(2008/03) March 2008

I tried massage while pumping but d ducts I jus abv d aerola. difficult to massage while expressing but did try massage then express a few times. still there sigh.. i'm using ameda pump.

if express then latch will they nt hv foremilk? wat's d importance of foremilk ? quest thirst right?

mini gathering
- Those who wan meet earlier, some of us going delfi to look @ nursing tops. There'll b 15% off.

Meeting time: 12noon
Venue: Delfi orchard @ mothers en vogue

interested :
1. abcdisney n bb
2. kate n bb n hb
3. Babe_dude n bb n maid
4. Adeline n bb

- 2pm @ taka coffee club, next to kinokuniya

held my boy's full mth on sunday.. i din invite frens.. cause juz relatives headcount already 80ppl... faintz...
my parents did all the catering n preparations n location was chosen at my uncle's condo function room due to overwhelming guest list...

all my relatives wan a piece of my boy.. end up he cry n cry, then i end up feeding n feeding all day.. then he vomit n vomit cause he's been sucking for comfort only...

tmr 2pm rite? taka coffee club?

sigh~ i feel so stressful with my CL at home. evryday got to monitor her do this do tat. think i am going crazy.. feel like sending her back liao. but my hubby tell me to endure for 1.5 more weeks.
she can even switch on tv to watch as if like her home liao..
at few occassion, we were so worried tat my son din wake up for milk for 6 long hrs, and she bla bla bla.. said if he wanna drink he will wake up himself one.. and she can jus sleep so peacefully.. and sometime she try to use old myth to my bb, make me very buay tahan.. don't think i will ever empoly a cl nxt time..

any idea how much should a newborn drink?
my girl drink 60ml FM last night at 2am and din drink untill 8am.. is she taking too much?
do we need to feed bb plain water if we feed FM?

interested :
1. abcdisney n bb
2. kate n bb n hb
3. Babe_dude n bb n maid
4. Adeline n bb
5. Kais n hubby & GEM

Pancake chia,
what i did was to pump every morning and every night b4 i sleep so that the flow is not so strong for baby. If i dun pump at nite, my baby always choke when feeding and after choke, she dun wanna drink but will wake up 1.5 hrs later for a feed. if i pump at nite, she drinks in peace and can sleep for the next 3 hours. I m delaying the time of pumping so that i dun have oversupply problem and i dun dare to drink papaya with fish soup. Only drank once so far after my delivery.

cherish
it's good to give them water after they take FM. it helps to reduce the "heatiness" and also wash their tongue. That's what i do for my girls. Personally i find that its ok if babies sleep 5-6 hrs in a stretch. They don't do it all the time... sometimes i wish they do... hahaha... just make sure u have ur healthy poo/pee count for a day. FM makes them fuller than BM as BM more diluted comapred to FM

Unique,
mayb yr baby having colic. try put 2 drops of ru yi oil, rub with ur palms to warm it and apply on ur baby's tummy. My baby feels relaxed n shiok when i did this...

envy u all going for gathering again tomorrow!
anyone can help me see their sizechart? coz i cun find their sizechart online. Thanks in advance! I miss coffeeclub earl grey with vanilla!

beanie pillow

When do pp use these beanie pillow till? Wondering if its too late to use beanie pillows? My gals are doing 90 degree turns in their sleep. Can start off at 12 o clock position then after a while they are lying at 3 o clock position.

removing blocked ducts
my friend who has breastfed all 3 of her children told me to try feeding baby in different positions. i am not sure if that works cos my boy only like the cradle style. he will wriggle like mad if i use other positions and the rest of the time, i pump out. u gals may want to try and see if it works.

kais
you can make/buy bigger, heavier beanie pillow. i am using the small one and my boy can kick and move until the pillow no longer on his tummy!

kais, I m using beanie bolster. it's homemade and my friend gave it to me. in the middle theres a pc of cloth attaching to the 2 bolsters at the sides. tot this will help yr girls better?

Wah, will be quite a sight tomorrow taka , so many babies and mummies.

Kais, my bb will kick off the beanie pillow as well, since it's quite lightweight. anyway, we still place it on her because she always raised her arms and legs suddenly while she sleeps.

Cherish, when nurses at hospital fed my bb when she's a few days old, they fed her abt 40ml at 3 hrs interval.

sheryl: i place my bb on tummy during slp liao... use the holey pillow to prop his head up. cause the bean pillow is too lightweight...
he slps much more soundly this way.

redtea: i ordered frm yeh lai siang... relatively cheap for me cause i had guest headcount of 80. so i need to be frugal.
though i din eat, i had very good response frm my relatives.. they all thought it cost alot...

hi petrina,

which menu u ordered from yeh lai siang?$8 or $10?they provided extra food?heard some would provide around 10% more...

ling yee,
chillipadi got a 40$ delivery charges. u ordering hi-tea or variety occassion buffet?

petrina,
do u have url for Yeh Lai siang?

twinklestars,
hee.. me and hubby looking at 10-12$ per pax buffet.

i ordered yls catering as i read many gd reviews. but the food nt as fantastic as what many said. but it is nt bad for the price i paid. $10 per pax.

redtea, my delivery charges is waived coz i cater for 80 pax. i changed sme of the dishes too... at no extra charges. i ordered their lunch buffet

ling yee,
me tot of chillipadi too.. but scared their food too spicy.. hee.. i went to their restatrant opp bugis for hi-tea buffet. their food not bad and cheap.

need ur help...my bb has been sleeping peacefully in the day times.....but at night he doesnt seem to fall asleep even after i fed him...last time he was up from 1am-6am....any advice

babe dude,
Results wise, so far, my #1's development is on par with his peers. His strength is in motor skills and concentration.
One very important thing is try not to expect fast results, cos this might cause stress in the kid and the parents too. When there's stress, learning abilities will be affected.
I would say we will need at least 2 terms to settle into the class. A lot of parents expect their very young kid to settle down into class within a few lessons, but it's not going to happen in reality.
When I first started Shichida class at 7 month, my #1 was still breastfeeding. I had a challenging time to adjust his sleep timing and feeding timing. Sometimes, no choice but to breastfeed in the class. Sometimes, sleep in class. At some point, when he just started walking, he was more interested in walking around the class than sitting down to do the activities. A lot of parents feel that these are a waste of $$$ cos the kid cannot concentrate. But I personally feel that it's not wasted in the long run
These are the things that parents gotta expect when bringing very young kids for lessons.

One term is 12 weeks. Term break is one week, 4 times a year. This week is week 2 for this term. Calculate 12 weeks and break one week. Next term will start end of June.

Petrina,
Wah... 80 pple... Must be very tiring for you and your boy... My #1 full month, we got 100 pple, and we separate to two sessions... that was super tiring. This time, gonna be limit to 50 people only

redtea, there r some stuff that are non spicy.. coz i have adults more than children, chilli padi is a good choice for me. i have 100 guests buti cater for 80 only coz my mum wana cook fried mee siam n curry veg. i ordered the golden but managed to switch some of the dishes to from perankan essence menu at no extra cost.
my full mth cake from sweetestmoments. u?

lingyee
if u or any others wan buy fr mothers en vogue pls use my name N hp no. accumulate $350 we can enjoy lifetime member n transferable. i'm wearing xs so I think yrs also xs

interested :
1. abcdisney n bb
2. kate n bb n hb
3. Babe_dude n bb n maid
4. Adeline n bb
5. kais n hubby & GEM
6. crystal n bb

can join though i don need tops from there? not bf-ing lei.

RedTea,
Think I may not want to employ a CL next time too. Mine has been with us for over 1 week, so far don't dare to switch on tv yet (and anyway, our system needs to switch on a lot of things before the tv can be on). However, she will openly sit there to watch the 7pm drama, though at other times she appears to want to join us in watching too by standing there for a while. We never say cannot watch though. One thing I really cannot stand is that everyday she has things to say about my ss. Don't know whether it's my own problem or there's some hygiene problem with the food, have been getting tummy ache recently.

I didn't login for almost 2 weeks, how are the mommies and babies doing? Since last Tue, I'm officially home with 3, all by myself. My msn states: I wash, I cook, and I'm home alone with 3 kids. I think I'm a wonderwoman =)

My bb's finally discharged from jaundice today, and she's coming to 6 weeks old. She's confirm a bm jaundice bb.

Can someone pls tell me when's the date to meet up at 2pm Taka Coffee Club? I'll like to join if time permits.

<font color="aa00aa">pet,
the food nice or not?

btw any gd n nice n reasonable price buffet to recom? thanks!</font>

defgal: my relatives say nice. i din eat.
i ordered these...
Choice of dishes:

1. Fried Bee Hoon
2. Yang Chow Fried Rice
3. Lemon Chicken
4. Sambal sliced fish
5. Sweet and sour prawns
6. Bun with stewed meat
7. Luohan Vegetable
8. Drink - Fruit Punch

how often does ur baby sleep? my baby sleeps very little in the afternoon and keeps wan to carry.. sometimes will get cranky at nite till 12plus then sleep.. any one share the same sentiments? any solution??

<font size="+2">Please kindly make payment by this coming Friday or i will drop your order. Thanks...

Payment of $25.50 per FTG:

1. Linda - self (paid)
2. Petrina
3. Adeline - paid
4. Sheryl - paid
5. eniale - admiralty - paid
6. Yu Tong
7. Guazi - Email - paid
8. Jenifur (TBC)-<font color="ff0000">pls confirm</font>
9. Zhimin (Town or Postage - paid
10. AhCapp (Bt Batok or Postage) - paid</font>

interested :
1. abcdisney n bb
2. kate n bb n hb
3. Babe_dude n bb n maid
4. Adeline n bb
5. kais n hubby &amp; GEM
6. crystal n bb
7. Adeline Loo n bb

I still so fat...really no mood to shop but then have nothing to wear too *haiz*....at least can shop and chat, makes shopping for clothes less painful

abc
wat i wuz referring to was for oversupply moms: that pumping may backfire as it increases overall supply and worsen their oversupply problem.

Foremilk is thin like water- for quenching thirst.
Hindmilk is fattier and baby will feel fuller and more satisfied.
Maybe you could try feeding Andrae from the same breast for 2 feeds per breast b4 switching him to the other side? See whether he feels fuller and reduce the need to latch more often? Just a suggestion, no idea whether it'll help!
But frequent latching is supposed to increase overall supply. Also pumping the breast after the feed for another 10-15 minutes.
Btw babies have cluster feeding during growth spurts around 3wks, 6wks, 3mths, 6 mths. And during this time may feed hourly..

Need some help.

I've no idea hw come she keep feeling hungry but keep regurgitate milk? not a little bit milk but alot! My mom say it's not good for her gastric.. How?

pancake
i tried tandem pumping i get 40ml. i do sole pumping usiong dual pump oso get 40-50ml.. realise tandem i get more letdown but jus pumping without bb only 1 letdown.. sigh.. any advice?

adeline
grow spurt... if nt is colic. maybe u call yr PD and ask?

abc mummy
think of ur bb....it works for me...

Adeline
when my #2 has this problem, my pd suggested eating medicine to tofulise the milk that went into her stomach so that the milk will not be coming out....

Reena
u are really a wonder woman...

Lynn, thanks for the insights abt shicida..yah, i did consider the fact that it is pointless to start her too early..since my girl is still in sleep mode! Wah.. ma chiam like throwing 1k+ into the drain.. but, heard abt the goodness of the program if continued.. anyway, gonna see how it goes.. am introducing "My Baby can read" to her first.. hahahaha

GATHERING IS TOMORROW...
12pm @ delfi orchard ..
2pm @ taka coffee bean beside kinokuniya ..
hope it dun rain tomorrow..otherwise abit mafan!

Breastpads..
Wanna buy breastpads liao.. been using pigeon.. thought it is quite thin leh.. anyone got good recommendation on breastpad.. rather use disposable ones than washable ones..

BB hand shed skin.
I stop my bb from wearing mittens as noticed her palm shed skin! Quite a painful sight, although she feels nothing.. but again, my girl dun seem to feel anything except when changing her at the wrong time!! Since the skin is shed on her palm, i reckon i can't do anything abt it coz she often suck or brush her hands against her mouth!! Haizz.. hope her palm heals fast ...

Adeline Loo..
Am coming to 2 mths soon.. and AM STILL DARN FAT!! impossible to go back to pre-preg liao.. but again i often use breastfeeding as an excuse for not goin on a GI JANE workout! hahahahha ..

adeline

my bb also suffers from colic..at one point she also keep on showing signs of hunger...pd prescribe her probiotics besides colic drop..probiotics suppose to support her gut health and immunity.. .

happyface,
My gals sleep a lot, but sometimes gotta keep carrying in the afternoon. From your description of your baby is cranky at nite, he might be too tired and cannot fall asleep, cos he never sleep much during the day. Maybe you gotta trial and error why he cannot sleep. Too hot? Too cold? Too noisy? Not comfortable?
Tired baby = cranky baby

babedude,
It's a long term investment to see results
Practice at home is very important too. I do not practice certain parts of the lesson at home, and during those segments in class, my #1 is not interested. I just let him be... else I sure go crazy... hahaha... I do Glen Doman program at home also. And that's already a lot of time in preparation!