(2008/03) March 2008

shaz17,

Thanks for the info for the book.

Reena,

I wish to pump too but my boy is a superglue. The only time I can pump is night time when he's asleep. But can't pump in peace bcos he will keep waking up (only recently). when my milk let down, he wakes up. Hv to restart again.... Haiz!

Yeterday he managed to sleep longer, waking up 4 hrs after i gave him ebm and then every 2hrly. Think I know wht is the reason he keeps waking up liao. Pancake is right. I think it's due to hunger. Hv to try to increase my bm supply.

cpyt,

Thanks for yr encourgement. Now that I figured out the problem, I'm trying to increase my milk supply. Hoping eating more oatmeal, pumping, latching n fenugreek will help.

felt alittle guilty after reading u gals' replies.. hb is actually veri helpful in household chores.. in fact he does most of it coz i m those "happy go lucky" can see 1 eye close 1 eye type so everytime he c messy will start packing/cleaning then i will quickly go n assist.. i m not a gd wife in this aspect..

during my ml, i was pretty pissed with him for not supportive enuff for bf and not helping enuff in looking after Felicia.. however this changes liao after i start work coz i think he can see that i m really v tired n struggling so he actually did most of the nite "entertainment" n i only mainly latch on..

our conflicts arises as we have different beliefs on how we expect things shd be.. it doesn't help when both of us are rather obstinate.. most of the times it ended up i giving in after cold war coz i simply hates cold war.. he hates confrontation so always rather cold war. mi on the other hand prefer talking things out.. so his silence drives me nutz too at times.. but he did give in this time as he tok to mi in better tone first

at the moment guess the best solution for us now is to buy another car seat fast with better belting mechanism so my pil will not be uncomfortable.

as for working things out between couples or even as parents, we are still learning.. expecting an uphill route.. but it does help to simmer down n try to look at his gd pts to try to "appreciate" him coz i also not perfect. but i muz admit i also have tots of bringing my gal n "bolt off" when i m super angry. think mother has "greater rights" over children coz we are the one who carry them for months. haha

<font color="ff0000">ABC:</font> hope your son will have a speedy recovery!

Quarrel,
Mummies, I think we are all very stressed up with bb, plus work for those who are FTWM. But we gotta hang in there.
Sometime, jus cannot understand why our hubby cannot understand or help us up. Thats y they say "MAN R FROM MARS N WOMAN R VENUS'. Other than all the sweet sweet things of marriage in fairy tales, its actually bringing two person with complete different upbringing, different habits n sometime different point of views together. On top of that, you also marry his whole family as well. So disagreement is not surprise.
I had my wedding photos in my computer. So when I was sad or alone at home. I will look at it. This is to rekindle the feeling of warmth, happy and protected.
Ever since I was pregnant, I keep telling my hubby in a jokingly manner " Oh no, you are the one who I have to be with for the next 40yrs to come?!" n he would always make fun n replied me "oh no!" pulling his hair. These are subtle things that I do to reassure our marriage.
Not that my marriage is perfect but from experience I feel that communication, communication n communication is the only way to work things out. When communicating with each other, its important to talk things out not ended up in another arguement. Cry in front of him if you have to. I feel that most hubby will not be heartless when they see their wife cry. Woman mah... yi ku er nao san shang diao, this is our rite to do it rights, ladies! Hahahha!
I had learnt this method from one of the courses that I attended: If you are not able to communicate with your hubby or he is the kind that no matter wat you say, he will be a blockhead keeping quiet. Maybe, can try to sms or write a note to him and put on his desk at home? Some man jus dunno how to express himself verbally.

This is jus my little sharing from the courses that I attended before. Hope it helps.

Jerejoy,
Jia You for your milk supply!

yutong,
thanks for ur tips.

anyone knw when does Cheong choon opens today. going to get a new bed for DS. yesterday nanny show us video of my DS filpping. now at home, he filping here and there liao. piangz.

cpyt,

Thanks! drank the organic mother milk tea 2 times, taken 2 capsules of fenugreek and intending to take 2 more capsules in the evening time. Taken oatmeal in the morning. Seems to hv increased slightly more cos my breastpads are a bit wet. Hopefully these will help.

Monthly BB Assessment,
can I check is it necessary to do the monthly assessment for bb? I din do it since my bb is 4mths leh. Bad mom!

consult a fren recently on dropping milk ss. she total ebm fed her bb for 1 yr. she told me she never experiences drop in ss near 6mth milesotne but find that if she drop in frequency in expressing n dun empty breasts, supply will drop n take long time 2 rebuild again.. n if ss drop too much,body may b tricked to think we r weaning bb, then our "monthly gd fren" will come again!! Arrrggghh...

i express during day (3-4hr interval) n only latch at nite so thinking mayb din empty well so dipping.. now try to pump @ nite again.. plus consume 4 fenugreek capsules + a glass of similac mum per day. ss climb back abit. still monitoring. For mummies struggling with dipping ss, let's JIA YOU together! We can do it!!!
1642381.gif

YT: i also din do it. supposingly nurse(polyclinic) asks us go home to do it.. think on-off check c they reach certain milestone then ok liao?? coz my bb rather slow in the motorskill milestone so din wanna keep looking n make myself more demoralize but let her develop naturally..

Synchronised Breastfeeding Event
Anyone else is interested in the breastfeeding even at Suntec next Sat 23rd August?!!
Please add your name to the list and PM me your nick+real name and phone no k? tks!!!

Details
Breastfeeding. Is it for me?
Date: 23 Aug 2008 Saturday
Time: 2.30-4pm (Synchronised Breastfeeding starts at 4pm)
Venue: Suntec City Convention
Cost: Free! With Free goodie bag worth $50 provided!

More details: Mary/Shan 62588816

There will also be talks and Q&amp;A sessions, including:
1. Help! I don't have enough milk! Overcoming common problems in breastfeeding. By Sister Kang, Lactation Consultant, Mt Alvernia.
2. Working and Breastfeeding: Is it possible? By Mrs Wong Boh Boi, Senior Parent Craft/ Lactation Consultant
3. The Role of the father in Breastfeeding. By Mr Edwin Choy, Centre of Fathering.

Organised by:
aLife, Anmun, mCYS, Centre of Fathering and Singapore Planned Parenthood Association.

Interested mommies:
1. abc
2. belle mommy
3. Adeline Sia*
4. Kate Chow
5. Petrina Goh
6. Angeline*
7. Clover
8. Lingyee*
9. Aly
10. Petrina wys
11. Babypink
12. Serene_yeo

#Btw, my friend who delivered in June is also interested to join.

* I will need your nick/name/hp no to help u sign up, pls PM me your details! =)
Anyone else interested in participating just add your name to the list and pm me ur details, tks! Pls support breastfeeding! spread the word to all mommies! partial BF also welcome! =)

boon, yr bb is big so maybe heavy to exercise herself. hehe.

jerejoy, drinking more fluid helps too. maybe yr bb has a bigger appetite. mine can drink every 2 hrs during the day instead of 3hrs.

redtea, some men r the type tt rather not disrupt the peace...

Sharing a photo of my bb that i took today:

1642648.jpg

Tristan learning to sit unassisted!! He's getting better and better at this everyday....if he tumbles over, he just laughs out loud as if it's the biggest joke on earth! Heheh!

babyheng,
Tristan is so cute he laughs at himself!! Pretty fast that he learns how to sit unassisted. Big step! Well done Tristan!

Clover,

Thanks! Think I will give him bm every 2 hrs now instead of 3 hrs. Hv to try ways n means to increase my supply.

Shaz17,

Tristan is v cute. Hw many months is he now? So fast to be able to sit unassisted. Gd job!

wow.. so fast sit unassisted! hehee..
My girl still sitting with assistance..
So so cranky cause of teething.. fainting liao..
Thankfully kimberly help me to entertain her..

havent read the posts yet, but just wana share a very happy news :p

Maid has left my house and went to airport , no more bf woes ..hehe, we part happily

few days back, her bf came to our floor and was smoking near the lift landing..geez

bb pink

my aunty's friend has a maid, vr good in handling kids... u want to consider her? actually my aunty's friend still want her back but she dun want to work for her, ask me if can find other employee for her.

i took a quick glance, reply some 1st

abc
hope Andrae recover fast

FL
u r welcome
next time u can share also when u r expecting #2 with the other new moms in ur #2 thread

Kate
glad u have recovered

PS: abt car seats, actually the accident in m'sia, everyone dies, including the toddler in car sear except for the baby gal who was in car seat. Strangely, it was the baby gal in her mother's lap that survive. She was thrown a distance away, but no injuries also, was discharged fast too. Whereas her bro in car seat died..

but personally, i will still put my kids in car seats

Thanks thanks everyone!
Initially, i helped him by putting his hands on the bed so he can learn to support his own weight. Starting he could only do it for few seconds then cannot balance liao...hahah! Now he's getting better with more practice!

Jerejoy - my boy is 4mths plus...turning 5 months next week! :D

Oh yah, to share my 1st time

She is my 1st maid in 2 years, so i din noe a lot of things..
1) Work Permit must be passed to maid to give to immigration officers. I though we can send back work permit to MOM ourselves
2) Must print out letter tht we have cancelled work permit..i din, but immigration officer print out themselves

hearing so much stories, this is the maid
http://davluvjo.multiply.com/photos/album/304/Bye_Bye_Maid_

hehe, Kate, i miss u and ur Brendon also

PS: Sep gathering hope u can attend..hehe, no details out yet, is it at lynflower's hse ?

talking abt hubbies
all i noe is i will be very happy if we can spend our 50s to 70s happily looking after our grandkids while the kids are working, staying physically and mentally alert

hehe, maybe next time , we can have a gathering of march 2008 mummies who have bec grannnies..will be so fun hor

tat will be at least 20 plus years down the road

3 yrs ago b4 i was married, during a course, the icebreaker asks us to talk abt our ambition..i said mine is to be a granny

so happy, no need to work, kids grown up, just play with grandkids

bb pink,

wait my hub come back, we gathering outside for food. hehehee...

any idea what to put under the jumperoo, my boy now keep jumping, higher n higher...lol, vr scare tat his feet will injured..

Hi..there!

Anyone knows, until when Taka bb fair will end? Thinking to check out baby carrier. Do they carry beco or pikolo?

babyheng, tristan is so cute. alex also sat up unassisted yesterday. :D

mummies, my alex has been biting my nipple during feeding. how to stop him from doing that? if I take my nipple out, he might kena milk sprayed onto his face. :p

erny, bb fair is until next weekend but they dun carry these 2 brands which are not available for retail in sg. taka 3rd floor has baby bjorn 15% off.

shaz17
Wow~ That's really fast.. Tristan is able to sit unassisted.. Gotta train my baby Rhys the way u did and see if it helps for him.. =)

Clover,
If your bb bites you again, give a stern "NO" or "NO BITE" and unlatch him. It's ok to let milk spray onto his face. Even if he cries, it's still ok. This is to teach him, if he continues to bite, he has no milk. Of course, you won't see immediate result but after a few sessions, bbs will know they're not supposed to bite. HTHs

yasmin

i think this bright star exersaucer more suitable for bigger baby, maybe u rent first or try first at the toys store before u buy.

<font color="0000ff">clover:</font> yah.. tink she is on the heavier side @ the moment so difficult to balance the weight.. but sometimes tink she too lazy leh. put on mat do a bit of tummy time she will become veri pek chek n start screaming. like this how to learn..haiz...

btw Felicia bites sometimes. when she bites i pull out n "slap" her cheek then "scold" her. softly of coz. dunno works or not. still monitoring.

<font color="0000ff">babyheng:</font>really like Tristan's eyes. so BIG!! next time surely will b a handsome boy!

yasmin: ya.. when i rented the safety first exersaucer, ryan din like it. cause he can't reach the toys. but now is ok le. as they learn how to grab. so u decide by renting first is safer..

shaz17: tristan is good.. 6mths le mah?? ryan notti.. i put him sit by himself, he'll make noise. then will try to eat his toes.. he prefers his hands in his mouth rather than supporting himself. haha

isabella: dun worry.. try to think abt the good stuffs while dating? try to rekindle love between both of u during wkends. have some couple time. since ur baby can bottle feed, try to rekindle the dating days. it will help. it'll distract him frm pc games or internet.

reena, tks for the advice! i must get a hanky on standby when i bf him.

boon, my alex also dun like his tummy time. now he can tahan longer... when he's on his tummy, i cheered like siao cha bor and he is more motivated to stay on his tummy longer. haha. my alex likes us to cheer for him. he will feel v pleased.

Petrina
Thanks for your advice.. Have tried but it doesn't seem to works.. But we've talk things out just now.. But nit's me talking and he listening.. At least we're better after that, it shows that he understands.. At least better.. =)

Shaz17
I tried letting baby Rhys sit on himself unassisted, but i did put my both hand ard him (without touching him), scared he'll fall too hard.. And it seems like he also laugh when he fell onto the bed sideway.. Think they like the feeling of falling on soft surface..

Thanks for all the well wishes. have been camping in hospital since thursday. Not sure when he will be discharged.

Doctor diagnoise as Bronchitis. But still checking whether any chesk infection. Anyway fever still hovering around 37.5 degree, cough and lots of phelgm. Already did 5 times of suction but still wheezy. Jus develop runny nose. Shld be able to discharge tmr or monday.

All in all, thanks for the well wishes.

Sorry nt able to catch up with post... too tired n only when hb is ard then hv access to internet

abc, take care.. glad to noe he's gg home soon. hope he recover soon.

isabella: ya. better tat u tell him rather than he dunno how u feel. slowly.. dun hurry him. maybe he still need some time to settle on the heavy responsibilities part.. 1person trying better than both give up. *hugs*

abc,

Take care of yrself too. Hope yr boy will recover soon.

Shaz17,

Yr boy is fast. My boy is also turning 5 months on nx Tue. Still not willing to flip from back to tummy. can't wait to see him crawl.