(2008/03) March 2008

Walkers ca be used but in moderation and use it correctly!

From a source in the internet:

When is it OK to put a baby into his walker without worrying about the effect it will have on his legs?
— Vedika

ANSWER
July 23, 2001

Dear Vedika,
I think the real concern here is how long the baby is left in his walker and how it is set up--not the age of the child. When walkers are positioned with the seat too high, the baby pushes himself along using his toes. Over time, this causes the baby's calf muscles to tighten, making it harder for him to stand flat on his feet. The seat should be set so that the baby's feet rest flat on the floor, with knees slightly bent.

Even with the seat at the proper height, however, walkers tend to delay actual walking, because children do not practice balancing or supporting their weight--the walker does it for them. Developmentally, short periods of time in a walker are probably not harmful; an hour or more in a walker is probably too much.

Thanks all for yr advices on the exersaucer and walker. Think I will put off the idea to buy them first...

bbpink,

Thanks! Actually thumbs up for all of us.
All of our hard works are worth it as we see our babies growing up happy and healthy. But I believe u are a more patient person than me. I tends to flare up easily when I don't hv enough sleep. Trying to control myself cos I dun want to hurt my bb and regret later. Feel like pulling my hair when on my bb's bad days. hehe! ;p

Pancake,

Another lucky mummy... How I wish my bb will sleep thru. I was so happy last few weeks when he woke up only one time abt 4 plus to drink milk and then went to sleep again. Don't know wht happen this week. He wakes up at 2 plus, 4 plus, 6 plus, 7 plus, 8 plus!!! I'm gg crazy this week... I hv been eating lots of chocolates this week. Maybe it's becos of the chocolates. Hv to ban myself from eating them liao...

Melissa,

Ya, I also think it might be the culprit. Haha! No choice, can only blame myself for being so 'tum jia'. I refrain myself from eating chocolates today and my boy is sleeping from 10pm till now (12.40am US time) and his last feed was at 8.30pm. Normally he will wake up for milk at ard 10pm or 10.30pm... Don't know whether to wake him up for milk or let him wake up naturally...;p

Yasmin,

No choice... I am v grouchy when I dun hv enough sleep.. esp when he wakes up in the night and refuses to sleep. Dun want to manhandle my bb and regret later...

I read somewhere that taking small amounts of caffeine is ok as long as ur bb is fine with it. I guess it takes a large effect on ur bb.

Thanks Melissa for the information on carrying bb. I tot I would stop spoiling my boy and let him cry his lungs out. I done it a few times in the past week now I m feeling a bit guilty. I shall love him more from now on.

Any mommies when latching their babies, their babies stop and stare at you?

My boy keeps doing that now. He even would stop, stare at me and laugh. Some time he would put his fingers in his mouth and laugh at the same time. Why is this so ah?

My boy is also learning to flip and lie down on his stomach then raise his head like a turtle. But the problem starts when he tries to crawl. I guess he has no strength to do so his face lie flat on the bed n he began to groan n cry. Anyone has this problem ah?

There was one nite while sleeping wif me, I woke up in the middle of the nite and I was shocked to see him faced down making no sound.
I am very wori when he sleep in his own cot that he would flip on himself in the middle of the nite n lie flat on his face n dunno how to turn back himself. Am I worrying too much?

belle_mommy
occasionally will be so late

blue_skies
really chubby boy u have
nice eyes

Yutong
my worry too..tat he will flip n face flat down

Pancake
geez, i wish i have so much milk

Yutong, my girl has the same problem. She tries to crawl and when she can't, she will become very angry and cry. Don't think you are worrying too much on your son not being able to turn back. I guess all mothers worry. I bought babysafe mattress that comes with hole, so that she can still breathe if she flips while we are sleeping.

abc, transfer the $ to standard chartered ah, not POSB? Can you give me the bank and branch code as I need to set up that account as a new transfer arrangement. Will email you my address. Thanks.

blueskies: wow he's such a chubby boy!! his name is james right? think you posted his pic before... his look seems to have changed a bit already!!! but still cute!!

pancakechia: waaaahhhh that's a lot of supply man!!! my boy has been sleeping thru the night already and when i wake up in the mornings, i tandem pump so one side can only get 5oz?

Yutong: yeah! mine too! he will feed halfway and then look up at me and smile.... but i try not to play with him otherwise he'll get so distracted and won't drink his milk!!!

jerejoy: stay away from that choc bar!!! hehee... i stay away from caffeine stuff and my one big indulgence which I have sacrificed is diet coke - cos even that has caffeine!!! so the day when i wean my baby off, im going have all my indulgences all at one go! coffee, coke, wine, and SASHIMI!!!!!

chewwy/abc/agape
i TBF my baby, pumping 1x in the morning after his 'breakfast' just to build up some frozen milk stores, usually getting 5oz. But it might all be wasted effort coz he refuses to bottle for a month already.
But last time when he took bottle at 2+mths, he drank quite a lot, 6-7oz per feed. I suppose he should be drinking more now? Maybe explains why he's so chubby. Even PD also call him overweight haha.

jerejoy
i eat lots of chocolates, drink milo, and coffee too... all these contain caffine. N i have wine too. Either the intake is not having any real effect or my boy desensitized already from the frequent intake haha.
But maybe your son was going through a growth spurt tt's why he's waking so often that period?

Yutong
my boy also sometimes like that when eating. If he does it a few times on both breasts, I assume he's satisfied feeding and play with him instead until he shows interest in eating again.
he's also very frustrated that he can't crawl forward.
As for face down- i think they will cry out if they can't breathe?

yutong
regarding flipping i am already experiencing that for past few weeks. Andrae has already flipped in his slp. At night sometimes i wake up finding him back n backside facing up. Luckily i am a lightsleeper n he co-slp with me. Regarding ability to crawl, abdrae is strugglign to do tat do. He will jus rub his face in bedsheet until all saliva on my bedsheet lor. hahaha... But hor mummies who left yr bb on cot themselves, pls check them regularly esp this initaly stage of flipping. They only flip back cannot flip front yet.

Smiling n drinking
my boy would bend his whole body n curved until such tat he is looking at things behind him inverted. Duno u all understand wat i mean.. jus strugle out such tat he form an arch n see things upside down lor.

Chewwy
posb will gv u detailed bank code. branch code u look for woodlands. Sorry cos i separating my bank into those for spree and those without. easier to followup.

apagebaby
y cannot take sashimi? i am still taking even when i am preg. Was reading a book. It is alright to take sashimi. The benefits outweigh the mercury level.. i mean for salmon etc

bb crying out loud vs always carrying
i would carry him when he cry but if everything else fails i wll let him cry out loud. After a min or 2 then cuddle him again. Bo pian. he has this very bad colic prob when he wan to slp and it only happen at nigth b4 his slping time. he would usu cry for at least 45min to 1h... dun wan pacififer, dun wan breast, dun wan slp... jus duno wat he wan!

My son learn a new trick when i took his finger/hand out from his mouth when he put them in. Now when mummy refuses to let him suck finger, he would suck his lips or tongue. I cannot do anything to stop him liao right? Sometimes he would even make sound with his toungue/lips when he suck them!

abc
i know what u mean!! cause we saw it that day at ivy's hse right?? hehehe..

Smiling and drinking
My daughter same too lah..

apagebaby
i take sashimi too. coffee every morning is a must btu sometimes milo instead of coffee. or coffee morning milo nooN!..

jerejoy
think my baby is used to caffeine! hehehe.. cause i tend to drink alot coffee during preggy and now too! but she still slp thru and sleep sleep sleep..

agapebaby,

I didn't know diet coke also has caffeine...shall change to diet sprites then. haha! I think avoiding chocolates really help..My boy slept from 10 pm to almost 6 am and woke up for milk... then he slept again till 7 plus...I feed him at 1.30am n he went back to sleep again.. how i wish he can be so gd boy everyday. ;)

Pancake,Adeline,

lucky for both of u...can indulge in chocolates...yummy!

Thanks mummies for the contribution in regards to bb playing while drinking milk n the topic on bb flipping. I guess its just part of them growing up.

Chewy,
you mention you bot the babysafe mattress that has got holes? Any information or pictures to look at?

all the talk on flipping... my boy can't flip frm back to stomach yet... he can only do the other way ard.

drinking n smiling
i heard tat if u smile & stare @ ur baby while nursing, ur baby may think tat u wanna play. so baby may stop nursing though still hungry to play wif u. not sure how true.. but it's true in my case though..

feeds
my boy latches abt 15mins each time, feeds abt max interval of 2hrs. & min interval of 1hr.
nite feeds r abt interval of 2-3hrs.
still rejecting bottle. if i force, he'll give me the puking sound n sometimes really puke out previous feeds' milk.

i m at a loss already.. i surrender to him...

Playin when "eating":
Isaac started doing that weeks ago, latch halfway, he stop, totally release nipple and very happily smile at me after he feels "happy" enough, he goes back to searching for the nipple. Then keeps repeating. I would usually respond "quick drink milk milk, drink milk milk cannot play!"....
He don bother about me, nowadays is worst....

Flip:
Finally, He made a PROPER flip yesterday inside his playpen, with granny & me stareing from outside. Wow...he even shows a very satisfied smile after he's done the flip and complete it with a "Turtle pose". Now...waiting for what you ladies had already encountered, the flips at night.

will be ordering things from luckyvitamins. Anyone interested pls email me by <font color="ff0000">today</font> as i will be placing order tmr

jerejoy: it's the choc then!!! since yr boy guai guai slept thru the night!! hope yr boy keeps it up!! hehe... yeah i've changed from diet coke to diet 7up, only that it's soooo hard to find diet 7up in S'pore. Keep seeing diet coke, diet pepsi and even diet root beer around only. Arrggghh.

abc/adeline: dunno leh, my gynae last time said better not take sashimi... my paeds worse, said should avoid sashimi, peanuts (in case of allergy), and i asked about whitening/anti-ageing facial products and she says better not use!! i think maybe she just kiasu lah but my hubby insists i cannot do all that. he's a kiasu father.. hahaa. but i do indulge in some alcohol (baileys on the rocks - my fav) after my last feed at night!

so many babies here flipping already! my baby still cannot... i guess it's own time own target!

mummyboy: abt sleeping thru the night, what i do is that i cluster feed him before he sleeps so that i tank him up. if he rouses in the middle of the night, i'll check and see if he's wide awake and crying. If no crying, i won't entertain. hahaa.. cos after that he'll just suck his thumb and go back to sleep. after a while the baby will learn that waking up in the middle of the night = no feed. he'll slowly learn to sleep thru the night.

pet
aiyo we r talking abt flipping from front to back. face up till face down.

apagebaby
my gynae say can eat. In fact gd for eyes, hair n brain development. For peanuts dun eat if yr bb can ecezma. Like me...

huh?...*confused*
Is Pet talking about the other way round from all of us?

Baby flip from front to back:
can can... that is when they unsuccessfully flip from back to front, halfway then lose balance then drop back to org lieing down facing the ceiling loh. =P

agapebaby,

Oh yes! root beer, my fav.. think can drink hor.. no caffeine right....I like baileys too. hv nt been drinking it ever since i had him.. half a bottle left still... really can drink huh cos breastfeeding leh...

oooh i just had salmon sashimi last friday! soo yummy

agapebaby
i think some gynaes scared if u get food poisoning from sashimi, u cannot take some medications which is harmful to foetus, but to be honest, v. few ppl actually get food poisoning from sashimi in s'pore so not much problems there....as for mercury level, it's not high like tuna and if eat in moderation is okay....my 2 cents worth hehe

as for peanuts, actually in the US, it's considered v. dangerous for children under 2 to have peanuts cos it can cause severe allergies, like cannot breathe dat type and must hospitalised in a small minority....i think most people are not allergic to peanuts but just that for those few that are, it's v. severe....i heard that some kids would even get a bad reaction if their friends bring peanut butter sandwich to the classroom! siao right?

happymummy
some babies here flip early cause they are feb babies! no worries about that though.. my girl early march baby and gng 4 mths, she dunno hw to flip too!

jerejoy: apparently it takes a few hours for the alcohol to be released from yr system. i bf my boy at 1130pm at night and the next feed is usu. 8am. So can drink lah! hee... just make sure you drink (not too much hor! hee) after yr last feed at night. Eh root beer also got caffeine leh... i checked already. think diet 7up or sprite is our best bet... so sian hor?

abc: yeah actually you have a point. should be good for eyes and all, it's like the equivalent of taking fish oil? actually im REALLY craving for negitoro don, which has minced tuna belly + rice + raw egg white, but i think cannot right? raw egg white not good for bfing?

adeline: aiyoh... now you make me crave for sashimi!!! drooooolll.... you mean just going near peanut butter will create a reaction for some children? wahhh that's terrible. i figure if i have eaten some peanuts and my baby is okay, this prob means he has no negative reaction to peanuts. Same thing with cows milk right? some babies are lactose intolerant, but since i've been drinking milk and my baby has no bad reaction, i assume this means he's not lactose intolerant?

happymummy/adeline: my baby is also early mar bb, also not flipping yet. But im not worried also lah, everything a matter of time! in fact still not flipping means can still leave him on the bed and not worry too much. Once he flips, i cannot leave him on the bed out of my sight liao!!

agapebaby,

really huh?! I tot root beer doesn't hv caffeine. looks like i'm wrong all these while.. so gd for u. my nx feed will be ard 4-5hrs later or sometimes 2-3 hrs during the bad days.. think i better throw away my baileys. haha!

So much food to avoid while bf'ing..Thought i can eat all kind of food after giving birth, but still need to control our diet..hmmm...

jerejoy
baileys with milk is nice
used to add about 4/5 of fresh milk to 1/5 of bailey irish cream..
by the time my pregnancy is over, one of my unopened bottle of bailey has expired ..sigh*

hope ur boy can continue to sleep well
hoping mine will soon also

Liyun
hehe..mine also..then the milk drip and i so heartpain..cos my supply is already very bad
and cannot meet the demand

I'm still looking forward to the day I can order fresh oysters!!!!

Flip: Now I cant leave baby on the bed cos am worry he'll be on the floor by the time we realise it... Now "lock" him inside the playpen or baby cot.

my boy nowadays v distracted...when feeding milk, must be quiet.....if someone is walking ard him, he will stop.... oso his milk intake oso decrease.....only when middle of nite aft he slp long hrs, he will finish 180ml..if not thru out the day, every 2-3hrly, he drink only 110-130 which decrease from 150ml...heard bb at some age, tends to decrease, is it?

liyun
can order fresh oyster

Actually most of my frens dun restrict their diet even if they bf. For me i do so cos my son has ecezma. if he doesnt i dun think i will restrict too.

But i admit i take lots of sashimi. hahahaha

btw mine is mid feb bb so can flip la... but i feel i rather he knw how to flip at later stage... same thing i rather he walk at later stage. hahaha...

if flip earlier i hv to watch him.

If he walk earlier then he would wan to walk by himself then i woukld hv to chase him. hahaha...

and i oso dun wan him to toilet train so early... then i can dun nd to bring him go toilet. hahahaha

lazymum

Petrina
my gal will stop nursing too...nipple in mouth, she smiles back and starts to talk...

she still cant flip....

abcmummy
andrae so cute, suck lips when cant suck hands....