(2008/03) March 2008

i went to robinson at centrepoint after the yoga session today. The avent sterliser package is no more on the shelf. But there's still a display set at the cashier there. We can order from the cashier and they will deliver to our house. I have ordered 1 set. They will be delivering to me this coming friday.

Bought some mittens/booties and a avent pump too.

<font color="aa00aa">mummyboy,

total how much u pay for the avent sterliser n pump? i thinking to get pigeon brand so wana compare their pricing.</font>

babe_dude & petrina

wow, wish i can join in..but too many meetings that days

it sounds like a very good date !

niwa

yupz, that is the healthy way

happyface

i am using the babycraft brand and mamalove brand for playpen, 1 at mum's hse , another at my lovenest..both are good
and durable, price also sama sama, less tahn 100 each

i felt that playpen is one of the best investment so far

whenever my gal is notti, like pull out the telephone cord..we will place her inside to discipline ..sleeping also very safe

oh yah, <font color="0000ff">pregnancy cum nursing bras</font>

i was reading the Young parents baby june-aug2007 issue fr library..whteher used for pregnancy or nursing, the mums in mind braslook cheap and good and recommended, $20

babyDE,

the avent steriliser is a package. cost $148, with 3 packs of cotton wipes, 1 thermal bag, 1 baby pillow and 1 baby wash.

the avent pump $91 less a further 20% discount. around $73+

kate,
I'm not sure but I hardly sleep throughout the nites now. And I used to be a pretty good sleeper.. easy easy 8-10hrs every day. Now that seems like a luxury. Sometimes I think I wakes up coz baby is hungry coz he's kicking me. But I'll try to ignore and eventually he'll give up.. hahaha.

It's been a tiring weekend. Finally clear-out the wardrobe in my guest room (soon-to-be baby room). And can u believe it, I was totally breathless after that. Talk abt no stamina. :-/

babypink,
Working days are worst. I'm starting to take every Friday off now, clear leave.. and also I'm getting extremely lazy. :p

Petrina,

I've a 20% disc voucher can only use one time for one bill and valind till end of this month so i intend to shop with mummies on the 24th or 25th.

i'm so sick... caught the horrible flu bug on sat...

Hungry n tired... yet cannot slp due to blocked nose...
Hope i m well enuff 4 the outing tmr...

<font color="0000ff">morning all....
wow so many posting..... u all must have good time shopping... haha ... i don have much to shop... since this is no 2..... haha....

come back from my detail scan.... everything is normal....</font>

Its raining really heavily at woodlands area now (HUGE). Jurong Side also said to have non-stop thunder(no idea if rain yet).

Pet, I think bad idea for u to swim if there is no hot sun tomorrow, will catch cold again~

I'm at Alexandra side. Yup, non stop thundering for past 30 min. Sky is overcast & there's lightning alert issued. Rain is imminent.

hahah.. we have become weather forecasters

ok, i'm going to ask a silly question :p

Is Robinson sale over? i'm planning to visit it this Wed to do some stock up but my colleague said it ended over the weekend.

HOW DID OUR BABY DIE?

3-month-old baby dies in care of maid Parents still wonder...
November 12, 2007

IT'S a multi-purpose vehicle that can seat up to eight people.

Mr Teo's daughter Joelle, 2, looks at a photo of Jordan.
That's why they bought it.

It was to have been for the four adults and four children in their family.

But there is now one child and one adult fewer in this group.

The child, a 3-month-old baby, is dead.

And the adult, an Indonesian maid questioned by the police in relation to the baby's death, no longer works for them. She is now in the custody of the Indonesian Embassy, her agency said.

The loss of both is a blow to the family.

Nearly two months after the death of their baby boy, the parents are upset that they are no closer to finding out what had happened.

Mr James Teo, 33, a sales and marketing manager, and his wife, accountant Jenny Lau, 37, have been married for two years.

She has two children, Cheryl, 12, and Jasper, 9, from her first marriage.

She and Mr Teo have a daughter, Joelle, 2, and Jordan, who was born in June.

Their 22-year-old Indonesian maid had worked for them since mid-May.

They were not happy with a previous maid's work performance and attitude and had employed the new maid to replace her. The new helper had worked in Singapore for three years for another employer. (See report at bottom right.)

Madam Lau said: 'There was not much time to train an inexperienced maid. The maid should know how the floor should be swept and how to use the washing machine.'

Madam Lau said her maid told her she did not have much experience looking after children, but said she was willing to learn from Madam Lau's mother, MadamYeo Kwee Kee, 59, who lives with them.

MadamLau's two children from her previous marriage also live with her and Mr Teo in their executive flat inHougang.

The baby's cot has not been dismantled.
She said that when she was on her 12-week maternity leave at home soon after the maid started work, things were all right.

The maid, who was paid $320 monthly, did the housework, cooking and bathed and fed Jordan.

When the couple were at work, Madam Lau's mother and the maid looked after the children.

On 5 Sep, Madam Lau went back to work.

By 10 Sep, Jordan was dead.

That day, the couple left for work as usual before 7am. The two older children went toschool.

Later that afternoon, while Madam Lau was at work, she received a call from her mother that something was seriously wrong with Jordan.

He had stopped breathing.

She and her husband rushed down to Tan Tock Seng Hospital where Jordan was, and a doctor and a social worker spoke to them.

By then, Madam Lau knew her baby was dead. The social worker told the couple what they already knew.

The cause of death on his death certificate was listed as acute subdural haemorrhage, or bleeding under the membrane surface of the brain. (See report below.)

On 11 Sep, the family took Jordan home in a little white coffin.

Mr Teo said he could not sleep and sat in the living room next to the coffin, which was on a table.

He said: 'I wanted to keep him company because I would not see him again. I would not be able to feel him anymore.'

Jordan was buried the next morning at Choa Chu Kang Cemetery.

Mr Teo said he took the maid to Ang Mo Kio Police Divisional HQ at about 7pm to give her statement.

He said that after 10pm, five to six police officers went to their flat to get her to re-enact how she would bathe and change Jordan.

Mr Teo said they video-taped her demonstration and took photographs. The police took Jordan's stroller and bathtub for investigations.

Other than the investigation officer informing them that Jordan's case will be mentioned in the Coroner's Court tomorrow, the couple said they still don't know what really happened the day Jordan stopped breathing.

They know investigations are ongoing, but Mr Teo said the agonising wait for answers is taking a toll on his family and friends who constantly ask him for updates on what had happened.

He said: 'I feel bad having to tell them everytime that I don't know.'

KEPT INFORMED

Responding to queries from The New Paper on Sunday, a police spokesman said that investigations were ongoing and it was inappropriate to discuss details of the case.

He added that the Teos were kept informed of the progress of investigations.

The couple do not intend to get another maid. Madam Lau's mother now looks after the children.

What few pictures of Jordan the couple have are on Mr Teo's laptop screen. Jordan's cot has not been dismantled.

The couple try to keep their minds on other things. Mr Teo said: 'We take things out from the cupboards, clean them, then put them back again.

'Or I will arrange the books on the shelves or clean the car.'

Madam Lau, who wept several times during the interview, said she returned to work two weeks after Jordan's death.

She said: 'I did not want to stay home because I would be looking at the baby cot every day.'

Agency: We advised against maid

THE agency that had contracted the maid to the family said it had advised them not to take her, but Mr Teo and Madam Lau dispute this claim.

The agency spokesman, who declined to be named, said the maid had worked with another employer from 2004 to 2007 in a four-storey house, but she had no experience caring for children.

Her main jobs then were general housework and taking care of pets. The spokesman said: 'We had highlighted to Madam Lau not to consider (the maid)... she was single with no experience in baby care.'

Mr Teo said they knew the maid had no childcare experience but the agency did not advise them not to hire her.

The spokesman said Madam Lau had employed five maids from the agency. Two completed their contracts. She said the couple were easy-going and she received no complaints from former maids.

Could Jordan have been saved?

ACUTE subdural haemorrhage - what caused Jordan's death - is deadly but it can be treated, twodoctors told The New Paper on Sunday.

Dr Yeo Tseng Tsai, 45, senior consultant and neurosurgeon at the National University Hospital, said the condition refers to bleeding under the surface of the membrane covering the brain. This adds pressure to the brain and the swelling will decrease blood flow. The person can die when the brain is starved of oxygen. An operation is needed to remove the blood clot.

Paediatrician S Sivasankaran, 53, said the condition in children can be caused by head injuries such as accidental falls or from child abuse. Symptoms include excessive crying, bulging on the soft spot at the top of the head, squinting of the eyes and facial paralysis.

He added: 'You have to do a CT scan to diagnose it. Then, emergency surgery has to be performed to drain the collected blood.'

clover
Thanks for the info. heheh.. tis is wat happens when one is not in touch with the shopping arena. Will be alert to the next round.

i read this article on Newpaper yeasterday...
very sad for the family. Also quite scary..

dear mummies.. sorry to scare everyone on this mon morning.. but i was indeed saddened to see this news..esp it is like so dear to us!!

do read and for mummies who totally entrust ur baby to the maid.. i would urge u to not trust them 100%! coz to them, they will just pack and go back indons.. but for us.. if anything happens we grief like hell k!!!

I suspect the maid dropped the baby..and dun dare to tell the parents lah... haizzz.. if tell earlier maybe can save the baby loh.. too bad..perhaps it is fated also..

Hi mummyboy, thanks.

Ya, news like this about maid & children is scarey. My hb suppose against the idea when I say to employ a maid to take care of baby when we are at work.

Killer.... so bore at work... Just had breakfast then hungry again.

Hi gals, I haf a prob now... At a loss wat to do now. My bras r really v tight liao. Yesterdy went to mothercare to buy maternity bras but was told oni to buy at mth 8 bcos our size will change. So wat shld we do now? Are we supposed to buy normal bras but at a bigger size or buy maternity bras?

Thks a lot clover.
Wat is bras extension? U mean can wear my current bras w bras extension? Where can I buy all these bra extension?

jeangal, a lot of us have been using bra extensions to maximise the usage of our bras. u can get at eros, maternity wear shops and dept stores.

jeangal.. u can get the bra extension from spring maternity. 2 for $4.90. i bought and used for a while.. but now even when i used two bras extension, my bra is still too tight. therefore i changed to the maternity support bra, bought at mothercare. from 75A, i m now wearing 85B. but one thing to take note, there is no padding on the bras, u may need nipple patch or a bra pad.

Clover, thx a lot.
I stil v fan. Dunno wat to do. U haf helped me save a lot of $. Im wondering if I buy new bras, must buy until wat size then ok... End up sure pok... ;p

Wow aly urs "grow" so much liao. Im stil wearing my old size but super tied. Almost cant breathe esp aft a heavy meal.
Ok I wil go buy right aft work today to end all my suffering.

i envy u all leh. this is my 2nd child and still no diff to my bust size or cup size.. *sob sob*

anyone producing colostrum already? i think i have been producing it 'cos sometimes i see white crusts on my nipple and my bra got some stain in it. i squeezed my boob and can see some transparent liquid coming out.

Melissa, mine aso no diff to cup size but my width confirm cannt make it liao... Mayb mine end up aso no or little milk... Cham liao...

jeangal: i already wearing nursing bra. cause 4 me the cup size went up as well as the circumference.
So i wear my normal bra wif extension, my bust will hurt still.
So it depends on ur needs. Since the extension is cheap, u may wanna try tat first. if cannot still then buy the nursing bra...

My bra extension cannot work tat well liao, I have no idea wat cup size I should wear now (was a 75A or sometimes 75B due to my huge chest bone) but I realise bra extension ok, its the cup size problem now that causes me to get breathless... Today I wear the nursing bra I bought. ya loh.. no padding one, so I have to choose my top properly, only certain tops I dare to wear.

wa all of u v fast use nursing bras liao. Dunno y the lady at mothercare vivocity tells me nt to buy until mth 8. Nvm I try the bra extension first since my growth stil v slow. Dun waste money first.

morning/noon ladies!

Petrina
congratz on a boy boy :p

Melissa
me too. same as u.. but quite some time already.. since i 3rd mth..

jeangal
big breast or small breast doesnt matter! will still have milk one.

babedude
sad news there. thats why i dont trust maids.. my PIL did thought of asking us get maid but neh.. i prefer privacy and i rather look after myself then letting anything happen to them.

This trip to genting was pretty bad.
1st day i had diarrhea. 2nd day i had fever. 3rd day sorethroat. Today MC. Whole body aching and lethargic. Office not very happy but i just feel that i am preggy and i'm not feeling well, i should rest. and today is my birthday so i guess they would think that i 'chao geng' in order to celebrate my birthday BUT.. my HB is working and i am home alone!! how to celebrate myself? hmmm.. Lets see what happen when i go back to office tomorrow. I miss the no working days when i was preggy with #1..

Anyway #1 did not yell or cry in bus. Thats what i am afraid of in the 1st place luckily!! she did not. And i tot w/o sarong she cant get to sleep who knows!! she actually stay awake for 1 hr and sleep for 3 hrs lol! imagine how long she slept in genting.. the weather is really very cooling for her. when she feel the breeze blowing at her face, she will close her eyes and fall aslp.

Happy Birthday Adeline

Don't feel so bad lah. Come and celebrate with us online hehehe. How come u got diarrhea? Is it b'cos you ate something u shouldn't? Actually movement of vehicles rocks your todd to sleep as well. Hey can your first girl walk already? How old is she? Is she 1 yet? My girl can now walk very well. So cute to see her waddle like a duck.

jeangal,
cupsize din change.. still cup A. they only have cup B. lol. anyway, my main concern was my chest circumference have increased so much that it caused red marks. therefore i got to change. 80B was just nice for me.. but i use 85B so that I can "grow" into it. haha. the lady at mothercare oso asked me not to get nursing bras yet..

Melissa
think cause i ate prata halfway thru the journey.. when i reach hotel i keep running to toilet until i very moodless.. luckily 2nd night my aunty and mom look after her for me. if not i would have been worse!! ya she is now 1 year 3 weeks hehee.. she can't walk well BUT she love walking without us holding her. when she 1st learn how to walk, she refuse to let us hold both hands.. she insist only hold one hand.. so that her the other hand and keep touching other things. Naughty girl lah.. then now she can walk herself for a distance and !!! it all started in GENTING!!!!! hahahahaa.. in the hotel room i suddenly see her walking up and down to the TV and toilet. I am pretty amazed lol!

Petrina
Thank you thank you!
So happy for you. got ur boy boy heee.. bought anything for him from the sprees yet?

so good... adeline.. at least ur gal is independent lor... i so scared nxt time my boi will stick to carrying...

I bot very little things 4 him. So far - 4 sets of outing clothes, 1 home wear, 1pkt detergent, 2pkts wipes, mittens/booties, bed, rocker.

Tats all. only minimal necessities.

PEtrina
ya she is pretty independent.. not very sticky.. only initially when i was preggy, she keep sticking to me. If not she actually bo hiew me and find her own activities hahaa..
u all got buy seperate detergent one ah? I did not. i just use dynamo lol.. but her clothes we wash seperately. you got ur loots up in multiply? i go have a look.

sheryl
do my gals look alike...i have two...faith and felicitas....

read the article and felt so sad....

talking abt sale....
i just bought 300 bucks over on skin care...replenishing my running out supply....*guilty*...instead spending on my gals...i spent on own.... ;)

regards to preg n nursing bra...
i used extension for my normal bras during preg...and only start buying nursing bra after my confinement..as i not too sure i will persist breastfeeding...so no want to waste...

piggymummy: some is 4 now n some is 4 confinement.
It depends on wat u wan... eg: water retention soup can drink now.. milk supply soup can also drink now n during confinement... etc...