(2008/03) March 2008

abc,
sorry about your situation. it's alright just vent away. monday is perfect for venting (haha). sometimes they just don't catch our intention so from your story lesson learnt is that we should be specific to the older generation liao. i hope your maid can handle both yeah. this weekend, my turn to look after the two kids b'cos my parents will be out of singapore. but i'm looking forward for it leh.

melissa
i am used to lookign after 2 kids myself without help. I enjoy bringing my 2 kids out without the maid. Tat is becos my gal listens to me. With others who r not so strict with her, she may take advantage of them

Melissa
Me same as abc handling both alone. i hope i can have help actually!! hahaha
cause kathlyn ended up with hoarse voice again.. haiz..

I have login here for a long time! I think at least 2.5 months. Had been really busy as the elder kids were sick and then bb got the virus from them and was admitted to hospital :-( I fell sick after that and life was really tough. Struggled the past 2 months, I'm more or less settled down, can even bake cuppies and cakes for dd1's birthday celebration =)

abc,
My ds2 used to sleep in that face-down position too! Don't have to worry about suffocating since it's netted, sure can breathe hehehe. Even my bb now, when she's in the sling, she will sleep face down. I always have to check on her to make sure her face's not flat on my breast.

Now with 2 elder ones at home, my yaolan is in cold storage. I worry they will swing her and knock her head against the metal pole. The other day, I caught dd1 throwing hankie (non-stop) on bb's face. On another occassion, I heard her telling dd3, "OPEN YOUR MOUTH, EAT YOUR HANKIE! EAT! EAT! HAHAHAHA!! EAT! YOU GOT TEETH NOW SO YOU CAN CHEW! EAT!" and she was stuffing the hankie into dd3's mouth, trying to pry open her mouth too **faint**

abc/ yutong/ reena,

Can i find out where you buy the yaolan cloth with netting from? My boy also loves to sleep face down but I'm using a cloth sarong so always very busy turning him around! Thanks!

1607142.jpg

This is my boy taken last week. Time flies, he'll be 5 mths next week already.

JeanGal,
DD1 is 6 this year. I don't think it's attention seeking as I do spend personal time with each and everyone of them. She's just so pesky. I always send her for time-out if she does something wrong. That day, I asked her after her time-out session:

Me: What wrong have you done?
DD1: I stuffed the hankie into her mouth. I shouldn't have done that.
Me: Are you supposed to stuff the hankie into her mouth?
DD1: No
Me: Then why do you do it?
DD1: I don't know... Mummy ask me to do this I do that. Mummy ask me to do that I do this. I always ignore what mummy says **looking very guilty and innocent**
Me: So why did you ignore what I've said?
DD1: I think there's something wrong with my brain
Me: **almost fainted**

Yah.. poor DD3, she looked so blur and confused, like trying to say what's this sister trying to do to her.

blueskies,
your bb is going to be so huge one day he cannot fit this screen leh kekekekee.. thanks for posting a picture!

Reena,
so superhard for you. i can only imagine. but that won't stop me from having another hehehe. i think it's cool to have 3 kids huh. your story so funny hahaha but not funny when it happens to your own kids huh kekeke.

abc,
i'm looking forward to bringing two kids out alone too but then again my hubby will get jealous and insist he follows lah. so if i can travel with a companion, why go out alone kekeke. he has always been my best friend since the first time i met him.

Started Tricia on the walker yesterday. She liked it but keep licking on everything in front of her.

1607205.jpg

reena
so funny! hahaha...

To me i also use time out. when she see my face change she would say "i dun wan mummy angry *tears flowing down*" .

But duno y nowadays i seem more impatient. Really hv to control my patience

HappyMummy,
I found mine at Popular book store. 5 audio CDs in a pack, all English nursey rhymes. Each CD has about 20 titles. I think it was about $30.

abc,
At times when I just can't control, I'll scream at them but I try not to do that. I know screaming and shouting is no good but sometimes, I just lose my cool :-(

But most of the time, I will send them to timeout.

Now, I'm doing something "extra". I totally ignore them when they choose to ignore me. And it works wonder! kekeke

Melissa,
It's really not easy with 3 kids, what's more with no helper. I'm literally pulling hair every day! But I always tell myself things will just get better.

Melissa,
I also started my ger on walker a few days ago. Initially 10 mins then to 15mins, now 20mins. However she plays so much that she has nitemare / nite terror these past few days. Now she progress from moving backwards to forward and sideways. Coolz!

Thin she stay in walker longer than jumperoo kekeke

reena
i agree. cos like adeline i am one who dun liek to depend on maid. Always bring them out alone. But i guess i duno hw to handle 3! Maybe if i really wan #3 i will wait till my #1 is 6 like yrs

Reena, wa I like the way u teach ur gal. I haf not thot of how I wana teach mine. Good. I wil use ur method. I guess ur dd1 is jealous of dd3. Most kids tend to react in this manner. She didn noe she shldnt do tt. Patience is the key. Im those v impatience. Neds to cultivate... in order to teach mine well...

Reena,
My mom raised 3 kids alone while my father went out to work. I remember there was lots of shouting and screaming, especially since the three of us are only 1 year apart each kekeke. But she made it, hence I was inspired. Of course, by then I have to quit my job and take up motherhood as my career. I don't mind going into that route. Getting a maid can introduce a long trail of headache actually. Imagine asking a country-pumpkin to handle 3 kids and quickly operate gadgets and machineries not found in their poor, small homes. Must be extremely overwhelming for them. That's why I'm hearing lots of horror stories about them.

Some people would agree with me about this phrase: When you want things done right, you gotta do it yourself. So Reena, I salute you for handling them single-handedly.

Simp,
I put her on walker till she cry to get out haha. B'cos once she's in the walker, means I am free to other things! She can also straight away move forward, unlike jie jie last time only know how to move backwards at that age.

abc,
good thought on planning when #3 should come out. i'm not rushing too. my 6 yrs old niece was extremely helpful when her mother gave birth to a baby boy. she can be relied on to keep an eye on little brother while mommy is away for some important chores.

Reena
gosh.. handling 2 i'm already fainting.. u handle 3 with 2 that knows how to debate u..
U champion already hahaha..

abc
yday my nephew pri 1, he hold kim and walk.. kim was so so obedient lor! i think hor.. really.. having one elder kid is so much better! Lucky that day have you and arielene + ur maid..! hehee.. if not i fainted liao..

JeanGal,
She was down with Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV). For older kids/adults, we will just be down with minor cough/runny nose and sometimes fever. She was down with the same symptoms. Brought her to see doc and was prescribed cough and fever medicine, no runny nose yet. Her fever doesn't subside even after taking paracetamol. After 4 days, brought her for a 2nd review and doc issued a letter for us to bring her to KKH immediately. She was literally drowsy the whole day, not drinking milk and prob pass urine 2 - 3 times in 24 hours. We are worried of dehydration. At A&E, as she's still a young infant, we cut-q and was attended to almost instantly. Was admitted and they did a few tests, mucus, blood & urine. And because she still wasn't nursing well, they had to put her on drip to prevent dehydration. Basically when she was in the hospital, she was not given any medication at all. The docs say to let her body build up her own immune system to fight the virus.

The pic above was taken on the 2nd day of admission. She was literally sleeping through the whole day, with very bad stuffy nose. Oh, I remembered, the only "medicine" they gave her was to suck out the mucus from her nose using a vaccum suction. They kept asking me to send her for suction but I refused after seeing the whole process, I think it's very traumatising for her and me. They inserted this silicone tube into her nostril and down through the throat (there-about) to suck out the mucus. She was crying and struggling when they did all these. After 2 sessions, I decided not to let them touch her at all.

Below is a pic of her on the 3rd day. I was telling hubby, at least I get to see her eyes. For the past few days, her eyes were shut, completely shut! Very heartache to see her like this.

1607799.jpg

diaper rash
alex's diaper rash is much better, surprisingly, coz he was wearingdiapers for the weekend. wat i did extra was to air dry his bottom longer after his baths.

bb's nightmare
just now alex woke up from his nap and cried murder continuously for half an hour. no matter wat i did i just cldnt soothe him. i dunno wat is wrong with him then i called my mil for help.

when i pass him to mil, he looked at me n stopped crying. mil said he could have an nightmare with me in it and when he woke up, he couldn't differentiate wat's reality and dream. prolly in the dream i scolded him. haizz i never really scold my bb hor... so sad.
well the good thing is later he indicated he wants me to carry him, for the first time! he's back to his cheerful self and eat anything his hand can lay on.

abc,
Am also getting very impatient lately
just lost my temper today. sobs...

Reena,
Will you have 4th child? Think i will stop at 3 already. Am going crazy lately. Very stressed.

Melissa,
Yes, I agree with you on the maid's part which is the reason why I refuse to get another maid. DH offered to engage a maid to help me but I decline. I don't want to pull hair over 3 kids and another blur sotong/scheming b*tch :p

But then again, my house's in such a mess! Toys all over the place.. aiyoh... I just close 2 eyes to that, else don't know how to maintain my sanity.

Now, I'm getting the 2 bigger ones to help in the chores - they get to fold their own clothes! kekeke

I think it has got nothing to do with the age of the kids. Like dd1, I can't depend on her to take care of dd3. Instead, when I ask ds2 to take care, he does a great job. Ds2 is not even 3yo. I think it's very much their character. My dd1 is those with simply bochap attitude and when she plays, she's very wild. I have heard many comments about her, that she behaves more like a boy than a girl **eyes rolling**

Adeline,
When I had 2, I was struggling so I got a maid (my sister's maid who has worked with my sis for 7 years). But when she left and I became a sahm, I thought life wasn't that bad (ds2 was coming 18 mths then). I can still cook and bake like before. When you can handle 2, 3 is definitely not a prob. I'm looking forward to #4 hehehe

To add on, my dd1 was taken care by my sis when she was an infant. My sis has a pair of twins. They were 5 yo then. The ironical part is, the boy (elder twin) takes very good care of dd1 but the girl (younger twin) can't do a simple job. She's just so "green", ie she ignores your instruction or totally didn't hear you, or look after for a while and gets distracted by other things and will walk away leaving the bb alone. But for the boy, he will take care of dd1 till someone (adult) comes by to take over.

clover,
Air dry is best solution for diaper rash
That's my opinion. I only used diaper cream once on my boy. The cream only make the skin peel and red. I use my filtered water to clean and air dry. I did not buy diaper cream for my gals
So far so good. I let them wear cloth nappy when at home, unless the nappy runs out during rainy or busy days.

Lyn,
Yes, I'll love to have #4 but I don't think I can afford the energy. It's really exhausting, plus the fact that I'm not young anymore. Not planning for #4 but I don't mind having another kekeke

JeanGal,
I sleep very little each day, you should see the dark rings below my eyes! hahaha! Almost every night, I'll bake a fresh loaf of bread for breakfast. While baking, I'll be hanging out the laundry. I need to do my laundry daily, sometimes even 2 loads in a day.

Clover,
Your bb has diaper rash? My ds2 also. Used up 2 tubes of Desitin within 4 months. He was on cloth diapering too. Sigh.. really feel the heartache when you see the red anal.

Reena,
Wow you do laundry everyday?!!! How much is your utility bills? Just kaypoh hehehe. I never dreamt about having 4. 3 is enough for me. But for now, I want to enjoy with 2, just nice. I carry one, hubby carry one. With another, dunno how to carry. lol.

clover,
your mil's wild shot seems to make sense hehehee. one of my favorite moments is when our bb calmed down and smiled when she sees us eventually. wah lao words can't describe how i feel.

Reena, Im really v impressed w u. handling 3 kids stil can bake bread every nite. Steady hor...
Im one of those super lazy type... I really ned to reflect on myself... U r a great moltivator. I wil learn from u right from today onwards.

Mummies, no need to be impressed/salute me lah... Like I've always say, a positive mind is winning half the battle. If I can do it, so can anyone of you here.

Melissa,
Yes, needs to wash the clothes daily. Everyday easily 5 bamboos, strictly on clothings alone. Every weekend, I'll wash all the towels so that will be on a separate load. And every fortnight (I try lah), I change the bedsheets, that'll be 2 more extra loads for the day. Last month's bill was close to $200, including aircon every night for 2 rooms.

Just yesterday, I was at IMM and saw this Malay couple handling triplets! I'm very impress with them. But I bet they must be very impressed with me too since I'm alone with 3 kids! hahaha

JeanGal,
I just recently changed my breadmaker machine so if I'm lazy, I just bake a loaf. Last night, I baked Orange bread in the oven, aiyoh, mistake.. cos bb woke up twice in the midst of my breadmaking, was supposed to end by 12am but in the end, only managed to settle every thing at 1.30am.

I try to prepare different menu for them daily so they don't feel so bored eating. When I first started, I can't cook. I learn along the way and am still learning. But I'm very proud to say that I'm able to give them nutritional meals each day.

Reena
gosh.. i can TOTALLY understand hw heart pain u were to see ur dd3 undergo RSV.
cause Kathlyn also have RSV. stuffy nose but thankfully she still drink and slp well. went for suction but do not have to be admitted. under terrence tan. when i went back to my usual PD, she commented that she would have admitted kathlyn and dunno whats the reason behind thats why kathlyn was not being admitted by terrence tan.
Thankfully she recovered lor. Anyway rsv will kena alot times one.. once is enuff!!
My both kids had RSV. the older one took 3 weeks to recover. baby took 1 month +..

Reena,
Skali the malay couple u saw is lefty, our march mommy with triplets kekekekee..

but it helps that you talk about your experience here so that all mommies here can learn. i like that "a positive mind is winning half the battle". you're right.

btw, 200 is for how many room flat, sorry so kaypoh. my utility bills has shot up so high due to increased electrical tariff as well. haizz. tough living in Singapore. everything increase, then dowan to incrase baby bonus incentives ah? $750 per 6 months cash gift is shitty man. diapers + milk + immunization cost a lot more than that. oops don't get me started on govt shitty schemes.. hahaa.

Adeline,
The consoling part is, I can room-in with my bb. Else I really don't know how to survive that 4 days 3 nights!

Melissa,
I only know Kais with triplets, didn't know there's a malay lady here with triplets too.

$200 for 4 room flat, is it a lot? How much is yours? I rem I used to be paying between $130 and $150 only. DH said I bake too much leow **eyes rolling**

Solids
Anyone started your bb on solids already? I'm abit rusty on this, can help shed some light? Ds2 was only given solids at 7.5 months and he's already most ready for almost any food.

reena, u r supermom! my hubb definitely dun wan no.3 n has agreed tt we'll get a maid if we hv no.2. I have it easier than u coz now I hv a pt helper tt comes in on a weekly basis. well coz my hubb hates cleaning. haha. yah, my boy has diaper rash. it first started when he took the antibiotics for his cough which made his stool watery n irritated the delicate skin. thankfully he's better now.

lyn, the cloth diapers tt u used, do u handwash or machine wash? I dun mind letting my ds uses it but he minds. each time he wets himself, he will complain n cry. wah, yr hubby really likes kids to want 5. mine only wants 2 max.

melissa, my mil is nice lah. when she heard bb crying so loud she immed came over to help out. I think wat she says (this time) make sense also ;) yr girl is so chubby! how can she be in the 10th percentile only?! alex sumo A cup (keke) is in the 50th percentile.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi,

My friend’s colleague is also selling socks but Jazzytoes brand only… she mentioned if can hit 50 boxes can get 5% discount but collection point – raffles place and tanjong pagar only. If want to go by post, must add in $1.50 for 1st box and subsequent boxes @ $1.00 per additional box if registered mail another $2.25.

For standard design - $32 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $34 per box (12-24 mths)
For variety design - $34 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $36 per box (12-24mths)

check out www.jazzytoes.com for the designs

If u all want I can help to co-odinate…but must COD...</font>

blue_skies,
I got the yaolan net from the shop opposite AMK Polyclinic. The shop sells alotsa bb stuff. But do you stay near here?

Clover,
glad to hear that your boy is better. The bottle I prepare for your boy's nappy rash you stil need? If not, it ok.