here lio...she said why use jumperoo later cannot walk, must use walker mah...hahahaha, cough must drink more water....blah blah blah...i just keep quite lor. i know she is in good intention but wrong way lor. Genaration gap lah, wat can i say?

Hi, I'm from the Feb mom's group, wanna ask if anyone uses Friso Gold #1 for their babies? My maid bought the wrong one (even though I write down what to buy and showed her the bottle 2 times, long story). It is just opened today, so I cannot return to the store. If anyone is using, maybe can arrange for self collection - I can't bear to throw away and PD said that it's not healthy to continue giving #1 when I have been giving #2 for almost 1 month liao. Pls PM me k? Thanks

clover -
yah, dashing diva closed down...dun think moved anywhere....then later i go to the bella citispa one at choa chu kang...but they keep forcing me to sign those exhorbitant packages with them i got fed up and dont want to go anymore! very long never do mani and pedi liaos!

Kate,
How's Brendon now? You must be worried sick. Do take care as you need to be strong in order to take care of him.

Mummyboy,
Imagine if you didn't breastfeed, bbs have higher chance of falling sick. Think positive ;-)

abc,
Happybellies cereal - you getting this from local supplier? How much does a box cost? Let me know when the stock is here, thanks!

Huggies barcode/proof of purchase
Anyone using Huggies here? Is there a redemption going on for Huggies diapers? I see some mommies want to buy barcodes. I saw also besides the barcode, there's this "perforated" rectangle with points on it. What's that for? Anyone knows?

shaz,
i also say mani a bit wasted so i go only when i have occassion. I usually go to holly secrets at paragon. My favourite hahah

Baby boys
Baby boys tend to fall sick easier than girls because of the way they are 'made' of. Boys are made of X &amp; Y Cromosome (dunno if I spell correctly), while girls are X &amp; X.

Y: basically is 'deformed' cromosome. Or they call it 'spoilt' cromosome.

X: Good cromosome. Perfect cromosome.

With a 'spoilt' cromosome, boys are more vulnerable to those 'born-with' illness like down syndrome and stuff.

For mummies who have baby boys, if u are free and able to afford some time for books, I recommend this book: From Boys to Men. Can be found at most library. That's what I read when I had my 2nd baby...

reena

thank's. yah, just not enough sleep, he vr xing ku , tends to wake up a few times n cranky in the mid of nite. just pray tat he'll better, really heart pain to c him sick, if can i want to sick for him

Mummyboy,
thanks for the info on the tv show.

Travelling wif bb,
looks like many mummies has travelled wif their bb to overseas liao hor. Dun think I will do that so fast cos I hate travelling though it was my job last time. Hahahhahah!

Reena,
thanks for the receipe

Isabellali,
sorry not sure about the supplement thats y din answer you.

abc,
wat to do... maid went crazy n wanna go back so I got no maid now lor. Or rather I m the maid now! Hahhahahha! I put aside my work temporarily and be at full time SAHM.
oh... let me know if the Happybellies cereal is here. My supply has been low liao. Wanna order some more also. tnx.

Kate,
hope your boy wil recover soon.

SOS!!!
My boy keep snatching the spoon when I fed him cereal. He would scream n shout if I dun give him. Ending up crying. I would then stop feeding him cereal altogether when this thing happens. Wasted the cereal a few times liao.
Qns:
1. how much are you gals giving your bb each time for the cereal?
2. how come my boy seems to be hungry even though I fed him 3 spoonful of cereal, one hour after his milk, and he will still be on time for his next feed of milk? I am now giving once a day of cereal to my bb.

reena, yes! THANKS for yr cloth diaper advice. i was wondering whether i did something wrong for the time i had put him on cloth nappy... coz the stains were hard to wash off. in the end i used washing machine. hehe.

Clover,
It was through trial and error that I found out how to wash away the poo stain.

YT,
Did I understand that you were a cabin crew? So you left when you're pregnant or before preg? My gf also crew and she worked till she was 4 months preg before she left (tummy starting to show). Only returned back to work when her son turned 1yo. Are you planning to return to work too?

CP &amp; YT : Hmm my gal also scream and shout when i feed her cereal. She seems to be so impatient, if she really cry too hard, mi change to bottle feed her cereal. then she ok. Think they just wan us to feed them fast fast lah. My mum initial give my gal 1 and 1/2 spoonful of cereal.

YT, happymum
they snatch cos they wan to hv something on hand. Perhaps gv them another spoont o hold or play with.

Cereal
i hv 2 tablespoon/ Those tat we use to drink spoon. He finish all. Dun force him to eat if he cannot finish. PATIENCE is the word at this stage cos both mum and bb r tryign new things. Sometimes u jus hv to trial and error. It is normal to waste the cereal at thos point of time.

scedhule
i gv 2 hour after each feed. Cereal at 8 then milk at 10. Give at least a 2 hr gap. It is normal to mess up schedule now as they r growing. As they grow up their milk intake comes les freuqent and they get their nutrition from food they eat. For FM solids is more impt afrer 6 mth. for BM bb it is after 8-9 mth.

YT
wat makes u think he is hungry? prob he is thirsty? Anyway whcih kind of spoon u using? Maybe it could be the texture of cereal too.

I am giving my ger 3 tablespoon of cereals, twice a day. so far she is okie leh, just that she will be impatient too and cry too. but usually i will make her finish her feed.
the onli thing i cant stand is that she will to put her finger inside her mouth halfway thru the feeding.

hey all, for 3 days my ds has been throwing up milk once or twice a day. these happened aft his feed, and can smell his gastric acid. mil said he has wind in the tummy. does anyone know wat could be the cause?

cpyt
My boy is eating porridge now so I can't answer u on the amount of cereal. But for the snatching of the sppon, maybe you can try giving her a spoon to play as you feed her cereal..

Adeline
The cereal I ordered, is it still with you??? If it is, I might need to sell it off as my boy is nt taking cereal le.. Can u let me know??

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Long awaiting Happybellies pre-order</font></font>

I have liased with supernature. He is still liasing with his boss to give us a better discount. However max charge is $12.55 per tin. However as stock are coming only in 2 weeks time he suggest we pre-order and reserve the stock with him now as the demand is getting higher. He knows that i am the one who started off with this BP thingy and hence will give me more discount than other ppl and also priority to us.

Happybellies cereal comes in brown rice, oatmeal and mult-grain.
http://www.happybabyfood.com/Oatmeal.html
http://www.happybabyfood.com/BrownRice.html
http://www.happybabyfood.com/MultiGrain.html

Please cut and paste the following for yr order. $12.55 per tin.

================================================
BROWN RICE
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. katechow - 2 tin

Total: 3 tin

=================================================
OATMEAL
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. adelinesia - 5 tin

Total : 6 tin

================================================
MULTIGRAIN RICE