(2008/03) March 2008

Serene
i think it may be a bit hard to explain the allergy part to ur MIL cos it took me a while to tell my parents but i ever read articles on baby who are allergic to certain food can be quite fatal. There are parents who intro egg yolk and nuts to their children in a car parked near to the hospital, this is to ensure that if their children have any reaction to the food, action can be taken faster. But these are parents who have family history of allergies so they need to take extra precauction.

I started zac's first solid when he was 4 mths cos he was not drinking very well but pd recommended lele to start solid when she turns 6 months so will take to her recommendation.

Serene

skimmed thru the archives and saw that ur baby has UTI as well , must have been tough on u...take care

regarding brown rice, i will buy fr Eu Ren Sheng, will start after Lantern Festival when Kyzac is exactly 6 months

personally, i will introduce fish porridge after 8 months. and for lunch, not dinner

went for a weaning cos last year and they said fish and porridge wait till 8 months

the notes i took down from my NHG course at polyclinic last year

From 6 months, baby’s diet should be pureed
Cereals (rice) - thin, fine textured. Start with a teaspoonful first.
Protein - beans, boiled, smashed, strained egg yolk only - steamed, or hard boiled
Fruits - banana, papaya, apple - scraped, smashed or steamed apple
Fruit juices
Vegetables - dark green pumpkin/ carrot boiled, smashed, strained or pureed

Tips for Parents
Do not put cereals, sugar or honey into the bottle feed
Introduce one food at a time
Observe for allergy

YT
Ic.. Wonder if my mil prayed to her today or not~

bbpink
What happened to your maid?? I try to refer to the earlier post, but I just cant find it.. All I know is she wants to go shopping before she is beiong sent back..

Re: BBz Sleep
I notice most mummies who have troubles with their bbz sleeping pattern are those mummies that do not put their bbz in Yao Lan.. (correct me if I'm wrong). For those mummies who have bbz sleeping in yao lan? Do you have any problems with baby sleeping?? My bbz turning 5 mths next tuesday.. Maybe like what yt says, baby turning 5 mths tend to play more den sleep.. Now if he's energetic enough, we will have to out him in the yao lan & 'yao' for up to an hour.. So sad~ But when go out all these still ok, go my mum's hse without yao lan, he can sleep on the mattress, no problem.. It's just that at night dun wan sleep, really give me the headache..

Serene Yeo
My MIL started my baby on that Shi Shen Cereal when he was a few days after 4 mths.. He love it!!! I think start the baby on cereal also good, cos sometimes when he dun wanna drink milk, we can try cereal. And at least we know cereal are filling.. So we won't be so worried when they refuse milk..

Shirley
My baby Rhys is down with runny nose.. If he gets better by Sat, I'll go to the gathering... Will let you know by Sat morning~ Sorry~ =(((

This thread really runs on diesel... Always missed out the most exciting part...

Serene
I started rice cereal and mashed bb carrots, my girl is 5 months old. Only once.

I would start porridge next month, this month is more of getting her used to feed fr spoon and variety of food.

Shirley,
People usu say if one is difficult, next would be easier, mine seems to get more n more difficult. Great that bb lele is easier.

Really has to be heng xin, but inside very heartpain
jerejoy
mine wakes at the slightest sounds too. Few days ago, I was shopping and saw an angmo couple, bb small, no swaddling, sleep so well, no pacifier. Deep in sleep. In me, envy. How nice if our bbies could sleep on own when tired, wakes up for playtinme and milk, tired sleep again.

AdelineL
i used the cry out method on my #1, though it works, i gave all sorts of excuses to myself, telling myself that this is not the method, and I did not ever use the method on my girls ever then, till after 15months old, at least till I know they understand what i told them.

Shirley
yah man! bb tommy also gets cranky ard dinner time and i have to feed chelsea, myself and have to hold bb tommy at the same time :p at that time, strangely bb tommy will cry and cry and will only stop if i hold him *haiz* chelsea also v. clingy to me and meal times is sooooo difficult cos she refuses to eat just about anything and the things she does eat, she can make a big mess of so i have to keep an eye on her all the time

yutong
yes v. long never see u too
if bb tommy doesn't get better in a week's time, i would prolly see this dr terrence tan, thanks for the info.. his cough is slightly better sounding than before but still quite bad lor but good thing is he doesn't cough v. often

bbpink

shirley
talking about weaning from pacifier, we had the hardest time convincing chelsea she's too old for one. she would always promised to give it up in exchange for something but would then later cried miserably and we would give in :p but one day my hubby decided to snip a bit at the last pacifier and when chelsea used it, she immediately didn't like it. she never suspected us!! poor thing just wanted me to wash it but it still tasted strange to her! hahaha. thats' how we got her to stop using pacifier, no tears at all!

talking about chelsea, she said the strangest thing the other night...just right before bed time, she said "the eagle has sharp claws" so i repeated after her to let her know i understand her and then she said "to tear apart small animals"!!! hahaha i dun know where she picked up that line!

i can't believe i forgot to mention, bb tommy fell out of his bumbo chair this morning!!! i just turned my back for 5 secs and the next thing i heard was him crying and he was on the floor! so mummies be careful if you have the bumbo! i dun dare to let him use it anymore and if i do, i'll be right next to him watching! i think he might have fallen out cos he likes to bend over to suck his toes and might have bend over too vigorously

Sorry to interrupt.

For those who intend to breastfeed, I've Fenugreek for sale at $15 a bottle (incl postage)

- 100 cap
- 500 mg
- "NOW" brand
- expiry: 04/2011

Price nego if you intend to purchase more, let me know if you're interested.

1618133.jpg

Adeline L
i never thought of using that method but there are some oct 06 mummies using that method. I told zac zac to throw his own pacifier away in the dustbin and when he asked for it i told him he is the one who threw it away. this method resulted in buckets of tears from him but still finally managed to wean off.

Isabella
Hope bb rhys does get better and hope to see and ur family on sat too!

Angeline
I think i feel lele is better in comparison cos zac zac was really terrible. His cries were so loud that our neighbour we met in the lift can ask abt him. Even at Oct 06 gathering, he is the only one who cant get settled down and keep crying. One consolation is that now he is bigger, he is quite a sweet boy (when his mood is good), so even the crankiest child can be an angel next time. Just grit our teeth and go thu the tough period of infancy.

AdelineL
Wow is bb tommy ok? I heard a few incidents abt bumbo last time, abt baby can get out of it etc so remember not to place bumbo on high area or on bed. can be dangerous. I got one for zac before but he hated the bumbo so i sold it off. now i am getting one for lele again to be fair and to take photograph haha.

chelsea is so cute, think kids can pick up speech very fast at their age and i think this is the fun age. yesterday my hubby has a flat tyre and we have to take my sister car home. Zac zac in the car kept saying " papa no car, yi yi have". then i explain to him tha "papa no car cos the tyre has no air". when he reached our place, he rushed off to tell my sil" papa die (tyre) no air" we had a good laugh over it.

shirley: chelsea is really very cute... i was laughing when reading it cos i've a 3yrs old nephew, can talk a lot too and really pick up very fast.. i'm waiting for my little kelly to reach that stage ....hahaha

Jgal, ur gal underweight meh? Tht day i went to ur hse, i thot she looks alright to me ...

my gal also very active in the day time.. she's 5mths + and my mil always "complain" to me that she has a hard time to make my gal sleep during the day... so she brings her go downstairs about 2 times per day.... sigh...

babypink,

i remember you posted ur pic in delivery ward when u going to deliver #1 that time. And you were eating mooncakes. Can see your big tummy with mooncake. hahaha

my poor boy is being tortured my my mil... 18mins and counting...
i passed her 50mls of milk to try to feed. every 5mins ask if she wan to return my boy to me.. she say carry on trying...
so i let her.. i close my bedroom door n on loud music. i decide to let her handle..
the last time i saw him, he's already crying till lobster.. machiam kenna canned..

Dreymin
Personally i hate vPost too. Whenever i order multiple packages from the same merchant, they ALWAYS match all my invoices and orders wrongly. Service is slower also.
I only used BDL once so far but quite happy. It is also slightly cheaper, but support so far better.

Babypink/ Jerejoy/ Clover
To get my boy to sleep longer through the night I now feed from both sides, and each side squeeze till dry and saggy! May take up to an hour to feed, but worth it coz he can sleep long long like that!!

YT
tks for explaining. 1st time i hear of bed goddess!

bed goddess:
yes, my mum used to pray to her when we were all babies. To pray to her, you have to do it fast, they believe u must not let her eat "full" else she will be too happy and go sleep (snake) instead of doing her duties (take care of our baby). Its funny when I hear that but that's the belief. So far, although my mum keep saying wana pray to bed godness, But I think she kept forgeting to buy joss paper!

Shirley
Thanks~ I let my boy used the Eucalyptus oil (Aromatherapy) to ease his runny nose.. Hope it helps.. I have no air con in my room and it seems like without air con, the effect is not as good~

pancake, so u latch him? my bb will drink fr one side til he's in a drowsy state (milk coma!), hence I never tot of letting him drink fr another side

Thanks Isabella, Angeline, babypink and Shirley for the info on introducing solids.

Babypink,
My boy contracted UTI. He is on antibiotics and PD said must take for total 2 weeks. He reacted well to the antibiotics cos urine sample taken ydy shows its clearer. But he needs to finish up the whole course and go for another round of urine test. Thereafter, PD said got to go for Kidney ultrasound and MCU.

Hiazh. I dunno how he got the virus. The bacteria is Escherichia Coli. Your bb was also down with UTI before. Did u send him to do Kidney ultrasound and MCU?

Jgal : Oh if compared to my gal, then my gal v underweight lei. Will bring her to pd next week but the last wgt as at 4mths is only 4.9kg lei..So i think her wgt will probably be 6 kg plus only , sakali wont reach 6kg lor...

clover
yah i latch him on. let him drink till he slows down, then continue by massaging and squeezing all the milk out in my breasts. If he does fall asleep, i sit him upright and try to burp him, he'll wake up somewhat and i put him back and squeeze again! I do this on both sides. He's been sleeping really well since i started this- sleeps fr 7/8pm till 4/5am!

BABY CUBES COLLECTION

SENGKANG MRT ON 12 AUG - 6.15PM
1. Bubble

AMK MRT STATION ON 12 AUG - 7PM

can also collect on any days at orchard mrt from 5.30pm onwards. alternatively sembawang mrt on mon,wed,fri from 6.30pm.

kindly let me know your preferences. can email or sms me at 94888721.

thanks !

petrina,
Wow! u very heng xin hor.. if me, my boy cry for 1mins, i will take over from my PIL liao lor..

i got a friend very chiam, work until she got contraction and now bedridden in hospital liao. she now only 6mths. sigh~ somemore her client she working for is our poly mate and his wife oso preggy.. and can still ask her to work until very very late into the night. sometime i jus don't understand this kind of MAN! how abt somebody else oso like tat treat ur wife??

serene: E Coli is transmitted through fecal contamination. Either person whom nv clean well after toilet, and touch your boy, will transmit it to him.
More prone to boys as the part is external.
when feeding happens, if the preparer nv wash clean, food contamination may occur. adults have higher immune system. so be careful when you start solids.

redtea: i tried.. she hold very tight dun let go.. i pek cek i go away.. then i regret, i faster call my hb come home..

wah lao.. how come her poly fren like tat.. become boss all change? ur fren poor thing.

petrina,
ur MIL oso very heng xin, let ur boy cry until like tat. lucky my mil very scared to let my boy cry.. so will let go and pass to me.

hee.. her poly friend oso my poly friend. so i really feel like sending him a sms and scold him. and he is not boss la.. he working for a big MNC company.

BABY CUBES COLLECTION

1. Bubble

1. clover

can also collect on any days at orchard mrt from 5.30pm onwards. alternatively sembawang mrt on mon,wed,fri from 6.30pm.

thanks !

pancake, tt's v good sleep pattern from your boy. i actually tried last night but he already conked out after one side and slept while i tried to burp him.

red tea, hope your friend's better. sad to hear such cases.

Good morning mummies~

Redtea
Your frenx really poor thing.. That kind of guy should have use a hammer and knock him awake!!!

Serene Yeo
My eldest contracted UTI when he was 2 months old. After he discharged from the hospital, he still need to go back for follow-ups.. There was once, they need to do some test on him to see if his urine will rlow back instead of flowing normally. They locked us out of the roon while they insert a tiny tubing into my sons penis to put some coulour substance into his body so they could see where the urine was flowing.. My son was crying very loudly and it really breaks my heart like hell.. After my son discharge, Dr said he have to be on antibiotics for the whole year and follow-ups in between.. My Dr said that it's more troublesome for baby boys to have UTI compared to girls.. Girls might need not go through all these..

clover
he also macam KO when i try to burp him. But when i put him back into lying down position in my arms (instead of putting him in the cot) somehow he can always sense the nipple is there and he will go for it again! I do this 1-2x per breast. coz if he take the breast and he dun suck, means that side no more milk liao. then i switch sides.

BABY CUBES COLLECTION

1. Bubble
2. Ivy

1. clover