(2008/03) March 2008

any more mummies wanna join us? pm me for my mobile n addy! the date is tomorrow!

Date: 13 May (Tues)
Place: clover's home @ AMK
Time: 12.30pm (potluck)

1. clove n bb - bacon n spinach pasta
2. abcdisney n bb - fruits
3. Adeline
4. Adeline Loo n bb - cake
5. Kate & BB - Bakwang sayur
6. twinklestars & bb - chicken pie or golden pillow
7. shirley - drinks

clover
just pm you

melody
i got my medela PIS spare parts from mums and babes from AMK Hub but i think they also have one at United Square.
www.mumsandbabes.com.sg

btw U.S. is a lot cheaper for parts so you might want to research a little...amazon or drugstore carry them...oh and i bought this connector part that i no longer need, will sell it really cheap if you are looking for that, it's brand new in box

Medela Spare Parts
I got from Isetan / Mothercare.
Hassle to get from Spree la...

Breast Pump:
Either get manual or get Medela PIS. Those inbtw really CMI! Ameda I got no comments

Adeline : thanks ya..i will go & find cos i thought only Medela company have it, i cant find it in website mah..I bought the pump @ amk hub de...

Kell : Thanks aso...

babypink,
Best is half a second one card. If not, one second one card
For a start, you can flash a few cards only. It takes time to build up concentration and interests. Otherwise, use those cards to play.

jerejoy,
I DIY the slide too. kekeke... But now collect dusts in my storeroom. I just put baby on tummy as much as possible to "replace" that part. Black and white chessboards, I DIY too. Buy a black cardboard, cut mahjong paper and paste. From experience, cut 10cm by 10cm squares. Think there's printing error in the size in the book. It's far too big. For the flashcards, you can buy the thickest marker you can find and write the words. Or print the words. I bought the words sets though, cos in the beginning, I dunno what words to teach. As time goes by, I realise, any words also can teach. I did not do the wooden block thingy. hee... too troublesome. I stay beside a main road. You can replace the wooden block with something that can be used to make loud noise.
You can PM me

happygal,
Your baby has strong neck
Very soon, will be crawling already.

Mummies who are still bf'ing bb, if u go overseas for few days & u dont pump out the milk will the supply decrease?

melody
now i pump at least 3time daily, morning afternoon and evening time and latch on at night. I am pumping around 250 to 300ml per session. I am using Medela PIS, i have used ameda but doesnt really suits me. I am having more milk as compared to my first child which i can pump around 200ml each session. I think how much u can pump is depedent on how much your child is drinking.

As for going overseas, if you stop pumping, your supply defintely will drop. My supply dropped quite a lot when i am on overseas trip as no time to pump. After coming back i have to increas my pump session to 5 times in order to regain back the supply.

I increase my supply now but drinking lots of water. I am still drinking my red dates drink which i will bring to office. I find drinknig warm drink increase my supply. maybe u can try that.

i m thinking of getting the medela inner bag....for cold storage milk...rectangle one....anyone knw where will sell cheaper....cos after 4 years...is kind of wan to spoil...holes on the silver lining...

i have the playtex milk liner....140 per pack....letting go at 12.40....anyone interested?....i think i wun need so many...

3. Adeline
5. Kate & BB - Bakwang sayur
6. twinklestars & bb - chicken pie or golden pillow
7. shirley - drinks
8. dreymin, bb & helper - TBC

no.. just now he got a shock cuz something dropped while he's sleeping.. he cried until no sound for once.. den i feed him milk, after feeding, another episode of cry until no sound.. i dont't think he is in any pain..

don't know will he be affected by crying like dat..

happy belated mother's day to all! was quite tied up yesterday preparing mother's day dinner for my MIL. was so sweaty and tired after the preparations, gd thing my hubby still know how to 做人 and got us a cake

hubby's prec,
my boy aso was once shocked by thunderstorm and cried quite terribly. he quietened down after i kept rocking and talking to him, think they need comforting.

hubby's precious, my boy also cried like mad yesterday evening. 4ppl cant pacify him..and i tried all methods to pacify him..phew..stop crying after half an hr.
Scared me to death too..cried until tremble and shiver...

dreymin,
my bb usually not affected my sudden sound.. thunder he's not scared.. dunno why today he got shocked.. if my bb cry terribly got sound, i wouldnt worry that much..but just now he cried till no sound come out from him, like pause while crying... my knees went weak and my heart came right up to my throat..

3. Adeline
5. twinklestars & bb - chicken pie or golden pillow
6. shirley - drinks
7. dreymin, bb & helper - TBC

Sorry mummies, tomorrow i can't make it for the gathering...catch up with all of other time

Shirley : waooo ur supply a lot lei ..Mi onli ard 140-160ml per session, is it considered very litte? But my gal drink v little, nw only ard 80ml-90ml every 3hrs...I express my milk every 4-6hrs, 4 times daily. I nv latch on..

bbpink,
ya, alot of ppl said she looks like gorgor=like a boyboy...keke

aly,
thanks for informing me regarding bbsafe mattress. oh ya, harvey norman got cutest kids contest. I just develop there and join the club too....hehe

hubby precious
My gal also cried till no sound when she's 1 mth plus. She keep fussing at evening time like having colic. She keep fussing for 1 wk+ then loss her voice. We still tot she got sore throat. "|-_- And bring her go doc. But nothing is wrong lah.

Scared the sh*t out of me...

Will slowly regain the voice. Don't worry.

I bought a Cosco convertible car seat. But its not good for infants. My poor gal had to lop her head. Very bad.

Then we bought a Graco infant seat. Wanna save money become waste more money. LOL.

I find convertible car seats are more for babies who can hold their head. Now roads are so congested and so many k*k* drvers, I dun wanna take the chance.

1. clover n bb - bacon n spinach pasta
2. Adeline Loo n bb - cake
3. twinklestars & bb - chicken pie or golden pillow
4. shirley - drinks
5. dreymin, bb & helper - TBC

Sry ladies.. abc and me couldnt make it tml.. i am super exhausted looking after both kids.. i realise i need a break n i bought a fridge to be delivered to aunty hse tml.. gotta go over for abit..

Sry for the laz min changes..

kell,
my no sound meaning he cry until "hang" there.. not lost his voice.. hee.. if he lost his voice i still not so scared, but is he cry so hard until like "stuck" there like dat.. scary..

hubby precious,
Ya, she cry till "eng eng then eeenngggg" with and like dragging the last cry. Like last time those spoilt cassette like that...
Then aft 1 wk + she lost her voice for about 2 days. The last few cries are like crying for a few mins, then later open and close mouth but no sound le. Very poor thing one.

Saw some of your comments on Ergo. But its for use when baby neck is strong right?

I need a carrier, but I dun wan the sling type, as my gal likes to be carried upright. Very tiring on my arms and shoulders. At the end of the day, cannot lift my arms liao.

I saw a few brands like Bjorn, Patapum and Beco. Are there are more feedback?

hubby's precious, mine baby just suddenly cried out just now. just like yours. then i saw her butt abit red. must be she pass urine and scared herself cried of the pain. and the other time she suddenly cried very loud for about 5 mins then i heard poo poo sound. that's for mine. you might want to check if there is anything that make the baby feel pain suddenly.

Kell I loved baby bjorn. expensive but super good cos its has the yao lan type of material and also support for baby's neck. i been using that everywhere. and the other plus is that my hubby like its too. so he willing does the carrying. best best.

dreamlife: i tot they say Bjorn n the other types of carrier is holding bb by the spine - the crotch area. so it's bad for bb's spine. tats y i only research BECO, ERGO & Patapum... these 3 carriers sit the bb by on the butt in the carrier. not the spine.

hb precious: my boy will cry until no sound, red lobster face, open mouth big big n tears flowing down... WHEN nobody carries him n leaves him on the rocker for a period of more than 30mins...
he doesn't get shock or anything...

my gal cried non stop, stopping 5 mins then cry non stop again for 5 hrs....when brot to a&e say is hernia....then paed came to see say she is a crying baby....fr 4 start crying...till 330am...then stop after a burp....i guess is colic n wind....now giving infacol....

hb precious
my boy cries like dat! no sound type and his face gets super deep red and then after a second or two, he will wail so loudly the neighbours can hear him all the way from downstairs and upstairs....my mom says she's scared of him haha....he just gets super mad if we don't carry him...usually 5 mins is the max he can take without being carried *haiz*....but don't worry, no harm done, just some cuddles and he'll be back to his old "cheery" self

<font color="0000ff">Pet</font>

that is nice
can sah for another year..

as for me , i have to get used to not seeing him 8-6 lah..cos going back to work in 3 weeks..sigh*

<font color="0000ff">melody</font>

yupz, it will affect, but we can build up teh milk flow by drinking more water etc etc

i was overseas for a few days 2 months after my 1stborn was born..i handexpress and throw away the milk those few days

<font color="0000ff">dreymin</font>

u cooked for ur MIl ? so u have any simple recipes to share ?

<font color="0000ff">Adeline</font>

how much is the fridge and where u got it from..how does it look like

<font color="0000ff">Storing milk in playtex</font>

I realise i am running out of the clips...sigh* the shops ard my place all dun have..so sianz to make a special trip down to Ikea..

besides ikea clips, i tried using scotch take, but like not very secure..anyone has any other suggestions.

btw, does any of ur milkbag leaks ?

babypink: hehe, i'm sacrificing lots of my expenses to make up for my loss in income... lucky i m in insurance line. so i got renewal income...
worth it as i get to c my boy 24/7...

adelineL: haha, our boys r the same type... cry until lobster face because we dun carry him... shouters rite? my hb gave him nickname - loudspeaker

when he cry, my neighbour will think we *slaughtering pigs* here... cause the screams sound like pig squirming...

melody

i think ur milk supply is fine cos i was pumping around the same amt for my first born. It will increase over time. But i suggest if possible to latch on cos this is still the most effective way to increase supply. Actually my gal was drinking 125ml when she was 4 weeks old then now she reduced to 90 to 100ml mayb that time was her growth spurt.

pet
haha ya lor, like slaughtering pigs hehe...worse still is when he screamed like dat outside *faintz*...happened to us at NTUC and we couldn't checked out fast enuff...the whole store could hear him!

Babypink : Oh drink more water can increase milk supply ah? thanks ya...
Shirley : Hmm..Latch on ah, cos my gal now has slowly get used to bottlefeed liao le, if latch on again i scared she dun wan bottlefeed again??? Cos my mum has a hard time bottlefeed her when i stop latching her...Your gal now 90-100ml ah, how long is the interval b4 next feed?

hb prec,
seems like we have a lot of "crying till very hard" babies, you are not alone. but must monitor that this is not too frequent.

babypink,
i aso sian, gg to work v soon. i very likely has a working trip next mth, hope the supply will not be affected too much. btw how to handexpress, how long does it take? i am thinking of taking the ameda pump along. aso how to express when u r on the phone?

my helper and i cooked v simple stuff: chicken cutlet (more work: nd to flatten the meat, marinate, then coat with egg &amp; crushed cream crackers), pork with potatoes, rice wine chicken, stir fried assorted vegs. we started very late, so panic when realised we could not finish in 3hrs, haha!

storing milk in playtex
i read somewhere can use rubberband to tie up. i got one-ounce milk tray from mumsfairy. you just freeze and store with the freezer bags from ziplock, much cheaper in the long run. someone is aso selling smtg similar in BP: 1 or 2 ounce covered trays, tat is much better.

1. clover n bb - bacon n spinach pasta
2. Adeline Loo n bb - cake
3. twinklestars &amp; bb - chicken pie or golden pillow
4. shirley - drinks
5. dreymin, bb &amp; helper - TBC
6. aly, bb n helper - fried pork cutlets

melody
sometime 3hr sometimes 21/2 she wanna drink liao, she is a small but frequent eater. ya my mum has a difficult time to bottle feed last week too then i change the teat from silicon to latex then its better. So everyday, there will be 9 bottles of 100ml of milk on standby for my gal to drink but usually she will only finish 4-5 bottles.

babypink
i am using rubberband to tie the milkbag, cheap and effective