(2008/03) March 2008

yutong got ur mail..thanks. Sent u a mail too

talking abt gamble

my colleagues are placing bets on my actual due day ! :p

1 guy said i hope i deliver after 11 March 2008, then he will win the bet..my EDD on 18 March

my personal bet is end feb

YT and Kate- Feel sorry for you gals. Hope you gals get over this.

Maids - I just don't trust them at all. The reason why I quit my job was to look after my kid and not to rely on maids. Guess can save money too and more peace of mind. Somehow the idea of someone else in the house is uncomfy for me and hb. Maybe we're the privacy loving sorts

However, my mum is upset that I'm staying at home. Cos that'll mean lesser time for her to look after my boy :p

Babypink - You and I have the same EDD
Somehow my personal feeling is also end Feb. Something just tells me, but dunno if I'll be right..hehehe

My whole body so itchy!!!! Grrrrr....

Hot weather drink fresh coconut really damn shiok boy.. $2.50 for one fresh thai coconut leh.. damn sweet and soft.. my 1st time drinking since preggy.. but aunty scolded me when i told her.. She say too early to drink now.. ask me NOT to drink anymore until near my due date...

Yasmin,

It's ok, I also can't imagine if i dun hv a maid...so use to maid lio. for those mummies, of course if u can dun use better but for us who already so use to maid can't really just give up like that. Just remember one thing, maid=helper, their also human, can make mistake just like us. Those who vr educated also sometimes will corruption in the company. we must understand they hav the lowest salary in spore and longest working hrs too.....we can't expect much from them.

adeline,

not too early leh, 8th months onwards can lio. i heard from a lot of pp said tat. $2.5 vr ex lor. my maid bought from market...so nice. $1 smt only i think. vr young coconut i like, sometimes bought at pasarmalam, the meat vr vr hard and old. still prefer market one.

kate - that's so true. Being responsible for another human who's a stranger is quite a big responsibility. Don't think I'm up to it. Some of them are really nice. Remember when I used to be a special ed tchr, some of the maids are so loving to the kids that even their bosses are reluctant to let them go.

<font color="0000ff">

Sorry to intrude into this thread.

Just like to share with you all...
if you are planning to get insurance for your newborn, children or yourself,
I have a good recommendation! (I'm not an agent)
Understand you all may already have an agent but if you are looking for <font color="ff0000">Value-added Life Policy</font>,
please PM or email me at [email protected] No obligations. Thanks!

KAte
Cause my aunty say will cause phelgm in baby if drink every week and more difficult to look after. i listen to her as she has about 30 yrs experience in looking after baby liao.
i drink at one of the yong tau foo hawker near amoy street. Young coconut also.. just buy and drink lo.. keke..

yasmine/kate
yes i agree regarding that of maid... but sometimes esp nw my temper jus got the better of me. i think i am one who can go without maid... tat is if i am staying on my own. with my in laws ard i dun think i can. Unless they r willing to share housework but apparently they are not! So my maid is to do houseowrk n cook... n only take care of my gal when i nd my nap..

abc

true enough, if i live with my mil i will also employ maid...she is a vr messy woman like me, hehehehe but i think i'm much better than her cause i will clear up my mess and throw away things which i dun use when ever i free. My mil likes to keep things till expire also dun throw. i hate her fridge, so dirty and messy. esp after she cooks, the kitchen water pipe will stuck with her rubbish. my hubby ever found little knife in the basin pipe. I also dun like she use my toilet when she come to spore, my toilet will be wet and powdery all over the floor..u c, how messy she is...hahahaha. Own mother still ok can advise, but mil leh...i only can complain to my hubby

Kate
My MIL is the exact opposite. She's a perfectionist. So, quite stressful even when she comes over for visiting.When I go over, I try not to do much cos she always got her own way which is the best way. Anyway, she don't insist I help out too so I escape :p

yasmin: my mil is average person. between u n kate's MIL...
but she insist on handling my son in future. so i scared she snatch my son away frm me when i m at work... i wan my son to stick to me, not her... tats my main worry. n also wif all her old wives' tales, i dunno wat she'll feed my son when i m not ard.
Pearl powder n other TCM powder... she already mentioned, need to feed, otherwise if bb is scared by thunder or door slamming, will have green poo.
so i m intending to send to infant care immed when i go back to work. i wun care if she feel left out. cause my bb's health is more impt.

petrina

i tink i have the same worries as you..haiz..but mine is grandma...me staying with grandma....seriously, i cant stand elderly keep nagging.....hope she don interfer how i teach and do with my son.......

Ate too much for lunch, saw roti john and felt like eating. But after buying, the appetite like gone. Haiz. Can treat as dinner le.

Actually, this year a bit "dangerous" right? What if bb comes out on Feb29? Then only can celebrate bday once every 4 yrs...

Petrina,
Is Pearl Powder safe? Cos nowadays all these funny stuff dunno come from where...

Think colour of bb poo depends on what they eat on right... ie BM or FM.

Sometimes feel very sian, like kenna trapped in the middle.
kao_confused.gif

But later if tell mil straight dunno she will feel left out/angry or not...

Pet and Kea
Understand your frustrations. I started to get this kinda comments and suggestions on what to do with the bb for many months.Both from my mum and MIL and not forgetting my mum's sisters. When I say something contrary, they burst my bubble by saying flat that it can't be done.My point is, its MY baby. Definitely,I should have trial and error and see what's right or wrong. Dun need to put down everything. An it's so tiring to discuss about everything.

Reached my saturation point about 2 weeks ago and I burst out crying to my hubby, couldn't take the stress anymore

And the things they say have no logic. Say total breastfeeding is IMPOSSIBLE, must give water, must mix formula milk, must tie the stomach after umbilical chord drop off if not got wind..etc etc. Anything else is totally not accepted, no need to try also! haiz...I don't care. I'm just gonna do what I feel is right. and what they say, I'll just take those that makes sense.

abc

the close both eyes and ears are the best advice i have heard

yasmine

hehe, 1 month later, we will noe whether our women instinct accurate or not

====================

talking abt in laws, if i stay tog with them..not to talk abt wat i think of them..wat but they think of me 1st

hehe..i think they confirm boi tahan me one lah..i m a messy human myself, but like kate, i will tidy up once i m in the tidy up mood :p

so prevention is better than cure..b4 marriage, i must 1st confirm not staying with in laws :p

btw, taking abt kate..wow, u gungho..u drives to JB alone ? city square or holiday plaza..

hehe, i was back on sun and itching to go after CNY

MIL = Mother is listenining? Hohohohoho..

My MIL is a nice person though she nags alot and she likes cleaniness on my daughter and i am the one that tell her NOOO.. CANNOT TOO CLEAN!! and she very blur one so i dun dare let her look after baby.. though i know she care and dote alot on them and treat me well.

Wherever she go, she always think about us and buy things for us BUT living with her is a no-no also.. even HB also scold her always cause she too naggy already.. bbut we know it's for our good..

She is also one that supports breastfeeding.. when i gave birth to kim, she ask me why i dont TBF.. cause she TBF both my HB and his sister.. so she sort of like tried to ask me to TBF and i am the one that gave up.

babypink

my grandma..coz i haven get a hse..so staying with grandma..coz there gt space room.....haiz...bo bian lo..who ask me no hse..

Adeline - So nice your MIL
My MIL and mum also quite nice. That's why I feel sad sometimes to get into such contradicting discussions with them. Bcos dun wan to say anything which might hurt them. But end up getting hurt. haiz.

Babypink - will be getting this lady called Mdm Zara. Have checked out the forum, they dun have info on her. But she did the massage for all 3 pregnancies of my cousin sis in law. Heard she's skillful and good. Her pricing is $70 per session for 2 hours. got the usual wrapping,binding, full body massage. Only need to call her after you give birth as she takes only 2 massage appointments per day.

and u all knw elderly tend to save $..so when i buy sometin for bb, i v happy , rch hm ganna nag, i damn sian liao..haiz..wat can i do to make her understand this is my 1st son!! and maybe only son!!....=P

kea: urs still ok.. grandma.. quite far away in rank. mine is MIL.. her grandchild. how to fight.

yasmin: i dun care. if she try funny stunts, i'll snatch my bb n shout at her "MY bb, not YOUR bb. u wan to interfere, u go give birth urself!"
tat is if she hit my limit. then i'll lock her away frm my bb. meaning bar her frm touching my bb.
i already gave hb verbal warning tat if i hit my limit, i'll bar everyone away... i wun let my son touch her food as well. to show my stand n power.
so hb already know. so he hinting to mil slowly tat i m a paranoid person who likes things done my way... whether it gets in her head or not, not my prob...
i carried 10mths, i delivered.. not she... she wan she can jolly well go deliver herself...

she also against TBF. say not enuff.. muz feed water, FM. i heck care. i told her straight away, NO! i dun buy FM, wat can she do? buy herself? she can't read eng... so i not worried...

dun vent ur frustrations on ur hb, he also stressed to be sandwiched in between. for me, i give me my ultimatum. if she hits it, i flare at her, hb wun blame me. other than tat, i'll pretend i m deaf.

Pet
Ya la pet. Hubby feels sorry for me. But he said he'll be there to help me out as much as he can.

Ok ladies, me going shopping with mum. Catch ya later.

kea: i also. buy things for my son, mil say buy so early, so ex.. etc... i told hb, my 1st son, perhaps my only child... so i dun spend on him i spend on who? wait till when then spend??
ultimately, pretend to be deaf is a good method. block her out.
my mil like to come in our rm to chat wif me cause i dun sit in the living rm to watch tv.
so she talk to me, i carry on typing my lappy n watching tv.. soon, she'll stop n leave the rm.

i m not her entertainer lor... i got lots things to worry abt instead of chit chatting wif her.. occasionally can, but if i start, she expects more n more..

the most worry me is my mil come when my confinment time. cause i know i will insist BF eventhough it maybe take time . i scared she will nags for using formula milk if no breast milk come out. huh....

i can only say i thank Heaven for my own mother..actually she is really a perfect caregiver..modern methods, not stubborn, believe wat docs say kind..raed up on childcaring too

objectively speaking , even better than myself..and she &amp; hb can sing the same tune too when childcaring are concerned..i m the one who always did things the not so correct way
but objectively speaking they are rite lor

only sad thing is she din have me young, our age gap is 28 years..

otherwise, it will be easier for her to care for my kids, as in physically stronger

pet, the situation havent happen yet, dun over-imagine things lah. wat if things turn out ok?
if those things really happen, let yr hubby handle and speak to his mom lor. no matter wat, we still must give the elder some respect.

yasmin, just curious, are you malay or chinese?

Talking abt ILs. Actually I am a bit upset w mine. Cos they gng on vacation on Mar 13. Then I will be due anytime there.
From late last year, they tot my EDD was in Apr...

pet

i tink yr character like mine..haha..i not entertainer oso..i at hm, alway lock my door...coz once i open, alot of irritating qns run in...=X...then if nv lock, she knock, i nv say ok, she oso come in.....so beta lock..haiz..

adeline: i treat her very nice... my mom taught me well... b4 wedding, she always remind me tat MIL is my hb's mom. so i need to treat the mother of my hb as good as my own mom.
my parents r self reliant financially. so i expect MIL to be the same. *similar age mah*

my mom dun interfere in my purchases, so i expect my MIL to zip as well.

i wan to bring up my son the way i was brought up. so my mom leaves me alone. i expect MIL to do the same.

If my mom needs my help, i will go all out to help. i will do the same for MIL.

I occasionally will quarrel wif mom as well as sometimes ideas clash... MIL also. only difference, my mom i can scold n argue. MIL cannot. so i have to be extra careful wif my words in front of MIL.
For my mom, she noes my temper, if i flare means she zip n back off. MIL dun. she is forceful n insistent. so i gave hb my limit of tolerance lvl... once MIL hits it, my volcano will erupt, i wun give face. other than tat, i will endure watever i can. i promised my hb liao...

and now my grandma arady nagging abt confinement this and tt cant do liao..lucky i stayin with my mom during confinement...phew......she sure call my mom and nag at my mom...whaha....my mom knw i don like..lolx..

my MIL oso v obiang and traditional..keep calling hubby that this and that don allow me do...i know she meant well la..i abit stubborn and have my way........lucky she in malaysia =/ phew~ ...CNY coming over though =/..i arady warn hubby, don spoil my CNY..lolx.

kea: my mil is better, she wun come in if she knock n i no answer. but she'll knock n knock until we open the door...
same? hehe

confinement i already mentioned to her i do my way. i drilled into her head liao. now my main worry is bb. cause hb's aunt is a gossiper... always give stupid advices to MIL. brainwash her. anyway, i'll stick to my promise to hb abt the volcano erupting limit... when i say no means no. MIL noes i mean it... she wun overstep her boundary currently... confinement, i dunno liao.

clover: i stayed wif MIL so many yrs, i noe her very well. she is like an open book. easy to read. i can already predict wat will happen. i juz taking preventive measures in case it happens. so when it happens, hb wun blame me. n he'll stay out of our arguements...

kate: tats y i not buying FM. i told hb, if MIL nag too much, i stressed, then no BM, then let ur son starve lor!
if u wan me to feed ur son, u better dun stress me...

pet..

haha....yea....knock and knock till open abt the same la..=P...

seriously, i v scare when i carry bb home on 2th mth, she will kpo here and there ..haiz!!!

pet...

we stay v near..i stay in dover..guess aft confinement if we buay tahan, can go holland v drink coffee with bb along..whaha

MIL: ladies hard loh... as long you stay with them then its almost impossible for you to do much one. From afew friend's example plus my own mil... My sil also says cant say much, cos they are elders and they expect you to listern to them and not the other way round. (example: even knowing my mother is coming to do comfinement for me and staying for the first 1 month, my mil still insist she wana cook although hubby &amp; me been telling her my mum will cook for the past 2 months.)