(2008/03) March 2008

i wonder who will be the first mommy to strike a 2nd jackpot in this thread

clover: no lah.. dun think so bah...
wun be so unlucky.. haha
my nausea mainly is at nite leh.. maybe gastric lah. dun waste my test kit.. haha
anyway so infrequent.. + we use protection.

melissa so horrible...

my boy also fever since yesterday. On and off. Around 38.3 degrees. Is it consider high?

He has a bit cough and flu also. Haven brought him to PD yet.

melissa: well...it's always like that...cos it's US firm...

actually...my leave is more than enough to cover me till rest of the year...which is 12 days AL...

hmmm....next yr...i will be having 26days of leave(inclusive of CCL)...yippeee

cloudme,
you can bring forward all your leave ah? so good! mine only 7 days. b'cos they want to encourage staff to take leave and relax once in a while, so every year must clear 7 days. my AL is 15 days lei, previous workplace was 18 days. really missed that company.

pet,
you never know lor. i did mention before i conceived Tricia around the same time last year, after my 1st menses when my terror two was 6-7 months. so it kinda bring back memories. kekee.

mummyboy,
maybe u want to use this as a guideline, taken from Dr Sears website, a PD from US.

WHAT TEMPERATURE CONSTITUTES A FEVER?

* Normal temperature – 97 to 99 degrees (36 to 37.2 Celcius).
* Low-grade fever – 99 to 100.9 degrees (37.3 to 38.3 Celcius).
* Common fever – 101 to 103.5 degrees (38.4 to 39.7 Celcius).
* High fever – any fever over 103.6 degrees (39.8 Celcius).

SHOULD I TREAT A LOW GRADE FEVER?

No. Low-grade fevers are helpful in fighting off infection. You should only treat a fever when it is making your child miserable. Treat your child, not the fever.

More here. Read it, it's a very good article.

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/8/T082100.asp

SHOULD I TREAT A LOW GRADE FEVER?

No. Low-grade fevers are helpful in fighting off infection. You should only treat a fever when it is making your child miserable. Treat your child, not the fever.

So what does it mean? Don't need to give medicine??

cloudme,
so lucky of you kekeke.

mummyboy,
Tricia had low-grade fever before, I didn't give her any medicine but i continue to monitor her temp if it rises above 38.5 then i'll give her panadol. otherwise, I let her be.

oh. my mum gave my boy panadol for 3 times already. yest give at 1pm and 7pm. then stopped, but this morn around 7am fever again, then she give again.

or we can try not to give?

thank's mummies for the wishes. just pray tat his cough dun get worst. yest nite he wake up at 1am and refuse to sleep until 3am, i think because of his stuffy nose...

abc

compare to my previous PD , dr Ong is more ex...his 1st time consultation is $70 and one of the cough syrup medicine call salbutamol only 60ml cost about $50.

melissa: nope...leave is not able to bring over to next yr...all have to clear by yr end...
so in my co...u will find it like a ghost town during dec...cos everyone clearing leave...haha..

so good ur co can still bring forward...

i dunno how bad brendon's cough is but i just tot salbutamol is a strong med. if brendon has no bronchitis, then why is he taking such strong med? that's the doc's call...

the salbutamol i took is in inhalant form. one of the side effect from taking salbutamol is experiencing tremors. u keep a look out for that.

i think sambutamol in inhalant and water form is different. Same as venotin. Different.

Mummyboy
i am oso one who dun gv fever medicine until temp reach 38.3 degree

clover,

it's stated for cough n wheezing, 2ml for him, 3x aday, just now Brendon spilt out most of it..alamak, i think next time must hold his nose when giving him medicine. i taste it, super sweet...dun know why they want to make infant cought medicine until so sweet

ic.. my mil ranted to me abt salbutamol tt young children shouldnt take, let alone bbs. i wont let my bb take strong meds if possible.

kate if he spits out, u hv to feed again leh. meds is sweet, so babies will take the meds mah.

ryan's temp rose to 38.7deg... i cold sponged him again... so scary... whenever the medicine effect wears off, his fever rises again. then when he take med, the temp will go down..
i so regret letting him take his jab yesterday...

melissa, dun scare me lah..

jerejoy, ya. i hope i'm juz tired.. :p i dun wan #2 now...no... otherwise i'll go crazy manz...

kate, dunno y i use syringe to feed ryan med yesterday, twice he vomit it out... force vomit..
but today i use spoon feed, he juz grumble abit. nv vomit it out. then i use the same spoon to feed him water to wash it down..
he ok leh..

clover, i nv re-feed meds... cause i believe there will be some tat he swallows.. i usually juz observe. i scared end up over feed.

today i opened the hipps brand organic ruskits to try myself... so sweet and tasty! abit heaty i feel.. i dunno how to mix wif milk.. will be super sweet lor.
i can snack on it manz... i think i'll try the healthy times bear biscuit for ryan instead.. i'll prob finish the ruskit all by myself.. haha

Mummyboy,
There's no need to give para if your child's fever is below 38.5C. Just keep sponging. Monitor his behavior. If he's not restless, he's fine.

For me, I will write down each temp taking (KKH's nurse taught me this). If fever hovering around low 37C, just monitor. But if you see the fever going up over the hours, it's ok to give medicine at 38C esp at night so you can have a slightly more peaceful sleep.

Remember, fever is not a virus. It is your body reacting to fight an infection.

petrina -
i went to that HV shop that day and they let me try some yummy organic biscuits too hahah! end up i bought all the clothes instead of food! those "organic clothes" are pricey man...but some designs really too cute too miss! :D

babyheng, wah lao.. go organic shop is buy food mah... u arh.. very exp manz, their organic cotton clothes.. $20+ per pc... faintz...

petrina
healthy times teething biscuit is lousy. #1 it is super duper hard and sticky. $2 it is not round thus hard to hold. Would suggest bellamy teething biscuit instead.

mummyboy
i dun sponge. I bath more more often with a little luckewarm water but the water i use is slightly colder than his normal bathign water.

clover
i oso dun like to gv medicine unless necesary. If so maybe u would like homeopathic herbs. I give my gal herbs like echinacea to boost her immunity and cough syrup which r only made of herbs like prospan. U can check out these brand called "gaia", "herbs for kids" Natrobio... natrabio has this cold n flu drop which is super effective.

This is the one:

cold and flu
http://www.revolutionhealthstore.com/qxp79056_333181_sespider/natrabio/childrens_cold_and_flu_relief.htm

teething relief
http://www.revolutionhealthstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=150876&catid=101151&trx=PLST-0-SEARCH&trxp1=101151&trxp2=150876&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-SEARCH

cough
http://www.revolutionhealthstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=33194&catid=101292&trx=PLST-0-SEARCH&trxp1=101292&trxp2=33194&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-SEARCH

Usually when systomes appear i will give these as medication. However do not herbs take a longer time to recover than medicine. If one week later the illness is still there then i bring to see doc or when i feel bb condition worsen then i bring them see dr.

abc

Terence Tan lagi ex...wa lau, i think if mild cases i will stick to my old PD at bishan. heard from my yoga teacher, she is very experience, her clinic is not as nice as dr Ong lah but feed back is quite good too from bishan mummies.

petrina -
yah...cannot control leh....got shopping bug in me hahaha! end up i buy liaos also feel like smacking myself!

one of the nurses at Mt A taught me how to feed meds to small babies....put the liquid/syrup in the feeding bottle teat and let them suck the teat (no need to worry about sucking in wind)...then followed with plain water in the bottle.....

i used to have to feed tristan meds 2-3times again cos he had a gastric reflux problem....he usually will just guai guai take his meds this way....maybe u can give it a try see how it goes?

abc
saw updates from taggies spree liao. i self collect this sunday okay tgt with the payment.
thanks !!

teething relief
i got the dentinox teething gel from my pd. it's also selling at guardian.

re: vaccination and fever
what is everyone's opinion on giving medicine for fever following vaccination? would you mummies give panadol for low-grade fever?

both times my boy had his jabs, he had fever (about 38.5 or so). he wasn't looking uncomfortable and was still as playful as per normal....but i gave him the medicine regardless cos i was worried his brains will be fried if the fever goes any higher...haha!

abc: i tried leh.. hard yes. but tasteless, nice to bite? the hipp brand machiam my biscuit snack.. lolx
but quite soft.. like the english finger cookies..

ok, i'll go c the bellamy biscuit..

babyheng: control... so exp.. i always *lun*... dun buy. not worth..
but hor, my boy already hate bottle. if i put med in bottle, he sure dun suck 1.
so for my boy, spoon feed is best.

teething relief
i m using *jing feng san* frm herbal shop at the moment.. works like XO.. haha to me lah

petrina -
are you going down to HV again soon? i wanna go check out the biscuits and also buy the Earth Best cereal....if you going, tell me...go with me, then if i buy clothes, u can remind me must LUUUUUUUN!

is this "jing feng san" thing for erm fever and fits or get shock or something like that? is it the same "jing feng san"...cos i remember my mom telling me about this before...

abc, yeap! i like to go homeopathic if possible! this revolutionhealthstore.com site is under drugstore.. so can order as per normal? as in add into my drugstore cart? i am going to order my desitin soon coz running out.

drugstore spree, anyone interested? hehe. seems like i do a lot of online shopping these days! alamak, my pocket!!!

kate, so far i hv only seen 2 pd. dr t. tan and dr chan from amk sbcc. i think amk sbcc is more ex leh. how much is the bishan pd charge? any idea wat's the pd specialty?

crystal, i am also using dentinox on alex now which works well on him but i will try the one abc recommended.

babyheng, i wont give med for low grade fever lah. everytime i took alex for his jab, i dun do any prep work like giving him something "liang" nor i administrate baby panadol. so far he has never had a fever *cross fingers* and his body temp at most went up 0.5 to 0.8 deg (below 38 deg)

where is the organic shop at HV? will like to check it out too.

Mummyboy,
Room temperature water is fine, do not use cold water. Even for bathing, just use warm water ie temp slightly above room temperature.

Teething biscuits,
You can always prepare your own teething biscuits, no salt no preservative ;-)

clover -
the shop is in the HV shopping centre....3rd floor...it's called "love for earth"....it's quite a small set up but they carry a couple of brands like bellamy, HIPP, earth's best....and have other stuff like organic moisturiser, shampoo etc.

i didnt have much time when i went there the last time....the shopkeepers said if i had more time, they'll slowly go through different products with me....will go back there again soon!

clover

Bishan PD is an Indian Lady, dun know what's her specialist but she vr gentle n patient with bb. First time i c her i paid abt 60 plus only include 2 medicine for stuffy nose, her follow up price is even cheaper i think.