(2008/03) March 2008

Reena
lucky is gal...hee...
but anyway reports like these usu change n change....they will say..yeah ..caused fertility...then mebe 2 years later...another report say...eat beef this n that...bcome good maybe....so reports read liao knw liao..can liao...

for example....
the dog...
one research say, if hse has kids better no has dogs...then another research, some time later say good to have....so train the kids respiratory system to take furs better....

so?...so much for reports n research...

Cat_tail i drink a cup coffee everyday too, approved by gynae - and books i read - limited to 3 cups a day. the important thing is to fill up with water, becos coffee is diluric.

the funny thing is my colleagues even encouraged me to have wine! They actually did the field test themselves - one of them drink wine v routinely during her pregnancy. recently UK studies show that it fine to drink during pregnancy -but US still continue to say NO - but i'm not going wine - will just dine.

Traveling - anyone has any suggestion for vacation? My DH and I thinking of a getaway next mth, but we usually go to romantic or adventurous places pre-preg.. so now the choices seem limited.

niwa

thx for the pimple cream info...guess i wil still apply but not on open wounds..

me gg cruise nxt mth....coz i don dare to tk flight becoz scare will cause pressure in vaginal as i am prone to infection..also, since preggie, my energy drop alot..so no mood for long shoppin trip too..

Kea, u r right, my energy level dripped, even to think abt where to go is tiring.

my DH says go banyan tree - but i'm like u want to be romantic with a big belly? :D

i've nv been on cruise - although i heard it's very stable, i'm worried i will still get motion sickness! last night first thing i did when reach home is to puke my dinner out after a cab ride..

niwa,
I believe u & I are caffein addictor..muwahaha...
How abt going for a beach resort around our region? Somewhere still romantic & easy for you to move around? Maybe Bali or Phuket?

sheryl

i nv been on cruise oso....first is becoz is ex!! hee.....but tis time round i have excuse to spend e $ to cruise becoz i cant go anywhere ..lolx....jus stay on cruise and eat n eat..lolx..then can swim for a while too...keke.....

i tot that too....those malay n indian also take...n bathe and all...however, dunno y, i still refrain...untill buay tahan....like mutton...each time i preg....i oni take once....just no dare.....but everything in moderate shld be alrite....

me too drive till i give birth....so far ok...no hit steering wheel prob...cos small tummy...

anyone using vaginal wash solution??

i ask my gynea, he recommend Summer's eve and Lactacyd...anyone heard of these brands? can get at watson/ guardian?

kea

i oso going to buy V wash solution soon.. think better... guardian watson all got sell. some supermarket sell oso... i tot my johnson & johnson is mild enuff to v but i think better use a v wash solution better...

clover,
congrats for passing your TP test. how many tries ah? kekeke. me also p-plate liao kekeke. i was pregnant with my first when i go for all the training and test. now, my 1yr like to hold my car steering and refuse to let go. think i can't drive for long, b'cos i'm short therefore i need to bring the seat very close to the steering wheel, 'cos scared my feet can't reach the pedals ha! wasted man. i was so angry thinking about not so many pple offered seats in the train nowadays!

cat_tail,
hello no-pantang kaki!
there's this funny old wife tale i heard that if you crave for something and it's not fulfilled, the baby will drool a lot. i tot all babies drool especially when they're teething! crap!

mummy_norman,
you're so right about those reports. one time they say can, another time say cannot. we would have no idea how they conduct their studies and research, it might be lopsided. besides asian and caucasion bodies are different and our immunity level is also different. just take it with a pinch of salt and take anything in moderation can already. i think what's most important is to stay happy during pregnancy so can produce happy babies, not deprived babies.

Petrina,
really lah! if you're like 16-17 weeks, u will feel it once in a while. you will mistake it for gas or muscle pulling or that stuff but sooner or later u will figure out that it feels different then now i tell you it's the baby lor! exciting right? now my hubby can feel the baby kicking in the tummy already. i am 19 weeks.
i think next week, i can use my Kiddy Palace baby heart beat recorder!

cheryl

but me tinking hw to use..hee...

u use everytime aft u pee or jus when u bath?? coz summer eve gt sell those tissue type and oso wash solution

there are afew kind ma...
normally i use when bath... i have these foam spray forget wat brand oso v wash, but no need rinse de... there is 1 compact kind, can bring out 1, i think that 1 can use whenever u wan... can use whenever u feel uncomfy or itch....

i remember wat brand liao. vagisil

petrina,
Luckily my fil is aware coz if it's up to my hb, we'll be so lost.

melissa,
I still drive but not as often as before, just let my hb drives me to work sometimes. I'm just too lazy, dun want to deal with the jam and cab drivers.

Btw, is everyone sleeping on the side now?? I've tried but everytime I do that, my boy kicks. And I really dunno if I can keep on sleeping on the sleep the whole nite for the next 4-5 mths!!

melissa: i blur mah... gynae keep telling me not so soon feel kicks... SO i say orh lor...

Kea: i nv use V wash leh. i tot they say better dun use these type of wash? I read once tat scented wash may not be good for infections.

Mummy norman: i anything also eat... unless gynae say no eat. Eg: mercury high fish... Raw food. Otherwise i all also eat - pantang no pantang...

liewb: is like tat de... i was told abt the middle name by my mom long time ago... So i remembered wat to do. My hb also blur block de... hehs

kea,
I use Lactacyd and so far, no complain. When I was in HK, I managed to buy those individual packed tissues of Lactacyd. It's super convenient. But I was not able to find them here, seems like u can only get the cleansing lotion here.

melissa, 4 tries in all. 2X at BBDC (before I got married) and 2X at SSDC. I also haven't been offered seats in the MRT at all. Maybe coz I am big size and I just seemed fat. Haha. When I see seat is not taken, I will take it. Perhaps some ppl will think how come this lady is so kiasu? I have no choice, coz standing up can be tiring and people may knock into my tummy.

liewb, i got the individual pack from Guardian. Dun think it's the same brand though.

Ladies who are thinking of travelling
I am facing the same problem too. Seems like there's no suitable destination. My hubby has a 10 days break end of the year. We are considering to go Shanghai... after considering many, many places like HK/Macau, Thailand and Penang. If we dun travel now, we will not have a chance after bb is born or at least for 1 year.

Liewb
i am sleeping on my side. Maybe cause even before preggy i also used to sleeping on side.

Norman
i did ask that question before. How come indian and malays can bath whereas chinese cant. my aunty tell me cause their tradition different and they always take curry. (i not sure what logic is that) hahahaha

Travelling
==========
I think preggy ladies can travel to any destinations but preferably the holiday is free and easy so that u can travel at ur own pace. I travelled very frequently for business for my first pregnancy and i find by walking a lot helps my delivery. My whole labour is abt 3 hrs.
Just before travel, ask ur gynae to clear ur health and bring some medicine for fever and flu. Ya i agree with clover, once bb is born hard to travel liao. So we planning to go for holiday in Jan with our son before our no 2 comes along. Enjoy while we can

clover,
Personally I think hk is not a great destination. I was there 2 mths ago and just dodging ppl who smokes almost drove me nutz. It's like most of the ppl there smokes and smokes a lot of the streets!

I want to go Jpn but hb is not too keen abt me travelling anymore. I was still travelling for work in my 1st trimester and he wasnt too impressed with me. So now he said no more..

liewb, i've been sleeping on my left side now. initially u will find it difficult, and u nid to be persistent. anyway, when ur tummy is big, u will find it difficult to sleep on ur back, and naturally sleep on your sides.

my gynae says left is best side, although it doesn't matter to sleep on left or right side.

i asked her wat abt facial? lie for 1 hr on my back! (I'm thinking - does that mean no facial for me, or facial while sitting?? ) - Guess what, she said it's ok for just 1 hr of lying on my back. WOOHOO to another stamp of approval.

ya lor... clover, dun go shanghai. In china, smoke frm mouth is more than smoke frm cars.
Go thailand - chiangmai... hehe, i super like tat place when i was there in early oct. not much smokers. few locals smoke...

Maybe i shld try tat brand too... used summer's eve b4. but after i heard tat it's not good, i stopped. Maybe some ppl sensitive bah.

liewb: i tossing n turning whole nite. sleep in all sorts of position till i get the best position. But seems like bb in discomfort after awhile. i mainly still sleeping on my back.
hard to ignore cause i'll wake up after awhile in tat particular position...
I'll love to go japan... but journey too far. HB say if wan travel, max is thailand - phuket/chiangmai/krabi...

Travel
=======
Initially intend to go cruise but fully booked and i too lazy to find thus i chose to go genting for 4 days. but will be carrying my 1 yo with me as well. should be a tiring trip! Hope it's worth it.

sheryl & petrina,
It's the constant tossing and turning, very difficult to get a good nite rest. Esp when baby is not too keen, he'll start kicking and wakes me up. So far he's been a pretty good baby, so I guess this sleeping on the side thing is really bothering him. But I guess like it or not, sleeping on the side is the way to go.

Pertina, how's chiangmai like? r&r type? I've been to phuket so many times, and my last few vacation trips were all to phuket for massage - i heard preggies should only do those prenatal type of massages.

liewb, same here, first 2 wks of trying to sleep on my side - were really a pain for me! i would wake up to find myself on my back - fave sleeping position. so i would turn back to my sides, and failed to sleep. a few days later, even my DH wld wake in the mid of the night, to ask me to switch back to my side if he found me sleeping on my back!

anyway, i found that with a SOFT bolster, or a pillow tucked between your knees will help u sleep better on sides.

Driving
One of my aunty vr funny, she drove herself to hospital to delivery her daugther cause her husband not around.

Clover,
Next time u should stand out ur tummy and use ur hand to rub it so pp will know u r preggie. hahaha

Wash hair during confinement
how to tahan?, i everday must wash my hair. I saw guardian pharmacy got sell dry hair shampoo. Is like a powder and do not need to rinse off.

Sleeping
I normally try to sleep on my left side but sometimes right when my back pain or my nose stuffy and sometimes in the morning when i wake up i found out tat i have sleep on my back.hehehhe

Travelling
Can we travel on the 3rd trimester?

Food,
some said cannot eat prawn no good for baby skin some said must eat more. whatever, i just eat what i like and in modearation if not how to get diffrent kind of nutritions for my baby?

sheryl: chiangmai is like heartland singapore, much slower in lifestyle.
No big shopping ctr ard, if u wan shop, take taxi abt 10mins distance.

Lots nite markets ard. so can walk ard in ease. I was staying in changklon road. suriowongse hotel.
Outside got BK, MAC, SubWay etc... of course got local food also. like newton market... 5mins walk away.

Kate: rubbing no help de... tue when i was in MRT, i was standing frm commonwealth mrt station all the way to paya lebar mrt station... nobody offered seat. worse still, i was carrying my lappy. I put it between my legs. So when there was an empty seat, i bend to carry my bag to seat, someone already sat down. Rite in front of me... Got 2 seats, he hogged both seats n ask his GF sit beside him.

Sporeans r like tat de... how to educate? throughout the half hr journey, all sorts of ppl i also saw... how to snatch wif them, i dun wan my tummy kenna bumped.
Worse of all, i was wearing maternity clothes lor. not office wear. Wearing flat shoes... super obvious i preggy lor...

petrina

duh, such ppl exist... haiz, u wearing maternity clothes somemore.... sometime u stand infront they oso pretend to sleep.... mrt not very easy to get seat... imagine u walk in u saw seat, as we r preg, we cant possible rush to the seat... by the time u reach the seat, no more liao

alamak now cannot wear heels and always wear flats.. sometimes my clothing i wear flats very ugly but no choice!

MRT
====
So far in train i always get seats. So there are still kind singaporeans around. heheee.. anyway.. i realised usually NE train, noone will give up seats.. it's only NS train then people will give up seats.. no idea why is this so! hahaa..

Sleeping
========
My gynae suggested to me that if u have difficulty sleeping when ur tummy gets bigger, get a small pillow, sleep on left side and put the small pillow under ur tummy to help u support. It really works for me! He told me this when i was with #1. Till now i still using this method. kekee..

adeline, u are lucky, so far in train, i only got seat 1 time.. the rest of the time dun have at all.... most of the time i take bus....

Petrina,
I do encounter such incident in MRT also. There was one time during weekend, i wanted to bring my son to airport. So i was carried him as there are many people in the train. I carried him from Aljunied to Changi Airport station no one give up their seats. I tot when we change pltform, i will be able to get a seat at tanah merah. But too my surprise, the Ang Mos(going to airport) are also act blur.

i really cant stand it.

Queen
When i wasnt preggy and i was bringing my #1 back home from potong pasir. I carrying her cause she cant walk. i was carrying alot things as well. that time noone gimme seats!!!.. only preggy then people will give up. but i see some ppl cheat for seats also. they carry their kids about 2 yrs old into train then after ppl give up seats, they let their child down to run abt.. damn bad right!

Cheryl
so far so good! but i dun mind standing also one. usually if no seats i just stand to one side then after that i'll see ppl waving to me asking me go over sit.

adeline: u lucky lor... so far i dun have yet. nvm lah cause the women who dun give up, soon when its their turn then they'll noe. when i was younger, i always give up my seat thinking tat it's a give n take situation. good deeds breeds. but... haiz, society getting worse n worse daily.

Petrina.
sigh...i always give up my sit to those who need more than me. my husband dun allowed me to stay in hong kong, cause hk pp r mostly like tat also. some times i even stared at pp who dun give up sit to those needed one....hehehehhe

<font color="0000ff">hi calamari,
i'm experience blood cot in my nose in the morning... don know whether it is too heaty... not enough water..

i though pple give seat with small kids... i don get seat when preggy but i always get seat with my boy around even though sometime he is on his pram... funny rite..</font>

Nevermind the mrt, the other day I was in TTSH and people wont even give way to me in the narrow part of the corridor. Instead I just had to stand and wait for all to pass first before I go coz I don't want them to bump into my tummy.

No courtesy whatsoever ok. This is gonna be one thing that I'll have to hammer into my boy when he grows up. Show some courtesy, esp the guys!!

Sheryl,
Same with my hb, sometimes when he gets up in the nite..he'll wakes me up to make me turn to my side. Hehe..it's kinda nice, coz usually he'll sleep like a log.

talking about mrt seats, the best place is in taipei. they have special seats for the elderly, preggies and parents with small children. and i saw the youngsters gave up their seats for those who are really in need. observed this more than once and was impressed.
and while travelling on the escalators, everyone automatically stand on one particular side. seriously, i really wonder how did their govt do it man!

i used to have a habit of taking pictures of stupid people who fell asleep when a pregnant me is standing right in front of them. i think i might do it again. mine is a sony ericsson K750i. can snap photos in silence. anyway they're already pretending to be asleep so catching them red-handed is a breeze! if i encounter any, i will put up here! shame them!

babylush,
yeah i always surf to stomp to see who these ugly singaporeans are. really very embarrassed over their acts! but some stompers comments are ugly as well! so it's like the pot calling the kettle black.. hahaa.