(2008/03) March 2008

abc, just TT u for FTG, the trans code is 1651423356

babe_dude, thanks for ur well-wish. It's not food. .it's probably caused by infection due to cracked nipple. My breast is red, swollen, and painful. The fever was to fight off the infection. Stopped BF from affected breast to let the nipple heals. How you managed to exclusive latch - ur nipples like very resilient to your super sucker?

The BB photo is cute. All the BBs, except for kathy's look different already, and is it perspective or wat? Alandria looks big. Maybe cos she's the eldest kiddo on the bed.

Hi-5 Sheryl!
I thought i was the only mummy who kena mastitis!
Mine was from blocked ducts, my nipples were ok.

I continued to breast feed from the affected breast! My baby din fall ill. Anywasy books say that the source of infection is likely from his mouth anyway! Took panadol and augmentin during that time.

Had fever for 2 days, the readness in the breast took a few more days to subside. But in the meantime it was non stop hot packs and massaging (oww!!!). I spent a lot of time in the bath using most of my hot herbal bath as my 'hot pack' and massaging.

But my milk production went down thou from being sick and stressed. Refused to use FM and so my baby was latched on for hours on end and very cranky.

YT.. I mean use ur milk on urself lah.. hahaha no on bb!! DUn waste mah..

Niwa, My bb is big! yes..i agree.. hahahha.. she is chubby lah.. see..

1341154.jpg

YT, right breast normally yield more if you r right hander... but if u keep on using ur bb to latch on ur left breast, ur left breast will produce more

Hahaha.. adeline.. yah manzz.. thats why alot of pple like to pinch her cheeks!! dun understand why she likes to smile so much ..maybe during pregnancy, i took lots of pics and smile to the camera.. so.. hahaha..that explains why..

babe_dude,

cos alandria like mummy like tat, all time smiley... happy go lucky... smiley smiley.. hehehe... =)

I always frown and give angry face.... hopefully my boy wont follow me... *scare scare*

I try re-latching yesterday evening, thinking that maybe bottle-fed ebm might have contributed to her crying spell. In the end, i had 1 lucky evening, she only cry for slightly less than an hr instead of the usual 2-3 hrs. Keeping my fingers crossed now that happier days are here to stay. But then got lotsa qn on breastfeeding now, hee hee, anybody online to help?

When pumping, i can produce 100 to 120 ml from each side and she consume abt 120ml every 3 hrs. so i decide to feed her alternate breast at each feed. 1st time on left side, she drink 25 min and first time on right side (3 hrs later), she drink 30 min. But then for all subsequent feeds, she gag after 10 mins, then don't want to latch on.

Qn 1: Why does she gag? How to prevent?

Qn 2: If my supply is consistent but she feeding for 10 min only, so did she get the hind milk? one thing, my girl is an impatient drinker, i can hear her swallowing very fast.

Qn 3: The other breast gets abit hard but not painful, should i pump or let it be? i worry that if i pump, will oversupply, then engorge. on other hand, worry if hard, baby will find it diff to suck.

oh, all mummies bottle feeding ebm, please don't get me wrong. not saying it's no good, but my girl's incessant crying (suspect wind cos she burp and fart alot) is making me very stress up. So trying all means to prevent introducing more wind.

Pancakechia, so you've recovered??! Good for you! I will apply more hot water bottle. No time to have hot bath for so often, because baby always want to drink! Yeah, wouldn't agree more that the massage is painful! Mine is caused by cracked nipple, which led to me attempt not to latch baby on that breast, and eventually blocked ducts bah..

My baby only smiles in her dream. Whenever she's awake - she either looks puzzled or cries!!

YT, in your case cannot latch, how about keep expressing from that breast more often? I'm doing it 2-3 hours interval (whenever I have time) in hope to sustain SS!

Adeline, how come no 1st mth pic.. aiyoh.

How many of you shave you bb's head on 1st mth?? Feel sayang to shave my bb and my MIL also said no need to shave.

Fei, I'm still learning too. I learnt from LC that the foremilk comes within that first 5 mins (depends how fast your baby sucks), so if baby suckles less than 15 mins on one breast, it's good to let her continue on the same breast during the next feed so that she will be full. Since it's not painful, I don't think you should pump - is not you will send signal to your body that there is more demand.

Btw, have you check out LLL website? They might have information that you're looking for.

Sheryl
i shave my girl's hair but bcoz she is bald at the top of her head. Very very ugly so i shave!! heee.. if ur baby hair alot and v.nice no need shave one.. see kim no shave! her hair so so much..
quite alot ppl never shave also. So it's not necessary lor.
My girl same as urs.. only laugh and smile in her dreams VERY loudly.. when awake most of the time is cry and cry..

Clover.. ur bb eyes really VERY NICe.. he kinda gotten sexy thin lips huh?? :p or is the hand stretching his lips abit?? :p HANDSOME!!!

adeline, his wound has recovered but can see a little scar lah. the scar shld go heal totally.

babe_dude, my hubb is trying to burp him while I took the pic. dun u think alex looks like tony leung in an old movie, dong xie xi du with his little sausage lips??? :D my friends also commented on his eye lids. both of us have double eyelids, so dunno look like who yet... but I think look like me more. hahaha.

<font color="aa00aa">kais,
u feed ur babies so much? how many hrs u feed them? i went to polyclinic they said i feed 100ml every 2hrs too much overfeed.</font>

Hi all, I m due end of this month. The original CL i've booked just called to tell me she is going for operation 2 weeks later so now i need to find a new CL. Pls pm me at 9742 8258 if you know of any good CL ok. Thanks for yr help!

need advice re feeding...

1. do we bf every 2-3hrs or until bb cries.
2. my bb can drink 100ml when ebm, but when latch on, he sucks only for 30mins n will cry for more even after that.
3. he always remove himself from my nipple..does that mean he is full?

hi unique,
i bf only when bb cries and wans milk (her milk open wide wide and search for nipple signal)
my bb remove herself from nipple when she is full...
hope it helps!

Sheryl
Preservere with the massage! My hubby had to help in the initial stages coz so painful i couldn't do it myself! But after this your breast will feel so much better!

But even though i've physically recovered, my milk supply now gone haywire!
What i initially thot as insufficient milk production ended up actually being oversupply, explaining my baby's crankiness and feeding problems!! I didn't realise at first, watch out for the signs!

When a mother has MORE MILK than her baby can handle, the following behaviors may be common:

Baby cries a lot, and is often very irritable and/or restless
Baby may sometimes gulp, choke, sputter, or cough during feedings at breast
Baby may seem to bite or clamp down on the nipple while feeding
Milk sprays when baby comes off, especially at the beginning of a feeding
Mother may have sore nipples
Baby may arch and hold himself very stiffly, sometimes screaming
Feedings often seem like battles, with baby nursing fitfully on and off
Feedings may be short, lasting only 5 or 10 minutes total
Baby may seem to have a "love-hate" relationship with the breast
Baby may burp or pass gas frequently between feedings, tending to spit up a lot
Baby may have green, watery or foamy, explosive stools
Mother's breasts feel very full most of the time
Mother may have frequent plugged ducts, which can sometimes lead to mastitis (breast infection)
* Source: LLL International http://www.llli.org/FAQ/oversupply.html

twinklestars
u can just go CC and get the biometric passport form from them. anyway i have extra with me.. if u need i can pass to u.. u stay SK right? u try go sk CC to get. After which 3 to 5 days later after u mail, they will send u acknowledgement to collect the passport within a deadline.

not everyone is so lucky that bb will remove nipple on their own, wait till u see the way my bb feeds on my nipple~~

<font color="0000ff">Pancake! I have the "signs" of milk oversupply BUT.... I don feel oversupply, I feel undersupply ~ Like just nice only, rather it is due to not pumpin that my milk will spray when bb feeds, even if I take a hot bath it will spray at the begaining as well</font>

my bb also remove frm my nipple but after that he is still not full....

do ur bb drink n sleep....my bb seems to drink n sleep...seldom stay alert for 15mins...if he does he will cry...any idea why

Baby's Passport
Thought can apply online through the ICA website?
https://www.psi.gov.sg/NASApp/tmf/TMFServlet?app=MHA-SIR-APPLES&amp;isNew=true&amp;Reload=true

I called ICA to ask- no longer can tag baby onto mother's passport. He'll need his own.

BUT- how to take the passport size photo for baby? Can't get him to cooperate to open eyes or even hold his head up! When i called the helpline they told me- the standard size, against white background. Not much help huh!

Liyun
Maybe u got a milder case of oversupply or your breasts already adapted for your baby, lucky!

Read that routinely pumping a significant amount of milk before nursing to slow down the flow (to make it more manageable for baby) backfires- pumping avoids the baby experiencing the let down but on the other hand increases the milk supply overall. But still can pump a little just enough to allow let down occur before feeding baby, and just enough to relieve engorgement.

I'm still experimenting with the various tricks recommended to tame the oversupply... Needs a lot of patience with the baby... Sometimes i feel so hopeless when baby rejects me...

my baby is super impatience when i am feeding him 60% of the time, he wiggles like a little worm (my hubby says he's a little worm with the strength of a cow...) I usually have to hold him tight when he starts his wiggling drinkin pattern and have to wait for him to calm down...

Mummies, as i'll be giving up on BF-ing. I'll be selling the following:

1) Medela Mini Electric Plus Breastpump (dual)
Slightly used for less than 2 weeks. Purchased at $305. Willing to let go at $220(neg).
With box, manual and warranty unfilled.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/medela-mini-electric-plus-breastpump.html

2)"Pigeon - Fridge-to-go" Breastmilk cooler
Brand New, Unused.
Purchased at $59.90. Willing to let go at $50.00.
http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/news.html

3)"Pigeon - Breastmilk storage bottles" (3 piece pack)
Brand New, Unused
Purchased at $15.20. Willing to let go at $12.00

4) PIGEON Disposable Breast Pads
unopened
Willing to let go at $6.00

Interested, pls pm or email me at [email protected]

Thanks !

Pancake chia
i not sure is it oversupply for me. My girl sometimes get choke and aftre drinking.. She tend to merlion alot out! i not sure how to stop it as well. Every time after feed, must put hanky over her mouth 1st.. She sure merlion alot..
Maybe that explains her weight gain.

haiz today hv alot block ducts. is it coz i slight engorgement but didnt pump n only let bb latch?
my armpit n breast very lumpy..

Wiggle
Liyun, when you said wiggle, you mean baby turning his head left and right, and almost yank your nipple while suckling? I just spoken to LC about this, was told it's due to 3 reasons either let-down too fast or too slow and another factor ( I din catch it, cos doesn't affect me).

Pancakechia, jia you! You're doing good so far to have persevere to TBF! I feel that if we settle baby down, we take a deep breathe, baby will latch on quicker.

Shaving
Happygal your bb still look very sweet after shaving.

Adeline, your kathlyn and kimberly is so different! I just tried combing my bb's (little bit of ) hair down so that she has a bang like kim!! haha.

Sheryl
hahaa.. i like kim's hair also but at times too much hair not good thing! she sweat alot and get smelly easily.. When sleeping at night, her body is cold but her head is soaking wet!! and my bed always gets wet.. hahaa..

Hello gals...
I gave birth to my twin gals on 26 March 08 via c-section
Now total breastfeeding them. Things are getting better by the days

Passport:
What I did for my #1 is lie him down on a white bedsheet. Take many photos, crop it and change to the size required by ICA. Then apply the passport and upload the photo online. Few days later, will receive a card to collect passport
Very easy...

Adeline,
Did you check with PD why your gal merlion everytime after feed? From my experience, if there's no physical problems, then it's overfeeding.
Massage on the lumps when baby is sucking. It will help to clear the lumps very fast. I find pumping will cause blocked ducts and lumps problems, so I never pump after 3 months for my #1. I breastfed him for 13 months

abc,
How does the inflatable breast pillow looks like?

muzicgal, clover,
No sheng yu for first two weeks. It will cause keloids. I eat brown rice, vege and lotus root black bean soup for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is oatmeal with horlick. Then "bu" is "sheng hua tang" for first week, then now just started mixture of herbs with du zhong as main ingredient. And also drink red dates, black dates, longan water. Weekends, my drink will be "cha lat" - just pour hot water and make the tea.

lyn
the inflatable brest pillow looks exactly the same as brest pillow except tat they can be inflated when travelling or going out. It works in the same principle as those swi float.

increase milk supply
can tandem pumping increase milk supply?

Removing blocked ducts
i tried massaging while bb latching but it seem to be disturbing his feed. I tried massging under warm water when bath but still there. Very painful. Any ways to remove blocked ducts? Discover one big one yesterday.. seem like new block ducts...

lyn
u mention pumping cause blocked ducts? but bo pian ley.. i nd to go back work ley.. oso pump o empty breast.

expressing
how did u all express yr bm such tat able to get so much? Pls share experience and also how often u express.. do u latch? after latching how long later then expressing? How much time u take for expressing?

shaving
yes i shave my boy... he look like a little monk now.

Pancake
u mean pump then let bb latch will increase milk supply? But then bb will not hv foremilk right? only rely on hindmilk... will bb nt hv enuff milk if express b4 he drink? i wan increase my supply. right now i tandem pump, right breast 40ml, left breast ard there too... but i tandem only in morning and night. in between he is feeding 1.5h to 2h...

lyn,

wah... your meal sounds healthy. who doing confinement for u? I think my mom will cook mostly steam food and soup for me. =)

abc,
Is the brest pillow around the whole waist kind?
Massage on the blocked ducts till it's gone during pumping or during latching on. During latching on will be faster and easier.

To express a lot, a good pump is necessary
I started to use my PIS these few days when I got engorged. I can easily pump out 100ml on one side. I pump twice a day now - once before sleep, and once early morning. Still trying to find the best schedule to suit my needs. Need to drink more water to have lots of milk. So far, I latch 100%. The expressed milk goes into the freezer for storage.

Yes, you can pump then latch to increase milk supply. For me, it will take a few days. And baby will be latching on very often, cos not enough and slower milk flow.

muzicgal,
My mum is doing the confinement for me during weekdays
and also settle my #1 meals. My hubby took leave to help out too. My hubby's job is go marketing, bring #1 for lessons, bath #1 and my twins

My vegetables are mainly stir fry with sesame oil, ginger and garlic, and sometimes add wolfberries. I dun eat those meaty and internal organs stuffs. So easier on the cooking too. To have more breast milk, need to eat more vegetables and less meat.

babe dude,
When you thinking of starting Shichida method? Earliest can start when they are about 3 months old, cos term just started last week. Gotta wait till new term. I am still thinking whether to send my gals there. Maybe can be classmates if I decided to send my gals there. My #1 been attending since 7 months old. If send 3, very high cost.

Wow.. lyn, ur #1 is there already?? so, how is the results so far?? good?? Yah, i also decided to start my girl ard that time, coz she is asleep most of the time and dun make sense for me to put her in the class now.. unless there is a midnite class..coz my girl is like a mid-nite cowgirl!! :p

how long is one term??

RE: Expressing
ABC, I now expressing full time now. Only let her latch at nite time. I got no choice cos got very sore nipples. Cannot seems to recover from it...haizz...I expressed 3hrly. Every time can get about 4 to 5oz altogether from both sides. My princess is drinking about 120ml expressed milk now so my expressed milk is just enuff for her only. She is feeding every 3 hrly. As for blocked ducts, I think I oso have blocked ducts. Will massage the breasts while pumping. It seems to work quite well.