(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bluewind,
Oh ya.. In your case, better to keep away from work lah! Take another 3MC loh!!!

Cheryl,
huh!!! really??? Could it be virus again?

recently i have lots of mood swings

just dun understand why suddenly feel sad and like to cry..i read from book that its quite normal during pregnancy. But am really worried it affects the baby. Will the baby come out and cry alot? haiz...just want to share my feeling here..

hi, i new here,
now should be 17 weeks preggie liao...
for the pass 2 mths i had very bad MS..
was admiited twice f0r drip... till now still vomitting everyday...
really sick and tired of it liao...

did anyone still take cold drinks during preggie?
cos i been taking cold drinks and coke to help me burp if not i will very uncomfortable...
my hubby did not really stop me untill today he told me not to take since everyone say so, but if i dun take i dun feel "shiok"
and i dun like the taste of plain water so i drink green tea everyday..
is it ok?
Really hope tat my morning sickness will stop soon cant tahan liao...

i still drink cold water but not as much as when i m not pregnant... maybe like 1 week 3 times... as for coke, oso dun drink too often.... i heard green tea not good but oso not too much. everything in moderation... if u dun like taste of plain water, maybe put some honey in it....

haha.. for me i dont'mind boys wearing pink lah... but you know the old ppl think that boys wear pink will become gay
haha... i'll probably let the baby wear his jie-jie's sleeping suits and home stuff even tho pink but will probably get new going out clothes for him!

happybee: i've also been having really bad mood swings, and it's not helping that i'm stuck in bed the whole day, and also coz it's my eldest' 2nd birthday soon adn I'm missing her more and more...

hi yun, welcome to the site!!

cheryl,
Pls take care. Rest more. I'll have MS/uncomfortable when I've not enough rest. For instance, I slept at 1am this morning, woke up at 6.30am. Not enough loh! So still tired now.

yun,
Welcome. I'm also 17weeks now.
I stop all carbonated drink once I know I'm pregnant. Cos it is not good for the baby. Baby will sick/cough easily. if you really cannot prevent, mayb take those non-chilled and restrict to once a day kinda thing. Otherwise, you would have hard time taking care of your baby when baby is borned. Other alternative is honey, cranberry juice, etc.

i forever not enuff slp.
slp early, midnite oso wake up alot of times. den sometime like take a while den can get back to slp. sometime sleeping position make me hard to slp oso

Hi, Cheryl and blueginger..
i dun drink coke everyday, mayb twice a week and it a small cup onli, just to let it burp....

Blueginger,
when is ur EDD?
can u feel ur baby movements?

Anyone still experience MS?
i think i cant really accept this MS...
It making me terrible...

den is still ok lah... as long not too much. but green tea dun drink too much....

however, my ms just come back.. zzz... pukey feeling, nauseous... haiz.. make me lose my sppetite...

plus having sore pain in my v areA. zzz

hi yun

i stopped drinking coke since i got preg dunno y, just one of those things tt i stopped, was quite easy since im not a heavy drinker. But i do get jealous when hb drinks at home recently.
the only gassy drink i allow myself is ginger beer. but i noe coke will let u burp easily.

y is not good to drink green tea too much?

hmm my younger sis was 'fed' with coke when my mum was preg with her...she turned out fine but was rather selfish when sharing her coke...hehehe

welcome, Yun!
i also cannot stand the taste of plain water. used to drink alot when i'm not pregnant. initially i think i drink less than 500ml per day when i started to dislike plain water. then one day i happened to put lemon slice into the plain water. taste better and it helps me to drink more water (though not as much as i used to). since then, i've been adding lemon slice into my plain water everyday. we have to drink lots of water to make sure we are hydrated, else easy to have water retention.

as for cold drinks, i still drink carbonated ones every now and then. like you, it soothes me when i was having ms.

blueginger
really cannot take carbonated drinks huh? i didn't actually stop taking though i wasn't a fan of carbonated drinks before being a preggie. hopefully it's just a myth.

stephie
isit?? care to share what brand. We tot it wlf be more practical to buy a car seat frm infancy to abt 4-5 yrs..rather than buying one infant seat then later having to buy another car seat in another yr.
The reason we are looking ard coz abt my scan on sat, gynae noted tt bb looks rather long..i mean tall..so i wanna make sure we make or purchases without wasting money..hehe

HI Stephie,
Put lemon slice taste better?
When is ur due date?
U Have experience MS?

Is it most of the Mother to be are taking calcium supplements now?
my gynae gave me but i find it to hard to swallow cos it a big tablet so i had not been taking it...
and moreover i cant take dairy products.
And due to my MS i just start taking my multi-vit and fish oil two weeks ago,
cos i stop all my folic acids for abt three weeks..
i think i m really a bad mother....

yun
dun say that..sometimes u have bad MS, not really your fault. dun have to worry. just make sure you eat what you can eat.
if ur multi-vit has folic acid,i think shd be okay. if some of ur pills are too big, maybe u can cut them into two and take them with something sweet.
my sis is having it worse than me, cant eat much, she's lost abt 5kgs now..but her doc still say its okay..coz bb still small dun need that much.so dun worry..

purple
off hand can't remember what brand (oh oh, memory failing). let me check tonight and let you know. one thing to note is that those that claim to be able to use from infancy to 4-5years may not really be suitable for newborns. cos they are still so tiny and fragile and this type of car seat cannot be adjusted to a really reclined position (hope you know what i mean). i bought the car seat only when my girl was 3 mths plus.

stephie
thanks..i understand..
we took into consideration tt first few mths bb wont be out much coz i will be on maternity leave also.
except for checkup, there wont be much outing.
im hoping tt bb will be a bit bigger by 3 mths so can use the car seat straight away.
usually by 3 mths, bb can be on the stroller aldy right?
if not, we will just carry the car seat ard la..

yun
for me, lemon does help. but i believe it varies from individual to individual. what works for one may not work for others. but no harm giving it a try to find out which method is best for you.

my due date is 16 Feb. was having MS til 14th or 15th week. it's those nausea kind of feeling throughout the day with no vomiting. felt that there's some funny taste in my mouth which i simply can't get rid of.

not all mummies are taking calcium supplements. i'm taking and the pill, like you've said, is very big. i also find it a chore to swallow everyday. do you like soya bean milk? if it's ok with you, can get those calcium added ones from supermarket. don't feel bad for not taking those pills. if you force yourself and end up throwing up, also no point right. i'm sure you can always catch up when you feel better/ms is gone.

purple
if your stroller is those that can be fully reclined, bb can use it even in the first month. err...what do you mean by carrying the car seat around? cos those that you are aiming for is usually quite bulky, cannot be carried around. only those infant bb seat (the capsule kind) is more suitable to be carried around.

Stephie,
My cousin's wife who is expecting her No.5 cannot live without COKE. Her kids terrible loh!!! When I visit them, they are coughing. So my mother warned me not to do this to my kid. No MS experience, cannot help. but I burp a lot.

Yun,
my EDD on 25/Feb. When is yours?
CAN. Beetaimak like to move ard, esp when you have hip-hop, retro music. Now, I keep inputting symphony to calm beetaimak. Otherwise, I can have headache.
Yap. I'm taking calcium pill. I seldom take milk, so Dr Tan gave me calcium pills. Really big, but I'm ok.

Cheryl,
Can try to drink warm milk and apply calm lotion to easy sleep. Another idea is place aroma oil in the room.
I basically sleep like a pig. The last time when I have swollen feet, I dun even have the chance to lift my legs on the bolester n I was already sleeping.

stephie
i think the one tt we intend to buy can incline fully.
ohh...its bulky isit..then nvm coz if bb wont be travelling much during first 3 mths.
lemme know the brand u are using..thanks!!

Hi Yun,
I also didnt take the calcium pills as i cant swallow it..u imagine thoese pandonal pill, i cant even swallow last time & i also cant stnad the smell of milk.Now im taking strawberry favlour.
As for coke, i would advice not to take that often as 1 of my gf who drinks coke and sweet drink during her pregency..in the end, she have to put on drip and every now & then, injection to maintain her sugar level.

starry70,
Enrolled. But have not attended the class. Dorothy encourage 1st-time MTB to do it. Have better understanding esp for FTB. SO that they will be more considerate during this period of time.

blueginger/bluewind
okie. noted the 'not to drink coke' thingy. Better be safe than sorry. thank goodness i'm not a hardcore soft drinks fan.

blueginger, hopefully the yoga class will start beginning of Oct. The month next to the nicks indicate this MTB belongs to which thread, i.e. "Feb" means Feb 2008 MTB. "Sat/Sun" means the day we prefer the yoga class to be.

Btw, I've enrolled for the pre-natal class liao, starting 24th Nov... i feel that at least hb join us for the class hor, they cannot say they dunno this, dunno that in the future.

Garfield9 & cheryl, i c... too bad you gals can't join us... maybe we can organise another shopping outing after this

Garfield9, so where can I meet you?

hi all...

Yun, dun feel bad... it's not your fault at all and you are doing the best u can.

Yes, like Stephie putting a slice of lemon in my plain water works for me. and drinking honey water in the morning gets rid of the horrid taste in my mouth and starts me well for the day. u can try it too?

I will have MS symptoms if i don't get enought sleep or go to bed by 12mn. i know it may sound strange but if i went to bed at say, 2am and woke up at 1pm the next day, i'll still get MS as compared to sleeping at 12mn and wakeing up at 7am.

ladies, for those hiring a CL, do u have a problem with dates? cos my EDD is 19 Feb (40 weeks), which is about the 13th day of CNY. I found a CL who was willing to do provided i do deliver on 19th and not too much earlier. she will not be able to come before 14th Feb.

I just wonder how 'accurate' is the EDD? cos i heard from my GP (a lady), most will deliver around 38th week.

hence, if i deliver in my 38th week, it could be 4 Feb week.. then how? no CL until 14th, which by then it's like 1/3 of the confinement period gone. and i think the most 'crucial period' of the conefinement will be my first days back home, am i right?

i tried to tell the CL but she doesn't seem to understand y im such a 'kiasu' MTB, most ladies that she has worked for will only quote her 1 EDD with very few days 'stand-by' range, if any at all.

how... so fan2 about hiring a CL... arrgh.

Help During Pregnancy...
Increases overall strength, flexibility & well-being X When you practice yoga, you are not only stretching your muscles, you are stretching the tissues that encase your muscles, stimulating your organ systems, promoting the circulation of blood and oxygen, breathing more intentionally, and focusing your attention inward through imagery and meditation. The combined effect is intended to be one that promotes a heightened state of physical and emotional well-being.

Reduces low back pain & sciatica X As you become acutely aware of proper body alignment, you can carry yourself and your belly in an integrated manner. This can help to reduce the degree of pelvic tilt associated with pregnancy and significantly reduce the lower back pain which it can cause. Additionally, there are specific yoga poses which stretch the muscles and tissues associated with the lower back, hips, and hamstrings. Your instructor should make these poses a part of each class.

Reduces aches & fatigue in the thoracic & cervical regions of the spine X During pregnancy, it can be difficult to find a space for yourself when trying to sleep. As a result, spinal alignment can become compromised. Certain yoga poses create more fluidity in the spine by stretching the Para spinal muscles.

Reduces swelling & inflammation around your joints X A regular and consistent asana practice improves and promotes the circulation of blood and oxygen throughout your body. This, in turn, can reduce swelling and inflammation around ankles and wrists.

Aids in digestion X As baby grows, your intestinal organs get pushed around, which may affect your regularity and cause indigestion. Safe and gentle rotations and forward folds can help to promote regularity and aid in overall digestive flow.

Helps prepare you physically for giving birth X A regular practice of squatting asana helps to tone muscles of your pelvic floor and helps you gain strength to remain comfortable in a squatting position. This is an integral part of any yoga program as it helps to familiarize you with these very useful muscles. Even if you choose not to squat during labor, you will want to be able to use these muscles efficiently and effectively when nature calls upon you to push your baby into the world.

Improves emotional well-being X Participating in a group prenatal class provides a community of support from new friends who understand what you are experiencing. Some programs may even include discussions about pregnancy-related topics such as doulas, nursing, and birth plans.

Help During Labor...
Regardless of whether you are looking forward to a drug assisted birth or planning for a natural delivery, regular participation in a prenatal yoga program can reduce labor-associated anxiety by helping you tap into your own labor tools.

Soothe & empower yourself by finding your own inner rhythm X You can learn to breathe in a way that is relaxing and natural, rather than contrived or awkward. When you consistently practice moving your body in a rhythmic fashion in unison with your breath, you carry with you a powerful relaxation and pain management tool.

Facilitate the labor process X Through yoga, you can learn how to identify when you are holding to tension in your body. A body that is tense is not going to facilitate the birth process as easily as one that is relaxed. Moreover, when the body is tense, you may experience tension in thought and a withholding of breath.

Improve your physical comfort X If you are hoping for a natural birth, it can be helpful to have an idea of how you can position your body to help you during contractions and during relaxation. Many yoga poses can translate wonderfully into comfortable laboring positions.

Learn to use the tools of meditation & visual imagery X When it comes time to ride through the most powerful of contractions, visual imagery combined with breath work can be one of the most useful labor tools.

Become familiar with the concept of vocalization X Labor is no time to be shy. It is the rare woman who births naturally and does not make a lot of noise in the process. If your yoga class includes chanting, you have an opportunity to become comfortable with the inherent power of vocalization. After all, Om is the birth sound!

Use the muscles of your pelvic floor effectively X The weeks of squatting were not done in vain! Squatting combined with a kegel-like movement during pregnancy really can help your labor in two ways. If you receive an epidural, you may lose sensation in your pelvic floor which can make pushing your baby out a bit of a guessing game. If you are used to working with these muscles, you will find it easier to use them even if you cannot feel them. Alternatively, if you are opting for a natural birth, you will want these muscles to work quickly and effectively when it comes time to push.

Went for my scan today. It's a girl! My hubby and MIL are pretty disappointed but my girl is overjoyed. ha ha ha.

Going for my detailed scanning only in my 22nd week.

Sorry ladies, what time are your meeting this wednesday at Marina? Might not be able to make it in time if it's too early.

felt bb move for the very first time this morning and after dinner

bkkgal,

your husband is a doc huh why he has a stethoscope.

hi hweiz,
congrats on feeling the bb move!

yun,
i read that it's not gd to drink green tea when pregnant becos it reduces our body's intake of folic acid. As for cold drinks, it's fine lah. I drink cold drinks every single day. Pregnant women ard me drink too, cos no choice, its all cold drinks here.

purple
the brand of the car seat is Alpha Omega Elite.

hweiz
it's a wonderful feeling to feel the bb movement hor? when bb grows bigger, it'll be even more interesting cos your tummy will go 'out of shape' when bb do their aerobics :p

piglettail
i do heard of pple saying that bb tend to come out earlier than EDD at ard 38th week. but there are those who come out after EDD. For mine, it was very close to my EDD, 2 days before. Can't be sure when we'll deliver until the day comes. That's why i guess pple alwys say must plus minus 1/2weeks from the EDD.

For the CL that you've found, does she has other assignment before 14 feb? or she just wish to spend the CNY season with her family? at least she's frank and tell you she can't make it before 14 feb. better than tell you ok now then later say cannot make it. anyone to help you out if really say your bb decides to come out earlier?

hi,everyone... so many posting cant follow...

decided to switch back to KKH as hubby can claimed from company... so wanted to save $$. switched back to Dr. Loh from KKH...

went for a appointment on sat n also did my detailed scan. gained 1.5kg already.. bb is abt 200g n confirmed it is a boy.

mc
was on mc yest... cos felt veri giddy... almost blackout... infact since sat.. i was not well.. sigh.. today still got to work

wed shopping outing
snow/blueginger, i think i wont be joining u gals for the trip cos i think i better rest well first.. cos dun want to move too much...
tho, will loved to meet cos i experiencing some problems with the bootees... so sad!!!!

prenatal yoga
so what is the outcome huh for the bishan cc?

hi Yun, welcome?

hi hweiz, when is yr EDD?

Yesterday due to some pain, i went to c my gynae, then got urine infection, so was given some anitbotics...
Sian... got to swallow tablets again...
but not choice wat to do.

check with my gynae abt drinking green tea, he limit two cup per day, and anyway my green tea is very diluted, just to get some taste....
Try to c my baby gender but cant really see but my gynae think might be a boy...

dorothy: you switched gynae? yah, i remember those cramps .. having backaches right now but that's because i have a tendency to sleep on the couch. ouch! wah, congratulations .. will only know the gender of mine tomorrow at the detailed scan .. so exciting!

So many posts, read till giddy haha.

Cherly, my stomach and tummy feels hard too. I know what u mean. I think its gas loh. Very uncomfortable at times.

bluewind/cuclainne,
thansk!!!

bluewind, i am in my 21 weeks.

cuclainne, ya.. me siao one... from dr loh (KKH) to dr lim(mt.a) then back to dr loh again.. actually a bit angry with hubby cos he just found out from his hr that he can claims...