(2008/03) March 2008

Pancake,crystal,

Can I know wht is the full title of the book by Tracy Hogg? I saw in her website that there r a few books.

jerejoy
same as u! Cannot wear my pre-preg clothes coz my boobs can't fit even if i try to squash it! only can wear stretchy tube tops now! I have so many clothes now my wardrobe has burst and im invading my hubby's space!

My baby wakes up around 7am, i feed and let him snooze again. anyway no matter what i do or how much i feed, by clockwork he will wake up again by 800am.
For my baby i try to follow gina ford's recommended daytime feeding and nap times except everything is pushed back around an hour. Also i follow EASY where i try not to keep him awake more than 2hrs at a stretch, or else he'll get cranky. I stick to the stop naps after 5pm, and the 7pm bedtime. make sure he's full+++ then let him sleep. If we go out i use EASY, and wear him to sleep so he still gets his daytime naps.
His greatest problem is going to sleep coz he got terrible sleep associations and is a terribly touchy baby. It takes some planning of his meal/nap times but he's definitely a happier baby well with this. =)

PancakeChia,

Haha! Same here, my bb will wake up abt 9 plus no matter wht time I feed him. My bb has difficulty to sleep in the daytime so it's hard to follow Gina Ford's method. Sometimes, I can carry him the whole daytime and he will just nap a while in my arms and wakes up when I put him to the bed.

I try to coax him to sleep at 7pm but he will wake up on and off and will only go to sleep at 10 plus. So I will just stick to this routine of mine till I can find a better method. Still doing trial and error.

She got a couple of books
Try Secrets of the baby whisperer or the baby whisperer solves all your problems.

I like how it tries to help you identify and differentiate each cry your baby makes so you can understand your baby better.

there's another book- the no cry sleep solution by elizabeth pantley if you're interested.

Ultimately think the rule of sleeping the night is the same- fill baby up during the day and the bedtime feeds, and develop a regular day routine for the baby to get used to.

Anyway i was quite ok with feeding my baby at night. My hubby is more disturbed by it than me (even throu he's not even the one getting up at night to feed the baby) and was the one who got the first gina ford book for me!

PancakeChia,

Thanks for yr recommendations on the books. Will go and find these books. Which one of her books would u recommend? I'm lazy to find them in the lib. Think I will buy it online.

I tried Gina Ford method on feeding 20mins on each breast before he sleeps in the night. But he ended up spitting milk and crying for 2 hrs cos he was too full and his stomach hurt. Hv to apply ru yi you on his stomach in the end. Eversince then, I rather wake up in the night time to feed my bb. Guess the method is not feasible for my bb.

jerejoy, from wat i recall from the gina ford book, the feeding schedule still requires the mummy to wake up at least once a night to feed the bb, right?

my boy is not on any routine yet coz he's fussy recently. last week he had wanted milk every 2 hrs and will feed for a short while. went to the PD and PD prescribed ridwind -_- $94 for the fee! i feed him ridwind 1ml twice a day and he is not as fussy.

now my boy has started drooling. the saliva texture is like gum. kinda gross. anyone's bb also started drooling?

i put a bib on him and he cries for milk coz he associates bib with feeding now. no choice but to feed him for 5mins or so until he fell asleep. -_-

jerejoy
what i did for nap times is: try to establish regular naptimes first. Don;t care about the sleep associations, let him sleep and get used to sleeping at those times. After he gets used to the nap times, then slowly break the associations.
my boy surprised me- from the time we started bedtime routine he sleeps the night quite well, esp the first half. the second half still quite erratic though- sometimes very good, sometimes wakes up a lot.

thanks all... i guess i managed to slim back so fast is because i take care of my baby full time since birth n breastfeeding does help, massage as well. jiayou to all to reach our pre-preggie's figure. i juz worry that my boobs is too big.. dun like the extra weight in front!watever it is, muz b healthy! thats' most impt!

Hum.. I can tahan baby cry unless he cry until the super no sound like cannot breath face change col pattern. BUT what I cannot tahan is the heart pain daddy come chasing after me cos I let his beloved baby cry so chiam... =P *I am like a cold-hearted mummy infront of him*

abc, thanks for selling for me.
btw, when will the FTG be coming in?

liyun,
me too can tahan bb cry liao, same same, if cry until cough and no snd then i carry him.. haha... but my mil heard him make abit snd and carry him liao. piangz!

Next Week Gathering
Date:29 May (Thurs)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Lobby E, #14-35 Compass Heights, SengKang (Next to Seng Kang MRT/Interchange)
Agenda: Potluck cum swimming (swiming in evening, optional of course)

Interested:
1. Ivy and bb (HOST)(Drinks)
2. abcdisney n bb (fruits)
4. Ling yee n bb (fried mee siam again!!)This time round shd i make it more spicy???
5. crystal n bb (pizzahut delivery)
6. adeline loo n bb (cakes)
7. clover n bb (golden pillow chicken)
8. Yu Tong, bb n maid ( Potatoe n Apple Salad )
9. babypink & bb (french toast)
10.Kate, bb n hb( spring rolls)
11. twinklestars n bb (chicken pie or finger food from OCK) - TBC
12. dreamlife n 2 gals (babypink thanks you for offering a lift
13. shirley n lele n zac zac n helper (drinks)

Removed my name tentatively as something happened..

Re looking after baby, i think for me no books nothing.. depends on my instinct..

Ling yee
i look after both kids, i bf.. i look after full time how coem i still fat!!!!!

guess i am one of them that can tahan baby cry also.

Isaac hates the towel (aka bib) as my mum usually put a towel around him before feeding him with milk bottle (where he still love to latch) so everytime you put a towel around him he start to kick and make angry sounds & action, crying will come when the milk bottle gets near him. He's been playing saliver for 2 weeks already, I'm monitoring to make sure there's no teeth to bite me when he latch! *scare...*

I think i'm following my own routine. I realise he is awake betw slp for 2h only. after tat he'll gt slpy.

i'll be doing drugstore spree. anyone interested email me @ [email protected]. www.drugstore.com

redtay
yr single ftg is out of stock thus delaying all shipment . d single ftg only here in 1-2 weeks. so hw? u wan change to double or wat?

current spree i'm hving
www.oldnavy.com (may hv 25% discount code,tbc)
www.gap.com
www.drugstore.com
www.theportablebaby.com

dreymin
u wan gt pikkolo ? I hv 1 order on hand..

Hi abcmummy

Can you help me get a destin cream (blue packaging)? Not sure how much it cost but you can less this from the refund that you need to make. Thanks

anyone know if i can travel to kl with only 5 mths validity on my passport? i m going there via coach. if not, is there anyway that i can renew and get my passport within a few days as i have bought my coach ticket for this friday. just checked and realised that my passport is expiring in november! any advice?

abc,
sigh~ i wan a single so tat i can go out and pump outside. double abit too big. if can't wait, jus drop my order then.

abc,

wat is calendula cream? Barrier cream?
M thinking of ordering destin cream again. Now using draplone. Its ok to use it after every change of diapers rite?

Clover,

The book actually teaches us to let bb sleep thru the night. Don't think I can do it cos my bb wakes up for milk 3-4 hrs in the night.

PancakeChia,

Thanks for sharing. Trying to get my bb to nap in the daytime. His sleeping routine in the daytime is erratic.
He doesn't like to sleep in his playpen so he has been sleeping with my hubby & I in the night time since he was 2 weeks old.

Hi mummies: Want to ask how do you all stop relatives from "manhandling" your baby?

My MIL ask us to join the big family for dinner on Sat night. We went along as its been quite a long time. Horrible lor. We reach at 7. They came at 8.30pm... We finished at 10.30pm. So late. I really felt like leaving. Cos me and hubby agreed to try to leave at 9.30pm. Then they tried to carry bb by the armpits... My bb only 11weeks old leh. Faintz. As its around bb bedtime, she's grouchy cos she's at unfamiliar place. We have to take turns to carry her to sleep. Then we heard comments like how come your bb needs to be carried... blah blah... They tried to carry her, but she's already very grouchy and only want mummy or daddy.

After that, I am very pissed. Went back argue w hubby some more. Haiz. Too angry liao and I dunno how to tell his relatives not to touch my bb... Especially when she's drinking milk, they distract her, she wanna sleep, they still wanna manhandle her.

Happymummy:
Too much water will lead to bb having water intoxication. It will cause bb to lose their body salt content. Cos their kidneys can't process so much water.

Same as adults who drink really too much water, need to go hospital.

kell: high 5* to u... i also encountered this when my boy was 1.5mths old... tat time was my granddad's birthday... so bo bian we all went to his hse. all my aunties took turns trying to comfort my bawling son... my hb was so angry tat they refused to return our son back to us. explaining tat they also have kids, they can handle our son... *blah blah*

after tat incident, we avoid all gatherings... both sides...
u can't stop ur elders frm wanting to carry ur bb. so my way is to avoid physical meeting all together.

abc
very keen in your ongoing sprees, but no time browse the items i want. work has been busy lately. but i am viewing theportablebaby.com first. need a carrier badly.

Kell,

U hv to be very firm first of all. When they want to carry, give excuses such as " My bb is v grouchy now, Can u pls refrain from touching his face n hands cos she's still young and can easily catch virus..., she's tired n doesn't feel gd now, etc.

I'm v particular n choosy when pple wants to carry my bb. Just keep refusing n they will get yr hint. My frd also makes that remark too n I was v pissed off too! Worse still, she didn't ask my permission n just 'snatch' n carry my bb off my arms! Somemore her hands were dirty cos she didn't wash her hands after eating chicken wings! From that moment on, I keep refusing her to carry my bb n she sort of get the hint and doesn't carry my bb liao. It's after this incident that I became v firm n learn to say no when pple want to carry my bb.

manhandling bb
i m not particular. anyone can carry my baby (pls take over from me) but i will ask them to wash their hands first if their hands is not clean.

crystal/abc, any expiry date for the candula cream? even 2oz will be a lot for my bb, so gotta first check when it will expire.

clover
the expiry dates are usually 2009-2010.

i have 1extra tub. BN upoepened. i bot 2 previously from spree but still have nt finish my current tub.

happymummy:
it was in the news by some report from USA if I am not mistaken that babies under 6 months shouldnt drink water as too much will cause their body system to break down and do damage to the brain...I think something like that.

manhandling:
So far I prefer my baby not to choose the person who carry him BUT the one who is choosey is the mummy(me!). Like how I dislike certain relatives so the min they get near I will quicky carry my baby back say he need milk (good excuse for breastfeeding mums, WHO else can give the breast?!) and walk far far away.... *so bad hor*

The candula cream is good for treating eczema? Is it very toxic? If i applied to my bb's face, he will always touch with his hands and then put his hands into his mouth.

Do u all know anyone wld like to need handme down infant girl clothes? Wld like to give away some handme down clothes good condition 6-8, just some hv milk stain. 50 pcs or so (rompers, hat, socks, mittens, shirts, shorts, pants, dresses, diaper bag...)for newborn to 12 mths.

self collect at toa payoh. pls PM me.

manhandling,
Here's my thoughts. It's hard to avoid and I really can't wish that it doesn't happen but should babies catch a virus from all these mandhandling, got sick and then got well, they will develop a resistance against the virus, resulting in a stronger baby. So i am taking all these manhandling with a pinch of salt. I can't be too ngiao either else pple will see me as very fussy and very intolerable. Also, don't be afraid to speak off your mind but do it tactfully. Older people are more sensitive so you should speak "their language". Communication skills comes into action at that point of time.

Liyun,
That's a good way to manage our relatives and friends. I think it is usually the relatives that r hard to handle. Especially if they think they r very experienced and handle our bb the wrong way.

Kell,
I usually avoid huge gathering when bb is too small. Now that my bb has just turned 2 months, i still stay at home 99% of time in the event she catches virus or hand, foot, mouth disease. INitially i wanted to take her out only when she is 6 mths old but i think maybe not very realistic. I am slowly introducing her to the public step by step besides my parents and in-laws place.

Hi mummies, would like to check what baby wash are u using for ur babies ? I'm currently using kodomo baby wash (the purple bottle) but find that my baby hv a lot of red pimples(like baby acne)..
Do ur baby hv baby acne ? How to prevent ?

Bf-ing mommies
do u girls eat alot??? i think i eat like a pig leh!! continuous eating non-stop or huge AMT!!! i never seems to be full lor..

Almost 2 weeks.. i am initially recovering from sore throat, flu, fever... but TODAY.. it all came back to me again.. Haiz..
I slept from laz night 8pm until today 2pm.. =/
On and off HB keep running to the room with baby and shouting (faster faster baby crying and wanna drink!!!)
After latching i just fall aslp immediately sometimes with baby on my arms then HB gotta come in, take baby away and burp her lol!..

Adeline,
I am hungry easily.. i eat 3 main meals with 2 snacks in between... sometimes have supper too.i guess BF is like that..i juz had laksa and dessert! yummy!

Hmm.. I don't feel very hungry leh. How come ah? Is it because i pump most of the time? only latch once in a while.

Wah Ling Yee, eat so much still so slim.. So good!!