(2008/03) March 2008

belle_mommy
so long she doesnt cry it is ok.

Looking for daddy
my gal look for daddy. Hahahaha.. even though she seldom see him. But then again she is ok with EVERYONE!

Liyun
Is there a private room for bfing? Why dun u ask the new company? What i personally feel...

1. ask the employer if there is space or room for breastfeeding.

2. I will give up the job for bfing. Bfing build immunity and create bonding for the child. It makes child stronger n thus not so easy to get sick thus here u are actuallynot only saving on milk powder but also on medical fees. On the other hand if u buy fm and include medical fees, is it worth the pay raise for yr new job?

3. BONDING. SOmething u wun wan to miss esp they are young. How long will a child stay with mother esp boys? So as long as i can i would wan to create that kind of bonding with my son.

4. If really really bo bian y dun u consider hand express? Hand express doesnt nd to hv a fixed schedule. Everytime u go toilet jus hand express a few ml to soften the breast.. U dun nd a lot of space n any equipement. If really not enuff it will still b gd to mixed fm with bm and when u r home then u latch on. In tat case he still hv the benefits if bm (when u r home).

Just my thoughts. my milk supply reduce abt 1 iz when i come bac to work. I even thinking of taking NPL again... hahaha.. but i knw my PB (performance bonus) will sure be a D if i do that. hahaha but then again.. to me my son is more impt. I would suggest the above reason is becos i failed in bfing for #1. Thus for #2 against all odds i will bf as long as i can...

<font color="0000ff">morning all...
i was thinkg to bring my gal n boy for swim but hubby no keen... so don know how to take care of 2 at once.... haha

hi venus,
u har..... can not be SAHM but can be tai tai....</font>

may I know wat do you gals snack in between meals. I am always hungry and have craving for maggie mee n potatoe chips. But I know I cannot be eating those cos I breastfeeding. Wat I eat my bb will eat. Any suggestions for more healthy snacks?

yutong
u can still eat those. No worries.

Snacks
chocolates! biscuits (wholemeal), milo, nutritional bars

poshies
yr boy use float? if so can bring both one. I bring both to swim.

abc,
i kaypoh, you BF your #1 for how long? i BF my #1 only for up to 10 months b'cos by then i'm like 4 months pregnant and she's no longer interested in my BM.

yutong,
i snack on milo or fruit. my weight maintained and my milk supply is not affected.

yasmin,
welcome back. are you a sahm or ftwm?

liyun,
i'm a ftwm and pumping and latching too. which part is hard for you? i find it even more stressful to bf and change job at the same time. already with current job i feel a bit stressed for setting time aside to pump while other colleagues silently swallow their resentment. with a new job, i'm not sure i can disappear for half hour each session just to pump. i've done that before, i was still pumping when i changed job and the experience was hard but i managed somehow, still it's not something that i would go through again. now i have adjusted from pumping 3x to only 2x during office hours and still get the same yield. maybe that could work on you too?

Mummies : any of your bb has started teething? Cos my gal recently got a lot of saliva , n she keep biting her hands..My mum was wondering maybe she started teething already..

Liyun &amp; Chewy,
Thanks for the info...

Liyun,
it alll depends on which is important...if u feel that providng breastmilk to your bb is impt than u shouldnt wean him off

bellemommmy,
cld it be she didnt latch properly that is why she woke up every 2hrs as she is not full. The problem with latching is that you have no idea how much they drinking thus you have to feed them as and when they cry..

For my case, I bottlefeed my son with breastmilk thus he will drink ard 120-130ml every 3hrs. His feeding is quite accurate and even if he sleeps in the afternoon he will wriggle in his swing after 2.5hrs and by 3hrs he will walke up for his milk but at times if he is too tired he will oversleep but we will try to wake him after 3.5hrs.

You need to try and consistently feed them in the day time so that night time, they will not keep on wake up for feeding...my last feeding is usually 9.30-10.30pm and I try to give him FM as it is more filling afterwhich he will sleep through to 6am...

unless you are not working...if not it will be very tiring for you if you need to work the next day....plus if u dun get enuff rest, it will reduce our milk flow too.

melissa,

i tot they say breastfeeding is the best contraceptive but how come you are pregnant when u are breastfeeding...no offence, but I am not ready for 2nd one thus i always tot when breastfd we wont get preggie as PD said that....

Happymummy,
my son drools too but not really alot...my colleague told me that she did has a fren who bb starts teething around 4-5mths...

Snacks
i think i'm one of the bad mama!! i eat unhealthily. i eat chips, chocolate, coffee, tea, maggi mee (no choice @ times when 2 are at home and i'm handling alone. no time to even eat or buy food.. maggi mee is better then no food loL)

I dun bear to wean my girl off thats why i made it a pt to latch her during weekends to maintain my supply and have the bonding! My aunty every mondya also complain my girl looking to latch on hahahaa.. sometimes head towards my aunty's breast then try to suckle.. hahahaha =X

Sticky to daddy
my both girls is sticky to me! instead of daddy.. like kim need to 'touch' me or get a piece of me in order to sleep irregardless if i'm carrying mei mei or not. and kathlyn, when daddy carry.. she cry like being rape like that or feel very uncomfy,.. when i carry her over, she fall aslp immediately..

Yday woke up at 12, 3 and 6 to express milk.. now i'm so so tired!! at work also try to express as many times as i can.. not easy to breastfeed but we've already been thru 4 months!

hope i can carry till 1 year!

Liyun
i was 'suppose' to change job but kathlyn and kimberly keep falling sick so i stop going interviews and changed my mind. Partly cause of BF-ing also. Cause my co pro-bf.. so i've no problems taking my time to express in fact our HR manager (a guy) he encourage all lactating mothers to BF as long as they can!

Unique
though is my aunty look after for me, but i treat her like my mommy cause she look after me when i was a baby as well. i give her $700 and like liyun.. on and off i'll top up $50 to $100 cause she always buy things for my girl.

Adeline,

Thank you..wow you still wake up to express milk...for me i cant...too tired...i only express 4 times per day...6am, 12nn, 5pm &amp; 10pm afterwich I am off to bed..sometimes i in office, i might express only 1 time in office then 7pm at hme...

wonder if tis will affect my flow as hrs not consistent but bopian cos it is quite inconvenient for me to express in office...paisei when i lock the pantry door juz bcos i need to express

unique,
oh no no no don't believe that breastfeeding exclusively is a natural contraceptive. it is to me but only up to 6 months. i think that's the normal max. my aunt is a super lucky woman. she breastfeed exclusively for 2 years and when she stopped breastfeeding after 2 years, her menses returned! my menses returned after 6 months once, then i got pregnant. one thing, no protection oso lah kekeke. and i didn't believe i could get pregnant that fast. looks like i learn it the hard way! this time around must be extra careful.

Unique : my gal a lot lor, sometimes wet her clothes..I see liao cannot "tahan", keep changing clothes for her..n bf cannot get preggie, i think this is not true lei..

Adeline : jia you!! Mi aso v tiring. But cos u bring your gal ome during weekdays, so "lagi" more tired than me.. I pump 4times daily, ard the same timing as Unique. NOw dunno y i take longer time to express the amt i wanted. I scared i cannot supply my gal until 1yr lor.

Mummies : Is there any ways to let my gal latch on back to me? Cos she long time nv latch liao, i wanna teach her to latch on again, possible?

melissa,

ur mense come even when u breastfeed? u r very wrong, we will be damn fertile during the 1st year after we give birth...thus chances very high...tat is y everyone asking me to try now...but me not ready for 2nd...but they PD also told me i wont get preggie when i breastfeed...

happy mummy,

oorr..my son didnt drool until that much

Unique : Is 1 yr ah? hmmm...that means if nv use condom, chances of getting preggie v high lor? I still have menses though i got bf lei, but is just a bit, last for ard 2 day only.

happymummy
yes possible! hehee my girl latch only during weekends.. sometimes 1 week + no latch.. yes it'll be hard to get them to latch back but able to do it! sometimes she refuse to latch.. but no latch = no drink! so i force her to latch..
And btw no my younger daughter i only bring back weekends but i have an elder terror 20 mths at home. She is enuff for me to handle cause terrible 2s stage. So when i reach home, i practically have no time to rest not to mentioned weekends when both are at home.

At work i pump 2 times.. at home every 3 hr.. so my girl will be fidgeting with my ameda pump while i'm pumping.. sometimes go and turn the suction to max.. hurts like hell!

HappyMummy
yes it is possible to latch. Anything not sure find LC. Dun jus take on yr own. Look for professional.

Night pumping
i will tandem pump at night. FInd it faster. Baby drink while i pump. 5 min may get abt 2oz. Better than nothing. hahaha...

Melisa
i failed bfing for my #1. Only 3 weeks. Long story and i learn my lesson the hard way. Now i perserve and close ears to any negative remarks abt bfing. I jus scolded my mom when she suggested to me to stop bfing cos i hv to control my diet as my son has ecezma. She stupidly suggested then i shld jus gv him bottle. OMG!

Contraceptive
my hb oso think bf is natural conceptive. i think it works for some doesnt work for some. I hv frens who can use this method for 2 years.. But right now i am NOT READy and DO NOT WAN #3... thus other than Tbf i thinking of IUD where i can be on contraceptive for next 3 years then decide.

Adeline : wao u still manage to express every 3hrs with your 2 gals at home ? Power sia..how much u pump for each session? mi always stressed when i bring home my gal during weekends, cos either i have to wait till she sleep or ask my hb to look after her when she is awake. so my ss is quite low during weekends.

Abc mummy : Oh wat does LC stands for?

wow..been gone for a day n so many posts already..hard to catch up.

abc's mummy : u called winnie to enquire on exersaucer, any good deal? I'm considering between evenflo exersaucer and jumperoo...

Adeline K,
My 21mth old terror like to play with our amplifier volume knob always turning it to MAX! So when we switch on the TV, immediately will become very loud and she will be scared shitless herself! LOL I can relate to your terror! Really itchy finger, itchy feet. Touch here touch there climb here climb there!!!

happymummy,
i kaypoh for abc, LC is Lactation Consultant liao. Every hospital has it. You can call during office hours and ask for advise about breastfeeding, they're usually very helpful.

abc,

my hub also got eczema thus i breastfeed my son in case it inherits to him...

btw is there anything i shouldnt eat if i worry my son got eczema...cos i anytin also eat lei even when i breastfeed

adeline..my elder son also like to help me..he wan to fix up the pump for me..after i pump finish,he help me pour milk into bottle...

unique
i am barred from eggs, milk, all dairies, cakes, ice cream, seafood, nuts

Thanks melissa for helping me reply.

Littleprincess
Cheng choon is selling leapfrog exersaucer at $180. A very gd deal fro brand new exersaucer. However i am hoping to look for second hand one. If really really cannot find then buy from cheng choon. Oh they include delivery too.

happymummy, LC means lactation consultant...

juz dropping by cause still busy wif sick boy. only managed to read forum once or twice a week. too many posts to catch up..
my boy has been drihking way too often recently. i wanna start bottle. but he rather starve than drink frm bottle... i m at a total loss now.

venus
ur son helps.. but i guess me and Melissa's daughter mess up everything!! hahahaa..

happymommy
i latch during weekends! hehee.. still more efficient in clearing my breast.. today wed and my supply coming down liao.. breast seems cant be empty.

Melissa
hahaha.. both our girls are terror man! kim also love turning the DVD volumne knob..

petrina,

you hv to be patient...may b u will like to try latch him for a while and then bottlefeed or bottlefeed him then latch...

if this doesnt works..i guess the other method is to wait until he cries for milk then btlfd him...cos by the time he cries...he must b damn hungry oredi

<font color="0000ff">Hi ABC,
never bot my boy to swim b4 lah.... haha but he always ask me to bring him, mayb i find 1 day and bring along my mil, ask her to look after my gal 1st, see how my boy react to the pool, then introduce my gal later...

how is ur boy's ecezma better now...... i think my mother will react the same as ur mother.... ask me to stop after start work... i don care... now my fridge full of emb... haha i think even i stop now my gal have 1 week of supply

Snack,
me hungry after pumping....

HI venus,
hahaa.... i also want...

Hi unique,
there is not 100% proof, that u r breast feed u wouldn't get preggy...

HI Adeline,
haha my gal also will look for other breast... hee hee</font>

or could it be the teats....

cos when i btlfd my son, he doesnt want to drink when i fd him with AVENT btl but when i give him NUK btl he is ok...

i feel that recently, my breast couldnt be empty by pumping! most efficient way still latching.. or is it cause i tired? just now pump 45mins.. 110ml only.. so sad right.. bad days and good days!!! but i feel that still alot milk 'stuck' inside leh..

Petrina
wah yr boy still sick? tat very long. Wat sickness? I suggest u look for a better od for yr boy. Tat time i suggest terence tan he kat got better jus after seeing him for abt a week or so. I think u nd to change yr PD.

Sometimes he may nt be wanting to drink but rather for commfort. U may wish to introduce pacifier.

adeline, no fever. juz cough, vomit n flu. he has lots phelgm in him. cant bear to bring him to suction. been giving him phelgm dissolving medi. still not good.
he's been sticky since then.. latch him to slp, he screams suddenly after half hr or so, then i need to latch abit. he chew abit then drift off to slp again.
i can't leave his side or he'll wake up.
during feeds, i can hear n feel his phelgm moving through his nose n lungs.

furthermore recently my tummy seems to hurt lots. kinda like gastric pain but i ate already. juz below the lungs, in the centre. the hollow part.
nxt wk i'm gg to c a chiropractic because my spine is misaligned.
my stomach doc ask me stay in hosp to do check up. but i can't because if i do so, my son will starve.
haiz, probs seem to be nv ending.

unique: i latch then stuff nuk bottle slowly n pull out my nipple. he'll suck 2x n start crying. refuse to swallow unless i remove teat n insert my nipple.
tried few times only though.
he's ok wif water. i dunno wat to do wif him.

abc: i gave pacifier. he refuse to open his mouth. then when i managed to stuff it in, he'll give me the puking sound. if i still dun remove, he'll manage to force some milk out for me to see.
i've discussed wif hb already. cause dr terence abit far. so we're gonna arrange a sat appt this wk or so.

petrina
letting him to go for suction is better than letting him to keep woozing away. though the suction might be very painful for you and your son, but after that he would be better alrdy.

sorry just saying out how i feel.

abc
i miss you !!!!

crystal: i noe.. i want to.. been procrastinating because of the fear... i was hoping for a miracle tat he recovers on his own.. (my wishful thinking)
i will bring him..

pet, dr terence tan also has a nite clinic somewhere ard holland v area. u call the clinic up n check with the asst?

yt u asked the same qn I was going to ask! I had sweet tapioca chips n chocolate for snacks yesterday coz I was so hungry! I cooked abc soup for lunch n I gotten hungry v fast! guess i need more meat.

diaper
sheng shiong has an offer on sealer diapers tt comes with free arm floats. I gonna get it for my boy n hope the size fits him.

pet
sounds like your boy having a lot of problem from the phlegm-difficult to eat and sleep... think he's irritable coz he's uncomfortable and needs u around to latch on for comfort... I also think he needs a trip to see the PD to see what can be done.
Don't think he'll take the bottle right now coz he needs the comfort sucking on a real nipple. My boy also the same whenever he's feeling uncomfortable. As it is, he's also refusing bottle when he's well so its a real challenge.

Breastfeeding and feeling hungry

Me too! I hv been eating lots of rubbish recently. Somemore eating close to midnite. OMG! Chocolates, bread, biscuits, eating milo (not drinking) Haha! Find that my weight has increased by 1 kg liao... Oh no! Me and my itch mouth!

wana to seek advise here..emm,i am a sahm since preg, but i feel very stressful to take care of my bb alone, no one helping me.bb now 2month old, i have to cook my own lunch everday n hubby work late too.somemore bb now got colic, cry cry cry..i seldom latch him coz he is very impatient n prefer 1 breast, so evertime i still got milk n engorge(1 breast) n he cry cry coz din drink enuf.
i feel very guity for letting him drink ebm..nt latching him..

shd i try latching him more or continue to drink ebm?

so i will give ebm, but feel very very guilty for nt latching him n give him the best milk fr breast.