(2008/03) March 2008

abc

Yup, thanks for the tips. Hotwater bottle worked great for me.

LC told me before that must massage and squeeze to prevent lumps forming. I didn't believe her then but now once bitten twice shy.

Your baby latch on more than mine so maybe that's why u dun get it. Good for u

kell
u r so lucky ! i wish i work opp isetan

kais
thanks for the massaging info

babe_dude
haha, i can't help smiling at ur post..i like tat method :p..i.e. i drink the cooling stuff, then bb absorb thru milk
personally, i m not comfortable feeding bb any liquids other than water or milk at such a young age myself..so if i drink then absorb thru me sound better ;)

Melissa
yupz, very tiring..hand expressing into bottles is very tough for me..as in teh aiming

Sheryl
hope all is fine with ur bb !
nothing beats having our kids in the pink of health..very worried everytime the kid falls sick

abc: i think price increase le. $189 b4 20% means $151 after disc..

kell: i'll also get ergo. more convenient to get...

when is e metro sales? anyone knows?

babedude / kais: my boy got heat rashes, i ate *guilinggao*... drank barley water... ended up i too cooling... haha
but it works. he was much better le.

Hi dreymin,price haven increase,i was charge $92 for 6in1. she did take measurements...he is nw 2.5mths...weighing at 5.6kg,61cm and head ard 34cm...she says tall for 2mths...
Like all mummies, although no fever...but body warm leh, so i jus feed him medicine,even nanny also kanchong keep taking his temperture...

Abc, Capcol can be use for our march babies?

I just got my hands on a hand-me-down BabyBjorn original. Oh I love it. It's very small and compact and fits my bb perfectly. Can even fit my 20mth old girl! But she's a bit small sized. However, her 10kg body make me give up 20 mins later. If we go out, she will be strapped into the stroller while meimei will get to strapped to me in the BabyBjorn!

babypink,
so when you express, u have to get a wide-necked bottle ready? i remember my fingers getting sticky with all that milk dribbling.

kais,
i have watched the video! now i know how to express and massage effectively. thanks once again!

Melissa, that's what i did with my babybjorn as well. i got the one with the back support. max i can carry the baby is about 45 mins standing. more than that my legs will go soft also. but its really easy and secure.

Date: 21 May (wed)
Time: 1pm (baby swimming @ hbf) , 2pm (gathering)
Venue: gathering at Pacific coffee (vivo)
1. abcdisney n bb
2. petrina & bb (finally can go out)
3. Babe Dude (Meet 2pm @ Pacific Coffee)
4. clover n bb (meet 2pm but will be late n need to have lunch)

ladies, there's a 15% off store wide discount at the new mothercare store at harbourfront ctr until 22 jun but payment must be signed with dbs/posb cc or dc.

sighs. my bb so cranky recently esp at the time at 6.30pm! she used to only wake up once for milk in the night, these 2days she have been waking up 2-3times in the night. i am so tired. this morning nearly late for work liao.

i increased her intake for milk as follows the forumula table but how come she still can wake up 2-3times a night when she is drinking more? is she going thru growth spurts again???

sighs................

Actually i admire mummies who hand express, very tiring de lei..Cos even manual pump i find veri tiring liao, not to say hand express..Mummies, jia you!!!

clover,
my bb siao siao one, sometimes drinks @ 45mins..sometimes @ 1hr.. sometimes can be 3 -4 hrs!! hahahah...

Baby pink.. hee hee..yah mah.. they always say whatever we eat bb gets it.. so i drink cooling stuff.. she also get the cooling effect! wahahahha ...

Pet.. yah manzzz.. it works right.. hee hee :p like when i eat durianz.. i get breakout..my bb also got red patches on her face!! wahahaha
even so when i poo.. she also poos!!

clover
yalor. i also guess so. she is drinking 6oz now lei. how can so fast hungry. 3hrs she start wailing liao. i worry i overfed. sighs. but once i gave her milk, she becomes angelic again. haha. but i still worry that the intervals are too short then lead to overfeeding.

Crystal : 6oz ah? Wao...May i know e weight of your gal now? Cos my gal only drink 3oz now, sometimes cant finish aso..half of ur gal...

babedude, u really feed on demand~~~ my alex feeds every 2.5-3 hr or so.

crystal, u can monitor this for 2, 3 days. i find my boy sleep a lot during his last growth spurt too.

My baby still feel abit warm warm, but the temperature on the thermonmeter shows ok. The result from lab test abt my bb's urine is back. She's clear. NO UTI!!!! I'm so GLAD!!!!

clover.. yah manzz.. feed on demand! doc say is ok.. feed her on demand.. but try to feed at at least 2 hrs interval now... my girl now slowly getting used to the 2hrs feedin interval.. so shld be ok..

babedude: my boy also abit siao... yesterday started feeding @ 5pm. then he drink then rest 15mins then cry for milk again... the cycle went on n on till abt 11pm... i almost kenna drained dry... LOLx

I think Metro no sale... yet. But dunno if there's any for the upcoming GSS. I can't wait le. If can wait, then go to the Motherhood fair. Me gng to Paragon later.

crrystal: feed your baby more, try 7 or 8 oz, if she's had enough she should be able to stop herself... babies don behave like goldfish I hope....

Hi Jerejoy,
Quite useful comparison there!
But I think I go w the typical Sgreans mentality... Kiasu and Kiasi... Cos Ergo got better reviews in this forum. Lol.

My 2cents worth: Altho its pure cotton, but I will still "sweat" when there's cloth over my body. So I think not so suitable for SG? But at least Snugglewrap is priced reasonably, can still try it out.

jerejoy,
that website is anti-babybjorn 100% ley and of course, it gives 100% rating to its own brand. think it's bias liao.

go with the carrier that fits you most. think most are designed to be good for baby support. anyway you only go out standing with bb for how long? max 1 hour standing i think. the rest of the time, u'll be sitting perhaps. so take the comparisons with a pinch of salt. must follow what you budget says as well.

crystal, petrina,
think now my bb is going through a growth spurt as well. she wants to feed all the time and refuse to go to sleep if there's no feeding! so i practically feed her almost every hour. now i scared if my EBM is not enough for her. just when i was about to regulate my flow, she wants more!

Kell,Melissa,

I wanted to buy bjorn initially cos the material similar to the yao lan material. But I saw someone in the forum also commenting it's nt gd for the spine. As I'm coming back in Spore end of the yr, I'm looking for one that is suitable for Spore weather. Any recommendations?

melissa
ya my girl also! no milk no sleep. if gives her milk, then she will goes to slp. now at night she even will wake up for her feeds on time. hope she outgrows this period soon, back to wake up once in the night for her feed.

clover
my girl dont sleeps so much though. she jsut keep wanting to be fed abt 3hourly interval.

liyun
7 or 8oz? like alot lei. thats for like much older babies???

happymummy
my bb weighs 7.1kg now.

RE: motherhood fair
i am going! maybe can do gatherings to go tgt.

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">Kai,

Thanks for e video. I end up w skin burnt when I tried to hand express e very 1st time. But it's really much more efficient though tiring way to clear our breast.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">jerejoy,

U wan to consider CatBird Baby Pikkolo Baby Carrier? Baby Bjorn can only carry up to 26lbs whereas this Pikkolo can carry up to 40lbs
http://www.mamakanga.com/babycarriers_12/CatBird-Baby.htm</font></font>

Kais, glad your plugged ducts are gone. It's always wise to aggressively treat plugged ducts as soon as you found it. You can take lecithin to prevent recurrent plugged ducts.
http://www.googobits.com/articles/150-breastfeeding-moms-guide-to-preventing-and-treating-plugged-ducts-and-mastitis.html

If you all remember I had seek advice on how to resolve my plugged ducts , but my so-called plugged ducts turnt out to be breast abscess, I just had day surgery a few days ago to drain out 450ml of PUS!!!!! now it's still hot and swollen. OUCH OUCH OUCH!

Melissa, I have to be on a strong antibiotics, not breastfeeding compatible n told to wean!!!
For storage at the back of the fridge, I read can be up to 5-8days. I have this file regarding storage info, email u.

My 9 wk old gal is finally more settled into a schedule, now she is on a 2-3hr drinking interval, but only drinks ard 90ml. She's 4.7kg.

Manual expression + Electric pump

To all those who sparked my curiosity in manual pumping, THANKS so much

After looking up the related sites i decided to ive manual expression a go and WOW! so much milk man.. hehe.. i feel like a regular cow.. and i never thought i would say this BUT it's great to be a cow with milk to offer.. hahaha..

Just now i decided to do just manual express and within 5 min it's 40ml and the other side started to leak.(for someone who has never experienced leaking breasts, this is exhilarating)

So i combine the best of both worlds - Medela PIS on one side and manual on the other. Every few min change. A LOT of milk sia!

So delighted that i can meet demands of my 3 gals again

jenifur,petrina,
thanks for yr recommendations! Will take a look of those brands u hv mentioned. (",)

Petrina,
saw yr multiply n find that u r so gd in carrying yr bb in the sling. Can I know wht brand sling did u buy?

kais,
i'm so proud of you for believing in yourself that you will have enough milk for your twins. i hope that you can spread this breastfeeding bugs to everyone outside the forum as well. you're inspirational and glad you're heading the right way!

sheryl,
thanks for the file! yeah i heard we can keep it at the back of the fridge for like 5 days so i was wondering if i can store my EBM there. since i'm on part-time work basis, working from tues-thurs so my last pump is thurs, hoping to keep it till next tues when bb will be on the bottle again. think i'll try. besides i don't think my bb enjoys the FBM. my mom said she always drink little and often don't finish it. b'cos of that, my MS dipped. but whenever i'm back home or weekends approached, she will latch a lot! btw, you don't have to wean if you don't want to. i didn't. i just pump and throw and even if your affected breast doesn't produce well, the unaffected one will make up for it. but it *might* give you a lopsided breast due to the differing amount of supply. again, your will power is put to test. if you believe that your supply will be enough, then it will be. i am a BA survivor and i continued to BF my girl 3 months after. kais has triplets, she has enough for all three! so jia you!!

crystal,
just curious, have you started work already?

Melissa, I had fed my bb with 5day old EBM which was kept at the back of fridge. Most important is that the EBM is not foul/sour. There is a 48 hours rule - that chilled EBM SHOULD NOT BE FROZEN after 48 hours. In any case, you might like to cut all the numbers by half to play safe.

Did your doc tell u to wean? Mine strongly advised me, cos my pus is not localised like yours, but rather the pus is found extensively around the whole affected breast. My unaffected breast was yielding sufficiently for bb after my surgery, so i really believe in milk demand-supply system. Right now I'm pumping out and throw on the good breast, but affected breast is too sore to be pumped.

crystal,
heheehe so you and me in the same boat. always missing babies at home. not easy to pump when there's so much work to do too.

sheryl,
no my doc (actually my gynae) did not tell me to wean, she said i can pump and throw if i still want to BF my baby which is exactly what i did. i read forums of pple who continue to feed bb even with breast abscess or maybe i read wrongly. should be mastitis, cannot be BA 'cos BA means boob full of pus. btw, what's localised? your antibiotic is taken for how long. mine is a 7-days course.

melissa
i not bf-ing alrdy. my bb is on fm now. do you fetch your bb to and fro everyday from your mom's place? i do so i am quite tired from the running ups and downs everyday.

Crystal : U very "wei da"
Bcos u still need to work the next morning ...U stayed far from your mum's hse? Mi weekend mummy, so everyday miss bb a lot..But sometimes too tiring so nv go my mum's hse see her..

Melissa
I have triplets, not twins.

My number 1 &amp; 2 will have EBM from morning till evening and at night it's FM. No. 3 gets EBM day &amp; night.

Now i'm hoping to stretch EBM to all 3 till as far in the night as possible.