(2008/03) March 2008

I m letting go :
1. Pigeon disposable breast pads? I letting go 36pcs + 6 pcs at $8.
2. Breastmik Storage Bottles, 3 pcs/ Set 150ml each
3. Nipple Protectors

Anyone interested ps call me at 9746 1185

happymummy
actually i awso find BM tastes sweet wheres i can't stand the smell of FM at all but to my kids, they like both just fine...

piggy77
read some previous posts that some babies don't like the taste of frozen EBM....if you have been freezing your EBM, you can try just chilling it instead...maybe your bb will like it better

AdelineLoo
my gal is those who doesnt like freezed ones...

Jerejoy
can throw them into the washing machine...but its really a chore...lucky i have a maid who washed them....sometimes the nappy changed so fast, i can feel her tiredness..

piggy77
how do u thaw ur BM? i defrost by soaking the bottle in a big cup of pipe water, before i warm the BM. of course it takes more time for the process but i find out by using this method, my thaw BM taste better than i straight put the bottle inside warmer. my experiece was if i straight put in the bottle to warmer, thaw BM will taste awful. if i go through the tedious procedure, it will still taste sweet as chilled BM. maybe you can try.

abc mummy
i thrown the march...not the april yet, still worry can meet demand...this rd seems not much supply...for first 2, i can express 400 plus ml when i at work...this rd....very pathetic....i think i cant bf 2 years...will try though...

angeline,

how come u throw away the march frozen ebm...i tot it can be kept for 6mths...i kept alot in my freezer lei...is a waste if we have to throw it...

Unique
my fridge got no more space and i still got A LOT of frozen ebm in the fridge. Anyway only in deep freezer then can keep for 6 mth. In normal fridge with freezer unit, it is only 3 month.

babypink
me too. supply dropping. now consuming fenugreek hope the supply will go up... i need more milk supply...
my bb now at malaysia with my inlaws, so i am transporting BM back to her every weekend. really miss her.

abc,

r u serious...jialat...if this is so..i i betta start taking them out for bb to drink...i tot is half year...goodness me...i hv so many packs...

babypink,

how many times u pump per day and also in office how many times u pump...i pump only 4 times, 6am/12am/5pm/10pm so that i can get some early sleep... 2 times will be in office....but i notice that when we stress or not enuff sleep our milk flow drops also..so dun get too stress out

bbpink,
same as me.. only got time to pump twice, at most thrice. will get only 100+ ml each time but only have less than 10 packets of frozen breast milk in freezer. i think i will run out of BM for my baby by next week. now deciding which FM to buy. I m rather keen on Nan HA. heard that it is rather close to breast milk, abit bitter sweet

how come run out of supply? we r suppose to pump when bb feed eg if bb drink milk at 9am we pump at 9am. Unless to say what u pump is less than wat bb comsume?

For me if i go out or in sch if bb feed time is 9 am n 12 am i will pump at 9 am n 12 am... so far no nd to use frozen ebm yet.

abc,
cos i can only pump once at 10am and 1pm. if i stay back till 5pm, i can pump again at 3pm. but my baby will drink at 7am, 9am, 11am, 1pm, 3pm.. meaning i will miss two feeding times.

unique,
she drinks abt 110ml every 2 to 3 hours. i am trying to drink soup every day. but once i go back to work, i guess it will be difficult.

Lee Hong
can imagine how heartpain for you and how much u miss bb ..and not in the same crty somemore..
ur in laws stay in JB ?

abc
i dun think my boss can take it if i pump at my kyzac's feeding time..tat will be at least 4 times in office :p

Unique
I <font color="0000ff">pump</font> once during lunch time and once before i knock off..hehe..if i m not pumping next to boss' room, i will do so more often :p
<font color="0000ff">latch on</font> at 8pm, 10 plus pm, 2 plus am and 6 plus am
last time tandem pump at 6 plus am can yield 125ml..now sadly 80ml ! all the other latch on need both breasts for bb to be full..haiz

my bb takes abt 110ml per feed of expressed milk

Increasing milk supply
i m taking 1 whole fish by myself, and if sliced fish is like one mountain on my plate..taking papaya fish soup , drinking abt 2 litres of water a day..
not working leh ..

babypink
they staying in Muar. 3 hours drive back provided custom traffic smooth. i am driving back every week, worse is husband also out of town. he got oversea assignment at sweden for 6 months... we both miss bb very much. i am back to SINGLE life again...

aly
yr gal drink every 2 hr? y dun u stretch the feeding time? I will latch before i go work at 6am. 9am, 12 pm, 3pm. He will dsrink at these timing again and i will pump at these timing again. Plus minus few hours lor. Sometimes 10plus then 1 plus then 4plus. But if he has 3 feed i will pump 3 times, he has 4 feed i pump 4 times.

Hi Lee Hong,

I'm from the febthread and am going to send my bb back to KL under my mum's care soon. chekc with u, are you tired when you drive back every week? how did you transport your milk back? did you buy a cold box? will the milk melt by the time you reach home? sorry for so many questions.. cuz i'm going to do the same soon. worse still, my parents at KL, even longer journey.. think you reply me via pm?? thanks.

Angeline,
Yup. 2x pumps last for 4 sessions. I'm surprised at myself too b'cos my experience with 1st child is never like this. But I guess it's a combination of having a small feeder *and* good supply, that's why I appear very lucky. Somehow my supply is very good with 2nd child. Else I can barely produce enough with 3 sessions with first child. Just like every pregnancy is different, breastfeeding oso different. Now I know that everything can be different after every pregnancy, including post-natal weight loss. Kekeke. 1st child I lost more than I gained, 2nd child I lost a little less than what I gained.

Lee Hong,
My bb feeds anywhere from 2.5oz-4oz. It varies. But average is around 90ml, that's around 3oz yeah. I noticed that she feeds the most in the morning, that's why my milk supply is the highest. So 1x pump I get up to 9oz liao. But average is 7-8.5oz. Lee Hong, your girl is really a big feeder, almost like a 1yr old child liao. I think I've mentioned before that I started with 3x pump in the office, and my total yield is 12oz. However, when I started seeing jealous faces (most of my colleagues are child-less and already sore b'cos I get to enjoy maternity leave), I cut down to only 2 sessions and I find that I still get 12oz total. In good days, I could get up to 14oz. So imagine, my girl takes in 3oz each feed and she feeds 3x in my absence, I still get remainder to bring forward. Still got frozen EBM in the freezer too which is taking up too much space my mom is complaining nowhere to put her fish and meat. LOL.

I store my EBM in 2 bit bottles in my FTG. At home, I transfer to 2 small Avent bottles and milk bags.

Lee Hong,
forgot to mention, I'm the kind who die-die oso dowan to give FM to my bb so I tell my body that I have enough for all the BM she needs. and since i've already mastered the art of breastfeeding since my 1st child, I find BF and pumping a lot easier this time around. and mind you i still *hate* pumping!

jerejoy,
Yes i'm using Avent Isis manual pump. A seasoned one too. No problem with the white valve, it doesn't pop like everyone mentioned before. I also have Ameda Lactaline but since my experience with Isis is excellent, I stayed put with it. The petal makes emptying the breast a breeze. I used First Few Years milk storage bags. A bit ex but b'cos that's the only thing I could find in Kiddy Palace at that time hehehe. You can store your BM anywhere u like lah. It's your choice.

abc,
last two days ago i fed bb with April frozen EBM keke. so far so good no bad reaction to it and it doesn't have any "sour" smell to it. but i'm not going to risk it again. anyway that was dated 28 Apr.

unique,
if you have excess FBM you can still use it for feeding. When bb is 5 months, can mix with rice cereal for bb to start solids. Actually 6 months should start solid but since our babies are bigger sized nowadays, it's safe to start earlier.

aly,
your bb seems to feed a lot! 110ml every 2-3 hours woah. my bb's feeding interval is 3-4 hours and she takes in 90ml average. does your bb regurgitate regularly after feeding? if so u might be overfeeding her? what's her birthweight and most recent weight?

mommies with low supply,
other than fenugreek, try oats. coincidentally i took the instant oat cereal drink but that's b'cos my mom bought wrongly and told me to finish it else she'll throw that away. i happened to read from Kellymom that oat may help. http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/oatmeal.html

Melissa
really envy you with good supply... haha...
think i should try to consume oats too.

question: any mommies feeling easily getting hungry? me worry now as in i can feel hunger after 1 hour i had lunch. like that how to slim down. i still got lots of weight to shred..

Lee hOng
It is normal. i feel hungry too. As though i am still preg.

Melissa
Yes i am gng to use EBM for adding to cereal. Me too AGAINST FM. hahaha... 28 april still can use. Just tat i hv too much until i hv to disspose some. Anyway too long oso no gd mah.. the amt of nutrient they nd then n now is different.

mtan, do feedback one u hv tried out the massage lady.

lee hong, I find I hv a bigger appetite during my boy's growth spurt. like last week, I can eat n eat. even when I kena food poisoning, I can still eat! haha. this week, my appetite is normalised.

lee hong

me also..i feel hungry easily ! still wearing maternity bottoms =p

i think i wun be able to go back to normal bottoms liao.cos after the 1st birth..i have been wearing maternity bottoms, eso those that are not skirts

Lee Hong,
yeah count me in, i got voracious appetite too. just now lunch i bought hainanese chicken rice. i finish it like within 10 minutes and still very hungry! but i try to control. i drink milo in between meals b'cos drinking is less sinful than eating. so far my weight maintained lor. but if super hungry, then better take banana. it's oso quite filling.

wait a minute..

hey do you think due to rising cost of living, chicken rice portion has been subtly decreased? or should we really blame it on our increasing appetite?

Melissa,

My son very small size...birth weight 2.5kg..last wk 3mths chk up he is 5.3..

i tot by now a 3mth old bb shld drink at least 120ml..if u look at the chart on the FM can, that is what it indicates..my son also drinks abt 120-130ml every 3hrs...i tot his appetite already consider small??

Lee hong
me too.. i feel hungry every now and then.

Although sometimes i pump only 4oz, i stil have sufficient feed for my daughter cause after midnigh, my aunty aka her nanny, tend to feed her FM.. so i just let her be..

haha... all mommies are so cute. me can't help laughing when read your post.
i am wearing maternity clothes, yes BOTH TOPS AND BOTTOMS... so demoralise....

today at work. 1.15pm i got 6 oz. Next pump 4,30pm only 4 oz. Hahaha but still enuff for my boy.

Unique my boy is 4 mth. Drinking 4oz. The 4oz need to be fed with a 30min break in between then he will finish.

btw my daughter is drinking 150ml every 3 to 4 hrs.. if i latch her, every 2 hrs she needs to drink. very taxing on my pumping.. i already trying my best.. at the moment still sufficient.

abc,

what is the weight of ur bb...the nurse said by 3mths my bb shld b at least 6kgs...weight him a number of times when i went for the chkup..she said she tot the machine is spoiled..thus asked me to bring him to another machine to confirm that he is really 5plus kg...only....

unique,
think if you check breastfeeding sites, they won't actually tell you how much BM each child should take. it drives me nuts as a first timer. it's hard to tell how much our child takes if we latch on fully so the general guideline is that baby should double the weight by 4-5 months, according to my neighbourhood PD. so some babies take more, some take less. my point is, the FM indication is just a general guideline, one-size-fits-all kinda thing. my mom is very supportive, in days when i took in less than "enough", she would say maybe that's all the baby should have and she divided the portion intuitively to bb, more in the morning and lesser towards the evening. this is so that, if bb still doesn't have enough, she can latch on longer to me and as much as she wants but in real life, it doesn't really happen that way. most cases, coincidentally, my BM is enough for her. and sometimes, when giving more than enough, we're kind of training bb to eat more, creating a bigger appetite. but the last statement is just my theory lah. the rest is factual.

this coming from a very pro-BF mommy like me kekekee. but of course, if BF is very taxing on you, give FM. generally you're the mother, u should have the natural instinct if your bb is actually crying for hunger or something else. dun leave bb hungry.

Adeline,
Oh no, u must be worried and heartpain to see ur children down w virus. Pls take care.

Lee hong, Bbpink,
Yes am wearing all new tops and still buying maternity bottoms to wear too as old ones, all cannt wear haiz.

Can drive back kl and bf bb. This is wat i am intending to do if i travel monthly back and forth kl and spore w hb.

Think i never really dare to pump,scared blocked duct, engorgement and so on. Latch 80% of the time

Simp,

I do no think pumping will cause blocked duct and engorgement...pumping is just an alternative to latching...during our work when we cant latch our bb..we will need to pump...engorgement only happen if milk is not being removed from our breast whether is through latching or pumping for a long period of time

Melissa,
my bb doesn't regurgitate at all after feeding. so shdn't be overfeeding. if she doesn't get enough milk, she will get very irritable and can't get to sleep. Her birth weight is 3.12kg. Recent weight is 6.3kg though she looks much heavier. :p

abc,
how to stretch the feeding time? so far, i have been feeding on demand.
take today as an example,
4.30am (latch-on)
9.30am (90ml of EBM)
11.30am (110ml of EBM)
2pm (130ml of EBM)
4pm (latch on)
6pm (latch on)

when i latch her, she will suck very fast and hard as if starving. same for EBM.

remember that time i posted that my baby's tooth appeared. i checked with the PD. it is not a tooth. it is a cyst! but she says it will go away on its own. don't have to apply anything.

littleprincesses
hehe..alto i m not a malaysian, i love JB..going there with my kaki tmr

adeline
haiz..sounds very bad..hope Kat recovers soon and dun pass the virus to Kim

aly
melody so young also kena cyst..lucky it does not cause any harm

bbpink,
she oso has a cyst on her back below her waist. oozing pus and blood. oso donno y.. the polyclinic doctor gave her an antiseptic cream to apply. says will recover in a mth.

babypink- u so brave to go jb! going shopping? my dh calls jb a cowboy town. we normally try not to stop in jb when we are on the way to my hometown which in an hr drive from jb...

aly
when latching i feed on demand. When giving bottle every 3h. Actually even latching i am feeding roughly 3hrly too unless evening he tend to be more cranky so evening more often. How to check? obvious their pattern. When they slp and wake up that when they wan milk.. usu is abt 3h for mine..

For bottle i gv 4oz. But the 4oz he dun finish in a single feed. He will take abt 2 oz then hv to rest for another 30min before taking the other 2 oz.

How much ebm u gving her now and how many hr apart?