(2008/03) March 2008

Wah you guys really early! Happy new working yr!!! i have been working from home for the past 1 wk. abit lazy but yet exciting to go back to work. :p

I am having my second one now. EDD 24th March. coming soon counting down.

abc - your pc is always on?

babypink - hmmm that's what i m afraid too. after taking the placenta home, wait dont have the courage to eat and also dont want to throw away.

Mummy_Norman
I always apply pressure onto the leaking breast. In fact, for #2, I didn't use a single pc of nursing pad (my first one, I used up 4 boxes within a month!). Either stuff a hankie to the other breast during nursing or apply pressure.

I haven't got big boobs to start with so nothing to worry about the shape :p

My nipples aint hard but they are definitely bigger. The same goes for the aerola.

Reena
apply pressure..
can save on breastpad is the best...
i did use...but for second i use slower...
cos i use hankie...
but beginnin mths i will experience leaking..so must all day put pads...
oh yea...aerola also bigger circle...

Crystal
wah so fast 31 weeks ah! hehe.. i 28 weeks.. so nice to see many of u stepping into 30th week already!

Really feel that March is so near and thinking of those sleepless nights terrify me once again! hahaha..

Mummy_Norman,
With #1, I don't leak as much as #2 but the amount of breast pads I used is really crazy. First time mom... ignorant.. thought nothing else but breast pads. I called my sis to help me get more pads and she was screaming at me over the phone, questioning how on earth did I finish 4 boxes in a month's time. That's easily 144pcs in 30 days!

With #2, my milk supply is abundant and leaks even more. Plus all those extra outings to the PD for his jaundice review... I was pad-less too. Just stuff a hankie before I nurse and remove once done and rinse it in the toilet. When I'm home, I always apply pressure.

So for this 3rd preg, I'm not buying any breast pads too ;)

clover
appreciate the prayers. The number of scans i think depends largely on the gynae. Like i have three detailed scans scheduled. Went for two already. The next one is on 18th Jan. Gynae just want to ensure the babies are doing well.

crystal
On and off i get this pain but the one i'm experiencing now is the worst so far. I find that resting in bed makes it worse so i move around which helps. HB says i look like a big penguin
Doing pelvic thrust exercise according to the website also strengthens.

babyDE (dernemi) - I am bought the ameda breastpump electri. i would recommend that cos it is comparable with the medela pump in style ($650++) but price wise is much much cheaper. its small and light too. just put it in any tote bag, you can carry it to work in style.

not recommending manual as i pulled my wrist muscle and it took me six mths to get well. seen all the chinese and english doctor and even went nuh, every doctors just say can only heal by itself. during that period, cant lift heavy things like carrying the baby. big problem then man!

My personal conclusion. just invest in one good pump instead of having a couple.
a good breastpump can makes breastfeeding enjoyable and effortless which in turn encourage you to breastfeed longer. with the high price of milk powder, the longer you breastfeed the more you save. most importantly the slimmer you are. hehehehe

kais
yalor, sometimes i think walking helps to relieve the pain. if i keep lying on the bed to rest, i think it gets worst and when the time you want to get up, the pain is simply terrible! when i move around, i feel much more better too! you take good care alright!

I prefer the Ameda too as it's light weight and cheaper! I bought my PIS before delivery DS#2 but sold it off even before I started using it cos there's no way I'm going to lug that machine to work daily!

The only manual pump I'll recommend is Avent ISIS. It's gentle on the breasts and works like a miracle. Of course, you have to sacrifice your "wrist power", which is the reason why I bought my ISIS IQ Duo.

I've never had varicose veins in my first 2 preg but with this 3rd one, I see alot of them. Some even swell up and they hurt so much! DD#1 says I have elephant legs :-(

mummynorman: u dun scare crystal... haha
i everyday tell bb n pray tat i carry bb till full 40wks... not a day less... i wanna cherish the preg as long as i can...

i think my breast shrink liao... 4mths preg, my hands cannot cup my breast. now can liao... maybe tats y my bra like become spacer?

kais
i am walking like a penguin at home too! waddle around lydat. lol. but i especially hate getting up from bed. it feels sore, crampy and swelling something lydat.

dreamlife
i agree that that the ameda is comparable to medela pump in style and half the price...

by having a manual thru out breastfeeding mths is not the solution , my tots too...but for first time trying breastfeeding..i feel start with a manual pump....cos u will not knw if u can pull thru the most hardship mth....if no, the worst dama ge is abt 100 oni...my tots...

crystal
hoped u can carry till full terms...

i m looking forward to be in my 30 n onwards weeks too...

Reena
apply pressure work...
will clog the ducts?...

me too looked forward to fresh coconut juice...

i find that if can dun need buy breast pad is the best...

imagine every mth use only a pack of breast pad and a box of breast milk liners....u dun save much fr milk powders....but of cos ur bb gets the best milk...but if can save on breast pad and spend only liner...then save $$ and bb get best milk is the best!!!

Petrina
yeah...dun scare her...hee

Reena
i bought the PIS...no regrets....
my work requires me to travel ard local..
so i will carry the PIS everywhere i go...
with another hand bag...
even if i drive, i dun dare put in car...i worry the heat will affect the machine....

u have thick vein only #3?
i have them since #1...
how do u minimise...
i worry they get worst....
then bcome chainy like...

mummy norman
i hope so too! if cny pops, i'll be quite sad? haha. i want to enjoy and eat the goodies. and i also hope aftr valentine's day too! aiyah but best is carry till full term.

the expenses on breast pads and liners are really that heavy ? i din know. i just stock up and did not really notice it might be a strain.

I started off with the Medela Mini E (prior to that, I've tried other brands like Pigeon and this cylindar shaped pump, can't remember what it's called). As it's a single pump, I find it takes up too much of my time at work and so happened my gf passed me another NUK single electric, I used both and they became a dual pump hehehe However, having to lug the 2 pumps and adaptors home is no joke, it's really heavy. I dumped them into a big haversack and my collgs always make fun of me that I'm on the run.

Having nursed DD#1 for 3 years, I felt more confident that I can do a better job with DS#2 so I invested in the Medela PIS. However, the thought of lugging it to work daily (I don't drive then) deters me from using it. In the end, I sold it off and bought the Ameda Lactaline and Avent ISIS. I left the Ameda in office and only used the ISIS at home (tandem pumping). Ameda was occassionally lugged home when I need to go for external meetings/site visits.

Now, I've just invested in a supposingly very good pump ie Avent ISIS IQ Duo. Call me crazy but I seriously think it's worth the money to get a good pump.

Applying Pressure on Nipple
I'm not sure about clogging the milk ducts but I doubt so cos when I had #1, I didn't know of this method. I only started applying pressure after I delivered #2. My milk supply really abundant.. enough to feed 2 babies and a toddler then. Easily 400ml per expression so I doubt it will clog the ducts.

Varicose Veins
Yes, I never had them during #1 & #2's time. The first time I got it was during my trip to Melbourne, we went sightseeing and had to walk quite a fair bit that day. That very night, my legs hurt so much and I literally can't walk. Had to massage and elevate my legs to sleep, luckily, the next morning when I woke up, it doesn't swell as much and the pain is more bearable.

Don't know how to minimise.. I asked my gynae about it and she says expect more to come **sweat** If you know of a good solution, pls let me know too!

yup.. mummynorman: tats y i'm gonna buy the new pigeon manual.. abt 70? either tat or i'll buy 2nd hand. to try... when my supply is more confirmed n when i gg back to work, i'll get the elec pump.

crystal: ya lor... better wait till CNY is over. tell yr bb kuai abit..

i heard tat near edd, walk more, bb comes out smoother - labor process.
if not near edd, if walk too much or exert too much energy, bb may come early.
my mom worked till so jialat so i came out 3wks earlier.
my mil laid in bed in her final mth, hb came out 1day late...

so i gonna lay in bed frm march onwards. not paralyzed type of course...

me abit similar...
i started off with advent manual single pump....then after 4 mths very tiring...esp at work...time taken slow....so i decided to buy PIS...at that time no car...and i do find it quite heavy on my shoulders....traveling ard at work too...walking alot with the PIs...but i persevere....and so # 2 and # 3 will continue to use too...hee....is not the pis heavy...is the milk and the ice brick for the milk....so never tot of changing pump...save cost again....cos i tot if is the milk n ice brick weight...then no matter what pump is the same...in fact the pis machine is very small....smaller then the ameda pump...but weight wise of the two machines i not too sure....

Petrina,
I have the pigeon manual pump (bought in 2002 but used for a few times only). If you don't mind, I can pass it to you. But I need to do some spring cleaning first because I can't rem where I chucked it :p

Due to my work nature, I walked alot throughout my preg. Delivered #1 @ wk 39 and #2 at wk38.

The diff in weight for PIS vs Ameda is tremendous. I bought the sling bag, not the haversack version then as it wasn't out in the market yet. After seeing PIS, when I bought my Ameda, it looked so much like a kiddy toy. PIS seems more industrial, heavy duty whereas Ameda seems so fragile.

Medela PIS
i was given a Medela PIS hand me down. Anyone know where i can go to replace the tubes and such?

You can get from the distributor, they have a showroom in Novena. Or if you're in the west, you can visit their office, near Jurong. Offhand I can't remember the address and name of distributor.. Sorry

reena: thks.. ur's is the white one? i can use ur's for my confinement mth..

the one i refering to is the new version. red pump. i tried tat, very soft n rebounce very fast. 1 finger can press liao... so i tot of trying tat first.
i'll appreciate if u pass me urs...

mummynorman: avent manual ex... the on the go pack already 100++. i wan try only.. if i have abundant supply, i'll get good elec pump.

RE: breast pumps
i bought the avent manual one. have not thought of buying a electric one at the moment. see how i copes with the manual pump then i shall decide again.

Eh.. Petrina, nope, mine's not the white one. It comes with a yellow "balloon", you need to squeeze this balloon to express the milk. Let me know if you are still interested.

Reena,

Then does that means i need to wear those bra with the paddings liao?

Looks abit scary to mi...my breast are having liquid coming out...arhhhh...

dreamlife
My PC on only when i at work.. at home seldom.

Yea i feeling strain on my pelvis too. And worse my job require me to walk and stand ard... sigh...

They normally won't leak till stain your bra/blouse ;-) But your nipple should be protruding so it may be quite obvious when you wear non-padded bras and t-shirt material top.

For all 3 pregs, I don't see it leaking out but when I take my shower, there are "clogs" on the nipples. I just have to wash them away on a daily basis.

I bought a nipple gel last weekend. It's said to be able to soften the nipple. =) Pigeon brand.
Anyone using it as well?

I also having some liquid flowing out from my nipple. haha.. think it's normal ba.

Anyone has any idea where to get cheaper steriliser (IQ24) & breast pump (both items from philip avent)?

i don have the yellow liquid coming out now, but it came a few months back. it came a wk ago too. the clothes will gets sticky and the stains are obvious.

faith
get from sales ?? wonder if there is still anymore sales going on. cuz most of us gotten these electrical stuffs from sales which is cheaper.